Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Minerva This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Poststrasse 8, 79098 Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany

#12 of 50 hotels in Freiburg im Breisgau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 454 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 68

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    6.7
    Frieburg is beautiful and the breakfast was great but other places are worth hunting for!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking options were BAD! They gave us a parking card and told us where to go. We went along to this garage and it was cheaper to pay without the hotel card! The ladies on the front desk...the blonde one was nice but the brunette lady was not great. She was rude and abrupt and everything Germans have a bad reputation for. She was arguing with another guest while we were waiting about her room request for a bathtub not being met and it being the guests fault.

    Overall our stay was fine. The hotel felt safe and relaxed and there was a lift to help with luggage. The breakfast was amazing! The staff brought us up extra pillows which helped. The bed was fine.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (Queen Bed 1.50mx2.00m)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For us it accommodated all our needs. The only thing would be no smoking allowed at all. We are from Australia and have no smoking in any building or public eating area.

    Genuine staff who were very welcoming; cleanliness of the room and the hotel areas; the breakfast was exceptional in presentation, quality, freshness and range of food. They offered quality at a very reasonable price. Thank you👍👍

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Great location!
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The bathroom was a little bit small. You should be slim and tall, then you can use it without difficulties.

    All was excellent! The breakfast was greater than in a 5-star-Hotel!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    The staff's friendliness and helpfulness was lovely, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff's friendliness and helpfulness was lovely, and the tasteful decorations created a cosy atmosphere. Breakfast (with candlelight on each table!) was great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.2
    Location good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom was on the small side, but sufficient.

    Location good. Very friendly staff. But the exeptional thing is - breakfast. Brioche, croissant, loafs, different buns, fresh fruit salad, lots of juices, ripe soft cheeses, scrambled eggs, bacon, very tasty sausage of Nürnberger kind and so on. Wished I were more of a morning eater.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    10
    THE STAFF WERE FRIENDLY & HELPFUL IN POINTING OUT THE...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (Queen Bed 1.50mx2.00m)
    • Stayed 1 night

    THE ONLY PARKING WAS ACROSS A MAIN STREET & IN THE BAHNHOF PARKING LOT (16 EUROS FOR A 24-HOUR STAY).

    THE STAFF WERE FRIENDLY & HELPFUL IN POINTING OUT THE DIRECTION OF THE CHRITMAS MARKET & NEARBY RESTAURANTS.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.8
    As others have mentioned the breakfast is terrific.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room did not have a shower, only a bath. I would not have booked it here if I had known. I should have asked to be moved, but I was jet lagged coming in and did not realize until the morning. The beds were not the most comfortable.

    As others have mentioned the breakfast is terrific. The owners really care that the stay is top notch. They are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Home away from home.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I really have nothing bad to say. Travellers who love their baths should know there is only a shower. My only (trivial) peeves were - no shower cap and sink lighting that could be improved

    I travel much and this was definitely one of my best experiences. The feeling you get in this little family-owned property is that it is run with love. The staff were more than kind- they were caring and generous. The decor is tastefully designed with little details that could only have been thought of by an owner that is very much there. The breakfast was sumptuous. The towels were fluffy. I got a corner room with lovely windows on two sides which made it airy and light. The room was almost a little suite and had everything in it- including cupboard, work table and chair, sofa, full length mirror and even an enlarging mirror for makeup. The bathroom even has a powerful (but quiet) vent that prevents accumulaton of steam and well placed hangers. Bravo!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    8.3
    Nice small hotel in downtown Freiburg
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    WIFI worked well about half of my stay (3 nights) but then stopped working in my room in the 3rd floor.

    Nice small hotel close to the university and Konzerthaus; I participated in a meeting in both places. Breakfast was good and room comfortable yet small. I liked the architecture of the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    overall a great stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet was not always reliable.

    Loved this great little hotel! The breakfast was filling and the staff were friendly. Walking distance to the old town and many other places. Provided a free tram pass as well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel and a lovely town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (Queen Bed 1.50mx2.00m)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    One lady on reception during the evening was not particularly helpful.

    Excellent breakfast. Lovely and helpful manager. We were also given free public transport tickets by the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    7.5
    Small hotel with friendly staff that is close to the centre of town. Rooms are quite small though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were small and warm in the summer. We opened the windows at night but bit by mosquitoes.

    The hotel was in walking distance to the centre of the city and to public transit. It is reasonably close to Europa park for a list there. The people who ran the hotel were friendly and the breakfast room was very quant. There is parking for free on the street in front of the hotel if you were quick enough after 7 pm.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    7.5
    It is a nice hotel but have stayed better for less money on this trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (Queen Bed 1.50mx2.00m)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really small, you could barely squeeze past each other, definitely not enough floor space for my yoga mat (I know not important to most people, but gives you an idea of size). If you're only staying a couple nights it's ok but for nearly week you spend more time in the room. Also whilst it seems to be a quiet side street it isn't quiet, drunks going home on a Friday night shouting down the street, didn't help that it was really hot and we couldn't close the windows. Not really the hotels fault to be fair but did affect our stay I usually sleep sound but got woken a few times.

    Friendly staff, clean and well presented, the breakfast was nice and had a good variety fruit,bread,baked goods.Good location from station and to town centre can get everywhere on foot.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    7.9
    Great for solo traveler
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It could be a little hot sometimes. However, keeping the window open is not an option since there will be a lot of bugs coming in uninvited.

    The breakfast was great. The room is small but sufficient. Good lighting and very clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable stay in a conveniently located hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    People walking in the street in the middle of the night, making a lot of noise. Not sure if it was students who had a little too much to drink?

    Friendly staff and a great breakfast. Hotel was very centrally located close to the train station.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    7.5
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are tiny but clean and neat. Just sufficient to sleep in as there is no place to move around and it has no view.

    The breakfast was great. The location is ideal, just a few mins walk from both the train station and the town centre

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    9.2
    Convenient and quiet hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No English or French TV channels.

    Very quiet bedroom. Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent breakfast with lots of choice. Convenient for bus and rail stations and for the centre of the city.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    9.2
    Good hotel in Freiburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit expensive.

    Nice hotel near the bus and train station clean. No rumors from the street and inside the hotel. Good customer service and breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    9.2
    Ideal location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room (Queen Bed 1.50mx2.00m)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was fine for two people staying just one night because there was not enough room to walk between the bed and the desk if the desk chair was in position. One had to move the chair by the window in order to have room. We stayed four nights! The high temps were in the low to mid 80's and we asked if they had a portable fan we could set on the desk so it would cool the room a bit. They said they had no fans. This would have helped us be more comfortable.

    The location is about 3 blocks from the train station and it is a straight walk into the Rathausplatz and the city center. The staff is very helpful and pleasant. The breakfast room is large and there are wonderful choices of cereals, fruits, breads, and cheeses.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent Hotel. Well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was expensive at €18 per night

    The Hotel was in an ideal location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.5
    Convenient place to stay in Freiburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (Queen Bed 1.50mx2.00m)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Convenient place to stay in Freiburg. Close to station and old town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    Everything is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.2
    Very warm welcome and nice breakfast !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room (Queen Bed 1.50mx2.00m)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very warm welcome and nice breakfast !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    8.8
    Very nice breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bathroom was quite old but OK

    Very nice breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    8.8
    everything all right
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room (Queen Bed 1.50mx2.00m)
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    everything all right

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    9.2
    Amazing breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (Queen Bed 1.50mx2.00m)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom a bit outdated.

    Amazing breakfast. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.6
    Period hotel in lovely Freiburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (Queen Bed 1.50mx2.00m)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower cubicle little clunky, but no issue

    Everything really, lovely old building, nice large room fantastic breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    Very good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    This is a place we will return to again as long as we have reason to go to Freiburg (friends)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was "as expected" or above expectations for a property in this price range. The staff are VERY helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Good hotel with friendly staff very short walk to train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    Lots of character

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.6
    Breakfast was great, helpful friendly staff, and convenient...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was great, helpful friendly staff, and convenient location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    Gem of a hotel in a perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very large with high ceilings. Loved the tall windows and the overall feel of the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    8.8
    Warm and enthusiastic staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi could have been stronger.

    Warm and enthusiastic staff. Cosy room and yummy quality breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    The hotel building had lots of traditional character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (Queen Bed 1.50mx2.00m)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel building had lots of traditional character.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    10
    Lovely quiet and friendly hotel near old town and train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was my third visit to Minerva and it's always, comfy, clean, quiet, friendly with an excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    Great stay at Minerva!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (Queen Bed 1.50mx2.00m)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    10
    would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    slight problem with wifi

    Small friendly hotel, welcoming staff. Excellent selection at breakfast. Comfy beds and pillows.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    8.8
    Great central base in charming city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No safe in room No alarm clock in room

    Staff very helpful Good breakfast selection Free travel pass excellent Quiet room at rear

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    4.6
    We did not get what we booked. They say it is booking.coms fault. re room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (Queen Bed 1.50mx2.00m)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    as above

    Breakfast was good Location very good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    9.2
    Pleasant family run hotel close to station and easy walk to old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (Queen Bed 1.50mx2.00m)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location and family hotel

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    9.6
    Great location ( just few minutes from main station and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    A kettle in the room could help. Room is not big, but was sufficient.

    Great location ( just few minutes from main station and right on the shopping district.) Amazing breakfast open buffet ! Staff were very polite , smiling and informative about the city. Quite comfortable bed.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    8.8
    Very good breakfast selection and a happy friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Had a problem with the shower tap getting knocked when showering, not a lot of room and hot water ouch!

    Very good breakfast selection and a happy friendly atmosphere at Breakfast. Efficient and helpful. Short walk from the station and also close to the town centre. A very useful local travel card for the duration of our stay, able to use the train, tram or Bus.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    9.6
    Comfortable, in a good location, helpful staff, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Larger shower recess, and one English-language TV channel would have improved it.

    Comfortable, in a good location, helpful staff, good breakfast. Tasteful decor.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2016

    6.3
    Location is great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Was there for three nights. First day kept the used towels on the rack. Second day threw them on the floor to be changed. To my surprise they took the towels off the floor and put them back on the rack. House keeping needs a talking to as this is unacceptable.

    Location is great. Close to the train station. Good variety at Breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    8.3
    The hotel excellent for short stay in Freiburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was nothing I didn't like.

    The hotel excellent for short stay in Freiburg. Very close to the railway station - comfortable room, comfy bed, great bathroom and shower - smashing breakfast served with helpful and pleasant staff. What more can I say - super for a short break to the Freiburg area.

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2015

    10
    A very nice touch was a complementary transit card for the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A very nice touch was a complementary transit card for the duration of our stay. It solved the problem of having to figure out the vagaries of yet another transit system.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    10
    I loved everything about the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I have nothing negative to say about my stay.

    I loved everything about the hotel. location, facilities, wonderfully comfortable and a great breakfast. Really good value!

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    9.2
    Close to station but in a quiet side street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Quite a small single room. A coffee machine in reception would be nice.

    Close to station but in a quiet side street. Good breakfast. Pleasant staff.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    10
    Very friendly staff who went out of thier way to make sure...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing, all wonderful

    Very friendly staff who went out of thier way to make sure you had all the information and local knowledge you needed. Great location very close to the old town and shopping areas.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    9.6
    Fabulous location, close to the train station & the old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing to dislike!!

    Fabulous location, close to the train station & the old town was an easy walk. Breakfast was absolutely fabulous. The building was beautiful - lots of character & our room was bright & delightful. Staff were very helpful & pleasant - would definitely stay here again

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    8.8
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No airco so in a hot day the back row I'm would be better. In front you will have the street noise if the window is open.

    Friendly staff Good location Great breakfast

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    9.6
    Clean, comfortable, lift (elevator), good breakfast, near...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    At least one TV channel in English either Euro news or BBC news would be a good.

    Clean, comfortable, lift (elevator), good breakfast, near train and bus station, easy walk to town centre and all the tourist sites of this lovely town. Recommended

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    9.2
    breakfast is excellent, with attention to every detail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    room is a bit cramped but fully functional. shud hv booked one with balcony ...

    breakfast is excellent, with attention to every detail. convenient location with nearby supermarket and variety of eateries made our stay energizing and relaxing. Freiburg is a happy surprise as a last leg of our German tour.

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    10
    I felt in every respect really welcome as a guest.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Overall it is quiet, although the doors to the floor are not noise-cancelling at all. If somebody moves in the floor you hear everything.

    I felt in every respect really welcome as a guest.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    10
    Friendly welcome and excellent breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly welcome and excellent breakfast. Great location

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    6.3
    Super breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very small bed

    Super breakfast

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    9.2
    Very neat and comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very neat and comfortable rooms. Good variety of food at breakfast. Friendly reception.

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2015

    8.8
    breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bed too soft for my taste

    breakfast

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The small of smoke from the lobby which permeated to at least the 2nd floor and into the room.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    8.8
    I made a special request of the staff and they came up...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I made a special request of the staff and they came up trumps. Really kind.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    7.1
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No A/C. Very loud outside due to people yelling @ 2:00pm

    Good location. Clean room.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    9.6
    Staff were very helpful and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were very helpful and welcoming. Answered questions about where to go in Freiburg and gave us lots of information.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    10
    great breakfast, friendly staff, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    great breakfast, friendly staff, great location

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2015

    10
    Good size room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Good size room Friendly reception Excellent breakfast Close to train station Close to restaurants and shopping

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    9.6
    Nice hotel between the bahnhof and the altstadt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice hotel between the bahnhof and the altstadt. Clean, comfortable room and a lavish breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    8.3
    Room was a bit small but for a weekend trip totally enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was a bit small but for a weekend trip totally enough

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    9.6
    It is overall very pleasant and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is overall very pleasant and clean

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2015

    8.3
    Helpful staff, good quality food at breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Missed having coffee in the room.

    Helpful staff, good quality food at breakfast.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 68

Guests also reviewed these properties: