Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Dorint Hotel & Sportresort Winterberg/Sauerland This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Dorfstrasse 1 / Postwiese, Neuastenberg, 59955 Winterberg, Germany

#43 of 51 hotels in Winterberg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 853 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 60

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kids Club could have more activities. Kids club didnt have diper bin bag or anywhere that I could put the dirty napy. The teacher told me to put it outside near the door and take it with me when I leave. Not a very kids friendly approach. There was no phone in the room. Only an ipad which was the communication device with the reception. But wifi was not working for three days so we had to walk to the reception everytime we needed something. I didn’t like the fact that we had to pay 9 euros per day as parking fee.

    The room was great. It was a family room with a separate bedroom. Beatifully decorated room. Breakfast was great. We had dinner one night at the restaurant and it was very good. The location was very good, right next to ski slope. We would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hospitality of the receptioniste and especially the men at the hotel restaurant are really not a 4* quality. In the restaurant the men gave us the feeling that we where not welcome and asked too much. We could laugh about it but it is really not good, please change it.

    the distance to the slopes and skilessons are great!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Holiday Home
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fitness center was closed but they did not mention it in the email we received ahead of our stay. It is all dated and run down.Breakfast for 17 euro per person is way to expensive. Eggs not fresh and not really warm. Personal at reception not very friendly and not well organized. We were told house would be ready in 20 min. Then someone came to tell us it was ready to find out at reception it wasn’t. No apology at all. House was dated and some beds are not very comfortable. Oven was very dirty. Does not deserve a 4 star rating anymore.

    Swimming pool was nice. Houses would be nice and big if they would have been renovated and updated.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Holiday Home
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The house was not clean, the heating didn't work properly and the kitchen supplies were still dirty from the previous guests. The swimmingpool is not heated, whirlpool is broken.

    Good size rooms, comfy beds and nice view! Parking at the hotel was very handy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are very old, beds not comfortable, the overal cleanless is not acceptable, smelly carpet everywhere, we found 4 bugs in our bedroom. The buffet at night was unacceptable for 28 euro pp without drinks.

    The location was good. Not far from the slopes. Nice swimming pool.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dinner at the restaurant was...meh. And the staff were almost comically unfriendly/unhelpful. We were also told on the first day that we could stay in our holiday homes until the rooms were ready -- only to be told the next morning that we had to be out by 10 am, which meant we had to scramble to pack, load stuff into cars and get kids to ski school on time.

    What a difference a day makes -- on our first night here, we stayed in one of the older, slightly run-down holiday homes. For the next two nights, we moved into what they call a "comfort apartment." While I take issue with calling anything an apartment that doesn't have cooking facilities, everything else was great and obviously very recently renovated -- huge living area with two bunk beds, a dining table and a comfortable sofa and chairs; a nice hot shower and a comfortable king bed. Breakfast buffet, as mentioned in another review, was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Holiday Home
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was markedly unfriendly -- one had the impression of being distinct thorns in their sides. The three-bedroom holiday home we rented was large enough in terms of bedrooms, but the kitchen was tiny (good thing we were only there for one night and didn't need to cook) and the apartment overall was worn and tired (insulation around the doors and windows was shoddy, which meant the heaters were turned to 29 degrees in compensation).

    The buffet breakfast was copious and varied, with everything we needed to fuel up for a day on the slopes. The sauna area was larger than expected (though oddly hard to find -- it was behind a blank door with no sign on it). And the location was perfect for our families, with kids who were skiing for the first time -- an easy stroll to the ski rental, lift ticket office, ski school and chairlift.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In the apartment sofa-bed is not suitable for adults, very hard. Personal should be trained on soft skills while welcoming guests, or we just were unlucky with unfriendly approach behind the reception.

    Nice view from the balcony in the room & apartment. Spacious room. Nice swimming pool and sauna facilities. Location is great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Holiday Home
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our appartment wasnt the cleanest. The dishwasher was broken, so water leaked everywhere. The dishes and cutlery were (probably because of the broken dishwasher) all dirty. The wifi was non-existing

    Amazing view on the mountain, pretty houses from the outside. Pool and sauna were nice as well. The rooms and appartment are very spacy

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Holiday Home
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor management of pool area especially running out of towels with nobody to contact about it. Many people complained. Locker room very small.

    Ease of access to activities with kids

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Holiday Home
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is quite old (so different from the photo in HP), and cold inside, especially the day we arrived. We had to wait 18:00 o’clock to check in, 1hr Waiting was just tooooo long for us with 3 kids.

    Breakfast buff is very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Holiday Home
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were checking in on Boxing Day and just staying one night. We had stayed here the year before and really enjoyed the skiing, which is perfect for beginners like us. The hotel was super busy when we arrived, and we were staying in one of the cottages which you can only check in to after 5pm. Well we didn't get the rooms until about 8pm, which was annoying since we were only staying one night. But - to the hotels credit they did a lot to make up for it, which made us feel welcome. the breakfast at the hotel is very nice, and the restaurant has a good schnitzel. The ski slope which is next to the property has a good ski school, and is perfect for beginners. we'd definitely go back.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Holiday Home
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor check in experience. We arrived at 17:10 ( checking was at 17:00 which is already too late). After queueing for aprox. 30 min they told us our room was not ready. Also no indication when it was expect to be ready. Room with cigarette smell. Swimmig pool indoor but it was freezing cold. Restaurants only possible with reservation , otherwise it leaves you with no option for food at the hotel. Standard breakfast for 17 EUR per person and parking at 9 EUR per day. Definitely not a 4 start hotel.

    Location was good , very close to a ski piste. Christmas buffet was good. Good wifi

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check-in time is very late, 5 pm. We could enjoy skiing until 4:30. It was OK if we could check-in at 5 pm but we could not check-in until 6 pm because of their delay for the room cleaning. They didn't apologize very much...

    The location was perfect for skiing & snowboarding, it was walking distance form the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That the swimming pool was closed because of a some large restructuring ongoing in Dec 2017, and we were not upfront informed about that. We chose this apartment as well to have the possibility to swim with the small children. We were compensated for that which was decent from them. We arrived at 16 hours and it was clearly written that apartments are available from 17 hours which I clearly understand if they need the time to clean the rooms. However there were many rooms/apartments empty, so why are they not a bit more flexible and client oriented? Room was ok, however Sofa bed was really hard, wall outlet broken, bathroom ceiling with cobwebs. Did they really check the room before giving us the key at 17 hours?

    The main building looks beautiful and restaurant is good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Holiday Home
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Swimming pool was CLOSED!!! No activities for our family. Climbing not possible for there was no instructor. All other sports were from external companies. We expected to come to a SPORTS hotel, where we would not have to leave the property. Now we had to take the car all the time. We were NOT informed by Booking.com that the swimming pool was still closed. Dissappointed. At reception we got no information what else to do in the hotel. Lots to do in the area. But that was not our idea for this weekend. Only when we left she told we could have played tennis....

    Free Wifi Nice breakfast Friendly personal Nice dinner

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the pool was not working the long weekend that we went and this was one of the reasons why we chose this specific hotel, so this was disappointing.

    Great location, very spacious and clean rooms, great breakfast, activities for kids, welcoming to dogs.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired, in need of refurbishment, poor quality restaurant.

    Sofa bed broken and uncomfortable, no sheet. Swimming pool closed and this wasn't mentioned Restaurant average and overpriced Room adequate

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the price, the rooms need urgent renovation. It is presented as children-friendly hotel, however you have lots of stairs without elevator to go anywhere (up to the room, all the way down and up one floor again for breakfast and reception, etc.). Also not walking distance to Winterberg, therefore always need to drive if you want to go anywhere.

    Nice old buildings with good view

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Several small staircases up and down to reach my room at the end of the property, no elevator. Nice for people with kids (which some won't like).

    Great breakfast buffet, well equipped room (including a small kitchen) and a nice view. Lively and social, nice for people with kids.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The service was bad.Beds were the worst.. The hotel knew there was no sauna but did not inform us, and did not make up for the situation. We wanted to ski and do wellness. Which was not possible..

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Holiday Home
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Walking distance reception to the houses - drop off shuttles (like golf carts) would be a nice addition.

    Location was incredible, beautiful view from our houses' balconies and nearby the ski slopes. Sauna and swimming pool were also convenient facilities

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This family house is very nice. It feels almost like you are staying at home. The view is also wonderful. The distance to the ski slope is about 10 mins drive. I find the distance is quite acceptable. Besides, we love the spa & swim pool inside the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Holiday Home
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly staff, very dirty rooms, poor food quality in restaurant. Front desk ladies are just horrible... same with cleaning company. We waited for our room 3 hours and when we came I had to clean it on my own... what a waste of such a great location

    Location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Holiday Home
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - Apartment would need some refreshment works even if overall comfort was OK - Shower place inconvenient, especially for tall Dutch guys above 1.85. - Kitchen a bit small and not enough items to decently cook (think of frying pans, micro-wave). Cooking a Christmas eve dinner was a bit challenging! - Parking lot for car quite expensive and not so close from the apartment but walking in the hotel residence area was also a real pleasure! - No Dutch-speaking channel on TV and very poor wifi

    - Location is first-class; quietness, view over the mountains, in the woods and very close to Winterberg - Good breakfast with lots of choice but not cheap - Apartment of decent size, well organized, clean; kids loved it - We enjoyed a lot the pool and spa area (really a plus by poor weather as we had) - Staff is multilingual (Dutch speaking everywhere) and very helpful Overall a nice experience, ideal for a family. Certainly the place we will chose again when back in the area.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    There seems to be a problem with the heating system overall the hotel (except the SpA area where is hot enough) - the radiators are not suited for such tall rooms (we had to change our accommodation in order to receive a warmer room). The bathroom is small .

    The rooms are nice and equipped with everything you need for a home away from home. The views are very nice and there is a feeling of privacy . Beds are ok and the room size is decent. Pool is very nice and one can do a lot of activities with the kids. The lobby area is very cosy with that fireplace :) . Personnel is nice and client oriented - a real pleasure to talk to them.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They could have been spa with massage. Good signboards to the rooms in various houses.

    The breakfast was good & good staff. Neat & tidy room. Nice place

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing was available in English.

    We really enjoyed our stay, were pleasantly surprised. The location is perfect!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our apartment wasn’t clean and the pull out sofa had big stains on it and wasn’t made up prior to our arrival

    The buffet was lovely

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    /

    The room was really nice , clean and modern . definitely worth an other stay

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No cooking facilities. Wifi terrible.

    Modern, clean and comfortable apartment. Great location. Breakfast good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Holiday Home
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was cold, no kids pool, breakfast too expensive, children’s play area in reception was dirty, kitchenette is tiny

    Location, views

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sofa bed dirty and unusable No kitchen amenities- no milk, tea bags etc.

    The bathroom was clean Beautiful view from the room Generous size room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was to cold and the breakfast a bit expensive

    Looks nice, good breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Holiday Home
    • Stayed 1 night

    poor service. arrive at 17:00, but the room is not ready, get in the room at 20:00. no compensation! swimming pool is cold!

    room is big

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness of the room. The heat was off so we were cold in the bedroom.

    Location, play room for the kids and Swimmingpool

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Heating / insulation was insufficient, it was extremely cold in the appartment. No wifi available in the apartment.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of steps up to the road.

    Great location; quiet yet close to town (Winter berg); Good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food

    The room was big.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didnt work in our part of the resort

    Lots of fun stuff to do for an 8 year old boy who loves all kinds of sports

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    Everything was awesome! It was beautiful & spotlessly clean and the staff very friendly and accommodating! Down to the small details, it was a great experience. Can't recommend this place enough!!! Food & service in the Dorfschank -Amazing!

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The hotel is not well organized. They didn't clean the room in the 4 days that we were in the hotel. They said sorry for it and gave us a small discount. (that was ok)

    Breakfast was good but the rooms very old fashioned. It really needs a refresh!

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    -

    We enjoyed this hotel very much. It's overall as a holiday village. Charming, cozy, well designed, comfortable, welcoming. It has two restaurants, one smaller and one larger, in front of the reception. The buffet dinner from the second restaurant is very nice and with lots of variety. The ski slopes are 1 minute away, which was also very nice.

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Even service lady was very nice, she was alone and with the amount of guests couldn't keep up, what was not her mistake. Room telephone was not working, and even we reported it, it was never fixed. Dinner in hotel restaurant was below standard. Our meat, pork tenderloin was burnt and dryed, and my salad had sand in the first bite. The salad was replaced, but we never got any real feedback besides sorry from waiter regarding the main course. To bad

    Lady on front desk very helpful by check in and before, since booking didn't go well. Booked 2 adults and one child, but only had confirmation for one

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    parking is quite expensive and the spa area could be a bit bigger and nicer for this kind of hotel.

    breakfast was very good. the room was clean and overall in good condition. the staff was very nice especially the bartender.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The appartment could use a fresh make-over and the "wellness" is too small.

    The hotel is located very quietly, you don't hear a thing at night.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Poor maintenance... Dated and old style. Food expensive in comparison to level and reputation of hotel chain and advertising.

    Location brilliant, many facilities. Pool area good too

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There was a slight confusion with the pool towels and bathrobes. They give to use them for free, but for some reason they are not left in the rooms.

    There is a jumping castle and a playground - great for kids. We also enjoyed swimming pool, which has a separate section for small children. The water was warm, so a 3 year old can stay in for almost an hour.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A sport resort without a decent fitness room shouldn't be called a sport resort! Get a tread mill and some weights!

    Staff was great, friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No wifi as promised and when asked about it they refused to allow us move rooms or to send someone to fix it. Cleanliness of the room was marginal and the bed and couch bed were both pretty bad.

    Nice view and decent location if you have a car of your own.

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Would be a more comfortable night's sleep if they had double mattresses and double duvets, instead of just singles. On-site parking is pricey (9 euros a day).

    It's situated right beside a few ski runs that are a good alternative to the main Winterberg ones. Nice swimming-pool. Great kitchenette. Dog-friendly.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We were not happy that 2 boot bags were lifted from the ski room, which contained our ski boots and helmets, however, skis and poles remained. The service in the restaurant was very poor, we could not order drinks at the bar and our meal took an hour from sitting down to be served.

    The skiing was excellent, the accommodation was great giving us the relaxed mornings and evenings that we enjoy as a family.

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wifi not working in appartment, personnel said they could not help. Food in restaurant not really good.

    Very nice location on walking distance of piste

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Kids club closed

    Very nice but no snow

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great atmosphere

    Spa area getting old

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There was no internet available in the room, we were not expecting this based on the information we had when booking

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    .

    .

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Many staircases, no lift, if you have a baby never go to this hotel!

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    nothing only one remark some appartments are located 5 minutes uphill walk from reception

    location swimming pool appartment restaurant

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 60

Guests also reviewed these properties: