Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Sonnenhof This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Bleichweg 9, 76332 Bad Herrenalb, Germany

#4 of 22 hotels in Bad Herrenalb

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 164 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 17

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in was only from 17.30, which Booking.com did not know. But the key was left in a little box.

    Dog-friendly place, and the park opposite the street was practical to let the dog out. Good and clean small pool and sauna. Super breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting a room at 4th floor but lift going up only to third floor. Having 3 heavy suitcases required quite an effort. Otherwise everything else was very nice.

    Nice and clean rooms, location near the mountains, clean bathroom with toiletries provided. Very good breakfast. Very nice staff even though their English was very limited.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a truly lovely place - our room had fantastic views of the Black Forest very beautiful and the host is very friendly and made us feel at home. The breakfast buffet is fabulous and the host went out of her way and gave my son fresh apple juice as this is his favourite for example. I can fully recommend this friendly and warmhotel and we will be returning in the future . thank you very much, Iris and Johnnie

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Oldish/ a bit stained carpet, the rooms were not vacuum-cleaned daily (although they were tidied up daily and rubbish removed daily as well)

    Very friendly and helpful staff, comfy and clean beds, great location and views from the window/balcony, very family friendly, travel cot provided for no extra charge, lots of information about local transport and amenities available from the hotel, amazing buffet breakfast with lots of choice for different tastes and those with food allergies and intolerances, packed lunch available from the hotel - no need to worry about shopping - excellent for walkers, breakfast discount for a young person who actually doesn't eat much

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pillow is too big for me, but I bring my own

    We have always liked this hotel and try to come here at least once a year and now after a little renovation it has become even better. The room is spacious, the balcony and the view are perfect, the kitchenette well equipped. The location is great, within a walking distance from the Therme, from the railway station (you can use the card that you get at the hotel to travel free of charge within the region - Ettlingen, Karlsruhe, etc), from the parks and even from supermarkets. The breakfast is simply excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool is only open at certain times and you have to ask beforehand. I chose the hotel because the kids love a pool but we missed the morning slot and I hadn't asked. It won't win any prizes for great design: it's utilitarian.

    The room was actually like a mini-appartement and included a kitchenette. The breakfast buffet was wonderful with lots of choice and home-prepared stuff. This is a family-run hotel and it is really clean, a lot more so than in most major hotel chains. Bad Herrenalp is a small village. There are several parking places in front of the hotel and finding a place on the street won't be a problem. It all looks perfectly safe to me.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly, and was made to feel welcome and comfortable even though we could only speak a little german and the proprietor spoke a little english. Very good with extensive choice of breakfast served in a lovely room. Ideal situation for hikes and good restaurants close by. Would recommend to all and would love to go back again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The sauna and pool were only open for restricted periods. I had to ask in advance for the sauna to be turned on.

    Bad Herrenalb is very picturesque and this hotel is well situated.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet had problems during the stay. Hopefully it has been rectified.

    Great location clean and quiet.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cosy & clean. Super for holiday.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed us to soft. No proper pillows.

    The Room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No restaurant No garden or anywhere to let dogs out, not really dog friendly

    Good breakfast Clean Comfy

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool was available and used.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Restricted check in time. They did leave a key in a key safe but not knowing that we had to kill time before arrival

    Having an adjoining room with balcony enabling us to enjoy time with our friends. English speaking staff that were very helpful. Bacon and eggs for breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly and efficient service. Excellent room, breakfast, view and location.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Heater could be warmer, but not big deal.

    Super friendly hosts. Thanks for the scrambled egg :) Spacious room, good and new facility.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    kitchen and bathroom were to small

    breakfast swimmingpool

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 17

Guests also reviewed these properties: