Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Spitzweg 3 stars

Paradeisgasse 2, 91541 Rothenburg ob der Tauber, Germany

Review score

Based on 699 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The otel was perfect. The owner was great guy and answer everything we need , helping a lot. The location was great. I woild like to stay another time definitly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's nothing to dislike

    This excellently run property is perfectly situated inside the wall of the old town of Rothenburg. The owner's character adds to the overall experience in this rustic but beautiful and very well maintained hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing – everything was wonderful.

    Location is 11/10! It's inside Rothenburg's walls, but still has plenty of private parking. The room was lovely, with homemade furniture and a nice view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no wi-fi available. The building uses the free city wi-fi but it really doesn't work at all so don't count on it for anything. The parking lot in the pack is not well maintained and you can easily get parked-in when trying leave in the AM to catch your flight (we did). The owner doesn't know which car belongs to which guest and there aren't any parking lines- beware!! The shower flooded our bathroom everytime we used it- very poor seal on the shower door. It made our hot and humid room even more humid.

    The location is excellent for a fair price. Free parking is nice. The building is historic and interesting. The beds are clean and comfortable. The breakfast is above-average.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That's the second time I stay in this lovely hotel!!! It's located inside the walls of the old city of Rothenbur ob dr Tauber! The owner, Herr Hocher, is fantastic, very nice person, it's always a pleasure to meet him! The hotel is fantastic I felt as if I have travelled back in time!!! The room is very comfortable, excellent bed and decoration! The breakfast is excellent, the eggs you order the way you prefer, and are made by Herr Hocher himself! Our stay was as always wonderful! We were very lucky to stay in Spitzweg hotel during a Medieval Festival, which was a plus!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing negative to report.

    This was our second time staying at this hotel. We booked the family room for our family of four, two twenty something year old children. The family room has basically two king beds and a pull out sofa with a little dining table and chairs as well. We loved the host and his staff. He and my son played chess every morning and it was a great way to connect. The host is helpful and will give advice on the area if asked. I just think this is a great, affordable location that includes parking. We did learn after this trip he does own another hotel there so if in the future we are unable to stay at Spitzweg I will call to see if there is availability at his other property.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charming little inn in not-to-be-missed Rothenburg! Delightful staff. Loved the breakfast, too! Perfect location - 10 minute walk from train station, 3 minutes to the town wall or main streets.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you are a person who likes to lay in bed at night and go on-line with hotel wifi, you should not book here. Most of the time there was no service and when there was, it was fleeting. The hotel relies on city-wide free wifi, which doesn't seem to penetrate the hotel walls. When I wanted to go on-line, I simply walked 5 minutes to the town square and had great wifi with a wonderful view. For me, this "inconvenience" did not detract from the overall charm of the hotel. Also if you can't carry your bag up 1 or 2 flights of stairs, you won't like it.

    This place exudes character and charm, including the elder proprietor who loves to engage with guests. Free parking a real bonus. Breakfast was great including eggs cooked to your specification (if you ask).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entry into the parkng area is tight but once through the entryway it opens into a larger courtyard. We had a huge van and made it! The great thing about the hotel parking is that you are in the heart of town. Other hotels may force you to move your car outside of the walled portion of town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    The owner of the hotel is really nice and make us feel at home. Love the decoration of the hotel. And the location is superb. Very close to everything. Free parking also.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kept the window shut worrying about mosquitoes as we saw several mosquitoes dead bodies in the bathtub.

    Lovely decorated and right in the old town center of Rothenburg.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful and charming hotel with real vintage decor and super friendly and helpful owner. Super central location with parking. Gorgeous savoury breakfast with express scrambled eggs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lodging was like something from a fairy tale! Our family room was actually two rooms with wood beam ceilings and old world furnishings that made us feel like we were actually living in medieval times, with modern conveniences. The proprietor was so warm and friendly, AND a great chef, sharing coffee and stories with us over breakfast every morning! I hope to return some day! It was the cutest, quaintest accommodation we've stayed in!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stay was wonderful, with excellent breakfast, great location, and free parking. The breakfast was much more than expectation, it's a surprise. And the owner was such a nice guy and had interesting experience in his career story.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Herr Hocker was friendly and fun to talk to, and helpful with directions etc. The breakfast was fantastic and he packed us a picnic for our travels back to the city.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Everything! From the moment we arrived Walter made us feel welcome. A beautiful hotel in the heart of wonderful Rothenburg - I look forward to a return visit!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was our second time staying at the hotel and it did not disappoint! The owner and staff are wonderful to work with and very friendly. The location is centrally focused in town and the onsite parking is an added bonus. The hotel itself is super quaint and just what one should look for in Rothenburg. Breakfast was also wonderful, eggs made to order on top of a beautiful tray of meats/cheeses and other options.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Generally a really good experience. I was unable to find WiFi but there was a note on the counter that implied it may be accessible. I didn't care enough to ask for clarifications - I can live a few days without WiFi access and it is accessible around town too.

    Excellent experience and a wonderful staff. They really were focused on ensuring your every need was handled. I was greeted each time I was seen by the staff and they anticipated my needs and did things without being prompted.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots and lots of old stairs to climb, so if back problems would not recommend. Could heard the people very clearly in next room.

    In Old City Rothenburg, parking was good, breakfast excellent and Hotel was charming!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    My sister and I are absolutely happy with everything in the hotel. After reading a lot of good comments about the hotel, we couldn't resist to book the room for four people, though we are only two. We didn't regret while staying there. Still we miss the lovely owner and breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Driving witin the city was a little difficult due to road construction.

    Great location and great host. Gave us insight to the city and great recommendation on where to eat. Beautiful place to visit.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No wifi provided and city wifi only available by leaning up against the window. Couldn't pay by credit card as the system unavailable and not repaired.

    Quiet and spacious room with lovely décor. Easy parking. Different freshly-cooked items offered at breakfast. Location in the old town very convenient.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy chairs would have been good but they could not have been accommodated in the bedroom. We didn't spend long in our room because there was so much to see.

    The location was quiet but ideal for sightseeing. The proprietor was very friendly and welcoming and chatted freely to us in English. It felt homely and had a relaxed atmosphere. For breakfast, each individual table received a large platter of meat, cheeses etc.in addition to cereals, fresh bread etc. The bedroom was very traditionally furnished but had a small table and 2 chairs which we found useful. The bathroom was spacious with a large shower cubicle.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was perfect. On-site parking was behind the hotel. The owner was very cordial. He sat down with us at breakfast just to chat. We arrived early and they had our room ready by 11:00 am. The construction of this building was amazing with the heavy beams throughout.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the location, the parking is onsite. The proprietor is quite nice and very helpful with any questions we had and information about the Town. It’s a very charming, old Bavarian inn and one of our favorite places that we stayed on our trip.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This was our favorite hotel of our trip! The innkeeper takes great pride in making sure everything is perfect. He is very engaging. Our last morning we had to leave early, and he insisted on making us a proper breakfast before we left, even though it was much earlier than he normally did breakfast for guests. Although the hotel does not have wifi, in the family suite we were able to get it most of the time, especially if you were near a window.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a little hard to find their place and our GPS got us lost a little. They ought to give out some better instructions on how to get there, however.

    The owners were very friendly and helpful. they even got up early to get a breakfast out for us earlier than usual as we had a early flight.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Responding to the email should be more quickly.

    Nice memory!! I had even bought a model of this house as a recording!! Sorry about that I forgot to take away the breakfast at the 6:00 a.m, when I left the key in the room but I need the key to open the entrance door of house.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No WIFI. Public WIFI in the area is unreliable. Other guests shared our surprise and frustration. Owner doesn't like WIFI, but guests require it in 2017!

    Excellent location and easy parking on site. Very good value. Very friendly owner/operator.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Herr Hocher goes the extra mile for his guests. We had trouble with our rental car and spoke no German. Herr Hocher spoke to the rental car company in German for us and got our situation resolved. Wonderful man! He served us his special sausage at breakfast and we had a blast joking around with him. He has a wonderful collection of antiques, especially old cameras. Location of the hotel is perfect albeit a little hard to find inside walled Rothenburg.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was an incredible place to stay. The man who runs this place was wonderful and it is very charming! Breakfast was fabulous. We could walk out the door and adventure around town. I highly recommend visiting Rothenburg and staying here.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely old building, beautifully decorated and brilliantly situated. Most welcoming and friendly proprietor. He takes time to talk to guests. Super breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Host was fabulous! He gave great suggestions for activities and prepared breakfast early for us on our departure day. He made an effort to get to know us and was very kind. I wouldn't stay anywhere else!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The owner spoke with us every morning talking about and giving advice and route maps of places to visit. He is really wants you to enjoy your stay in the city. He grew up in Rothenberg and 80+ he really knows everything What a fantastic place to stay The breakfast was great - traditional Germany

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shampoo or conditioner but I bring my own anyway.

    The whole experience was just wonderful. The owner is such a lovely man full of stories and very helpful with anything you need need to know. The breakfast is outstanding, we didn't eat again till the evening!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mind the stairs if you are carrying more than light baggage.

    Vintage cottage style yet clean and comfortable; very convenient yet quiet location; huge cheese & cold cut breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The owner of the hotel is fantastic. He does his job with passion. A client feels himself welcomed here. This hotel feels loved & taken care of. Loved breakfast with a big plate of different cheeses and hams presented on every table. The hotel is situated in the middle of the centre however there is such piece and quietness. I would really advise this hotel as a romantic & quiet place to stay when in Rothenburg o.d.T.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Worth every penny! Great stay and lovely hotel- very central. Rooms were beautifully decorated according to the old town style. The owner is amazing- we would go back just for him!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    A very welcoming host with a quick dram upon check-in. Fabulous location within the walls of Rothenburg. Wonderful friendly service at every interaction. Excellent parking at the rear of the hotel. A short walk to everything in Rothenburg. A quiet street for a peaceful sleep.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The days were a bit warm but we were given fans. No ac in the 1500's

    The owner is a delight. We loved the atmosphere and our kids felt it was the absolute best place on our vacation. Highly recommend for the person who wants the Old Town experience. We will be back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location to station,town centre and romantic road bus stop. Host was super friendly and the breakfast was more than sufficient. Also the originality of the building.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi could be better. The town has free wifi, but the signal is only so-so outdoors and it is hard to pickup inside. No elevator so we had to carry bags up one flight of stairs.

    Very friendly staff, parking was more convenient than I was expecting based on some other reviews, the family room we booked was large and comfortable for 4. The spread for breakfast doesn't look like much at first but after you sit down the lady brings out more to your table, plus will cook to order eggs and such. Good location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is different from the picture shown in Booking.com, it is not in traditional style. The bed is not quite comfortable. No lift and we need to carry luggage on narrow staircase.

    Spacious bathroom with good shower. The room is hot but fan is equipped. Friendly owner and staff. Excellent breakfast with many options, the owner bakes his own cake. Reception and dining area are nicely decorated, the hotel is dated 15th century. Free parking on site. Location is good, quite near to Markplatz. I wish I stay another night here.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Air conditioner so during the summer it could be warm...

    Excellent meat and cheese tray for breakfast. Bathroom exceeded expectations for size and quality of the fixtures.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Australians love electric jugs and teas and small fridges in the rooms. Please remember that these are not on offer.

    Good sized breakfast of meats and cheese. Made a lovely omelette for us but only after we asked for one when it was offered to another guest. Very quiet room. Excellent off street parking.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs were not for people with walking problem , there's no elevator. No internet n check in close at 6pm . I was rushing for check in because the traffic was so bad.

    Staffs were friendly and the house has character , it was built in the 1500s. Well maintained and has totally renovated bathroom with good shower

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not too easy to go up several flights of stairs, but a stork nest out the window made it worth the effort.

    Excellent location, friendly staff, breakfast was nice and scrambled eggs were a nice option.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are stairs to the rooms, not elevator, which might be a problem for older people or carrying heavy baggage, for us totally no problem!! There was no glass for water in the room and no notice on whether the tap water is drinkable, which is, as we learned the following morning. I was really thirtsty in the middle of the night and was not sure whether to drink the water, a notice would be something easy and helpful.

    Very nice traditional house , turned into a small hotel, in a picturesque village, very clean, ample rooms and parking area, next to the village centre, wonderful breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no Wi-Fi at hotel although you can log into the city Wi-Fi.

    Very friendly and helpful owner. Location is very central with easy walking distance to centre of town. Clean comfortable room. Car parking on site. Good quality German style breakfast with platter of cheese and meats brought to your table.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't know there was a festival on the day we arrived that started at 12. The old part of town was shut down to all vehicle traffic so we had to park and then walk in with our stuff. My boyfriend stated it would have been helpful to get an email or be notified of the festival as we could have gotten there before the roads were shut down at 12. Otherwise our stay was great. Breakfast was good and room was good. No wifi but there is city wifi that was hit and miss but we were able to use it. I would stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Located right in the old town within walking distance to everything. Was able to park right behind the building. Staff was very friendly. Rooms were large with several windows to bring in fresh air. The beds and furniture comfortable. The breakfast was amazing!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facility could use some updating. The bed was quite squeaky. No air conditioning, so the windows needed to be open, but fortunately it is a fairly quiet street. There was nothing to darken the windows so the bright light came in quite early.

    locatiin quite good. Fairly quiet street near city center.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit dusty in the rooms. Beds were a bit squeaky, may disturb sleep.

    Good location within old town walls, easy walk to centre of town and quiet. Hosts are very likable, welcoming and accommodating. Breakfast included was great selection.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No wifi - or it doesn't work, anywhere in the hotel seemingly.

    Absolutely loved the decor and the ambiance of the hotel and the rooms. The host/owner was extremely friendly. The location is excellent. It feels like a home, and the breakfast was generous and the service excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not have wi fi or internet access. No English speaking channels on TV.

    The best part of our stay was the hospitality and all out accommodating welcome we received from Herr Hocher who either manages or owns the hotel. The man was so friendly and gracious that we felt like we were staying in Kris Kringle's house.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is wonderful. TO have stayed in a place that was not only built in the 1500's, but to be so wonderfully furnished while staying true to it's history was a joy. Breakfast was super and hardy. Wish we could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect! The owners were extremely pleasant and attentive, which made us feel like we were at our grandparents' house! Excelent breakfast! Danke schön!!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only complaint was the wifi; there was none. It didn't bother me so much as I'm there to explore, not be on my phone, but it did bother some in my group. I'm not sure how one would even set up wifi because I saw first-hand how their credit card machine struggles to get signal given the thickness of the walls in the historic home. I don't believe this would prevent my group from staying here again, it certainly would not prevent me.

    I am not even exaggerating with my ratings. It's a hotel from 1536 that still holds the character inside and in the rooms. The room was good size and the bathroom was huge. The owner (who just turned 80) was blunt and seemingly strict at first, but 15 minutes later he and I were doing Bourbon shots. He and his staff took great pride in the morning breakfast. I asked if they had more croissants, and after he busted my balls that we're in Germany not France, he said his employee was almost back from the bakery with more croissants. Of course I would've never asked had I known, but in she walks with a bag full of hot, fresh croissants. I wish we had more time to stay here.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is perfect.

    Amazing owners that make you feel welcome and want to make sure you know that you are appreciated. Breakfast was the best and plentiful. Parking was around back with plenty of spaces. The decor was quaint and reflected the feel of the town. Though they serve breakfast the do not serve lunch or dinner, but the owner had great recommendations for a place close by. Everything we would want to see was super close by. We would stay here without question for our next visit.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing.

    Loved this hotel! the property is in an excellent location. The proprietor was friendly and helpful. The breakfast is generous and our room was very large and updated while remaining full of character.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little uncomfy but otherwise nothing

    Excellent breakfast and host. He was fluent in English and made our stay a great experience. Also parking available at back of hotel. Plus Rothenburg is a lovely place with brilliant walks around the town and by the river.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi, however the whole town has free wifi

    Loved the attention to detail the host greeted us with a couple of Schnaps, gave us a little information about the town. Loved the old charm of the place . Breakfast was amazing.right in the heart of town. Host was very accomodating, definitely going ba k

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was amazing and the inn keeper was very nice and liked to talk and share. Extremely helpful and kind! Would recommend to anyone looking to explore a well kept medieval city with all the comforts you could need.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It all seemed pretty good, to nitpick, the cupboard was a bit dusty on top, something to be taken up with the cleaning staff, although overall the room and hotel was very clean.

    Excellent location, with a great parking area off street. Brilliant LARGE breakfast ! Beautiful old hotel, it really gets you into the spirit and atmosphere of the town.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent accommodation in the very center . Very traditional and authentic classic character, in-keeping with the rest of the town. Clean and comfortable with very helpful staff. But the best part is the owner/manager. Very friendly, welcoming and he makes you feel at home. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We love the owner, Walter. He makes your stay such a delight. He's always ready to sit down and chat. Our room was adorable. Walter fixes a wonderful breakfast and will fix you almost anything you like. You can't go wrong staying at this lovely hotel.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is WiFi throughout RODT. Couldn't get it at the hotel. Nevertheless, our stay was terrific!

    This is our 4th trip to RODT. This facility was the best yet. The ownership/management was nothing less than outstanding. Very personable and most helpful. They even fixed us breakfast to go when we had to leave early to catch a flight. The ambiance was perfect as is the location.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service at Hotel Spizweg was excellent and the owner and staff were so friendly. The location was also excellent being an easy walking distance to the centre of town. We would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location really good just inside the ancient town near the square. We stayed at a family suit with 2 rooms and the furnitures are just like antique from the middle age. The host is really kind old man like grandpa. It's the low season, so all the town is quiet. Love it.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location, just footsteps from the market square. Our hosts were delightful. Breakfast was amazingly good with a platter of fruits and cheeses made especially for us, in addition to the buffet. Onsite parking is a bonus. Pay attention to the check in time. It specifically states 14:00-18:00. A couple arrived at 8pm and were unable to get their room.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no WiFi in the hotel, but we did not need it.

    Interesting old building, converted into a small family hotel in the center of the fabulously beautiful city. Parking behind the house for reasonable price.The room was clean and cozy, furnished in traditional style. The breakfasts were excellent and served with a taste. Very friendly staff. It was very pleasant to chat with the owner. He recommend us an excellent traditional restaurant for the dinner. We spent three beautiful days in Rothenburg, Thank you.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bath towels were very small.

    Breakfast was extremely good with a great variety for a small facility. Great location and the onsite parking was very convenient. We wanted to experience staying in old town and the Spitzweg was perfect.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was perfect!!

    This hotel is the most charming place we've stayed at. The pictures are exactly the same as the rooms and the owner is adorably happy.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Remember no elevators -- stairs to climb! But Nothing negative to say about this location! Owner very familiar with American guests !

    This within the walls of medival Rothenburg, which made it able to walk to everything we wanted to see. They had parking for our car which is invaluable to foreigners! The room was lovely and breakfast very ample and delicious! Please be able to climb stairs if you plan on visiting anywhere in Europe!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great location. Owner was SUPER. We had to leave a bit early in the morning and owner made us sandwiches and fruit for our trip. We are looking to stay there again if we come back next year. GREAT!! AWESOME!!

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: