Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of smartMotel

Edisonstr. 4, 87437 Kempten, Germany

#18 of 20 hotels in Kempten

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 921 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 66

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.0
    A good quality standard motel, no frills, easy to find and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A good quality standard motel, no frills, easy to find and convenient – the room was large enough, good shower and good breakfast. Good parking underground with a lift. A restaurant/Grill is almost next door serving good quality steaks ribs etc, but not cheap.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    Property was conveniently located close to the motorway, it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The doors had a tendency to slam making some walls shake a little; it didn’t bother us during our stay but we may have been lucky. The underground car park was full when we arrived but there were some spaces outside (note that some say the ramp is very steep but I have a very low car and didn’t have any grounding issues). The TV was practically on the ceiling.

    Property was conveniently located close to the motorway, it has plenty of Parking and the room booked with the kitchen was very large. There is a supermarket opposite with a petrol station making stopovers a breeze. The staff were very polite and efficient offering advice on the local area. The room was very clean and had no unusual smells from having a kitchen.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    I would like to have seen a small fridge to keep drinks cool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I would like to have seen a small fridge to keep drinks cool. I would have liked an additional pillow but I can't blame the hotel for this as I did not request an additional pillow.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    6.3
    Our room was amongst business offices and random men knocked...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was amongst business offices and random men knocked on our door at 2130, 2200 & 2300hr to sell us beer, despite the do not disturb sign on our door. Considering the 24hr reception desk allowed random people into the motel, we did not feel secure after that. Would not stay there again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.2
    Smart place to stay in Kempten
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ultra modern minimalist style and decor. No 24 hour front desk. A little hard to find as hotel is not directly on a street but behind an office building. Why does this review app insist on my inputting more negatives before it will accept my review? Stupid.

    Great Restaurant Grill just 50 meters from the hotel. Good breakfast available early - 6:30 - so we could get on the road early.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    5.4
    hohum
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had smoke from burning garbage entering room for few hours. Smelled like food waste in the fire. Train tracks were right outside the window.

    This place is nothing spectacular. Price was lowest of other places in the area. Breakfast was nice but cost quite a bit extra.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    6.7
    Good location,but unreliable staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Requested a babycot,but never got any placed in our room,which was not exactly a pleasant discovery when we arrived at 2am..i also had to repeatedly inquire about the late check-in procedure,staff could have been more responsive; also, it was not really value for money paid

    Ideal location,when in transit,very close to the highway; 24hr check-in

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    7.1
    No Fuss Accomodation.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although this is a pet friendly Motel they don't really offer anything for dogs, there is no area to walk them, you have to walk them in the car park or along the busy road outside the Motel. But it's always nice to find a Pet Friendly Hotel/Motel. As we travelled in July A/C would be appreciated.

    Very easy to find from the motorway, Underground parking available, Breakfast wasn't bad, there was plenty of what was on offer and was replenished quickly, nice Spanish style restaurant very close to the Motel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.8
    Good place but the automated check in does not work.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Got there very late and the automated check in did not work. After an hour hour we finally were able to get a hold of the manager who gave us instructions on how to get in.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    8.3
    Good Value for Money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not the Hotels fault but we arrived on a Sunday so the resturant around the corner was closed which meant the nearest place for food (which was Mcdonalds) was a 10-15 min walk away.

    Free Underground parking which is especially satisfying as we traveled by motorbike. Great value for money, clean & quiet

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    6.3
    This whole experience with booking .
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This whole experience with booking .com very poor. This resulted in having to give credit card details over phone and via email none of which secure I shall not use booking.com again. Unfortunately I had to leave very early due to family emergency. I just assumed my pre authorised credit card would cover bill it did not, what is the point of pre authorising credit card,would of been so much easier to just turn up and pay and miss booking.com out altogether , sorry my first and only use of booking.com was a very poor experience for me.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    9.2
    Clean and spacious motel with kind staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you plan to visit Kempten, the walk to the Center is slightly far (40 minutes).

    Stayed in SmartMotel for a few times already. Clean, spacious, fairly priced, kind receptionists, no actual complaint. Highway A7 is very close.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    7.1
    Nice hotel for a short business stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small details of the room, like the stains in the carpet and small damages to the walls make the room look less clean than it actually is.

    Nice room, spacious. Underground parking freely accessible.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    8.3
    Basic, but ideal for an overnight stop en-route.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows were terrible!

    No frills but very clean and good sized rooms. Excellent communication before our stay. We were able to chose a passcode to access our room keys so we didn't have to worry when we were delayed in traffic. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    6.3
    Overpriced for a quick stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived, we parked in the underground garage, which is down a VERY steep incline. When we left in the morning, we burned our clutch slightly as we tried to climb back up the incline. I booked this very last minute, about 2 hours before we arrived due to us realising we would miss our check-in time at our original location. When we arrived, the gentleman on the check-in desk repeatedly told me we did not have a reservation (despite my confirmation on the booking.com app AND in email), then tried to tell me he couldn't give me the two rooms I had booked for three people (myself, my husband, and my mother). He then tried to tell me he was giving us ONE room at the same rate I was going to pay for 2 rooms. We finally did get it sorted out, but it was not a language barrier issue at all as I speak German and the staff member spoke English, it was entirely on the staff member not knowing where booking.com reservations are kept, and not knowing what rooms the hotel had available. The hotel also was not full at all, so there was no reason to try to offer me only one room. The rooms were spacious and had plenty of storage room, however it was obvious that the cleaning staff does not check the wardrobes after a check-out as when we opened ours we were greeted with someone else's clothing, including underwear. I used a plastic bag to pick it up and brought it down to reception and received no apology. Outlets were difficult to locate, and we finally found one under one of the bedside tables and another against a wall, so we had to do some creative charging. There was no kettle in the room and no coffee/tea available in the lobby. This was a disappointment after a very long day of driving from the Port of Calais. There is a railway line that runs directly behind the hotel. If you have your windows open at night you will get woken up by the first train slightly after 6AM. Breakfast was overpriced for what was on offer.

    The rooms are spacious and contain plenty of storage space. The bathroom is quite large and the shower adequate.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.3
    Good place to stop over for a night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didm't receive an email with the code required to check in after 22.00.

    Good place to stop over for a night. Very close to the main road.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.2
    Very convenient for travelling and has good parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very convenient for travelling and has good parking. Short trip off he motorway

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.8
    Smart hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Faces a busy highway.

    Easy hotel in business surrounding. Nice but pricey restaurant around the corner. breakfast is nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Good prize, good location and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    During our 3day stay, one day the room was not made.

    All according to expectations. Simple but fine!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.9
    short stay close to the highway
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, breakfast, parking

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    7.5
    Locatie prima
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No water heater/coffee maker in the room

    Locatie prima

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.2
    The Hotel was in a good location, quiet and rooms quite...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no mini fridge to keep food chilled or drinks

    The Hotel was in a good location, quiet and rooms quite spacious.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    9.2
    Perfect to break the roadmap
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed very confortable and breakfast good. Location quiet despite its position, close to the road. Excellent heating.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    9.6
    helpfull receptionist and good service with excellent buffet breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The grill next door and the underground parking for my motorbike. Access to the motorway is very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    5.0
    Very clean and comfortable with excellent bathroom facilities.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Firmer pillows & English tv channel or two

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    8.3
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a bad smell in the room

    The receptionist was really helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location for overnight stop on way to Italy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location for overnight stop on way to Italy

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.5
    Clean, near tram station
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room

    Clean, near tram station

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.1
    Ok for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    industrial area, the village is 4 km

    Good for one night. Very close to the highway but quiet

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    8.8
    Everything was perfect, except the noise, because the hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect, except the noise, because the hotel is close to the busy road.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    8.3
    perfect location when arriving by car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    perfect location when arriving by car.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    7.9
    Best choice near the highway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Modern motel and near the highway.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    7.5
    Overpriced for motel stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Size of the room

    Friendly Staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smelly

    Location Late check in

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    10
    good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    8.0
    Frendlly frontdesk, very good breakfast , close to autobahn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Frendlly frontdesk, very good breakfast , close to autobahn

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    6.7
    Good for one night
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast

    Good for one night

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    7.1
    Recommended
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice, spacious room, Clean. Possible to book a room outside checkin time because there is a computer.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    7.5
    Great for driving through
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More staff to interact

    The ease of using the hotel

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    8.3
    Good location if you travel by car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price is a bit high. No kettle in the room.

    Good location if you travel by car. Free parking

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    9.6
    Brilliant overnight stop on the way to Italy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brilliant overnight stop on the way to Italy. Super room and brilliant breakfast. Couldn't have been better and Wifi worked!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    10
    room size was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room size was great good location quiet

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    9.6
    24h checkin
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    24h checkin

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    7.5
    Nice room, ok price, big parking facility for free, ok Wi-Fi...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bathroom, especially toilette, could have been better cleaned and disinfected.

    Nice room, ok price, big parking facility for free, ok Wi-Fi, nice staff. Hotel next to the city centre

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    4.6
    On a Booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    On a Booking.com I chceck the filter "With Breakfest" but in hotel we must to pay separately. Noice of nearby rooms was too loud. For the price as we paid in this hotel we live one night in 4 star Hotel in Osteriech night before (Mirastein.., Osteriech)

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2016

    8.3
    Amazing breakfast and enough place to park the car safely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Amazing breakfast and enough place to park the car safely. The hotel is easy to find and near to the high way. The lady from the reception/breakfast is very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2016

    9.2
    That was already my second time I stayed in this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing in particular.

    That was already my second time I stayed in this hotel. It is probably the best budget hotel I every slept in. Rooms and bathroom are spacious, comfortable and very clean and come with a large window providing daylight. I can recommend this motel to everyone.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    8.8
    Good service, reception open untill late, welcoming staff,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    room were a bit pricy considering the position and other accomodation available in other cities in Germany

    Good service, reception open untill late, welcoming staff, indoor and outdoor parking lot for free, large and clean rooms

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2016

    7.9
    This motel would be perfect: big parking, big room, clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I was woken up several times in the night by the sound in the corridor (it is that loud!). There were constantly people coming and going, slamming doors and even conversations could be so clearly heard. The walls are thin, the room door has no acoustic insulation.

    This motel would be perfect: big parking, big room, clean and well located on the way to Austria/ Germany. It has (almost) all qualities of a great hotel. *BUT* the walls are incredibly thin, one can hear the neighbours clear as day and what is even worse the noise from the corridor (people coming and going,speaking, slamming doors).

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    9.2
    Super clean room, spacious for budget hotel.
    • Solo traveller

    I arrived after reception hours. My key was in a safe however the hotel didn't inform me about the code. However, problem got solved soon by calling the 24/7 help desk number.

    Super clean room, spacious for budget hotel. Spacious bathroom as well with perfectly working shower. Hotel is located close to the A7 highway. Staff was very friendly and helpfull.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    10
    Easy to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Easy to find. Super Room. We arrived late and the Staff did everything to make us welcome. They even sorted out some food from a local restaurant and delivered it to our door. That is what you call service!! Superb. Well done to all.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    10
    Everything from the check-in, where there was a slight...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Everything from the check-in, where there was a slight problem from my side, but it was resolved quickly and professionally by the hotel staff. We opted not to have breakfast, then changed our minds in the morning. Breakfast had actually finished but the same member of staff who resolved the problem at check-in, kept the restaurant open with a smile. Wonderful experience.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    9.6
    Clean and spacious, easy to find, good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Your question 1 above 'Type of Traveller' does not have sufficient categories for us to select an appropriate one. I was travelling with my brother. So although I had to select 'Group of Friends' this is not correct, but none of the other categories are correct either. Please amend. Would have preferred a twin bed room but as none were available had to have two singles which work out more expensive.

    Clean and spacious, easy to find, good value.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    6.7
    The check-in guy is very kind and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The ambient looks a bit like a hospital to me. Even the hotel room reminds me of my last surgery. However it's okay for staying one night. The hotel calls itself budget - however it's not really cheap. We paid 75 Euro for a double room.

    The check-in guy is very kind and friendly. However due to this fact checking-in a single person is taking ages because he tend to chat with the customer. Location is okay, a bit remote from downtown. The hotel provides free parking (outside and garage).

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    6.7
    It was very clean, the room and the bathroom were spacious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was noisy in the morning when people were walking and chatting in the corridors. At breakfast was also very noisy

    It was very clean, the room and the bathroom were spacious

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    7.9
    Friendly staff, always.
    • Couple

    I have stayed here multiple time, and always asked for non smoking rooms. However the rooms I/we got ALWAYS smell heavily of cigarettes. The no smoke signs on the doors and halls are simply not respected by many guests. They (SmartMotel) should put up a warning about a 150 Euro fine for smoking in non smoking rooms and areas of the motel. This is the one BIG Minus about the motel.

    Friendly staff, always. Easy check in and check out. Free parking on site. Free cancellation up to arrival date.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    7.9
    cosy little motel
    • Business trip
    • Group

    too far from our business appts but to be fair this was due to tradefair in Munich

    cosy little motel

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    7.9
    Good location for travelling through
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good location for travelling through

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2016

    8.3
    Great place to stay for the night when travelling.
    • Couple

    Great place to stay for the night when travelling. Easy acces from highway and 24h service

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    8.8
    Gentile staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Gentile staff. Great location. Perfect place for business travellers.

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    7.5
    Nice, clean and quiet place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice, clean and quiet place. Easy to check in and out.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    9.6
    Good hotel for one night sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was poor.

    Good hotel for one night sleep.

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    8.3
    Rooms are a bit small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms are a bit small. Insufficient space for all our lugage

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    7.9
    Very close to Autoroute.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very close to Autoroute.Kempten lovely town.Good parking.Friendly reception.Everything you need for overnight stop.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    7.1
    was a nice place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    was a nice place to stay. also not to far from the main town so a nice brisk walk and you were there.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    8.3
    A fridge would have been nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A fridge would have been nice.

There are also 32 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 66

Browse smartMotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: