Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Senats Hotel Köln This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Unter Goldschmied 9-17, Altstadt-Nord, 50667 Cologne, Germany

#113 of 223 hotels in Cologne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1759 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no coffee and tea in the room as with most hotels within this price range. The duvet cover came of and showed a duvet past its best requiring immediate change which put to question the cleanliness and standard of the rest of the room. Cleanliness could be better in communal areas in the hotel. Air conditioning would have been useful. The service at breakfast was below expectations, coffee was cold and food ran out. The staff disappeared for a considerable period of time. I could go on. This hotel could be excellent.

    The location was excellent and the room was large and relatively comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a building that need renovation pretty badly! Furniture and carpets are worn out, no fan/AC during hot day, left over cigarette bud and the faint smell of smoke. I just needed a place for 5-6 hrs and ended up picking this, but next I will be extra mindful of the ratings from previous hotel goers. The front desk staff were very cordial for what it’s worth.

    The only thing nice about this place is the location. Even that, it’s worthy spending the extra 20-30$ and find a diff property.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with dome view
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower door can not close properly so the floor was wet after shower There were 2 lights can not be turned on

    The location is perfect The room was spacious, clean and comfort

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room didn't have the best view, but i didn't mind as the location was so amazing i spent most of my time exploring the city

    Great staff, amazing location!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was too few, food and juice was not refilled. The interrior tried to be "retro" but it was tasteless. Everithing was weared down.

    The elevator worked as expected

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The carpet in the room was in a bad state, it made the whole room and atmosphere look like a cheap hotel. More attention could be given to the state of the rooms and adding some cheer to the place.

    Though I did not use it, the bar at the hotel is really classic mid-century in design. The hotel location is quite convenient, with many shops and restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very dated. The rooms were old with stained furniture and carpet, broken lamps and broken door frames. The bathroom was small even by European standards with a strong smell of mildew.

    The location is great and the room was large.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The personnel was not very interested in clients - the guy on front desk made us wait every single time as he had a cigarette break or phone conversation outside Bathroom was very small which could not be a problem bun in the shower there was some ventilation machine which was awfully dirty - you could see some fungus and other crap growing on the wall next to it under the shower, not very nice experience

    Breakfast was ok though lack of water to drink was disturbing Big spacious rooms Even though it was loud construction in front of hotel, couldn't hear it at all in the room with windows closed so great Comfy bed Parking underground for 10eur but there is one Great localization of the hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is a little dated but in a charming sort of way.

    Large bright comfortable room with a very hot and high powered shower. Great location, 200m from the Cathedral and close to the main railway station. Despite being in the city centre the room was very quiet and I had four good nights of sleep.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of staff. Lack of ambiance.

    It seemed a bit deserted to me with just one member of staff at reception. The bar was closed when I was there, and although the gentleman at reception offered to get me something, I paid €6.50 for a white wine with mineral water.... I didn't have breakfast, as I found it a bit expensive at ca. €12. However, the room was nice and clean, and the experience was fine, location great for visiting museums etc.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with dome view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pillows weren't exactly great. Although it said coffee-maker in the room, there wasn't and the little fridge wasn't functional. Though last two didn't affect our experience much, just putting in a note.

    Great location; right by the Dome and the train station. Spacious room; clean and comfortable, newly renovated. Staff were very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was small! Could hear noise from street, but overall being in the center of town made it worth it.

    Great location, near cathedral & train station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioning would be great, as well as working refrigerator. Especially when it's 30C outside.

    Location is great! All the transport and shopping streets are just in a 2 min walk

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with dome view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small elevator and only accessible using key that was difficult to use. My neighbor rooms were groups of teenagers who making loudy and noisy during night.

    Right in the city center very next to the cathedral and shopping streets. You can even see the cathedral from the hotel. Parking garage is 2 mins walk from the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The entire building is old and run down and that includes the hotel rooms, carpets, etc. The hotel has not been renovated for ages and is in desperate need to do so.

    The staff at the reception was helpful and the location of the hotel is very good with short walking distances to the dome and the old city centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The guy on reception was amazing, I got to the hotel early and as the room was ready he let me check in, some hotels won’t do this so a massive well done to this hotel and the guy on reception especially

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a 70s hotel. Ιt needs renovation in public spaces. the rooms have been partially renovated but the moquettes are old and polished.

    Great location, kindly staff, big rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seriously nothing

    The staff here were very kind and very helpful, helped me with all the trouble. Thx a lot and might go back for this hotel again:) the hotel was very well designed with a typical Germany Switzland? Style

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with dome view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was some sort of party or something with some boomin music till about midnight. If you shut the windows it’s not a problem though

    Staff were multilingual and very inviting upon our arrival.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel feels badly in need of a revamp. The pillow was awful, the duvet too short & heavy & no blanket option provided. One small bath towel only & a grubby bathmat. Had to endure thumping sound of music from level below until 11pm?

    Not much, very tired & basic fitout

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For some reason they believe that a minibar is only required in summer

    Very nice staff, extremely helpful. an older hotel furnished in 70s style, today we call that retro.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was not very helpful or friendly Complicated parking system that nobody tried to explain to us from the beginning (and when they did explain it, they did not do a great job and I had to ask multiple times) Dirty carpet on the floor

    Excellent location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is quite old and in need of renovation, old carpets, old bathrooms. Breakfast is quite basic

    Staff is very kind and friendly, hotel position is perfect to walk downtown

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with dome view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was poor and not as requested through Booking.com.Single beds not double---no mini bar-----no coffee making facility-----room view not as expected. Expensive for what we got even after some adjustment although there was a major event at the exhibition site

    Little ------but breakfast was good-------staff pleasant and helpful over some complaints

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was really near the central station, the Cathedral and also the main shopping street. The room was great for our needs and they put a cot for free for our baby. The hotel is very old and it will be great If they change the carpeting that was really dirty. The staff was friendly. The price was a little bit expensive.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar not open very often could not book drinks to room even with having 3 rooms for 3 nights. Bedrooms when we arrived we're not ready. Bar in a disgusting state from previous night.

    Close to the center

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is dated and the room smelled bad; when coming back to the room at night, the window had systematically been left open (negative temperatures outside).

    Very central location and nice staff at the reception; quiet room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Business Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    In my room was very unpleasant malodour. There were some dirty cups on a coffee table from the beginning to the end of my stay. The room was very dark with no good light, all equipments in the room is old. The whole hotel seems to be dirty and superannuated.

    I am afraid, I do not have anything positiv to write here.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing of significance for one night stay. Hotel is a little bit worn out, minibar was out of use but general impression still positive.

    Perfect central location but calm and safe, few minutes walk from Central Station and Cathedral. Many good restaurants, bars and shopping places arround. Big room, top size you can get for single room in general. Good heating. Single bed comfortable. Excellent Wifi. All clean. Staff at reception desk polite. Afordable price. Good value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing much. A decent 4 star hotel.

    Excellent location! One block from the Dom, railway station and major shopping streets. The rooms are big, warm and comfy. Staff is helpful and very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms don't have carpet floors but lino which gives an old feeling and the room itself is run down. The room was clean but as I said, needs to be renovated.

    The location of the hotel is ideal but the hotel itself is quite old.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Check-in flexibility, keys of the rooms, lights on the room, shower with a door that does not close perfectly...

    Main good thing: location of the hotel. But it need a renovation urgently.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It felt like the Hotel was in a rush to end breakfast everyday, removing food before time. Also, there was a noticeable odor in room 314, maybe mold, maybe plumbing, but very noticeable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is so old, it really needs modernisation. I had problems with accessing the room-the door jammed, difficulty accessing my floor-the keys were incorrect & the lift is awkward to use with luggage.

    Location is good -near cathedral Good wifi too

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with dome view
    • Stayed 1 night

    We chose the room with the view of the cathedral but we were a bit disappointed as we could see just the top of the cathedral. It would have been nice if we had been able to see some pictures of the view from the room on the website.

    The bed was comfy and the room was big enough for two people and warm.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with dome view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were old that you can feel the springs. Dirty kettle with none to replace with. Non working fan with non to replace with. Not enough extra pillows. Gave me an automatic kettle, which in fact was a vacuum flask. Room with Dom view was just partial side view.

    Good location. Right in the city.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with dome view
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!!

    The hotel in an excellent position. It was lovely to take a short stroll to all the Christmas markets and other nearby facilities. Great location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was slightly cold as the window was left open previously. There was a radiator but this was either not heating or turned off. Nevertheless this was minor as the general hotel temperature was fine.

    The room was bigger than a normal single bed room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There's no doubt about it, the hotel is well worn and also dated in style but it is clean. There was a noisy building site just across from our room but the area was fairly quiet at night.

    You would struggle to find such a well located hotel and at a very reasonable price.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything's good.

    The hotel is very clean, excellent location, just few steps to Dom, breakfast is good. Parking which is offered is actually public parking lot, which could be quite packed, as located in a very center of the city, however hotel provides substantial discount to normal price. Although the hotel itself saw better times, some vintage details, as elevator of 1959, add their charme.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is highly overpriced for what is offering. The building and furniture are old and not properly renovated. There was a very disturbing smell in our room that wouldn't get better. There are no extra facilities (such as even a small coffee machine) even in the junior suite.

    Very friendly and helpful staff who warmly welcomed us and provided us with lots of interesting info! The location is absolutely great, just a short walk from the train station. The hotel is also suitable for pets. The bathroom is spacious and hot water is provided always.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the style is quite old, the hotel is from the years 70. if you can avoid the third floor, do so. they installed an automatic perfume vaporizer, and it way to strong.

    very well located. in the center. big rooms, TV,.. all you need. the people working there are quite helpful. if needed you may leave your luggage after the checkout.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I arrived the lift was out of order. I had to bring my luggage 3 storeys by stairs and I have a hipbone problem.even when I was checking out ,the reception daid I didnot pay the room. I booked on line

    Cleanliness of room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You know what, this is an old building and the hotel is well maintained. If you want to feel what hotels were like in the 70s and 80s, this is it. I was taken right back to my childhood when my parents were traveling through Europe. Very Fond memories came rushing back to me as I went into the old key-operated elevator. Saw the diamond mirrors in the hallway. They even have a few photos of the hotel from the 60s...when it used to be very, very stylish. Just take the hotel for what it is. It's well-located, clean, affordable, safe, and front desk staff are great. I still highly recommend the place.

    Amazing Location!! I walked to and from the Cathedral at all hours. It was FABULOUS. Can't say enough about the location. Restaurants and cafes everywhere. Safe area. Inside the hotel: The washroom was spotless. WiFi was strong. The bed was great, comfy. The heater under the table worked beautifully, kept my room very warm. The heater in the washroom did too. Plenty of amentities. There's a restaurant on site. I lucked out because there was no one at the hotel on Christmas day and the day after, so everything was quiet and I got some good sleep. All in all, I had a fabulous time. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with dome view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything as expected. A bit older hotel, but exceptionally well maintained, friendly staff, the room was also in very well maintained order. Great to be in the heart of Köln and pay a reasonable price for a premium hotel. The parking is not on-premises but very close by (100 m walk or so)...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On my first day of maid service (Dec 18 at about 4°C), they opened my full length window from the top, meaning my room was noisy and cold when I returned Since I hadn't opened it, it took a while for me to realise this was the problem.

    My single room was huge, but maybe I would have preferred a bigger bed and less sitting space! Great location, I could see the Cathedral from my window and at this time of year, that also means you can see and hear the xmas market.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with dome view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was pretty uncomfortable. It was two singles stuck together. Fridge didn't work and shower was great pressure and heat but the head fell down and we had to use the hose

    Location, staff and breakfast room and food was nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have liked better heating in my room. The radiator had to be turned quiet high up to be heating completely.

    The location is very central and perfect for a business trip. The staff is professional!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only disappointing thing I found at the Hotel is that there was no TV reception throughout our stay & when we pointed this out to the Reception staff, they said that they experienced connection problems sometimes. Otherwise I enjoyed the city and only wished for an extra couple of days to extend my visit in Koln.

    This Hotel is in a great location. The Old town is a 20 minute walk on a rain free & pleasant day( I suggest you walk along the river). There are approx. 7 Christmas markets in Koln, and we managed to visit all of them. We hardly ever needed to use public transport except to go to Hotel from Airport and vice versa. Restaurants are very good & the staff do try to help you with the menu if you are non German speaking.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location. Very close to the Koln Hbf and Koln Cathedral. It was amazing to enjoy the Christmas Market beside the Cathedral. Very large and spacious room. Elevator is so secure because you need to have a key to make it work.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was not clean, nor was it comfortable. The carpet had stains all over it, and they were large and obvious ones, so clearly they must have decided to not bother to clean it. I thought that maybe since I was able to check in so early that I had the "last room" and maybe they only gave it out when very busy, but my co-worker got his room at normal time later the same day and his had similar bad stains all over the carpet. The reason I say the photos are not accurate is because they show a clean room. The bed is very low and has a hard wood surround, so when you sit way down on the bed (to put on your pants, etc) you are greeted with a hard edge and it makes it uncomfortable to sit. The mattress is a bit old, but not too bad. When I arrived the room was cold but after some searching I found the hot water radiator under the desk. I turned it up to see if I could get it going but it did not work at all until I discovered the temperature sensor wrapped around the supply pipes (always hot, so always turning off the thermostat) and when I pulled it away onto the floor the unit finally gave me some heat.

    The breakfast was adequate for the price (12 Euros). The staff at the front desk were very helpful and courteous. I was able to get a very early check-in as a room was available. There is a bar in the hotel, which makes for a convenient late night drink when you've been walking through the Christmas Market all evening.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was dirty on arrival, it was cleaned quickly after talking to the staff on front desk. However, still not really good enough to arrive to an uncleaned room. The beds uncomfortable, two pushed together singles rather than a double in a double room.

    Location couldn't be better and staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    hotel is going to be rebuilt soon. its in run down mode. management cutting back on spending money. no newspapers now. it is not as good as it was. but still value for money

    breakfast was satisfactory. hotel generally clean. staff also helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was too soft.

    The room I stayed in was spacious. This is a lovely vintage hotel with so many original features from the 1950 including a lift which uses a proper key to access the floors. International TV channels and coffee making facilities. And very central - a stone's throw from Cathedral square.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel refused to give me a business invoice. First time this has happened to me in any of my business trips. Avoid if staying for business purposes.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with dome view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mini bar and coffee machine?? There was a fridge with 2 cokes and 2 bottles of water and a kettle with some tea bags. Not really an issue, but don't advertise features you are not going to provide.

    Good location, nice big rooms.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell in the room and noises from people in hotel. Hard to imagine how thin the wall could be.

    It was a short trip and decided to stay in Cologne one more night, choosing hotel was a rush. The location is good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was dirty. The bathroom was so-so, however the room carpet was full of stains and the overall look was very ragged

    Staff was very helpful, location is perfect, room was big enough

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No tea and coffee facilities in the room. We didn't bother with breakfast because at 12.50 euros it is very over-priced. Eat in the local cafes is a much better idea.

    The female staff were outstanding and very helpful. The male staff need to up their game and improve on their social skills! The location is excellent, and the room was very spacious and comfortable. The rooms are well-heated, which is great if your stay is during the winter months

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That my room is above of the function where they had a party events and i can hear the loud sounds until late night. They told me when i arrived sat. evening the party will be finished at 23:00 but it looks like end in the middle of the night.

    Staff are very friendly and drink are free of charge inside my fridge. It’s awesome.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The best feature of Senats Hotel is its stategic position very close to the Cathedral and the city centre. The room was nice and the staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the beds were twin and not double

    the location is really great, it is so near to train station, and also all the other places that we planed to visit, we just walk every point. the room, bath are clean enough there was 4, free drink in the refrigerator from the window of hotel we could see the cologne catheral

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled quite bad, like mildew and mold. We reported it to the front desk and we were told there was nothing they could do. We had to ask for a can of air freshener which helped just a bit.

    Location is good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel lift need some update!!

    The reception Personal is really great, sympatic and helpful. Great professionals It's an nice old hotel well situated in the heart of the city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel itself is older, so you can't expect any modern key-less room opening system... But the room I had was already nice and modern inside.

    just a mere minute away from the Kölner Dom, you can't find a better location in this price range. Room was nice, spacious, clean, wifi worked like a charm. The minibar fridge is always a nice plus to have in your room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Street noise but it was Saturday night so it was expected!

    Excellent price for a hotel minutes away from the Dom. Included a good breakfast, a large but basic room and free drinks in the mini bar. Hotel is rather old fashioned but this did not bother me.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    tbh the matresses were awful... either they're old or just plain cheap and bad, you should consider replacing them.

    schickes design, 50er style. you can see they keep the style and it's great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    No conditioner + hot sunny weather = hot room even in the night

    Great price and location - right next to shopping area, but surprisingly quiet (except for the Cathedral which sometimes rings in the night)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Has one of the most impressive breakfast buffets I've seen. Very convenient to the main station. Friendly staff. When I reviewed last year there was some building work nearby. This is now complete.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very, very hot in my room (no air-con, top floor) and noisy at night if you keep the window open.

    Good standard of the hotel, convenient location very close to the main points of interest in Cologne (cathedral, Roman museum etc.) and to the main railway station. Friendly people at the reception.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit old school. Heavy keys to open the doors and the lift (no card).

    Very centrally located. Room was clean and comfortable. Also had a mini fridge.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel would have been amazing in its day, but sadly it is in need a renovation and revamp. The carpets are stained and the decor looks old, but everything is clean and very comfortable. The aged look was a bit disconcerting as we arrived, but we really enjoyed our stay and soon overlooked the faults. There is no safe in the rooms

    This hotel is in an awesome location - 1 block from the cathedral, river and train station and just around the corner from the main pedestrian shopping street, some awesome bakeries and two squares with great bars and restaurants. The hotel itself doesn't offer parking but you can park at the Hohe Street parking just around the block (left directly after the hotel, then first left and its there on the left) at EUR15 per night. The rooms are well sized and the bathroom is relatively new. All the staff we interacted with were great - so friendly and helpful, and went out of their way to help us WIFI was good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we had our breakfast on our stay, the staff (old man) in the restaurant is very rude and unfriendly or maybe he is a racist because we are asians. Not a friendly staff :( During summer a fan must be available in the room to be used.

    I really like the room... and the staff at the front desk.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My fridge didn't work. I pointed it out and got no discount or apology. No kettle, tea or coffee. It was a very noisy street at night time, so i din't sleep well. I asked for a room at a lower level and got top floor. The night staff was smoking at the front entrance on my arrival, unpleasant smell and welcome. Shower door didn't close properly.

    The distance to the railway station. Reception staff in the morning was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Appearance. A bit tired and shabby.

    The carpets all over the hotel could do with being cleaned.... However the towels, sheets and beds etc were spotless.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Senats Hotel Köln traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: