Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Solitaire Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Hermann-Hesse-Str. 64, Pankow, 13156 Berlin, Germany

#328 of 579 hotels in Berlin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 549 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 34

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.9
    The common areas of the hotel was very carefully decorated...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    While the location was rife with greenery and had a beautiful forest/park close by, it was a little far from the city centre, be prepared for long treks in daily.

    The common areas of the hotel was very carefully decorated with the central atrium garden being the highlight , the rooms were very basic but immaculately cleaned.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.2
    - nice location, free parking in front if the hotel, tram...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only issuue we had for 3 day stay - we were unable to login to the wifi with macbook and staff couldn't help. Mobile devices connected fine.

    - nice location, free parking in front if the hotel, tram stop to city center is nearby - the room is spacious and comfortable, with nice balcony, sofa, big table, fridge and microwave; standard room we had before also had the same size fridge, microwave and balcony - free breakfasts - reasonably priced

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.3
    Lovely hotel, nice relaxing atmosphere and excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no kettle in the room to start with but ask at reception and they will provide you with one.

    The staff were excellent. We turned up to breakfast an hour earlier than supposed to not realising it was a public holiday and they couldn't be more helpful with rushing to get us something to eat before our departure. We are very grateful and appreciated the effort to help us and make our stay the best it could possibly be. Many thanks. Even though the hotel is on the outskirts of Berlin, the public transport was also very good with minimal waiting times

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.3
    Good location - beds very comfortable, room met requirements.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location - beds very comfortable, room met requirements. Nice continental breakfast with good coffee. No kettle in room - but a microwave and fridge...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Very nice stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It took us about 30 min to be in the center from Berlin with public transportation.

    I like it that it's free parking close by and 5 min away from the tram. We also got a balcony and you could cook in your room. Breakfast was excellent. Staff was also very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    Great in every way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can't think of anything. It's a tram ride into town but that's expected in Berlin.

    Very good experience in every way. Contacted hotel via email to request our daughter check in for us as she lives in the area and excellent response. Good location. Lovely presentation particular the planted atrium. Certainly visit again and recommend.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    5.0
    good for one night, just to sleep
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was not so clean. There was a problem to communicate in English with most of personel which is weird in city like Berlin, in a hotel close to Tegel airport. Additional fee for parking 8 EUR/night. Breakfast as usual, german standard, nothing special

    Every room with balcony. Friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    8.8
    Repeat stay
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room temp control, so when it's hot it's hot 😁 and it's a bit far from the center.

    It was all clean, comfortable, breakfast was quite good. Also we had a balcony with a view of the little houses with gardens behind so that was cos.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    5.0
    not a pleasant experience
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room had a terrible moldy smell! It wouldn't go away even with the windows left open all day long. I couldn't sleep because of that and took ages to fall asleep. As I was lying there trying to sleep, I was wondering if there is a part of wall going all rotten that was just painted over? Not enough lighting - it was a long room and the middle part had no lighting. Quite dark.

    Breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    8.5
    Definitely staying here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Why provide a microwave without any utensils, when I asked at reception to lend utensils from the restaurant, housekeeping took them away! My only complaint!

    The hotel is so quiet and relaxing, very clean and staff very professional. I felt very safe

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    10
    Best value for money to stay at in a European Metropolis. Very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The matress of the bed was brand new and really comfy. Nice furniture. Spacious balcony. The whole hotel has got lots and lots of beautiful well maintained flower arrangements. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    8.8
    Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was super comfortable. Nice and quite surrounding.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.9
    Art gallery, a lot of plants
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was not place on the parking despite we booked it

    Art gallery, a lot of plants

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel with an easily accessible location
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cosy hotel, friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.5
    Parking
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking Fresh breakfast Sauna!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    7.5
    Water was always hot
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water was always hot

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    8.3
    Clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi was weak in some rooms. Noise from the street.

    Clean. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    8.8
    Nice interior, and professiol stuff.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poore breakfast :(

    Nice interior, and professiol stuff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    6.3
    breakfast was very good and the staff also friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    old furniture, worn-out carpets, bad smell

    breakfast was very good and the staff also friendly. effortless parking.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    8.3
    Pleasant and quiet place
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No water kettle

    Bed large

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    10
    Everything was Ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was Ok. The room was spacious, clean, the beds are comfort,... The breakfast excellent. The garden - very nice.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    8.8
    Nice and friendly, good beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi is a bit complicated and it didn't work on my iphone. OK, I didn't ask to fix it:-)

    Good beds, friendly people, nice hotel...

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    9.6
    Very nice room and amazing service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice room and amazing service. Breakfast was also delicious.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    8.8
    It is quite far from the city center but on the other hand...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It is quite far from the city center but on the other hand it is lovely quite residential area with nice big park just behind the corner. If you are travelling by car it is perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    5.4
    The interior garden was great, also the well prepared...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    1. Many of the other guests had problems with the door cards and left stranded outside. We had the same problem... At the reception after half on hour still no one there... I sow a phone and instructions to call in case of not being able to enter the room. Some guy answered in a poor english saying to wait there. In the mean time the receptionist arrived and gave me a new card. Some days later they made me pay an extra amout of 27Euro. Nice... 2. Also there were 3 receptionist. One of them, didn't qnew english and was a bit off... 3. We requested a double bed and we received 2 small beds.

    The interior garden was great, also the well prepared breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    6.7
    Simple and useful.
    • Solo traveller

    I notified the hotel though Booking.com that I would be arriving after their reception closed. They didn't acknowledge this, and it was ultimately lucky that I called them beforehand for arrangement for my key to be left available for me.

    Simple and useful. Lovely central area that was like a tropical garden. Price was acceptable for a no frills stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    10
    We drove all day from Belgium.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    We drove all day from Belgium. Got to hotel late and we were very tired. Very friendly staff on reception who spoke excellent English. Then we had a super meal.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    6.3
    The Staff are friendly and helpful and looks like an ancient...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The beds look like student small beds. Very small for a 182 cm like me. It's way too small but soft. I had to sleep straight

    The Staff are friendly and helpful and looks like an ancient building renovated to look modern but comfortable. If you want to steal away for a day or two. This is the place

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2016

    8.3
    clean & comfort room, good breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    clean & comfort room, good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2015

    8.3
    Good food and nicely decorated with art
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    slow foam matresses

    Good food and nicely decorated with art

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    9.2
    Freundlicher und familärer Empfang.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Freundlicher und familärer Empfang.Innenhof mit Palmengarten.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    6.3
    Breakfast, some of the staff , rooms , greenery
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location, some staff,

    Breakfast, some of the staff , rooms , greenery

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    9.2
    Breakfast is wonderful, nice room, friendly atmosphere
    • Solo traveller

    It's a bit far from the city center, but close to public transport. so no problem really

    Breakfast is wonderful, nice room, friendly atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    9.6
    Butique Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Butique Hotel

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 34

Browse Solitaire Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: