Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Sonnenhof This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Merziger Str. 3, 66706 Perl, Germany

#2 of 5 hotels in Perl

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 245 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    9.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 63

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I like the high pressure coffee, but for breakfast they serve only "normal" one. Otherwise no complains:)

    Nice hotel, with very nice restaurant downstairs. I had very nice time over there. Highly recomended. Very good price for the area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints!

    Very comfortable little hotel in the heart of the countryside. Staff were very friendly. The half-board offer was excellent value with hearty, typically German food. However, the à la carte food served in the restaurant looked to be of an excellent standard too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Water through shower head was reduced to such a small amount that it was uncomfortable for taking a shower. Not the hotel's fault: new touchless bank card reader could not read credit card or EC card on check-out. The hotel kept the old reader, which worked just fine.

    Special goodies in the room, seemed to be arranged with great care.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really.

    Everything - good room and good breakfast. The restaurant in the evening is very busy, because it is good, so booking in advance is recommended. Also the staff are very friendly. I have been coming for several years and have not been disappointed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very limited food at breakfast after business visitors had left the hotel early. Fresh food not brought out until later residents arrived and then had long wait.

    Comfortable rooms. Good food. Quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    A real gem of a find in a lovely rural position. We stayed on our way to Munich in September and on our return two weeks later, where we were greeted like regular guests! The rooms were large and well furnished both had showers and large bathrooms and tea and coffee making facilities. Beds very comfortable and large, all very quiet at night. The restaurant for dinner was excellent and it was obvious on both nights that it had a good local reputation, being full, so we booked a table when we checked in. The food, wine and beers were excellent with good comprehensive menu, all in German so take the dictionary if your German is not up to it! Breakfast was excellent with a selection of hot a cold with meats, cheese, bread fresh fruit, pastries and cereal.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We've stayed many times, always clean, always comfortable, always great service and excellent food. It's our favourite little country house hotel!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Stayed in transit on first and last days of 5 day trip, given different rooms on both occasions, first was very large, second was even larger! Lovely decor, very tastefully fitted out bathrooms etc. Restaurant light and airy in a Conservatory style room overlooking small orchard and open fields. Restaurant standard very high, breakfast more than sufficient. Very easy access to motorway 4-5 miles away. We will definitely return, hopefully soon

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have visited over many years and it never fails to impress us. The welcome is great, the rooms are very comfortable, the dinner is very good and the breakfasts are outstanding. It is just a few minutes from the motorway system which makes it an ideal overnight stop.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Split double bed (2 singles pushed together and 2 single duvets) instead of a proper double bed with a big quilt.

    Dinner in the restaurant was very good

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived just before the restaurant shut, having been held up in Calais - the staff could not have been more helpful in serving us a great, excellent value meal. The room was very comfortable too!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    With a window open for fresh air the early morning traffic noise was noticeable. However we were in room 1 which is on the main road side. Also one of the nearby autobahn junctions was closed for repairs so there may have been more traffic than usual.

    The very comfortable bed. The food in the restaurant. The location just of the Saarbrucken to Luxembourg autobahn

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The address which is given as Perl is misleading, the hotel being in a small hamlet a few kilometers removed from the town. It was very close to the autobahn though.We had a few hours to kill but there really wasn't much to see outside the hotel. Having driven some distance we didn't want to get back in the car to travel anywhere.

    This was an overnight stop on our way home from Austria. We arrived shortly after the kitchen closed for lunch but a very pleasant member of staff put together a very nice platter of cold meats, cheese, pickles and crusty bread. Our evening meal was very good and tremendous value. The dining room was busy with plenty of atmosphere. I think this would be a good base for a few days if one wanted to explore further afield.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very good and useful stopover on route from Calais to Black Forest. Pleasant staff and very good facilities. Excellent breakfast choice and good restaurant meal in the evening.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely hotel. Pleasant helpful staff, even though translation a little difficult. Chef's night off, so limited menu, but accommodated our request for steak. It was AMAZING.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is the second time we have stayed here for one night on the way to our holiday destination. Situated in the country the hotel has spacious comfortable rooms and a lovely restaurant. We shall return for a longer stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service of personel was not professional. Two incidents why we say this: Firstly, we reserved a table in the restaurant by email a week before we arrived. This was confirmed twice by email to us. At check in we also confirmed our table once again, but when we arrived at the restaurant that evening no table was arranged for us. The waiters quickly arranged a table for us, but this and the whole service that evening was very chaotic. Secondly, at check out I was accused of not informing them of travelling with a dog. I did so, in the free text of the booking.com reservation, and apparently they didn't notice and gave us a room that was not meant to have a dog in. She really got into this and made me feel very unwelcome to have stayed in that room. I explained that the lady who showed us the room at check in also saw our dog, so they knew we were in that room. We won't return because of the chaotic service.

    The room was very nice and comfortable. Breakfast was very good. Parking was good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location and surrounding garden, the whole atmosphere, welcoming and friendly. Furnishings and fittings all of a high standard making the whole place very comfortable

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Always good service, always good food, always a very pleasant experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great hotel and restaurant. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have been several times and is always great. Lovely food

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old feel hotel but modern facilities Nice big room, friendly staff. Early breakfast available Great meal in the restaurant

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Continental pillows which provide little support

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hadn't made up room for two people

    Convenient location. Good value for money. Restaurant good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing -all was lovely.

    Secure parking for the motorcycle. Friendly staff. Good restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Great rooms, lovely staff. Very clean and very restful. Excellent food and service. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good food, great service, extremely well presented and comfortable rooms (we stayed Tuesday and Friday, different rooms)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice, clean hotel at a reasonable price for the area. Evening meal and breakfast were of good quality.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, good shower, lovely area

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was fab. Sea Bream and Prawn salad lovely. Room very clean and comfortable. We had a dog with us and there where good country walk nearby.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really.

    Good meals in the hotel in the evening, and a good selection for breakfast. Good parking beside hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our stay at the Sonnenhof was first class. Hospitality, meals and room exceeded our expectations.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, very clean and tidy. Good food

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like.

    We have stayed here many times, Comfy beds in all rooms. Good food and hospitable staff. We will be staying again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room a very good size, clean and comfortable. Restaurant food excellent and reasonably priced. Would definitively stay again!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Couple

    Some TV channels in other than German, such as in English or French would be welcome.

    Clean, comfortable and agreeable staff. Frankly, an excellent breakfast offering by almost any standards internationally.

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Despite asking what time the restaurant closed before we arrived, it seems that it was rest day (always Monday) and the restaurant was closed.

    Very comfortable, well-decorated rooms, and great food. Despite the confusion with the restaurant opening times, we were offered steak, chips and salad, and it was the best steak we've had for years. The staff were great and provided a fantastic meal. Breakfast was also ample, and we were offered an omelette in addition to the substantial buffet. This was our second visit, and won't be our last.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    The location was perfect for a stopover on a journey from Calais to Bavaria. The owners and staff were extremely pleasant, welcoming and helpful. The accommodation was top class with a comfy bed. The breakfast had a very extensive choice and the evening meals were delicious.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No elevators and four flights of stairs! Light is automatic in bathroom so you can't shut it off. Need to be more generous with toiletries, one small bar of soap for three days.

    Nice restaurant, comfy rooms. Good location in countryside. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The failure of the VISA payment facilities which meant that we had to pay cash. At the end of the holiday we had been running our Euros down and it was fortunate that, between us, we had sufficient cash. I realize that this was probably a rare occurrence but in a rural location the lack of an alternative machine/method is unfortunate.

    The location is ideal for an overnight stay on the journey from the Austrian Tyrol to North Lincolnshire via the Channel Tunnel

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything. We often stay here when travelling to and from Austria. The only problem is making sure that we book early enough because they're so often full. It's a little gem, lovely rooms, friendly staff and great food.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If you are doing the Moselle on bikes and choose this hotel, be aware that it's a steep 7km climb from the track to the hotel.

    Tea making facilities in rooms, spacious room and nice bathroom. Garden terrace available for drinks and dinner.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    im not complaining but the rooms and bathrooms are smaller than usual and if that's all I can say on the down side, this place obviously rates highly

    Lovely old establishment with plenty of character. Wonderful staff and excellent food. My tip is to reserve a table well before your stay as the restaurant is very popular with locals.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing really - enjoyed my stay. Unfortunately the nearby Luxembourg m/way was closed when I was there forcing more traffic along the hotel road for a few weeks - should be finished now(28/07/15). This obviously was not the fault of the hotel,(but might have left some guests thinking it was noisy, which it isn't), as I have stayed here several times before, and always look forward to my stay.

    Relaxed atmosphere, family run, nice rooms, good quality value for money meals(many locals eat here), good breakfast, friendly staff - what's not to like.

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was clean and comfortable including the bed. The evening BBQ enjoyed in the garden on a beautiful summer's evening was delightful and good value for money. The location was quiet and the staff were efficient and friendly. A relaxed atmosphere prevailed and there were a few hikers and bike riders among the guests.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They only criticism very rough towels in the bathroom.

    We had room 1, which is a corner room adjacent to the road. There was very little noise, which was a pleasant surprise. The room was very big, the bathroom too. The shower was powerful and toiletries were supplied. We had an evening meal which although more expensive than I expected, it was very good. We slept well in a comfortable bed. Breakfast next morning was fine. All in all, an excellent place to stay on our journey onwards to Austria.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant just s bit too popular, with locals too

    Very fair price Exceptionally spacious, comfortable room Beautiful garden terrace for well-prepared dinner, and good value wines Convenience to A8 autobahn

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Even though the staff spoke very little english and we spoke very little german, communication was fine and we felt welcomed. The staff were friendly and facilities were excellent

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Personnel is very helpful and very friendly Location is great, very quiet, but nevertheless very close to the highway Luxemburg-Saarbrucken. Quality of all the food is Super (restaurant at noon, or in the evening - closed on Mondays - and the breakfastbuffet). If you want to be sure to have a table at noon or in the evening, you'd better make a reservation beforehand, because very many people agree with my comments. And in summer, when the weather is nice, you can even eat on the terrace with view on the orchard. Great food and wine in a very relaxing environment! The rooms are decorated very tastefully and the beds are very comfortable. For me a 10/10, now already for the 5th time, and this time 5 days in a row.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing at all, everything perfect. The worst thing was having to leave.

    Our second stay in 10 days and another perfect stay. A bonus was a bath in the bathroom which we really appreciated. Food is excellent and always a warm welcome.

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were not able to have an evening meal at the hotel, they did not serve meals on a Thursday evening and we were not aware of this at the time of booking.

    Generous sized rooms. Good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Group

    Everything was excellent! Food was brilliant.Staff extremely helpful and polite.

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very good hotel. Staff is very kind and professional

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Spacious rooms, good restaurant, generous breakfast, nice rural location

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely hotel with nice restaurant. Ideal for a restful break or stopover.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Delightful place all round, setting, restaurant, grounds

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    This is a quality hotel with very friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!

    Quiet hotel in the country, with a good sun terrace, excellent restaurant, friendly staff and great service

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Location, cleanliness, excellent double rooms.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The weather which was widespread across Europe

    We love this hotel. Very friendly staff, lovely big room and bedroom, dinner and breakfast excellent

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Stayed here many times always good

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 63

Browse Hotel Sonnenhof traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: