Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Garni Sonne This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Münster Straße 27, 88662 Überlingen, Germany

#4 of 6 B&Bs and Inns in Überlingen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 449 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    6

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    6.3

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    6.7
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dark and due to the warm weather very little air so far too warm. Our room didn’t have a pleasant view - room 33. Very noisy neighbours, woke us at 6am the first morning and didn’t stop until 8.30 that morning.

    Location is excellent Staff were fine but only saw them when we arrived and checked out. Ideal for just a base if you want to be central. Room was clean and fresh towels daily.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.9
    The location was perfect and the staff was very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was towards a backyard and very noisy, people were talking (and screaming) early in the morning

    The location was perfect and the staff was very nice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.7
    The staff was very unfriendly and unable to speak English. For the rest the rooms were clean, the br
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was very unfriendly and unable to speak English.

    The staff was very unfriendly and unable to speak English. For the rest the rooms were clean, the breakfast up to standard and the location great. I am sure German speakers find place acceptable and value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    4.6
    Management and customer service of a hotel makes such a big difference.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No reception desk. Usually impossible to locate management. Had to use public parking facility which was quite a bit away and uphill. My husband has trouble walking that distance so this was a problem for us. There was a picture of a pack of dogs taking down a deer in the room which we found not very restful so I covered it with a towel before we went out for the day. When we returned the picture was replaced with a much nicer one. When we left the hotel there was no one to be seen except for a cleaning lady. Evidently they later had a problem with our credit card which we resolved as soon as we returned home. We have sent two emails asking if the payment had gone through. No answer.

    Nice breakfast. Good location next to Saturday market.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.6
    Great!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As far as I'm concerned, just the parking was a bit of a hassle.

    The rooms were just right for the price. The staff was always smiling and accommodating to our needs. Breakfast was perfect! Theres no need for full-on eggs and pancakes everyday, which made the bread, fixins, and cereals a great start to the morning.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.6
    Very pleasant experience in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lots of stairs, bathrooms a bit dated but clean.

    Right in center city, good breakfast. Rooms are above restaurant which was only open for breakfast. Parking in nearby park garages which are in close walking distance. Friendly staff, clean rooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.6
    Nice staff & perfect location in the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were very soft

    The staff was very friendly. The location was perfect, very near to take several boats and in the old part. Although there is no parking,they gave us a discount for the West parkhause.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    5.0
    Travelled in a party of 4.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Travelled in a party of 4. My wife and two kids. Our room was on the top floor with no lift. Our kids floor was one floor down. We asked to change rooms so our kids were on the same floor. Says they were fully booked yet no one was in room opposite ours for our entire stay. 10 minute walk to multi story car park.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    very nice personal and good place in the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    for car parking you have to use nearest streets or city parking.

    very nice personal and good place in the city. excellent breakfast. recommend to stay in the hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    9.6
    Great location and value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The TV was old and not so nice but I think it was analog which is being phased out at the moment anyway. I think there was free Wifi availabile but no information about the password in the room. I had forgetten to ask and later when I would have liked to use it, it was too late at night to inquire.

    The location is great, right in the middle of the old town in a pedestrain zone. Close to everything but relatively quiet. Bathroom was big but room a little bit small. Everything was spotlessly clean. The owners have a restaurant Vietnamese downstairs which was closed at the moment but that is where the breakfast was served. And the breakfast buffet was REALLY delux; have had such a breakfast in other hotels but not at this price level!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attitude of manager. Made to feel a nuisance when I enquiried about WiFi

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Great Stay in Uberlingen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location and the staff were super friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.5
    people are nice.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    people are nice.

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    Especially the cleanliness perfect, very friendly staff and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Especially the cleanliness perfect, very friendly staff and the good location.The value is attractive.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel for good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find and equipments a bit old

    Tidy small room and perfect location near in town center

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    Very pleased with my stay! I would highly recommend this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    wifi didn't work in my room.

    Comfy, safe environment; easy to find. Wonderful staff and great breakfast spread.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location and still very quiet for a good...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    many stairs in the property

    Excellent location and still very quiet for a good night's sleep, big selection for breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    6.3
    Would stay somewhere else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible beds and pillows, blankets etc. Very noisy.

    Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    6.7
    Well placed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hairs in the bed; door that doesn't cover any sound, small and expensive for what it offers (but still was the cheapest in the area)

    Well placed

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.9
    Didn't notice the croisonts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Free Wifi was down for the last 3 days. A huge disappointment.

    Didn't notice the croisonts

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    5.8
    rooms small,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    rooms small, all with an uncomfortable appearance

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    9.2
    Fresh breakfast, friendly staff, perfect location am...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking lot but easy to find park place around the hotel

    Fresh breakfast, friendly staff, perfect location am Bodensee!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    8.8
    Nice and central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs. No one at reception on arrival

    Nice and central. Owner tried his best to Make me comfortable

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    7.5
    The Stuff was kind ans everything was very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there was no fresh air in thr bathroom and the sink was not in order.

    The Stuff was kind ans everything was very clean. The rooms were OK

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    6.3
    Perfect location in Überlingen, although parking has to be...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was rather poor, charged extra for a fresh coffee (premade German coffee was available for free). English is not spoken and hardly understood, so prepare your Bedekker if want something extra.

    Perfect location in Überlingen, although parking has to be resolved in the city's parking lots for 1€/h during work hours. Place is clean (smells of desinfectant, so it must be clean), room was clean and tidy, not far from comfort. Staff is very smiley, they surely try hard, but far from professional. Reception is done by the waiters of the Chinese restaurant downstairs, and on a busy Saturday night they can't do both perfectly.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    6.3
    Friendly and accommodating staff.
    • Solo traveller

    Single room towards a patio where some kind of machine was running 7/24. It was a constant background noise. Lots of stairs, no elevator and had heavy luggage.

    Friendly and accommodating staff. Excellent location. Basic but well kept place.

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2015

    7.9
    The location is very central, easy access to shops, bus and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The location is very central, easy access to shops, bus and train. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    7.5
    Very friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    10
    Great location and clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great location and clean room.

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    5.8
    The manager waited for us to arrive eventhough we were late...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the shower was very very small and it flooded easily

    The manager waited for us to arrive eventhough we were late for check in

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    7.5
    location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    simple accomodation and bathroom

    location, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2015

    4.6
    Cheap and Over priced
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Cheap and Over priced

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

Guests also reviewed these properties: