Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Stadt-Gut-Hotel Zum Rathaus This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Freiherr-vom-Stein-Straße 41, 46045 Oberhausen, Germany

#23 of 33 hotels in Oberhausen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 389 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 29

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    excellent weekend in Oberhausen
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I personally would have liked a kettle in my room, not many hotels in Germany provide this.

    very comfortable bed, nice quite nights sleep, off the main drag so very quite outside during my stay, shower was nice and hot, very clean room and staff very helpful, although I was 5 hrs early I was still given a room, heating in room was excellent and fully adjustable to suit your personal requirements, I would most certainly stay there again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    9.6
    Calm and wonderful stay in Oberhausen close for everything
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I like Salmon and apple juice, it will be appreciated if will be available at breakfast.

    Very helpful and cheerful staff, most of them speaks fluently English. I arrived late on Sunday, the hotel is closed as described on its home page; The owner arrived only five minutes from a simple phone call. He is very nice and helpful. The hotel is clean and close for everything you need, restaurants, Centro for shopping...etc. The restaurant serves a delicious dishes for dinner. For Wi-Fi you should change the code access every day. You will receive a Wi-Fi ticket from the information desk on simple request. I will return next year and will plan to come with my family in the near future. Bravo and thank you to the hotel staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    6.7
    It was okay. No more, no less.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hotel quite dated. Room was too small and the décor was very dated. Breakfast expensive.

    Staff very friendly. Excellent shower in the bathroom. Decent bar in the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    9.2
    Good budget hotel, with a very good breakfast selection for it's price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coffee at breakfast was ok, but some other hotels I frequented for business also offer cappuccino or macchiato, would have been a big plus if this hotel would serve those at breakfast. On the other hand the breakfast selection was better than average.

    very good breakfast selection and freshly baked eggs. Friendly personel, but some had some difficulties with speaking English. We were given a double room, so that our toddler could sleep in a separate room even though we just paid for a standard 2 person room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    5.4
    Thats what you get for the price in DE
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No wifi, at least the whole night plus evening. Neon on the street blowing my mind and vision all night. At check out, Credit card machine kapuuuuut.

    Location next to EKO was perfect for us. Otherwise, pretty far from the "city".

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.6
    Nice breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice breakfast Friendly staff Good location Bar

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.1
    Great breakfast, friendly staff, hotel was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning and window opened only a little.

    Great breakfast, friendly staff, hotel was clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    Nice Hotelin Oberhausen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to flag..

    Nice Staff, Clean room, all went fine.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.9
    Parking space is plentyful, and it is close to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking space is plentyful, and it is close to the Turbinehalle. Can't vouch for a lot more because we were plastered after a night out.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    9.2
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar was a bit noisy

    The location is friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    7.5
    classical hotel in a very pleasant area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room a bit tiny

    near the train station in a very pleasant area (just behind the town hall) wifi good breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.3
    Nice small independent hotel within walking distance to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with blackout blinds!

    Nice small independent hotel within walking distance to train station and a great breakfast buffet

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    4.6
    The food and service was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was old and dated and not good value for money.

    The food and service was very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    6.7
    Very nice location if staying in Duisberg or Oberhausen; Duesseldorf is a bit far
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Did not eat breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was a bit not working half the time

    Great location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    6.7
    Okay hotel, not much to say about it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We asked for a double bed, had to move the two single beds ourselves to create a double

    The location is pretty good, rooms are OK

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2016

    5.0
    It was easy to walk from the trainstation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was no personel there the whole sunday. They left a number on the locked door, bit no one answered. Because our flight left very early on monday, we had no chanse to pay for our room before we left. They could have told us that when we checked in.

    It was easy to walk from the trainstation. Easy to find.

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2015

    7.5
    The staff very professionnal, helpful, the breakfast...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Reception closed at 7:00 PM on Sunday when I arrived. The nice man arrived 15 mn after calling him. No lift in the hotel and poor wifi.

    The staff very professionnal, helpful, the breakfast delicious. Close to the Centro, restaurants, tram and bus. 15 mn walk from/to the train station. Free water throughout the stay and welcome fruit and sweeties at arrival.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    7.9
    Small and personal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bath/shower combination isn't very practicall, especially if you are tall. Interior a bit outdated.

    Small and personal. Lots of parkingspace across the steet. Close to tbe city centre, but green and quite quiet environment. Very good and affordable food!

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    8.3
    Welcomed with great hospitality and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Welcomed with great hospitality and service. Breakfast buffet was ideal and full of choice. Fresh and delicious! Beer was top class. Great selections of beer too.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    7.1
    Clean & central
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Simple, no food during the day, WiFi connection was bad

    Clean & central

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    6.7
    Good location, clean room, fruits as gifts.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff speak little English, and the wifi doesn't work pretty well.

    Good location, clean room, fruits as gifts...generally it's very good.

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2016

    8.3
    Very pleasant for location and cost
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff English not perfect but more than expected In a small German city

    Very pleasant for location and cost

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2015

    10
    The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. Wonderful service

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2015

    8.3
    It was a realy cosy hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It was a realy cosy hotel. Not to big and nice furniture. A lovely bar and a nice diner.

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    7.5
    Cheap and close to centro
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Cheap and close to centro

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2015

    8.8
    Nice hotel with a good breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The isolation is not that great.

    Nice hotel with a good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    8.8
    excellent restaurant at the hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    excellent restaurant at the hotel

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2015

    8.8
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Friendly staff

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 29

Guests also reviewed these properties: