Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Altstadt Hotel St. Georg This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Hunsrückenstr. 22, Altstadt, 40213 Düsseldorf, Germany

#113 of 197 hotels in Düsseldorf

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 712 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a little hot and couldn't find any air con if there was any.Had to sleep with the windows open.

    Really spacious room.Bed very comfortable.Couldn't hear any street noise.There was a fridge .Straight out onto the street where there was lots of bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid for a double bed, literally two single beds pushed together.

    The location can't be beat The breakfast is ok, typical cheap style buffet, should have just went to the bakery for breakfast each day to be honest.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Do not go here, if you want to sleep well. The room faced to the street, but the street is full of restaurant, people etc... the windows aren't sound-proof. Actually you can't close it completly. So it's extremely laud. I asked to change my room or repair the window... but nothing happened.

    Nothing. really.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    An old building showing its age with slight damp smell. No parking anywhere in the old town, so 20 euro overnight charge is unavoidable wherever you stay. Car park is very close.

    Good size room at the back of the hotel, so no problems with street noise. Location right in the centre of the old town. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of sewage in the hall area of the hotel for the two days we were there. Fridge in the room smelt musty. Dust on lamp shades. Breakfast was very poor not much choice.

    Good shower

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lighting in the room was poor enough and sockets were not very plentiful. What sockets there were were behind the tv units and tricky to access. Another socket taken up by a lamp which had to be used as there was no ceiling light. I was travelling with a fair amount of stuff that needed recharging so it was a bit restrictive.

    Location is fantastic and I had a room to the back of the hotel which was great because Karneval was on and that that can be noisey. Also staff were brilliant when I lost my room key one of the nights.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked four double rooms, 4 months prior to our stay, for my partner and I along with our friends (all couples). When I arrived at the hotel we were told there were only 3 double rooms left and my partner and I were in a twin room. The twin room was extremely small and had a wall between two single beds. Booking 4 double rooms well in advance to our trip is what I expected to find on check in.

    Warm welcome from the staff when we arrived and EXCELLENT location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in a room on the second floor, at the side of a busy nightlife street, and with almost no noise reduction. So we didn't sleep a single minute. The lady at the reception told it was the last room with windows to be replaced. They should not make available such rooms, as they were prettyk aware about this problem.

    The location is superb, right in the middle of the Altstadt.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower curtain in room 209

    I visited the St Georg with my Daughter and Grand-Daughter. Our rooms were spacious, located at the rear of the property and were very quiet. The breakfast selection was excellent and added to our total enjoyment of the stay. Would recommend this hotel to all groups, top area for a singles outing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building is in urgent need of upgrading/repair. Our room was not very clean - dusty, bathroom not clean, carpet dirty. The Continental breakfast was not great at all - no bread (only rolls), minimal fruit - we had to ask for a boiled egg.

    Location was ideal if you are wanting to be in the Altstadt (Old City) area. Room was nice & quiet even though we were in the city center.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It looks a little bit old, but everything is working. What can you expect for such a low price on thus awesome location

    Location is awesome. Great value for money

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Might be noisier at the weekend.

    Excellent location in the altstadt. I thought there might be a lot of noise but on the Wednesday I stayed it was quiet by the time I hit the hay at midnight. Breakfast was good considering it was included in the rate. Woyton coffee shop is next door if you want a premium coffee. 60s from the metro.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fewer bars in the area, but the hotel is not in control of that.

    The location was central but the room was quiet. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was varied and excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating in my room did not work, only in the bathroom. When I asked for it to be repaired (in the afternoon of my second day), nothing could be done until the next day when I would check out anyway.

    The hotel is decent, good value for money and in an excellent location, right in the middle of the old town. Friendly staff and small but okay breakfast selection.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom doors need replacing as the steam has lifted the paint, it spoils an otherwise nice room.

    Having read several reviews about this hotel we were a little concerned. On arrival we were given one of the small suites at the rear of the hotel. We were very pleased to see that it was spacious and had everything needed for a few days stay. Most importantly it was spotlessly clean throughout. The beds were very comfortable too. The breakfast is excellent and offered some limited hot food. If your visiting the Altstadt as a tourist its hard to imagine a better positioned hotel. The staff speak English and are very nice and helpful. When we return to Dusseldorf this will be our first choice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise. The hotel is opposite two Irish pubs. On the night we stayed, a Sunday, loud English groups carried on until after midnight

    Spacious room in Altstadt

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location in the old town, right in the heart of restaurant and bar area. Bed was large and comfy and room was spacious. It is an old hotel and facilities were as expected. Our room was at the back, so street noise was minimal. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Even though the room was at the back (which I was glad about as there were rowdy drinkers in the street) I couldn't really sleep with the window open because of noisy air-conditioning units at the back. So, I was too hot. The room seemed to be generally clean, but the net curtains looked rather grey and the shower room smelt a little odd.

    It was convenient for where I wanted to be. I just wanted somewhere to sleep really, so didn't want to pay too much. The man on reception was patient with my poor German.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in the room, not fresh bread, poor shampoo set & soup. It's ok if it were announced before.

    Ease of access from airport and downtown.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Actually the location is not so good, near tons of bars and even though the sound insulation seems good but club music can still break through the windows and I cannot fall into sleep at 3am at Friday night, maybe the room not facing street is better.

    All the things are clean and the room is also quite big, locates in the old city area and is convenient to go sightseeing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    WiFi was rather flaky - but for working the office is the right place anyhow.

    The room was nice in the sense that I had a separate living room and bedroom. And the location is excellent!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are not clean,carpent can tell you 10 years story,bathroom ceramic broked and not glued.Till 4-5 o clock at night is very laud who have light sleep do not advise to book.Windows does not have good isolation so you can hear everything from street.

    Position of hotel is perfect,metro 40m distance,all restorans in range of 200m.Conection to all places perfect.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can see dirts easily, even somebody else's hair in the sink. And some rooms are right beside the street(where bars and pubs are located), so that you can enjoy the the atmosphere and noise in your room. The noises woke me up several times. It goes on until 06:00!!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At 2pm Sunday there was no hot water in my room, so I had to take a cold shower. Was offered to change room but I was already planning to be checking out early. My room was facing the street and there were loud, drunken people below already screaming like monkeys at 6pm Saturday.

    Location is great if you want to hit the bars/ cafes downtown. Its also a short walk to the riverside and various museums. Was able to book last-minute and enjoyed my visit.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel is perfectly located - close to the all the bars/restaurants, and also right next to the Heinrich-Heine-Allee metro stop - making it very easy & cheap(!) to get to the Esprit Messe, the main station & the airport. Staff were very welcoming & friendly. My room (314) was nice and big and at the back of the hotel, so very quiet, which given the hotel's location was impressive! I didn't actually make it to the breakfast, so I can't comment on that aspect! I will definitely be staying here again when I return to Dusseldorf next year. Thank you!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast tables are few, so there's a standing around period to account for. Worse still, nightclub opened downstairs; 4am finish every night

    great location if you are a very heavy sleeper and you generally miss breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very basic breakfast.

    Location brilliant for touring, transport, restaurants. Very friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable and clean rooms. Fastest WiFI ever. Free of charge.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A bit noisy at night (deliveries, rubbish collection, late revellers) but not too disruptive.

    Good breakfast and excellent location for Christmas markets, shopping, sightseeing and bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really everything is perfect for a business trip. Of course could be cheaper

    Fantastic location, rigth at the centre of old town with bars in 50 meters , tram in 50 meters. good breakfast, nice and suitable room, friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First night Alt Stadt was very noisy and you could hear some of this in the room. Not too bad but...

    Good location, basic but clean and secure and convenient for my work and also bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was a shower but no shower curtain or screen so very tricky to use without getting the floor soaking wet, also I couldn't get the shower to stay warm although I think this was just my room as my friends said their showers were fine.

    Room very clean, my room was at the back of the hotel so nice and quiet. Location was central for bars, restaurants and shopping.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was not very clean (hairs remaining) You must come early to the breakfast as there is no refill of empty plates

    Excellent location (in Altstadt) Friendly and nice staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was mediocre WIFI was not working, it took whole day to fix it. Staff was helpful and they sent to to the neighbour hotel so that I could work.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worst breakfast ever. Needed to eat outside!!! Room wasn’t really clean! Carpet had paint stains.

    In the city centre

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The area is a bit grotty - but it is a bar area so that's to be expected.

    Very central and convenient for bar-hopping around Altstadt.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Worst hotel in altstad

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lots of Noise all night from the street below, shower was not very good running hot & cold.

    access to main restaurants & Bars

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nix

    Das personal

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi

    Excellent location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great comfortable place to stay at a good location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Having the internet to be available automatically for all the long of your stay.

    Perfect location!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No minibar, no safe.

    Large rooms, good location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows

    Excellent hotel and location -

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Alles was perfect in orde

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good clean rooms and good breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fab small hotel. Easy access to Dusseldorf Christmas markets. Friendly and spotless clean perfect weekend stopover

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff no friendly

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size if the room was great and bathroom perfect.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The holet is really in the center. One minute to the Bolkerstraße, five minutes or less to Rein.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lighting in the room and no safe deposit box

    Ideally situate in the city centre,comfortable,myself and party of 3 others will be coming back.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location with all attractions just a few meters from the hotel. Everything was a good standard and the beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no safe in room

    location large room nice bathroom

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very old style and is not clean.The carpet and the courtains were very dirthy.

    It was very close to everything in the center of the city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Street noise, a lot

    Clean, good location, large room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had a room at the back, which was quiet. Others had rooms at the front which were much noisier because of the bars in the street

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overall good location and a pleasant stay

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Big room. very central location to shops, river side, bars and restaurants

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One Wifi account is only for three devices.

    Super location, friendly staffs. Old but everything's fine. Breakfast is also nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was basic and good, but was lacking fresh fruit.

    Staff was caring and interested in ensuring we we're well informed of the area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You fall out the hotel and surrounded by as many bars as you could possibly want to drink in. Irish bars as far as the eye can see

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super roomy accommodations! There was a little common area which was in expected. They kindly allowed us to check in super early! Great find!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is not clean

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - noise / lärm Mainstreet/Hauptstraße - kaltes wasser / Cold water + Cold temperature

    very central

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    excellent location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    An English TV channel would have been nice

    Great location and excellent breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room close to street, was very noisy.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower did not have hot water

    Great location in the altstadt

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can be noise in the night but just close the window!

    Location Big rooms Friendly Nice breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast place a bit small,

    Breakfast was really good, good select, Hotel is direct in center in the city.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    comfortable and clean room, location is perfect

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room did not have a ceiling light, only small desk lamps.

    The hotel is very well located, near to many tourist atracctions.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - poor choise on brekfast - empty minibar - rust and calx in the shower.

    - Great location - Perfect price-quality ratio

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    very well situated and helpful staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    too much noise on the street, rooms should be sound proof

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is old and needs maintenance.

    The staff is delightful. The location is perfect.

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Altstadt Hotel St. Georg traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: