Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel & Restaurant Sonnenhof & Sonnhalde This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Hohlgasse 3, 79777 Ühlingen-Birkendorf, Germany

#8 of 14 hotels in Ühlingen-Birkendorf

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 421 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had requested a triple room from booking.com but when we arrived the hotel only gave us a economy room with folding bed, it was not a real triple room. More like a downgrade room!!! And hotel charge us for extra kid(7 yrs) for 10 Euro per night. I was really not happy for this. We have to pay 30 eur per night more to get a bigger room for4 ppl. The hotel is ok, but definitely I will not go again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only concern I could tell is the flat pillow in the bed, but this might be ok for others.

    We were staying in a deluxe room which is just perfect, feel like home, premium quality rooms and bathroom with bath and shower Various breakfast, friendly staff in the breakfast area, especially the Hungarian and the Slovakian girl were really kind. Thank you! We really enjoyed our time in the wellness also.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good hotel with good atmosphere. Parking in front of the hotel, and a lift inside. Very clean and comfortable rooms, good bed. Perfect breakfast with my favourite chees selection. I highly recommend this place.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the room was extremely hot The wellness area was not always checked by the stuff for fresh water or to clean the floor The room looks a bit old in reality. You are able to hear everything your neighbours from upstairs are doing. Even a small step.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It will be even better if extra pillows or firmer one to be provided since the current one are too flat.

    Excellent service from the manager and staff, nice and comfy room, good location, good spread of breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, really. Small stuff FYI: No real views, and restaurant in other building, 200m walk.

    Helpful staff, great breakfast, garage available for €5, good sauna & pool, well situated in nice countryside

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and matress so old! Restaurant so expensive and bad quality! Meat a lot of fat! Internet so slowly and not working all the time in the bedroom! 😩😩😩😩😢😢😢

    Breakfast very good

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist was very friendly, room was very basic but entirely adequate. Price was very reasonable and the added facility of a swimming pool and sauna were great!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hard bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom of our room was extremely small

    Nice location Very clean Very good restaurant Very good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great breakfast! Nice natural landscape. Surely we'll come back...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were superb!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excelente food . Excelente breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothig

    Great breakfast and lovely pool

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing negative

    Whole place was run efficiently.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some Games for the kids would have been perfect

    The Food was Fantastic

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Little bit far from main roads.

    Very clean hotel. Big wooden rooms. Free parking.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice sauna and pool. Great breakfast!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing.

    Hotel is split on two sites (we were in part with swimming pool). Lovely pool. Nice spacious room with views from balcony over fields. Very rural and quiet. Nice dinner in the other part of the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It was expensive, I felt it was not children friendly, It's situated in the middle of no where!!! there was no play area for kids it's more a bikers hotel or for people without kids. the photo in booking.com was deceiving because it looked like it was surrounded by fields but actually it was backed onto houses on either side. We were in room 537 and our view was over looking other people houses and garden. The restaurant was across the road from the hotel, the food was not much to talk about we've had better elsewhere.Also staff was not very informative in what there was for families to do in the area.

    Good size room, parking, swimming pool and wifi

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There is a lot of room for improvements in staff's attitude. The building was build/extended to fit the maximum number of rooms. If you have a room with balcony doesn't mean you also have a view. One of the rooms had access to next one and that door wasn't locked.

    Breakfast is good. Location is nice. Everything you see around is "green" and "quiet". Not too far from Titis and Schluchsee if you have car.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    View from our room wasn't that interesting.

    Good indoor pool (although a little chilly) Large rooms. Good restaurant (over the road) served tasty food and staff were very helpful. Good choice at breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There were obviously very few guests staying at the same time as we were, yet we were put into a room on a floor that had several rooms being renovated. Works started shortly after 7am. We were not informed that this was happening on check in, but also given no notice of the water supply to the floor being shut off before it was the following morning!

    The hotel is in a lovely location with a good restaurant albeit at the second hotel (not too far to walk). The pool was great.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Receptionist was not too friendly but perhaps because he was not fluent in English. I booked this hotel in the Booking.com for 2 adults and one child, but it appeared that i paid for 4 people because we ended up in two bedroom suite, the biggest available in the hotel. Instead, we could all fit into normal room with one large bed and a sofa. I overpaid extra 100 Euros for nothing and that could not be cancelled. I should add a comment regarding the sauna. I was sitting inside when old German couple came in and declared that the sauna is dress free and i cannot be in my swimming suit although it was not written anywhere. I gently explained them that it is not a public sauna with the rules, i pay for the hotel and equally demand the services. This is a remark for the guests who are not used to nudism in German baths, especially families with small children.

    The location of the hotel is nice, very good for hiking in the surrounding forests. Swimming pool is decent although sauna is located on a lower floor. Breakfast was OK, free parking available.

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The Wi-Fi connection could be improved. The lighting in the passageways leading to the rooms is difficult to operate and involves some detective work looking for the light switch. An automatic sensor system would be an improvement which would turn on the lights when a person enters the corridors leading to the rooms.

    Excellent facilities such as a good size swimming pool, an adequate fitness area and a very good sauna. Everything is clean and hygienic. The restaurant provides a good selection of menus and the quality of the food is good.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    --

    Nice Huge breakfast selection

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No toothpaste in toilet

    The staff was very friendly... especially kitchen staff

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything is good at the hotel. Nice rooms, clean environment, excellent pool, sauna and spa.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Food was excellent and hotel service good, although very busy. I would definitely eat there again.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant very very good. Separate building. Prices perhaps a little on the expensive side, however, the food was delicious and worth every cent.

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Beautiful location, pleasant staff, nice food at the restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Spa facilities, breakfast, pool, e-bikes

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

Guests also reviewed these properties: