Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Sonne

Hauptstrasse 86, 70771 Leinfelden-Echterdingen, Germany

#14 of 20 hotels in Leinfelden-Echterdingen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 210 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 29

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.9
    Near to the station and airport.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The facilities can be improved. For example, there is no kettle

    Near to the station and airport. Shops and restaurant are within the walking distance The staff is helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    5.0
    Not respect the check in time!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reservation says the check in was up to 10pm. I arrived at the hotel 9pm and it was closed. There was a number to call, which make everything dificult if you dont have your phone working in Germany. Luckily I asked for someone on the street to call the number and the guy said a password to get the key and enter the hotel. Wi-fi was not working, so I had to walk around the city to find an open wi-fi to at least tell my family everything was okay. There is no elevator to go upstairs with the heavy luggages. So the only good point was localization, really close to the airport. Room confort was not so good, bathroom really small, the reception guy was not so nice on the phone. But the worst part was NOT RESPECTING check in time. I do not recomend.

    Localization. Only!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel in cooler months.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel would have been perfect in any other season, but considering it was a hot summer night, it was not ideal. Like most all hotels around, it has no air conditioning and no fans, so the only possible way to keep the room cool was to open the window wide. However, that is problematic because not only is the hotel next to the airport, the hotel is also on a busy road. So in order to let cooler air in, one also lets in a ton of noise from cars and airplanes. The hotel is nice, but in a very busy, noisy area.

    Older property but in immaculate condition. Bathrooms have been updated and are modern.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    6.7
    Nice stuff, however dated infrastructure
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Smell of the room (smelled as there were lot of smoking going on) + dampness of air-quality - Dated furniture, dated bathroom, dated carpets on the floor - Found the price to be a bit high for one night (90€!)

    Wifi, Parking in underground garage (not Hotel's one)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.6
    Lots to see & do
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Convenient location for Stuttgart Airport & Train Station Echterdingen for train to Stuttgart; very helpful & welcoming staff; very clean & comfortable Hotel; good breakfast. Nice restaurants close to Hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    9.2
    Simple clean hotel great for the airport
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception is open from 8am to 20.00 but Booking.com customer service contacted the hotel and our key was available via the outside safe when we arrived at 21.30.

    We stayed at this hotel as we had a morning flight from Stuttgart Airport. It is close to the S Bahn station and was easy to find. The map is confusing but the route is straightforward. In the morning it took 20 minutes from checkout to joining the check in queue at terminal 3. Is is one stop on the S Bahn. There is a Chinese restaurant nearby but also a craft brewery that serves food.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    7.1
    Nice, friendly hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was a bit poor, not too much choices, buffet style. And the amunt of food on the table was also quite small.

    It is a simple, friendly hotel. The staff was fine, and nice. The room was clean, and everything worked well. I could also park in the parkinglot of the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Exceptional Hotel - Great value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was all good.

    The location was excellent and the staff were very helpful. They even supplied me with a plug converter

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.9
    The owner / manager.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ceiling could be a little higher.

    The owner / manager. Very cute The location was great. Close to train Nice restaurants close by

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.1
    Good location and comfortable bed
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Air Con - it was very hot so we opened window but room was right on main road so very noisy

    Friendly staff, proximity to s Bahn and airport

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.3
    Big rooms and nice breakfast!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no guardian at night, but it is not really an issue.

    The rooms was big and clean. The breakfast had plenty of stuff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    9.6
    Location to airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable pillows

    Location to airport. Cleanliness. Staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    8.8
    Well placed for airport, quick transit to stuttgart.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have gone with a safe

    Very helpful staff. Easy access to airport and a good breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was pricey for what was on offer

    Service was good and the room very clean and well maintained.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    10
    Hidden Gem
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perfect location for my business trip. Clean and comfortable accommodations.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    8.3
    Clean and close to the airport as well as reasonably cheap.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The walls were quite thin so you could hear people in the next room. The Church bells at 6am will ensure you wake up! There were no tea or coffee facilities or any glasses in the room. There is a very small dedicated car park.

    Clean and close to the airport as well as reasonably cheap. We arrived very late so it is difficult to comment fully but they had made arrangements so that we could get in despite the late hour. The staff were very nice and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    5.8
    Good location in the town center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Seems Lost private belongings there...Rooms was not cleaned everyday. Availability of Breakfast was Unpredictable during my stay.

    Good location in the town center. With convenient access to the train station.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    9.2
    Breakfast is good, especially the runny boiled eggs and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The church bell tower next door that rings constantly for about 1 min each morning at 6am !

    Breakfast is good, especially the runny boiled eggs and smoked salmon.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    8.3
    The hotel rooms were small but we were just there to sleep...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The parking garage was extremely tight. The entrance is very narrow.

    The hotel rooms were small but we were just there to sleep and the price was right! Great location if you want to take the train into Stuttgart... There are restaurants and stores nearby as well. Breakfast has a small selection but we got filled up for the day.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    10
    The staff was friendly and accomodating
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    there was nothing I did not like. The room was small but very comfortable and I had everything I needed for a proper night's rest and a nourishing breakfast.

    The staff was friendly and accomodating

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    8.8
    Central location, my room was quiet, good reasonable...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Parking are is quite narrow when fully used, no WLAN-access information in the room and not automatically handed or asked while check-in.

    Central location, my room was quiet, good reasonable breakfast, honest staff.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2015

    6.3
    nice room, good wi-fi connection
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    - reception closed at night and early morning. - standing out at night in the snow waiting for someone to open the door! - Booking.com asks for our telephone number but doesn't forward it to hotels! - having to call owner to know why door was locked and no one was there.- I'm glad I had telephone charged despite the late hour and cold weather!

    nice room, good wi-fi connection

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    8.3
    Small room, we had a quiet room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small room, we had a quiet room.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    7.1
    Location close to airport and not far from city centre, good...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Small parking place, no international TV channels, rather oldish.

    Location close to airport and not far from city centre, good wifi connection.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    7.9
    Big room, comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Big room, comfy bed.

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    7.9
    Service minded staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wifi was practically useless.

    Service minded staff. Location close to the S-bahn. Free parking.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    8.8
    great location near the S-bahn.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    great location near the S-bahn. Clean and decent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    10
    Big room, nice staff.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Big room, nice staff. Looks better then on pictures. There is a good restaurant nearby (Echterdinger).

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2015

    8.3
    Hotel Sonne always keeps up to my expectations when I stay...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hotel Sonne always keeps up to my expectations when I stay there for business in the Stuttgart area. Fair prices and good location.

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 29

Guests also reviewed these properties: