Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sport- und Tagungshotel De Poort This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Jahnstrasse 6, 47574 Goch, Germany

#6 of 6 hotels in Goch

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 275 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 48

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    Location close to Weeze Airport 15mins, bar reasonably...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fitness room was poor quality - small only a few machines - for a hotel with such expansive space and possibility. Could be made so much more of.

    Location close to Weeze Airport 15mins, bar reasonably priced, lovely breakfast, clean and modern room, really lovely pool and sauna. Very helpful, cheerful staff. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.9
    Spacious room (suite) good bed and comfortable seating area.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was extremely limited. Email was the only barely usable function. Streaming any film was impossible and connection to sites timed out all the time due to the narrow bandwith.

    Spacious room (suite) good bed and comfortable seating area. Good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.3
    Wanted to stay close to the airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were pretty dated but everything seemed to work ok. We booked 2 rooms. In my room the curtains were far too small for the window. Our hall was a bit noisy late into the night. Doors banging and people shouting etc. Not the hotels fault though.

    We never had time to use many of the facilities. We checked in around 7pm and left at 10am after breakfast (reasonable choice but everything was cold). Easy check-in/out and friendly staff. Plenty of free parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable hotel near Weeze airport
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was O.K., however could be richer and plates more frequently refilled. Shuttle to the airport (external service organized by hotel staff) should have uniform price which was not the case when we used it - informative price of 25 € was respected in direction from the airport to the hotel, while the return trip (another service provider) has been charged 36 € - way too much.

    Hotel in quiet location, sauna, swimming pool. Convenient for travelers using Weeze airport. Spacious rooms, comfortable beds.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    3.8
    NO-GO
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unthinkable in 2018: This place pretends to be a "4 star" but has NO ELEVATOR. So you, and your luggage, can happily take the stairs up to the 3rd floor. And worse, check-out time is 10:00 AM. This is probably the only place in the world, where the management is so arrogant, that they throw you out of the hotel at 10:00 in the morning, with the house keeping knocking on your door at 10:05AM. Not even a phone call, they directcly come and knock at your door, this is so intrusive. In the sauna area there are no "hygiene guidelines", so you have people getting in with swimwear ( = disgusting) + not using towels ( = extra disgusting). Just for reference, in Sauna you should be naked, and have a towel covering EVERY INCH OF YOUR BODY who is in contact with the wood. There should not be a "lake of sweat" when you stand up. I won't go back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.8
    Great breakfast, lousy Internet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The internet is a joke, considering that this is a four star business hotel. In our room, we had barely enough signal to connect to the access point (this was true for four different devices). And even if we managed to get a connection, the internet was too slow to even access your email. I would strongly advice the property to increase the number of access points and either purchase a faster internet connection or do some traffic shaping to ensure basic internet services work (e.g. block/limit streaming). Overall, the internet didn't work for us at all and we had to rely on roaming using our phones. We talked with the hotel staff about this and they claimed there has been just an issue with their internet provider just now. However, I find this doubtful reading other traveller's comments.

    The pool inside the hotel is very nice to do a few laps in the morning before having breakfast. The breakfast offers a great choice food items of very good quality. We loved the fresh tomatoes. While the room looks a bit dated, it was in excellent condition and very clean. The restaurant offers good food at a very reasonable price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    6.3
    Acceptable, but not recommended
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was quite difficult to convince the hotel, that the advertised airport shuttle should be something different from calling a cab on my account. Food was served in big portions, but wasn’t very good, same for breakfast. Room smelled like men’s changing room ....

    Value for money was ok, bed was comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.6
    Professional and friendly staff, they were always at hand to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike at all.

    Professional and friendly staff, they were always at hand to help with anything. I was here to find a long term rental property and they contacted estate agents for me. Without their help I would have been dead in the water. Can't beat service like that.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.1
    Fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really was looking forward to a nice swim, but the poolwater was very cold. It could have something to do with the crowdyness during our stay. There weren't a lot of people. And from what I saw in the pictures I expected a room with a bath and we did not got one.

    The breakfast was wonderfull! Very good quality, fresh bread, a lot of choices. It made my day. The hotel was very clean, just great. The food the restaurant was good too. We were travelling with a baby and we got our own babybed, which was great because it saved us a lot of space in the car.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.9
    Very good hotel and just a short walk from a small shopping center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel appears to not have elevators so that a room on the second floor could be problematic for someone with physical impairments especially if carrying luggage and personal belongings.

    The breakfast which was included in the price I would rate as being very good to excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    8.3
    Location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very big bathroom, but cold and not convenient to take a shower due to low ceiling above the bath. Shower gel box was empty.

    Location was good. Room was clean and comfy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    9.6
    The room was very large which was very nice since we had two...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The elevator in the hotel could not reach most of the rooms. We were on the third floor (German) or fourth floor (US) so dragging up everything up and down the stairs got old really fast. The room was very nice but those stairs were a huge hassle.

    The room was very large which was very nice since we had two small children. The bathroom had a bathtub which was also nice. The breakfast was also very nice and the service staff were really friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    6.7
    Modern hotel in a nice location but inaccurate information - be careful when you book!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Airport shuttle was NOT provided!!!!!!!!!!!!! We had to pay 42 Euro for the taxi! The Information and the Symbol on the Website says that the Hotel provides a shuttle bus at surcharge to get to the Weeze Airport. This was one of the main reasons for booking and this has not matched ! Tea facilities near reception are always available, the water is being hot all the time, but you charge the guests for a cup of tea !! this is not appropriate for such a hotel, rated with 4 stars!

    Cleanliness and modern look of the rooms; bathroom - excellent; sauna is very good )

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    8.8
    Hotel sports complex
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is in urban area. The bathroom is open and has no doors. You do not have privacy in the bathroom. The Internet did not work or dropped out at all.

    Very nice and clean hotel. Nicely furnished rooms. Nice staff. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    9.2
    Great location, excellent accommodation for a short-stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Quite a small room, not much room to move around.

    Location, easily walkable to town centre. Friendly staff; helped with our attempts at speaking German. Breakfast excellent with plenty of choice. Nice food in the restaurant. Plentiful parking and easy access onto local road network.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    9.2
    Warm, friendly, clean and good location. Ideal for Sports enthusiasts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast wasn't anything to write home about. Perhaps I arrived a bit late but the hot food was definitely past its best, the boiled eggs were particularly poor and I wasn't able to eat them. I skipped breakfast the other two days I stayed there (I only ate there once in my three day stay) but I really didn't fancy trying it again.

    Staff extremely friendly, I only speak English and they went out of their way to make sure I understood everything including taking me to my room, which was a really nice touch. My brother who lives nearby Brough a birthday present to put in my room and the staff were extremely accommodating to help with a nice surprise.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    9.6
    A pleasant experience and one I would have no hesitation in repeating or recommending to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only observation was that having eaten outside the hotel the hotel meal prices appeared to be high compared to the quality of the food received.

    The efficiency of staff and the excellent level of care they provided. Nothing was too much trouble and the staff were outstanding.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    5.4
    Good location, overpriced hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dreadful bathroom. (Sloping roof, no shower) Furnishings minimal and outdated. (First room refused as totally unsuitable) Room poorly equipped for a hotel of this purported standard. No minibar or fridge. No iron. No "home" comforts at all. Very disappointed as the hotel has essentially not changed since the 1980's. We felt it was extremely poor value for money compared to that which we had just left, which was considerably cheaper. (The Golden Tulip in Heerenveen)

    Swimming pool/sauna. Breakfast. Proximity to local town.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    8.8
    Good place to rest
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tasty breakfast and very comfortable beds, nice breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Had to go to a funel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well breakfast could have had a bit more choice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    5.0
    Parking lot was huge and rooms were clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking lot was huge and rooms were clean. Otherwise that place reminded to me an old empty sporting centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    8.3
    Met or exceeded most expectations.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet service was slow and intermittent.

    Comfortable bed with good amenities.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    6.3
    wi fi was very bad, so when i need to send some files i...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wi fi was very bad, so when i need to send some files i should go to a bar in city centre and use wife there

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    9.2
    Excellent breakfast, comfortable bed, quiet place, few...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Excellent breakfast, comfortable bed, quiet place, few minutes walk to city center. There is also Kaufland 300m from hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    9.6
    Very nice breakfast, peaceful area, jogging possibility,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice breakfast, peaceful area, jogging possibility, pool&sauna

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    10
    Very good breakfast and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very good breakfast and friendly staff. Clean swimming pool and sauna.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    8.3
    The gentleman at the reception was extremely friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift to go to the third floor.

    The gentleman at the reception was extremely friendly! The swimming pool was very nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    6.7
    No fridge in the room.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 16 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in the room.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    7.1
    Good for Goch
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Intermittent wifi signal, not good for a business traveller

    Staff, breakfast and location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    8.8
    The room was very nice and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We chose this hotel because we needed an airportshuttle. We also made the remark when booking. When we arrived and needed the shuttle, they said they didn't had an airportshuttle.

    The room was very nice and clean. Nice hotel. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    10
    The staff were absolutely brilliant even with my limited...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    N/A

    The staff were absolutely brilliant even with my limited German, they spoke very good English. Hotel was very clean and the kids enjoyed the pool

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    4.6
    breakfast was good
    • Family with young children

    Diner was too greasy room was dated and too expensive compared to others stains in the carpet, which was old. little,dated badroom

    breakfast was good

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    10
    The staffs were very friendly, helpful and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    The staffs were very friendly, helpful and welcoming. They went out of their way to help. The pool area is absolutely stunning. The hotel rooms were very clean. Breakfast was delicious. Great location near to a shopping centre.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    8.3
    Excellent breakfast and convenient parking, which gets...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rooms a bit dated with the need for some attention to detail by the housekeeping staff.

    Excellent breakfast and convenient parking, which gets quieter later in the evening once the sports centre closes. Easy 3 min walk into the town.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    10
    Used to this hotel, good breakfasts, 1Euro fitness, free...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Free Wifi was not working on every spot of the hotel, working only on small spots of my room. Swimming pool closed for the half of my stay.

    Used to this hotel, good breakfasts, 1Euro fitness, free pool, great parking, on the edge of town, good for running outside.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    4.2
    The layout is terrible.
    • Couple

    The layout is terrible. We asked to move rooms and even the staff member who showed us the way couldn't find it. Lots of stairs and no offer of taking our bags.

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2015

    9.2
    We booked a suite for €89 which was huge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Pool was a bit too cold. Shower over bath in room had no curtain.

    We booked a suite for €89 which was huge. Big bathroom, very friendly staff, good sauna, pool, breakfast, price. Was empty on Easter Sunday night.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    5.8
    Sports
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Internet coverage very poor

    Sports

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2015

    8.3
    Very nice staff and lovely food, good clean rooms, a decent...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The gym doesn't open til 8am

    Very nice staff and lovely food, good clean rooms, a decent gym and pool/sauna area

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2015

    7.5
    The location of the hotel to the town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The lack of WIFI in our room. Very poor reception.

    The location of the hotel to the town centre.

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    7.5
    Location , breakfast was good and reasonable cost
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location , breakfast was good and reasonable cost

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    8.3
    Close to Goch center which is a nice touring area, and a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Whilst close to the center it was not in a picturesque area

    Close to Goch center which is a nice touring area, and a good selection of shops.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    8.5
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No elevators, for a couple celebrating 58 years of marriage.

    Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    9.6
    Big clean room very quiet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing

    Big clean room very quiet

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    10
    Fantastic location and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing all good

    Fantastic location and facilities

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    9.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No complaints

    Location

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2015

    10
    It was clean and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was clean and spacious. And they have a great breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2015

    8.3
    Lovely dinners
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Pillows are very soft

    Lovely dinners

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 48

Guests also reviewed these properties: