Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Sonne This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Hauptstr. 94, 77652 Offenburg, Germany

#1 of 10 hotels in Offenburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 309 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 54

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. We were too late to enjoy the dinner at Sonne restaurants but found lovely boutique restaurant nearby.

    We chose this hotel as our base for the Black Forest Trip, it has perfect location and great facilities. The room is very spacious.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel Sonne is a lovely traditional German small hotel. The owners were extremely nice and hospitable. The food at the restaurant in the hotel was excellent and a nice surprise after a long day of traveling.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was not well explained. Parked in local Parking as it did not seem that hotel had a parking garage.

    Very clean. Modern room. Can open the window. New bathroom. Warm but not hot.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the environtment was ideal, there was no actual view from my room.

    Excellent location, in a very beautiful and emblematic building. Breakfast is generous, can be eaten in the breakfast room or in the terrace.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    difficult to find if you are coming from the wrong side into town.

    Very good hotel and takes 20min to Strasbourg Aeroport. especially liked: - good bed - good breakfast - welcoming - in town

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very standard considering the price. In my request I asked for an older style room, with the mentioned Biedermeier furniture, but got a modern standard room with a leaky bathroom, even though not fully occupied. Other than this no complaints.

    The location was great.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. Room was comfortable and clean and we got some chocolate and water each day in our room. The room had a kettle. Location was excellent. Although visiting family we liked Offenburg as a town. It has the bonus of being a good place to get to many other places, e.g Strassborg, Freiburg and local vineyards.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a problem for us as there was a space but if you want parking get it reserved in advance as there are only a few spaces and they put a sign in your space with your name on,

    Secure under cover, locked parking Good sized room, comfortable bed Good breakfast Right in town on the main street

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owner and his wife can take a bow. I recommend this hotel to any visitor.

    The hotel was charming; the staff was friendly and accommodating; the breakfast was excellent, especially for the price and the soft boiled eggs were cooked to perfection.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My single room was small and spartan. No aircon on a freakish night of 30 degrees at 2300. No breeze as room faced another building. Its all a matter of VALUE. If I paid EUR45 it would have been fine. I paid EUR78.50 room only and it was far too expensive for what it was. I felt ripped off vs what you get say in Nurnberg at the same time of year.

    Lovely old heritage building. Breakfast room was beautifully and recently renovated. Easy 15 min flat walk from train station. Hotel is right in the heart of the town and 200m walk from Tourist Information.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing, everything was really very good.

    Excellent hotel and location. Staff was very nice too. Decoration inside the hotel is one of the best I've seen.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - alles sehr gut!!

    This is a very traditional well cared for beautiful hotel with the best bed we had in a 14 night trip. So comfortable. Could not fault a thing. Beautiful room and hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff cold, rude, didn't bother asking more questions after the woman's condescending comment and laugh, maybe it was because i was an Anerican

    Location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from bedroom!

    The bedroom was spacious and bed very comfortable. We had dinner at the hotel, which was very good and lovely setting. Secure parking excellent and breakfast lovely outside in the courtyard. Would happily have stayed longer.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the best family-hosted hotels I have ever been and with a good restaurant

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    employees are very kind!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed middle of the room,tiny bathroom, not good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location, the staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    small cozy hotel, located in a perfect location just at the city center. great service and atmosphere

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great and charming family hotel, with the most beautiful advent crown I've ever seen. Nice and short walk (9 min.) to the train station.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    restaurant was closed

    Quit room. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best breakfast ever

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    N/A

    Excellent breakfast for € 6.50. Very good location and nice Restaurant Terrace

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a basic single but immaculately clean and tidy, lovely bathroom, towels etc. Ate dinner there late, it was delicious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was super!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was nice and quiet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to leave after just one night!

    The welcome, the restaurant, the authenticity.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location nice people excellent service and very good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The care taken to add a little extra at mealtimes.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is excellent and position is right in the centre of town

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very helpful staff, location, the hotel restaurant, MC very welcome

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view from bedroom windows, and smallish room.

    Stylish room. Wonderful breakfast with large bowl of fresh strawberries.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I booked the Biedermayer rooms with period decoration, but got Business rooms, which were ok, but a little bit too functional and not very cozy.

    The breakfast was phantastic and very good value.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    • Solo traveller

    The breakfast on the second morning of my stay was not as good as the first. There was much less kinds of food.

    The positions of the hotel is great. It's very convenient to get to the train station and the city center. The staff was very polite, kind and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    - Great location in city - Friendly and charming staff - Quiet - Breakfast was good, coffee was great - Solid wifi connection - Good heating - Formal restaurant attached

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing.

    Extremely warm and friendly management. I arrived very late after reception had closed but I still got a warm greeting. Room was spacious, beautifully decorated & very peaceful considering the hotel is in the centre of town. Breakfast was simply outstanding. It was the usual continental breakfast fare (fresh fruit salad, cheese, cold cuts, eggs, bacon, cereal, bread coffee, juice etc) but the ingredients were very fresh and it was presented exceptionally well with some unique touches e.g. home made smoothies.

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful building-300 years old-situated in the centre of an attractive town . Very helpful lady on reception dressed in local costume who spoke good English. good room and breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beware the overnight chiming clock on the adjoining town hall - easily solved by closing the window.

    Caring, helpful staff. Good room. Good location and finally, very good food. Hotel Sonne is a great example of what a well run family hotel has to offer compared to the national hotel chains. Am looking forward to the next visit.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I didn't eat much of the breakfast because it wasn't food that I liked for breakfast, but I blame that on being an American. The room, (although it was just fine for me this is just a heads up for other travellers) was small and sparse.

    I couldn't find a hotel in Strasbourg France for the Christmas Markets, and Offer burg came up as a close alternative. It was a good choice! The Hotel Sonne was very close to the train station, about a 15 minute walk. The reception was up late and had my room ready for me. The room was very clean and the shower had great hot water which was perfect for my tired body. The bed was so comfortable and the WiFi was great for this international traveller who wanted to get in touch with home.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Good breakfast!!

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Position of hotel good parking good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Poor Wifi, Very Small Bed, Small towells

    Location, Service and Cleanliness

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Closest accomodation to centr. Tasty breakfast and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No service elevator to reach the 2nd and 3rd floors. No coffee or tea in the room.

    Good location. Clean room. Nice breakfast. Polite and caring staff

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Clean. Good service. Good location in a nice town and close to the Black Forest.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room very hot a fan would have helped.

    Charming staff, good breakfast with best pot of tea in any hotel to date, beautifully served.

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The dinner

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Great stop on our way to the North or South, authentic hospitality, good sleeping and safe parking inside.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Friendly staff. Excellent location. Charming hotel in a charming town.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No elevators.

    The location and mainly the staff. The hotel is pastoral and very relaxing.

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Friendly staff. Clean room. Good breakfast menu in a relaxing environment.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    The way the old and the new blended and how the staff treated us

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Just a few minutes from motorway. Right next to shopping area and restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel parking is a myth. Most bays had been pre let to local businesses.

    Well appointed room. Good breakfast excellent dinner in hotel restaurant.

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 54

Browse Hotel Sonne traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: