Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Unger This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Kronenstraße 17, Stuttgart-Mitte, 70173 Stuttgart, Germany

#23 of 113 hotels in Stuttgart

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2207 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    5.4
    Ok ish, kind of..
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was more like a youth hostel accommodation. Very old fashioned, ugly and rotten door, bathroom tub formerly white, yellowish aging tint.

    Location, very central, pleasant breakfast room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.1
    central location, very close to the railway station, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    non working air conditioning and very small window - therefore very warm in the room

    central location, very close to the railway station, good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.7
    Great location. Got off to a bad start with unpleasant check-in woman, but then things got better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had contacted the hotel before about parking at the hotel and were told that it was possible, and if not there was a reasonable car park "across the street" which always had spaces. When we arrrived a very different picture emerged and a VERY unhelpful and unfriendly young woman told us ther car park was full and that we had to to park across the street, which would have cost more than 50 Euros for 24 hours. Eventually when I made a fuss they put my car in the hotel car park, which did have spaces... but that onyl happened after I asked to speak to the manager!

    This is a wonderdful location right in the centre of Stuttgart -- easy walking to almost everywhere in the town centre. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.3
    The breakfast was one of the best I've had as far as...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I didn't like

    The breakfast was one of the best I've had as far as hotels go. The ingredients were really fresh and they had fresh prepared hot dishes that were delicious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    6.7
    They have to change their policy on A/C System and renew the door keys.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My wife were not able to sleep because of the hot room temperature. Centralized Air Condition system do not work unless outside temperature is 24 degree !!! If you open a window, you woudn't sleep because of the noises coming outside.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.1
    Great location close to the train station and the vast array...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not good. Old and sagging, so was unable to sleep.

    Great location close to the train station and the vast array of shops. Staff were helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.1
    Ok for 1 - 2 nights
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is outdated, it has got this eighties "charm", the room and bathroom was very small

    The location for a shopping trip is great - close to the station & the main shopping street

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.8
    Excellent buffet breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A lot of noise from rowdies in the street on the Friday night.

    Excellent buffet breakfast. Very good location, near main street and beside s Bahn station Nrar but not too nrar the main station

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    Except for very small issues I can totally recommend to stay here!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Impression is a bit old-fashioned. The interior design doesn't look very appealing and seems kinda randomly put together. The bright red sign of the hotel was directly outside my window and illuminated my room even with closed curtains.

    Abundant breakfast buffet, great staff and cozy room. Very recommendable for business travelers because it's downtown and has stuff like a trouser press, a sewing kit and even shoe polish in the room!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.3
    Clean and large room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast staff was unattentive and unfriendly. The air in the room was very stale.

    Clean and large room. Good location in walking distance of the central train station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.3
    Good Overnight Hotel in Stuttgart
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only the bathroom could be bigger

    Good overnight stay in the centre of Stuttgart and close walk to the main train station. Good reception service on arrival and small bar. Good sized room and facilities - bathroom could be a bigger. Good choice at breakfast which starts at 6am

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    Great location and super clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t figure out A/C but didn’t bother to check with front desk.

    Excellent location and very friendly and helpful staff. Was given a jar of jam at check in. Breakfast was a large variety and tasty. I’ve never seen a bathroom as clean as this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.3
    very friendly staff. very nice breakfast buffet. the location is perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    there must be an iorning facilities and coffee/tea making facilities in the room

    the staff were very friendly. the breakfast buffet was nice, specially the bread and the bretzel was yummy, the breakfast buffet includes fresh juices and friuts. the location of the hotel is within short walking distance from the shopping streets and the main rail station

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only weakness is the WIFI. It is working but not so good.

    The location is great! Very close to the main station as well as the city center. In addition, the hotel is close to the university campus which is good for travelers for the meetings held in the university. The breakfast is full of diversity and super, in particular the very fresh fruits.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.8
    This was my third stay at Hotel Unger. I'll be back there again when next in Stuttgart.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Being a city centre hotel, it was sometimes noisy outside at night. The bonus though is that it's a minute's walk from the main railway station and shopping areas.

    The variety of food available at breakfast, at modest charge, was amazing and far greater than might be expected in a hotel at this level. Staff in the hotel were fluent in English, helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Thoroughly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea making facilities in the room.

    Very clean, very good breakfast. i’ve stayed in many hotels and this on stands out as excellent value for money. The hotel gave me a pot of jam to commemorate their anniversary, which was a nice touch from their friendly staff. Less than 5 mins walk from the main station too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.3
    Great location, friendly staff, value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For a 4-star hotel I would expect for example a water-boiler in the room with some complimentary coffee/tea. The bed mattress was too soft for my taste. In the afternoon in the lounge area there was no staff at the bar, so it was not possible to get coffee.

    Hotel Unger is located very close to Stuttgart main station, and also very near to the S-bahn and U-bahn lines. The staff was very helpful and friendly, housecleaning was done well. The room is small yet functional. Bathroom clean. The airconditioning is very quiet and works well. Breakfast is excellent, wide selection, good service of the staff. Lounge area very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.8
    The staff is very friendly and helpful.
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms should get a refurbishment (old furniture and the walls should get a painting ) !

    The staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is well prepared, with a very diverse choice. The boiled eggs ordered on demand are very well done !

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.9
    There was very noisy construction work in the room next to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was very noisy construction work in the room next to mine during the day and that was very annoying. Other than that, the hotel was fine, very close to the train station and to the Galeria shopping mall. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    7.9
    Business trip hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning & fans in room were not active, so the air quality was not great at night.

    Great location, friendly & helpful staff, breakfast Recommend & will stay again

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    9.6
    Lovely breakfast, rooms are good for this price especially...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Lovely breakfast, rooms are good for this price especially in this big city. Nice welcome drink at the lobby. All shopping location are nearby, so closed to the Hbf so you can take the U-bahn/S-bahn to anywhere.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    5.0
    If you prefer to have a modern hotel accommodation, this may not be your choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the facilities are too updated and the staff doesnt speak english well enough.

    the location is amazing. just short walk to the train station and subway.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    6.7
    Good enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room's temperature was extremely hot, not knowing we could actually adjust the radiator, and having found instructions that said temperature was automatically adjusted, we slept with the window partly opened to allow some cold air in. Mind you this happened in mid-Dicember.

    Overall the room was clean, and fairly good. There's an entrance to the central station a few meters away, which is great, so there's no need to walk outside during the winter time.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    5.8
    Very average
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little old fashioned with single bed and older furnishings. Seems to not have been refurbished for a while, and not up to level suggested by the rating.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.5
    Great location, but touch expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property dated a bit. Some of the decor and furnishings were faulty, but clean, so, not an issue other than price you pay. Limited English TV channels. Might not be a consideration to many, but, I like to have a channel I can wind down with. All dubbed in Germany with no choice to change language settings. Can only take so much German per day....

    Very close to central station, main shopping street and most importantly to the Christmas market. Kindly accommodated for family of 4 with sofa bed for free. Room was spacious even after the sofa turned into a bed. Breakfast was included. Which is a bonus.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    8.3
    Bed was supposed to be a double but it was 2 singles pushed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was supposed to be a double but it was 2 singles pushed together, it was also very close to the floor, not easy to get out of. Shower head needs descaling.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    9.2
    Ideal location in Stuttgart.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little soft for my liking but still comfortable.

    Location was ideal, literally a couple of minutes walk from the main railway station and the main shopping areas.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    5.4
    Basic hotel for an overnight stay near the station . I would not recommend if you want to sleep
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was too noisy. They say the rooms are quiet on there website but mine was overlooking a busy main road and a cafe/bar just opposite my room with a rowdy crowd outside and music that was far too loud until 3am, so I could not sleep. The beds are not so comfortable, single bed. the room was extremely dated and very basic . The air con is not customisable and the room was far too hot and too small. The bath was dirty and the bathroom had a musty odour. It did not feel like you were in a 4 star hotel, more like 3 star, for a similar price I could have booked a nice 4 star hotel with a pool. I did complain about my stay but they did not offer anything in way of compensation the feedback was dismissive and no apologies. The TV only had 1 station in English the options were limited, the TV was very small they did not even have a bedside light. The tiny room felt like a 2 star room in a three star hotel, really surprised it's advertised as a four star.I would not suggest this to anyone unless it was really cheap and location is more important than comfort and sleep

    The location is good if you want to be close to the shopping area and station

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.2
    relaxing stay in the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    For those who should be in the city center, Is this the best centrally located hotel, with the largest and most varied breakfast buffet in Stuttgart. Friendly staff and provided with all accommodation. Recreational facilities and restaurants in the immediate area

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.1
    Was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I chose this hotel because booking.com said it had air conditioning. It was a mild day 24c and I was very hot and asked about air conditioning and they said it was off, I was not happy as I chose this hotel because of that. Carpet was stained in room

    Good breakfast included and great location to train and downtown

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyed our stay at Hotel Unger!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast was wonderful! Love the ingredients for Mimosas! The room was fine, nothing special. The staff were all friendly and helpful!! The location was outstanding.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    6.7
    very good for business visitors
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    difficulty in finding English language TV programmes: I got there after much searching through the many hundreds of channels,.

    1. easy to obtain a taxi (through the reception) 2. although the 'lounge was not particularly marvellous, I found the paintings very interesting!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.1
    Ok central hotel with good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small and old fashioned. I paid 88 euros which with breakfast was ok but it seems the full price was nearly 150. I'd have been annoyed to pay that.

    Very good breakfast and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    6.3
    not so far from railway station, main streen is just around...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not a 4 * hotel at all...everything needs to be updated, especially the bed and the carpet on the floor. There was a real key to the remm that yuo had to give to reception every morning and to get it back every evening, good old times....but you spend a lot of time to do that , not a good thing. Breakfast was not so healthy as I thought. Not so much fresh veges, no boiled eggs, only scrambled eggs but with sausages added...shrimps were pickled not fresh (or even defrost), all food is either greasy or pickled...Basicaly there is a problem with good/cheap hotels in Stuttgart in general

    not so far from railway station, main streen is just around the corner. but that's all.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.9
    Good for a short business stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air-con way to cold and not easy to regulate to a comfortable temperature. The WI-FI limit is way to low, for those that need to access the internet and work on Cloud files.

    Very quite, even though it's located right at the city center. Very comfortable bed. The breakfast was amazingly good: huge variety and fabulous quality... the fish plates were superb.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    6.7
    The position was excellent, near the central station, only...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very basic.... it was a single room, which is obvious. The problem is that very often single rooms don't have a view.... actually the windows are on the internal courtyard, so they are quite dark and you see all the engines and motors .....

    The position was excellent, near the central station, only two minutes from the S-bahn from the airport. Breakfast was quite varied

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.3
    Perfect hotel stay for a business breack and very close to the Main Station, which is perfect.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to claim.

    Every time we stay in this hotel we enjoy our stay. This time even more because we got an upgrade room and it is been fabulous. We really apreciate this upgrade and thank the staff for it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.6
    A very good place to stay in Stuttgart
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got off to a bit of a shaky start as the safe wouldn't lock and there were no towels in the room, but both these problems were quickly sorted to our satisfaction and everything went smoothly afterward. There was a good range of food at breakfast and the staff were really helpful. We'd stay here again if in Stuttgart

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    8.3
    Super awesome breakfast buffet (convenient and friendly staff)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms and bed are small and basic, so nothing special there. But the bathroom facilities are good.

    The score on this is 8.3 but I'd give it a 9, (bonus points for a great breakfast buffet, and friendly staff). I'd definitely stay here again. 2 minutes from the main station. Painless and easy check in, and you really feel welcome.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    10
    Clean, comfortable and very nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing..

    Clean, comfortable and very nice staff. Asked for early check in and it was ready for me. Breakfast was one of best I've had in Germany. Air conditioning was plus on a very hot summer day and night. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.9
    Very convenient for station and shops
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms accessed by heavy old keys. My friend had to go to reception on 3 occasions for assistance as the key would not open the door to their room.

    Staff very helpful printing boarding passes

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Hotel Unger is situated less than 5 minutes walk from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel Unger is situated less than 5 minutes walk from the main train station-we used the S-Bahn from the airport which takes approx. 30 minutes and runs regularly. The hotel is perfectly situated for shopping, restaurants, transport, museums etc. The staff at the hotel are welcoming and efficient - our room on 6th floor was spacious, very clean and had all the little extras (soap, shower/body lotion, tissues, slippers, bathrobes, fluffy white towels etc. ). The breakfast buffet was extensive catering for all tastes - staff were friendly and helpful - dining room was pristine - cotton napkins too! We look forward to returning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    8.3
    Superb buffet-breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Found it difficult to step into the bath / shower

    Superb buffet-breakfast. Very clean throughout. Helpful and friendly staff, especially in the breakfast room and at the reception. Short walk to the S and U-Bahn stations, This was my fifth visit, hope to return in 2018

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.9
    Prob would've stayed at another hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedsheets smell dusty. The bathtub drain does not work properly. Some shower gel and more sets of towels in the bathroom will be appreciated.

    The location is perfect—close to train station, grocery stores, shops, attractions, etc. The room service's lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    10
    A high quality hotel well worth the price, would definitely stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing I can think of.

    Very well presented, staff very efficient and friendly, room very comfortable, breakfast excellent. A high quality hotel about 150 metres from the main station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    10
    Great place to stay in Stuttgart
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was all excellent. The location was perfect. Close to everything, food, shopping and attractions.

    The breakfast buffet was delightful, elegant and delicious. The wait staff excellent as well as the variety and quality of the food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    Location and breakfast are excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You can include a small toothpaste in the bathroom.

    Location and breakfast are excellent. Also the staff are very helpfull. For business trips it is very good with a nice computer and a printer at the hotel loppy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.6
    Good hotel in convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Easy walk from main train station and pedestrian shopping street. Got to hotel early wanting to leave bags but they checked me in early to an upgrade room. Friendly helpful staff and water at reception. Good buffet breakfast. Nice comfy clean room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    6.7
    We happened to be there on my birthday and the hotel brought...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed on the 5th floor and we constantly smelled smoke from cigarettes.

    We happened to be there on my birthday and the hotel brought a beautiful basket of fruit and a small bottle of champagne. Lovely!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    Great little hotel for a short visit to see the Stuttgart Ballet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is close to the train station, public transportation, the Schloss Platz, museums and the Opera House, all in walking distance. Very convenient. The breakfast buffet at the hotel was excellent. There were many choices of cheese, meat, fruit, vegetables, breads and yogurts. There was even a dark chocolate truffle. The staff was very accommodating and allowed me a late check-out at no additional cost. There was water and ice tea and fruit in the lobby area to take whenever one wanted. All in all it was a very pleasant stay. Booking dot com made it exceptionally cost-effective also.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    8.3
    Adequate. Functional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were quite old, it was hot!! No view to speak off except maybe of your own car (our room faced the square at the rear part of the hotel) Just some part of it felt old and dated!

    It's a small hotel but they try to make everything work and they somwhat succeeded. Breakfast was superb. Staff were all very pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.9
    Pretty Standard Hotel. Great Breakfast, Staff and Location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were very average. Extremely basic. Comfortable but basic.

    Breakfast was really good. The staff were really friendly. Ideal location - close to the Main Train Station and Public Transport.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.6
    First rate location. Would definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Husband needed emergency medical attention late one evening and receptionist did not seem to care. Probably inexperience.

    Smart comfy room with great breakfast and surprise location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    8.8
    Good Old hotel with well maintained facilities and very...
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small, and the water pressure in the shower was very weak

    Good Old hotel with well maintained facilities and very helpful staff. The breakfast buffet was very good, and the Wi-Fi was fairly good. It is also in an excellent location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    8.3
    1 night stay Stuttgart
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice location within walking distance of main square, shops and restaurants. Staff very helpful, room clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice and option for freshly cooked eggs, we had omelette which was very good. Parking had to be booked in advance but is necessary as there is very little on street space

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    8.3
    Good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    THE INTERNET !!

    The hotel has a very good location, very close to the central train station. The reception staff was correct. Fruit, water and a tea tizane by the reception is pleasant when you arrive tired and sometimes thirsty. The room was comfortable with a good bed and good pillows. Good cleanliness. Breakfast varied and filling. The only thing that displeased was the internet which is very bad. The slowness is huge and it is not possible to send heavier files: 7 to 10 megas is already a problem. (! ...) There is good cleaning. My wife and I, we like to be at Hotel Unger.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.6
    Convenient trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    All T.V. channels were in German. I would rather have a channel or two in English or French.

    Breakfast was very good. Proximity from the train station made our transportation very easy and facilitated our mobility.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    5.0
    sloppy hotel, rude staff, no green at the breakfast buffet, uncomfortable room and expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast hall too much noisy because waitresses do everything with noise and there is no door between the kitchen and breakfast hall, so all noise in the breakfast hall. You can eat like in the kitchen. Breakfast staff is not good, even bad. They are very very rude. Not just me, I talked with the other guest one morning and she said same thing happens to her too. One girl waitress told me unbelivable rude sentence, I wrote a letter about the rude, irreverent and mannerless personel of the breakfast area. Staff making so much noise while preparing the table. I don't like breakfast buffet, advertisement is good but you can not find green vegetables, no salads, nothing green..I was staying 3 weeks in Germany, all my staying was at the hotels, and this was my 3rd visiting in this hotel, but I never visit again. Room is so noisy, opposite of the hotel there is a place and also street was too noisy and absolutely you can hear all voice in the room late night. It was also unbelivable for a hotel. In the room curtains are very demode and boring, bed is incredible bad. We stayed 2 person, they put 2 beds side by side and there is thick wooden frame between 2 beds, unbelivable. Too much expensive. I can stay more comfortable and modern hotels in this price. Shower towels are really small. I am not a fat person but they are small also for me. I can't think other people. Lighting system is too bad. One is sun light, one is white light top of the bed. One is broken, and I was curious why they were not control theese things in the room, it must be controlled by the personel.

    This was my 3rd visiting to the same hotel, my though like this , in this period hotel is very demode. Breakfast hall too much noisy because waitresses do everything with noise and there is no door between the kitchen and breakfast hall, so all noise in the hall. You can eat like in the kitchen. This hotel's only location was good, but you can find nice hotels at the same area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    7.9
    Convenient & comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not that i could recall. It be nice to hv cafe facilities in the room though.

    I had a wonderful zzz. The place is close to the train station and the receptionist on duty was exceptionally helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel at a very reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was nothing not to like

    We liked the spacious room and its excellent facilities, the superb breakfast buffet, the helpfulness of the staff and the very convenient location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    6.3
    Looks Luxurious, but Very Uncomfortable Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A/C did not get cold, bed was hard as a rock, narrow chairs, noisy downtown at night (revving engines), tiny shower, 400 of the 500 TV channels where blank, only news in English.

    Nice Presentation, Nice Balcony, Good Breakfast (open until 11am), Friendly Staff, Clean, Close to Stuttgart Main Train Station

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    8.8
    Very convenient location, outstanding breakfast buffet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I detest plastic mattress protectors and had to put my bath towel under the sheet to sleep comfortably.

    Superb breakfast - very good choice, all freshly prepared. Outstanding. I was in a single room which was fairly basic with shower inside the bath. Location very convenient for Hauptbahnhof and city centre and in a quiet street.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    10
    We had a wonderful stay at the Hotel Unger.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a wonderful stay at the Hotel Unger. The staff were friendly and helpful, our room was spacious and well-appointed, and the breakfast was fabulous. The location is very convenient to the main train station.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    8.3
    Niche place, centrally located, great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A bit loud at night, especially on weekends. Having to give up car keys if car is parked in their garage is a bit odd.

    Very extensive, high quality breakfast buffet, additionally cooked dishes could also be ordered. Location right downtown, walking distance to train station and pedestrian mall. Clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    8.8
    Good stay in Stuttgart
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed uncomfortable and very soft pillows, personal taste though.

    Staff very friendly and great variety for breakfast, good location for shops and transport.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable home from home!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not much - all was as expected. I had been allocated a room on the 5th floor and as they have a lift it would have been no problem. I have to use crutches to get about. However, they were having work done to the lift so no lift working. Explained that 5 flights of stairs would be very difficult to for me and the room was changed to one on the first floor. Excellent service. Thankyou

    Wonderful to have choice of pillows as I am used to a Tempur type pillow and usually not able to obtain one in hotels but was able to here.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    7.9
    Stuttgart. If you have to go to this city, stay here only to sleep
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They offer 1mb free Internet. That's less than one youtube video. You also have to give up your car keys to the front desk if park at the facility.

    The location of the hotel is near all the excitement in town

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    9.2
    Great experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillow was not that comfortable, its very soft that I had to fold it 3 times for it to be useful.

    Location was great. Close to almost everything. Staff are friendly and had a nice breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    7.5
    Way too expensive for the comfort at low end
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value for money should be improved. 120 €/night for single bed (90cm/200cm) is way too expensive. Mattresse and pillow are weak, there was VERY hot in the room and in a hotel, conditioner did not work.

    Location and breakfast!!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    9.6
    Centrally located hotel, great as a tourism base.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Comfortable hotel within a short walk of the main city centre. The hotel offers limited underground parking which is very useful although there are many parking options nearby if needed.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    8.8
    2 weeks staying in hotel Unger
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Noise from outside. Especially Friday night. And I hope there is more rooms which has king size bed.

    Just 2minutes from subway station and wonderful breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    10
    A Stuttgart gem
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower curtain was too short resulting in a very wet floor. Pillows too soft.

    It was central. Very well appointed. The breakfast, both hot and cold,was excellent with local produce and Schwabien specialities. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    9.6
    A gem
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel front could use a bit of fresh paint, but other than that: nothing.

    The location of Hotel Unger is just perfect if you want to be right in the center of Stuttgart. All members of the staff are very friendly, helpful, efficient and knowledgable. Our room was quiet (and that in the center of a busy city). The breakfast buffet was plentiful and just excellent. This place can only be highly recommended.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    8.8
    A comfortable hotel near station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying for WiFi (one night free), no English language TV, no hot options at breakfast (cold scrambled eggs & spam) - no toaster either.

    Good location near rail station. They gave us an upgrade , which was good as the room was spacious and quiet. A varied selection for breakfast. (no hot food). Fruit & cold drinks in reception is a nice idea.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    10
    My biggest complaint was that it was overwhelmingly hot in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My biggest complaint was that it was overwhelmingly hot in my room and I tried adjusting both the thermostat and the radiator and nothing worked; I appreciate the warmth in the middle of winter but it was like a sauna in my room.

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Unger traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: