Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sporthotel & Resort Grafenwald Daun - Vulkaneifel This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Im Grafenwald 1, 54550 Daun, Germany

#9 of 17 hotels in Daun

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 666 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    6.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 51

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff at the reception was less friendly. In restaurant they were very friendly We had a room on the 3rd floor and as far as we good find there was no elevator. For luggage this would have been appreciated.

    Very good breakfast, big room, lots of space

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi is limited to main building and some holiday homes.

    Breakfast, sauna, fitness, swimming pool, table tennis, squash, holiday home. Great location for hiking and mountain biking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very rustic atmosphere, but it's authentic

    rich, tasty, fresh breakfast, friendly staff, beautiful location, clean wellness area, comfortable and quiet room, not too crowded (end of March), sport and relaxation courses offered by the hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not super thrilled with the "two twin beds pushed together" but they were comfortable at least.

    Very scenic location. Staff was fluent in multiple languages which is quite helpful. Food was very good, the breakfast in particular was amazing. The geography of the location makes for a fair amount of walking and stairs though, so be ready for that.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This resort has it all for families -- a kids club, pool, playground and family-friendly restaurants. The adults can go for a hike or the spa, while the kids have something to do. We rented one of the small houses which gave us lots of space and a full kitchen. We went in the winter in the rain, but it was still nice. We can't wait to go back in the summer. And the Wifi worked fine. There is also a good grocery store in town, next time will stock up more there.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Smell in the restaurant. The swimming pool is quit small, on Saturday afternoon mission impossible to go. The changing room was not very clean (lots of hair on the ground)

    The forest is wonderful. We really loved our Holiday home, it's huge and we had everything for kitchen like at home. Bed was very comfortable. Very rich breakfeast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The surroundings, lodging and meals were excellent. The lack of wi-fi in the lodgings and very low quality of mobile connection was a blessing hidden in disguise - it allowed us to enjoy the stay and really relax. Sehr enstpannend!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the garden and paths there was quite some dog waste. It was very problematic with our small children. Staff was not always service oriented.

    Great location for hiking. Nice swimming pool and sport facilities. Nice breakfast, but dining room was over crowded.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the towels and duvets on the beds were tiny . The garden was not really useable we had a cottage and the grass was not cut and full of weeds and the furniture outside was horrible dirty and so we never used the garden or sat outside. We were attending an annual car event we have stayed at the hotel before. The room was below my expectations for the cost. It could be lovely but was a big mess in our outside area.

    Breakfast is excellent really enjoyed. The staff were mostly really great and friendly. Room very big.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi is totally down on the day we check in.

    The family house is independent house unit . We checked in a two bedroom house. The room is clean and tidy, while the decoration is bit old style and tradition but does not really affect us. The breakfast is very good with lots of choices .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in a bungalow, ideally, would need a serious update - design/interiour is like back in 1990; yet all the fascilities were there and available.

    Breakfast, surrounding areas, sporting fascilities

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    choice to eat too little : the buffet was not good - no fresh meat : meat has a taste of 2 days old, too little choice of vegetables and we had to pay 27,00 EUR/person

    Breakfast was very good - staff very friendly - very clean room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very outdated decor (the kitchen in the apartment dated back to 70's I think), very uncomfortable bed, overpriced food, tiny portions of food outside the buffet (lunch or dinner a la carte), small and very crowded pool, bad Wi-Fi.

    Nice staff, good breakfast, big room. A lot of activities organised by the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only challenge is Wi-Fi and it was not a huge problem as nice for the kids to have a break from social media. Everything else is really great.

    We loved our bungalow, really spacious, good size bathroom and large beds. The facilities in the hotel where excellent. Lovely restaurant for breakfast buffet and very good evening buffet all great value. The kids especially loved all the deserts on the evening buffet, a real treat. Nice to have our own place an only a short walk away from the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very noisy ; every time when the external door to the apartment block was opened and closed, the entrance room to my room rattled because of the air circulation. The general style of the room was, although very clean, a bit dated ; the floral fabric, the mass production furniture, etc gave me a Center Parcs feel, and I'm not sure if that is worth 4 stars.

    The room was very spacious and offered a nice view of the grounds of the hotel. I didn't visit the Spa but from the outside the pool looked very attractive. Although I was travelling alone, I noticed that the hotel offers lots of activities for families with children.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The quality of dinner could be a bit better

    Location, friendliness and helpfulness of staff , phantastic breakfast choices and a great variety of facilities

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    That we had to pay a more expensive room due to the dog + 11€/day but he wasn't welcome during dinner and breakfast! On Friday evening there was a party IN THE RESTAURANT with more than 100 people so the hotel guests had to eat around that group with activities, speeches, etc.!!!! And around the bar there was even a DJ!! The dinner was not good with exception of the party night, so it was clear that due to that party, the quality of the food was better! Around the cottages it was not very clean (dust!).

    Sauna and tennis facilities and breakfast, however dinner (buffet and à la carte) was poor, we heard the same from other guests. It seems that it was 2 years ago much better.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only thing I can think of is when we went to play squash it was very cold there.

    Super location (in the forest), good food, plenty of activities offered, room comfortable and quite big.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Still cost a lot

    Everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed mattresses a little worn out. Internet unreliable.

    Kids club, sports facilities

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of stairs to lug my suitcase.

    Super staff, and comfy bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disappointing that the fitness room didn't have a treadmill.

    Very good value for the money. Big comfortable room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Too expensive old hotel. Extremely bad and expensive food. It was too cold in the room.

    Lady at the reception, when arived

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    excelent - Quality and choice of food

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms lovely - great breakfasts

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, comfortable, quiet place, good to relax.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food, always pork ! It was better last year

    Everything was perfect. I used to come in this hotel, i will continue to book room in this place.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was super amazing, super nice and professional staff, I will definitely come back!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Travel to this hotel a lot everything about it is great

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    iv never encountered ruder staff! i will never go back.

    good facilities for kids

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic cozy place with plenty of facilities to keep the whole family entertained. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff promised a surprise as it was my birthday but nothing was done, spa was ok

    Breakfast was good and the bungalow was big

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi

    Everything Was perfect.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff!, one in particular, wasn't friendly or welcoming

    Breakfast and the cpacy clean cottages,

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Poor wifi

    Great food and facilities

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All the hotel facilities

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Way too expensive for what you got, food was just ok but also expensive,

    Location,

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great leisure facilities, on site restaurant and bar very good

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    not an easy acces from parking to the hotel, you have to walk a lot of stairs. old vegetables and old salmon served for the breakfast, the breakfast room smells after old burned oil, need to change the shirt after breakfast, no vegan breakfast

    fully equiped gym

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    They tried the English breakfast but failed. The bacon tasted terrible, the sausages almost unbeatable. Stick to the cold menu and it was decent.

    Great little hotel. Swimming pool was lovely and a perfect depth to help my boys learn to swim.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wifi not available at our location (small house 50m away from main building).

    Great location, super friendly staff. Restaurant was really good, great choice of food, amazing deal for evening buffet - all you can eat. We got a replacement heater within 10 minutes when the heater in our room broke.

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking not near homes, no wifi in homes(but we knew that beforehand), shower pressure not adjustable, all doors were really dirty, dirty glassware in our house,the young front desk lady didn't smile once the whole weekend, odd for the "first" hotel representative you meet. Beds really uncomfortable. All easy fixes, but did affect our overall impression.

    Peaceful location, great value for the holiday homes, ideal for couples to hideaway if you want a quiet weekend. On Friday night they even had a dj and some people were dancing in the downstairs bar. Lots of room in the holiday homes, felt we had privacy. We didn't get a chance to visit the spa or pool, but will next time!

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were on the top floor and could have benefited from an elevator to avoid climbing all the stairs. The sauna area could use some more places for people to sit and more space to hang towels and bathrobes.

    Personnel did everything they could to give us a great experience. When we wanted to buy some tea bags for on the room (they didn't have them for sale) the receptionist gave us a big selection for free. When we left, a member of the cleaning personnel came to help us with carrying our bags down the stairs!

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice location, great place for hiking. We got just a bit strange room with a long hallway but it was ok. Breakfasts were also good.

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Didn't like the shower in the room. Water coming out to hard.

    Big swimming pool. Good a la carte food.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast, location

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wifi only available at reception.

    A lot of on-site facilities (pool, restaurants, bar, sports etc).

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Evening buffet meal poor . Needs a friendly manager.

    Out of town lovely walks

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Forest surroundings, excellent breakfast, dramatic scenery close-by - Mosel valley, castles & lakes (prehistoric volcanos)

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No complaints :-)

    Nicely nested in beautiful nature. Spacious apartment. Excellent breakfast

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 51

Guests also reviewed these properties: