Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Spöttel This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Luisenstrasse 5-7, 61231 Bad Nauheim, Germany

#2 of 14 hotels in Bad Nauheim

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 475 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 55

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.6
    It is a wonderful place in an old historical building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was poor, not much choice, can't order anything extra, even for extra money.

    It is a wonderful place in an old historical building. Enjoyed our stay on 100%, the decoration is amazing, you would spend time walking down the hall and examining every little thing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.1
    Old school family charm.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old property smells old needs a spruce up. Parking not easy. On street is under big trees so far filthy in morning!!

    Good breakfast and friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.9
    Always a nice place to stay in Bad Nauheim.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    As an older facility Spottel has no air conditioning. That would be ok if you could get some air flow going. During my recent stay it was very hot and those metal shades don't help. To the owner, it would be only a relatively small investment in you would replace the chandelier with a ceiling fan. Also, please ditch those annoying thimble size coffee creamers and just put a small vial of creamer at the table,

    I love this quaint little hotel. Old style gasthouse feel. Breakfast is great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    I always look forward to coming to Bad Nauheim and staying in Spottel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A negative comment would be unwarranted in such a fine, individual hotel.

    A unique facility with a lengthly history. I have had large rooms each of my visits, well appointed. Elvis is well thought of, with memorabilia and soft singing in the entry salon. [Seven years ago you could hear him in the hallways. I loved that.]

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.9
    Almost perfect, but no sleep-in...
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The street is perfectly quiet at night but at around 6 o'clock each morning noisy service vehicles begin travelling along it. Unfortunately this noise and even that of people talking & walking outside comes into the room as if the windows were open (-even with the shutters down). Added to this was a building re-construction just a couple of properties down. Some sound-proofing would help here. I wanted to stay longer but due to this and the mattress, which gave me a stiff back & shoulders, I couldn't. Otherwise perfect. P.S. Free local street parking can be a mission depending on the time of day - be prepared to do several laps of the area looking for a bay.

    Charming 100+ year-old hotel in a quaint tree-lined street with great staff, especially Barbara, and the waitresses in the breakfast salon. Breakfast was excellent with a great choice of food. Some nice restaurants nearby ("La Perla" Italian recommended) and 15 minute walk to the town centre for more of the same. ("Pfalzer Hof" is great - local food).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    10
    Family owned and run.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator access to the dining room. Excellent stairs though.

    Family owned and run. Well staffed. Excellent breakfast. Excellent reception area and lobby for a small hotel. Full of antiques and great interior design.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.6
    Feel like you are home
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    A very nice hotel in a beautiful building, it has its taste and style. It is also very well located - close to the park, the city center and major sightseeings. Wonderful staff and service! The breakfast is very nice. Comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    6.3
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was ok, but we would have preferred our eggs be cooked to order rather than from the buffet. The hotel has a lot of "schnick-schnack" things - bits and bobs of decoration on every available shelf and this was a bit too much for us as we prefer minimal decoration.

    Rooms are of a generous size and clean. This was a short overnight stop for us so we can't really comment on much more than the hotel for 1 night.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    7.1
    Nice stay in old villa
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not very comfortable. The mattress was pretty worn out with a hole in the center. Because it is an old house you hear people in other rooms and corridor moving about due to squeaking floors and doors.

    The hotel is a beautiful old villa with a tradional decor. Staff was very friendly. They managed to fix the internet quickly after complaints from guests. You can park in the surrounding streets for free. The breakfast is very elaborate. There are plenty of good quality restaurants at walking distance. The train station is 5 minutes walk away. You travel to Frankfurt HbH in 35 minutes.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    9.6
    A comfy and welcoming hotel in a great little town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I know that this is not common practice on the Continent but a tea/coffee tray and small kettle in the room would be the icing on the cake.

    We were staying for 6 nights so had every opportunity to absorb the atmosphere of this hotel. We were made very welcome. The staff were outstanding - Breakfast staff remembered on the second morning the 2 different types of tea we ordered and the chambermaids kept our room immaculate and always greeted us in the corridors. Breakfast was excellent; a lot of choice. All the usual continental breakfast choices in a buffet setting. The beautifully fresh rolls every morning deserve special mention. The hotel was excellently placed for the town centre. Bad Nauheim is a pretty town, full of wonderful Jugendstil architecture. We would recommend the Jugendstil walking tour, even if you can't speak German. The buildings speak for themselves! And do climb the hill to the Johannisberg Café and enjoy the magnificent view whilst drinking your coffee.Thank you Hotel Spottel for a great stay ...

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    6.7
    Reasonable value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms comfortable but 1960s look. they need facelift badly. Spotty WIFI connection in rooms. But above all: no guest parking in residential neighborhood with private cars lining both sides of the very narrow streets surrounding hotel.

    Reasonable value for money. Friendly staff, excellent breakfast buffet,

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    The town is so comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The town is so comfortable. Very nice breakfast. 40 minutes to Messe Frankfurt by RMV. Reasonable price during the show.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.5
    Ok for the price but I would do more analysis for conveinence sake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No nearby parking, no A/C and the climb up the front steps with bags was a pain

    The breakfast was very good with excellent selection

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    Great stay
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t have a parking space available

    The service, the breakfast, the superior room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Great breakfasts, comfortable lovely room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The wifi went down.

    Great breakfasts, comfortable lovely room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    10
    Great hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable, clean, super staff and great breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.2
    Breakfast : very good!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not working wifi.

    Breakfast : very good! Rooms: big and in beautiful old style. City: very nice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    9.2
    Very good hotel. Exellent staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    During the night, no warm water. In the room you can heard the noisies of movements in the floor and stairs.

    Staff, cleanliness, location, breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    10
    Great place. I would come back here anytime.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff. Central location. Easy parking.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    6.7
    Soft pillows!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soft pillows!! Had to walk down 2 sets of stairs for breakfast, if you have walking issues you cannot get to breakfast room!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.6
    Would like to return
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No private parking

    Unusual for hotel to have colourful bedding. Feeling like at home

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.6
    Great breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast. Friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.3
    Great bed, good bathroom/shower and altogether a lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not much.

    Great bed, good bathroom/shower and altogether a lovely room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    9.6
    Gre\t stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small tv.

    Staff, great breakfast, ambiance and furniture.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    8.8
    Clean, quiet, big room and good breakfast. Overall great value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Washroom was small and I wish there was a hotel restaurant with room service

    The room was big and the breakfast was amazing

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    6.7
    excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    street parking kurort tax for just sleeping one night

    excellent breakfast old building

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2016

    9.6
    We had a very nice room with view of the Johannisberg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a very nice room with view of the Johannisberg. The breakfast was great and on Sunday morning an actress recited a poem of Erich Kästner, (see picture). Speaking German certainly helped! Bad Nauheim is famous for its healing mineral springs. We once wrote a post you can still Google: Where "Bad" does not mean "bad" - Franklin Roosevelt in Germany and were reminded of it in the Hotel's information folder. The "Gradierbauten" (see picture) let you breathe the mineral enhanced air... Being located in easy walking distance to the railway station (3 minutes) as well as the wonderful art deco spa facilities with the "Sprudelhof" (picture) in their midst, the hotel is ideally located in a quiet neighborhood.

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    9.2
    Very well located for our visit to Bad Nauheim.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If we had one quibble we missed not having tea/coffee making facilities.

    Very well located for our visit to Bad Nauheim. A very welcoming hotel, Spacious bedroom, comfy beds, clean and tidy. Good shower. Excellent breakfast! Lovely stay

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    8.3
    Beautifully kept old property cleverly upgraded without loss...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not enough plugs in the room.

    Beautifully kept old property cleverly upgraded without loss of it's charm. Memories of Elvis's stay in Bad Nauheim add charm. Very good breakfast and service.

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    9.6
    This is absolutely great hotel if you need to stay around...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not much if any.

    This is absolutely great hotel if you need to stay around this area. Big and clean room, very good breakfast with nice selection of food. Very friendly stuff. No problem when you are arriving late as they key and all necessary description were waiting for me.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    8.8
    Nice big room, we took the superior double.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Not a bad experience but breakfast could be included as it normally is in Germany however for 5€ it was a very decent breakfast and service. Best to check for a place to eat before arriving as the restaurant recommended wasn't so great.

    Nice big room, we took the superior double. The hotel has an old fashioned feeling, reminded me of the type of hotel in 1950s films set on the English coast. Location is good but not in the town centre, parking is street parking but we easily found a place about 50m from the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    10
    The old villa has its charme.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The old villa has its charme. When you enter it tea facilities (silver service) are offered for refreshment. News papers, books etc. You are made to feel like home. The rooms is bigger than expected and so is the bath room. The bigger ceiling height helps of course. The breakfast room, the tables with white clothe and proper crockery. The buffet is perfect with a large selection of cheese, fresh cut fruit, several water choices etc. Mrs. Siegeismund must be loving what she's doing.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    10
    A traditional hotel updated with great attention to detail:...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Entrance by wide open stairway with hand rails blocked by rows of potted plants.

    A traditional hotel updated with great attention to detail: Large room, even after addition of shower/wc room, high ceilings, comfortable lounge/salon. Great breakfast buffet, outstanding value @EUR 4.50. Every item explained in German and English, 4 mins boiled eggs were - exactly 4 mins! Lovely china.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    7.1
    Breakfast and charming old house
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room window without curtains, very small cheap bed

    Breakfast and charming old house

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    9.2
    Excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent breakfast. Liked the cozy family atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    8.8
    Wonderful breakfast every morning.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing I didn't like.

    Wonderful breakfast every morning. Nice hotel, quaint, friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful attention to detail with the decor and a lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful attention to detail with the decor and a lovely breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    7.9
    We told the hotel that we want to leave one day earlier at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We told the hotel that we want to leave one day earlier at the middle of our stay. The hotel still want to charge additional 20% of daily rate.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    10
    Amazing staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Everything was great.

    Amazing staff!

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2015

    9.2
    Very friendly and generous staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly and generous staff Great breakfast until 11am or even later Late checkout was offered until 1pm or even later

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    8.3
    Very friendly and comfort
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Very friendly and comfort

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    7.9
    Breakfast, location, kindness of personnel, clean, attention
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Pillow, bed

    Breakfast, location, kindness of personnel, clean, attention

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    8.8
    room is comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    lift should be better, and surrounding area has no any restaurant. Hotel also does not has restaurant.

    room is comfortable

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    7.1
    The shower was slightly broken.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The shower was slightly broken. Most of the stuff could not speak English.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    5.0
    BREAKFAST
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Everything else

    BREAKFAST

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    10
    Location, Personnel, Breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, Personnel, Breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    9.6
    The room was big and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was big and comfortable. Breakfast was great! When I sent an e-mail for inquiry, the correspondence was polite. Perfect.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    7.5
    Old-fashioned comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Old-fashioned comfort

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    6.7
    Stuff
    • Couple

    The hotel need to be more modern and renewed

    Stuff

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    9.6
    Quiet attractive location close to the center of town,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Quiet attractive location close to the center of town, courtesy of staff, comfort of the room, outstanding breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    8.3
    The breakfast and the light and airy room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nowhere to park except under the linden trees where the car had to be re-cleaned afterwards

    The breakfast and the light and airy room.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2015

    9.6
    courtesy of staff, breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Internet is slow

    courtesy of staff, breakfast

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    10
    Best breakfast in Germany.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Best breakfast in Germany. Kind staff and good location for food and sights.

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2015

    9.6
    Hotel is in a convenient area and easy to find.
    • Solo traveller

    As typical with Germany, parking was very limited. The hotel has no designated parking.

    Hotel is in a convenient area and easy to find.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    10
    1) Staffs are very kind.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    1) Staffs are very kind. 2) The antique building and old juke box are very interesting for me. 3) Blackfast is very good.

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 55

Guests also reviewed these properties: