Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Stadthotel am Römerturm This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

St.-Apern-Str. 32, Altstadt-Nord, 50667 Cologne, Germany

#106 of 232 hotels in Cologne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1154 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    8.3
    Business travelling in Cologne
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was all ok, unfortunately the price is really high for a business traveller

    This hotel is the perfect one for who travel for business (as i do). Clean room with modern design, bar opened 24/7 and easy-to-go services.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    nice business hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everything was ok

    very close to the centre also excellent for shopping I asked for an additional pillow and they send 2 big ones and a small one for me to provide more comfort .I really enjoyed that.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    8.3
    Great Location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WIFI connectivity wasn't very good. Had to tether to my phone.

    Location is fantastic. Single rooms are small and basic but have all that is needed and appear to have been remodeled. Very clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.6
    Great value, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s no refrigerator.

    It’s at a great location and provides parking for a reasonable day rate. The room was quiet and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.2
    Air conditioner worked excellent and coped with heat +37!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No refrigerator in the room. Very expensive breakfast - the price doesn`t match with quality and assortment of food

    Air conditioner worked excellent and coped with heat +37! Very friendly stuff and nice comfortable room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    6.3
    Location was good, nice places around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very uncomfortable, it went down in the middle and the curtain was not fully blocking the light so very bright early morning. The pillows were very uncomfortable either, too big for the bed size.

    Location was good, nice places around. The room was clean Quiet location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    6.7
    Centrally located
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed here 3 nights and it was very dissapointing. The hotel is going through a huge renovation at the moment: summer 2018. Therefore were the floors in the corridors dirty. Labour people working, which causes unrest and loud noises. Also, the airco did not work properly. Actually did not work at all. Pffff. It was 27 degrees in my room. Too hot! I got another room, which worked out better. But the last night it was again incredibly hot. At reception they could not help me, because the technicians left. Another issue is that reception is often unreacchable. Either nobody there or they did not pick up the phone when I called them. I think they should inform about the renovation. And make this clear on their and other websites. And offer a discount! Rooms on the front are a bit noisy. WiFi is not working well. Often disconnected.

    Centrally located. I could check out a bit later. Printed my train ticket. Great shower. Good beds. Clean rooms.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.1
    Nice but Expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was being renovated. The breakfast was too expensive 15€. The TV only German channels. And we found stains on the bed sheets.

    The room was very nice and bathroom perfect. The hotel was central and a short walk to the center.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    5.8
    Proximity to the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We expect a standard queen bed but instead have a 140cm x 200m bed frame (the hotel called it “French” Queen bed). Maintenance onsite during our visit, drilling sound early in the morning.

    Proximity to the city center

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.2
    Decent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though the internet was marketed on booking as being available throughout the hotel, during our stay it didn't work at all.

    The rooms are big enough for 2 persons, with nice furniture. The bathroom was also spacious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    Great city hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is very central. Our room was small, but comfy and we could see the cathedral from our bed. There’s a very nice bakery just around the corner with great outdoor seating called “Bastians”, so we were happy that we skipped the hotel breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.5
    Perfect location and parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I like to feel to be at home when I am booking a 4-star hotel. The hotel doesn't have a coffee machine through which you can pay and take your coffee. It was 10 pm, I ask the reception to give me a coffee (I would pay), however, she said NO, although she could easily give me a coffee from the coffee machine in the restaurant and charge me.

    Location Parking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.8
    Only good location and nice hotel.
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff - very unpleasant and not polite. We didn't feel welcome. Price - I payed more then on booking. They charge me 35€ extra, even I show that the booking confirmatio/price is different. Parking - 13€ day.

    - Perfect location - Nice and cean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    5.0
    King size bed was promised, I asked for twin beds, in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    King size bed was promised, I asked for twin beds, in the end got a standard double bed, rather small and uncomfortable. Room was small, bar at the hotel also unimpressive. All was clean, but not sure if worth 4 stars.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    4.6
    It isn’t a 4 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed isn’t as specified in booking. we got a double bed with two twin mattress and also two single duvets. Also, no slippery and bathrobe as we usually find in good 4 star hotels. Also, the staff wasn’t polite to fix the problem and inconsistent with the answers (different périplo, different answer).

    The location is 15 min from the old market, which is a good place for beers

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    3.3
    It could have been better if there was a fridge and a coffee making facility in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reception and house keeping staff, excellent in doing their jobs. Fast in responding to our requests whilst we are there. Location and quality is Superb for the price....close to high street and night life. Quiet area in the heart of Cologne. When we got our bearing, we just walked from the hotel to the train station going to the airport. We rented cycles and left it outside the hotel. We feel safe in the area. It is just at the back of Pullman Hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.9
    Good location for city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Paintwork in the room was tired and scuffed and could have done with a refresh

    Great location central to museums/shops/cathedral. Fairly small room and bathroom but adequate for our needs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.6
    Great for staying in the City!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were too hard for my liking.

    Really close to the city, very nice rooms, quiet even on the weekend. Good parking lot just outside of the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.8
    Great facilities!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower could have been a bit more powerful, but that's being picky. It's a cheap taxi or long walk to the centre, but still a good location with accessible food and drinks nearby

    The rooms were lovely and had all the nice touches. The hairdryer was good and powerful unlike most hotels, there was a nice plate of fruit and cakes in each room, haribos on the pillow, tea/coffee/kettle all good. Comfy beds and big thick pillows. Cleanliness was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable and central but I will never stay here again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff tried hard to book taxis but the hotel processes are simply inadequate; they can't even tell if they have successfully booked a taxi or not. The wifi was good in terms of reliability and capacity but I will NEVER stay at this hotel again because they censor websites, presumably because of their Catholic history. But it is not the place of a hotel to try to exercise moral authority over its guests. VERY POOR.

    The bedroom was small but well designed and perfectly adequate so long as you didn't want to spend a lot of time in the room. The bed was very comfortable; very firm. Shower and bathroom facilities were very good. Breakfast was the same as the hotel of a large chain and the coffee was particularly good. Some lovely touches - e.g. a plate with some fruit and sandwich on arrival.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    5.4
    Meh hotel. Nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Draconian, poorly communicated (at front desk not online) booking policy. Policy should make allowances for emergencies

    The staff were super nice and helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    6.7
    Could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed could have be more comfortable. The cleaning staff didn't clean half the room during our stay, which made us wonder how clean the room was before we checked-in.

    Great Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.9
    great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff is super friendly and location is perfect! Rooms were cleaned every day very carefully, however the the bed is kinda small not so comfortable. The bathroom is not the best either, a bad smell comes from the shower.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    2.5
    Poor value for money, unhelpful staff, non working facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a double room with queen bed for myself and my wife, arrived to a room with a small bed with one pillow. All staff can do is give us an another pillow. Had to argue to get a bigger room in which the heating didn t work and we had two single blankets in December, was a horrible night. No apologies from the manager in the room. Ps. 20 euros charge for parking for 1 night. Definitely not deserve to be a 4 star hotel.

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    5.8
    Great location but improperly trained staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady checking us in, insisted I dont know my name. They had a problem with their system where the last name was listed as first name. The lady was extremely rude and basically telling me I dont know my name. Rather than checking both columns of the table, she had the audacity to be upset with us. Completely sassy for no good reason. That person should never work for the reception

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    6.7
    great location but definitely not a 4 star hotel by anyone's standards
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    uncomfortable mattress, too few towels provided i.e 1 for 2 guests, lack of facilities in room, in room safe not working

    Great location but I have found better standards in 0 star, low budget hotels

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    6.3
    Not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    4 star hotel and rooms don’t have the basics... no mini bar / mini fridge, only in the junior suites they said... no kettle for tea or coffee , usual basics like hair conditioner , not in the room. Very annoying gair dryer , need to hold button for it to work ... so if u are like my friend with long hair - good luck! Asked to clean the room as we left 2pm, came back around 7pm - not done. Bought coffees and brought them to our room, it took lots of space on the table , left outside the room, found same place in the morning. Not sure , maybe understaffed but deffo not 4* hotel. Not to mention , no gym or other facilities

    Location is great , veey central ... receptionist with a beard was lovely

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    10
    christmas mini-break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The greeting was friendly and we had already been offered an upgrade (for a little extra) and it was worth it. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff are very helpful and attended to a problem efficiently. We felt they cared. Great stay to visit the shops, markets and the local brauhaus!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    6.3
    Adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed too hard. No room service. Bar small in reception

    Facilities good for conferences, not so good for independent travellers e.g. Bar and lounge area part of reception

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.3
    That the TV would be in English if that is the language that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    That the TV would be in English if that is the language that you choose, as I found that the German would be still be the main language you would hear.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    8.8
    Very nice place, will definitely recommend to my friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hotel is situated on the small and very quite street, and is 10min walk to the Dom and close to all the main attractions, including Christmas Markets which were the main reason of my visit to Cologne. If you want to be in the city center but feel yourself like being in a suburb, you should choose this hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    7.5
    Good Central Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Total lack of English language channels except CNN. BBC world service was advertised in channel pack but not available

    Good location for centre but also quiet.Room was very comfortable with a good shower. Very vkean

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.6
    Nothing better for the price and overall experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Incredible quality of construction and you see it the second you step into the elevator. I only have great things to say about this Hotel . The location is 2nd to none , the rooms are immaculate and it's extremely quiet. I would stay here again and recommend to other guests visiting cologne that want to be right in the action

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    6.7
    Clean hotel located just minutes from Dom (Cathedral) and Bahnhof (train station)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi was horrendous - I had room # 318, which was located farthest from the elevators. I barely had any WiFi reception, and when it did connect, it sucked big time. Not much to cheer about in terms of facilities, and the room can definitely be a bit cheaper for whats on offer.

    Located just 10 minutes from the Dom & train station, its perfect location for those with limited time in Cologne. Quite a few restaurants/bars within walking distance from the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    8.8
    The hotel is in a Conveient location and is a reasonably good value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked the hotel & cannot really think of anything I did not like.

    The hotel is in a good, central location. There are also two very good Italian restaurants within a very short walk.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    6.3
    Nice location, but bad value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Value for money. There are other hotels that offer amazing rooms for less money. The room was too small, and lacked air. Decoration could use an update.

    Very nicely located, and pretty clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    8.8
    Good overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - The transaction machine was at fault. I had to pay with cash. - For this kind of price (143 Euros), they could have at least given a breakfast in the morning... Unfortunately, for breakfast, it costs another 30 euros. I had to just eat packed food from home.

    + It's close enough to Gloria Theater. If you are a Star Citizen coming to Gamescom, you may want to consider it. + Fancy room with a desk and a TV in front of your bed :) even though I did not watch it. I was too tired from Gamescom.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.8
    Great Place to stay, cetnral, friendly staaf -have stayed...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great Place to stay, cetnral, friendly staaf -have stayed before. This time around I have had some kind of generator going on whole night so did not have had a good sleep. i could ask for another room but since it was only for 2 night Idid not bother

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    7.1
    Great location but overpriced single room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I didn't like the sound proofing, it was very easy to hear other rooms including snoring neighbours. There was also a speaker in the room which was buzzing every so often, very annoying. The small single bed rooms are not worth the rate which I paid.

    The hotel is in a great location very close to the shopping street and fairly close to tram stops, its also very clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.6
    Nice hotel close to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking and breakfast are on the expensive side. But there are so many cafes in the neighbourhood that serve coffee and breakfast for a cheaper price, so that is a good alternative.

    Nice room, good location, very helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.2
    The room was really nice, comfortable, quiet, fresh in these...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The internet connection was good but got disconnected regularly, every ten or fifteen minutes. This was a bit unexpected in a hotel of this category. I needed a good functioning internet, this was just minimal.

    The room was really nice, comfortable, quiet, fresh in these summer days. I was even allowed to check in earlier because my room was ready, and a later check out was possible. Thanks for this. The reception was helpful for all my questions.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    10
    Great hotel and staff located in Cologne!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I requested 2 beds (twins) instead of a double bed. They mentioned they don't have rooms with twin beds.

    I was there for Gay Pride Weekend, and I was surprised the parade passes in the corner of the hotel, so handy! If you need bathroom you can go to hotel, and at the end of the parade you avoid of the people and you can be at your room 2 minutes later to refresh and rest.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.9
    Good hotel in Cologne center
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    For a 4 star hotel in Cologne center, the room was not very equipped (no mini bar or iron)

    Very comfortable bed, great breakfast selection and amazing location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel but kind of difficult access in the rooms
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is overcrowded, looks more like labyrinth and it's not easy to walk inside it. Bathroom is small but ok. Very long corridor and complicated so it's was hard to find out where is elevator because of it. Only ONE elevator in a big hotel like this one, was hard to get your turn to use it!

    Hotel is modern, very clean and in one of the best locations in Cologne. Staff is endless friendly. Room is nice, good bed, good wifi, free bottle of water in the room. Working AC. Nice chapel on the top floor.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    THIS HOTEL IS NUMBER ONE IN COLOGNE!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing at all. Everything was perfect.

    This hotel was amazing. Ms. Amira on the Reception is very much helpful to me and I think she is the best working person that a hotel can ever has. She was representing the hotel in the best way. The location is also perfect, easy to walk and shop all around. As a guest, I will recommend this hotel to all the people who will come to Cologne.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    3.8
    The hotel was the worst experience I have ever get in my...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was the worst experience I have ever get in my life. They have huge problem for organization. The mattress and pillow was awful. I have stayed at many low cost hotel, never seen this type before, but really disappointed!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Don't miss out- excellent staff, location, room and facilities
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing that I didnt like.

    The hotel was excellent, and especially the front office were so accommodating and supportive. Excellent place, walking distance to the shopping and restaurants, middle in the town, but in a really quiet corner. If I go again, I will definitely stay in the hotel. The front office manager Frau Hipp did know how to provide superior customer service. Lovely place, great price point. I had even a view to Cologne Cathedral, what a treat.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.2
    Lovely value for money hotel close to the centre of Cologne!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A minifridge and an electric kettle in the room would have been nice!

    The staff was extremely helpful - when we accidentally forgot the combination of our safe and panicked, a lovely lady from the reception came to our aid with a smile! Very, very reasonable price for dry-cleaning and ironing a pair of trousers Beautiful artistic photos of Köln as wall decorations View of the Dom from our window! Nice comfortable beds

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    8.8
    No waow, but a reasonably nice and clean place with good breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are nothing fancy, a bit outdated, but very clean and well taken care of.

    Friendly staff, good location, nice and complete breakfast. Perfect for a night on business.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    8.3
    4 Star Hotel in Germany
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At 74 I walk with a walking stick for added support when needed.I was surprised on arrival by taxi that no ramp or lift was available beside the outside steps leading to reception.There was a locked lift beside the steps but no controls to operate or enter the door. Had it not been for the help of the taxi driver I would have had difficulty in reaching the reception desk. I am surprised that a 4 star hotel in Germany is allowed to have inadequate facilities for such help, it is after all the largest economy in the EU! Another surprise was to be told that the restaurant was closed on the Saturday evening!

    Room was spotless, furniture very modern,lighting and electric sockets plentiful and well placed. Bed and easy chair very comfortable with TV easily adjusted. Breakfast in the dining room was lovely plentiful with a wide variation in taste. The security safe was well positioned and easy to use!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    7.5
    Nice quiet location, but still close to all
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Tiniest guest room I've ever seen and no choice of another room without paying for an "upgrade". No shelf space in the bathroom for toiletries.

    The hotel looked much nicer on arrival than the pics online. That said, the room was microscopic - even by European standards. Lobby lounge was lovely with an espresso machine free for guest use. Breakfast was top-notch. Front desk staff varied, but the one who checked me in was VERY nice and helpful. Nice plate of goodies waiting in the room. Amazing view from the room. Pics of room and view posted here.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    7.1
    very short stay but clean room & good wifi!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    To start with, I used to work as a receptionist myself so I would think that I know what is important for a good check-in. Honestly, in my point of view, there is potential for improvement in this regard. E.g. I was not asked for any ID upon arrival, the room type / length of stay was not confirmed upon processing the payment (btw please note that your credit card will be charged upon check in - some properties would only authorize the card and charge upon check out). Moreover, I would suggest to provide information about breakfast option and wifi before the guest has to ask for those details.

    When I arrived at the property around 1:30 pm I was not able to check in yet. However, the receptionist stored my luggage until I returned to the hotel later that evening. Moreover, after asking about wifi access they provided me with the necessary log in details which was very much appreciated. The lobby is quite nice and the comfy seats invite you to rest a little bit before heading out. The room itself (single room with queensized bed) was not very spacious but good enough for me travelling alone. What really surprised me in a positive way was the nice view as I could see the famous Dome. Besides that, the room was clean and I got a good night sleep. Another nice touch was the complimentary large bottle of mineral water on the desk. Furtherore, the wifi was working very well as I could not only check my mails but also watch Netflix. In the next morning, I asked the receptionist to call me a taxi as they explained me the evening before that they cannot prebook any. The cab arrived 3 minutes later so that was fine. Finally, if you like Sushi, you should definitely have dinner at "sweet sushi" which is located literally around the corner of the hotel (note that you can only pay cash).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    7.5
    Kölner Dom is in walking distance
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking costs are not included into booking price and are extra. That is standard approach for most of the hotels in Germany though

    Kölner Dom is in walking distance Staff is polite and helpful Room was clean and ready nothing to complain about :)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    5.8
    Very narrow and hard bed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very narrow and hard bed. It is possible to get something from lobby- bar only after all guests are checked in , because the same person serves in the reception and in the bar. I had to wait more than 20 minutes.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    5.4
    Good but not great.
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the price and being a 4* hotel I expected a little more; Wifi coverage terrible in the room. Would only work at the desk. Kept dropping anywhere else in the room. Lack of basic amenities such as kettle, toothpaste etc. Bar available downstairs at the hotel (but expensive, 16e for gin&tonic + bottle of water for the room...) Single duvet on a double bed. I like to use the whole bed. Otherwise I'd book a single. No introduction to breakfast/dinner/other possibilities at the hotel upon arrival by the staff.

    Room was nice and tidy, quite comfortable. Free wifi for up to 3 devices.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    8.3
    My City hotel also for a next visit.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only one elevator for a 6 floor hotel is a bit poor. There is an uncovered parking at €13/day. breakfast is very good but cost €15/day

    Nice spacious room. The hotel rooms are very quiet. Nice and easy access to the city center.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable hotel in the center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed mattress is a bit hard

    The hotel location is excellent, very central and walking distance to most places you would want to see in Cologne, it is also fairly accessible through public transport. The rooms are fairly sized, and it is generally quiet so it is easy to sleep comfortably. the staff are super friendly and helpful. The li

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    4.2
    Absaloutley rubbish
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds staff attitude no breakfast included price building works at the door No English channels on tv small covers on a small bed very uncomfortable

    Very little

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    7.1
    1-shop stores are within walking distance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1- has only one elevator 2- housekeeping was insufficient 3- the largest Christmas market takes around 15 mins walk

    1-shop stores are within walking distance 2- one of the newest hotel in the city 3-parking 4-wifi

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    10
    Very comfortable, very clean, helpful friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee making facility in the bedroom

    Location was ideal. Hotel was spotlessly clean. Staff went above and beyond to be helpful and friendly. Rooms were very warm and comfortable

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    3.8
    Don't be scammed, luxury price for hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff had given us the wrong room - incorrect size for number of guests, then were rude and demeaning when we pointed this out, saying it was our own fault for not knowing the room we would be in. Eventually - several hours later - a manager agreed the error and upgraded us to a larger room, with twin beds and a camp bed in the corridor! Which we took as checking there were no other vacancies in the area. Upon checkout though we found we had been charged extra for this 'service'!!!!! The hotel is plain, battery style basic accommodation with absolutely no facilities but charging luxury prices, must be avoided!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    9.2
    Enjoyed the breakfast selection.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked sachets of instant coffee in the room.

    Enjoyed the breakfast selection. One of the waiters was extremely helpful translating the menu for us. Delighted with the Christmas treats left outside the door and at breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    8.8
    Super
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice and helpful staff. The bed was really comfortable. My room was quiet. Cold shower water in the morning, but I was offered a free breakfast while the problem was being fixed.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    6.7
    Yes...but
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a four stars hotel you will expect a room a bit more comfortable. The bathroom is small and there is a little shelf (too little) to put your stuff on. The towels are a bit dated

    It is in a good position. 15 min walking to the cathedral. Very quiet. Soundproofing is good. Air conditioning perfect Clean

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    6.7
    Lovely stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were on the small side but we were using it as a base so wasn't a problem however a king size bed as standard for couples would be nice.

    Nice hotel, well decorated, good location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    5.4
    Location -good, far from noise, Breakfast-diverse and fresh
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Most of the hotel employee speak English very poorly. The bathroom tower were torn in pieces.

    Location -good, far from noise, Breakfast-diverse and fresh

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    4.2
    I've seen better in Germany for less
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very boring interior, reminds a hospital. Squeaking bed, psychedelic illumination in cold white LED of the bathroom. Yet expensive. Not really worth even 3 starts.

    Breakfast was not bad. However, it would be nice to have it longer on weekends. 10.00 is too early to close the buffet.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    7.1
    Good central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Narrow bed. Duvets overlapping was a bit awkward. Room a bit small.

    Clean, comfortable. Excellent location for our trip. Quiet.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    8.8
    Very comfortable, clean and functional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable, clean and functional. The Check in staff member was incredibly helpful and made a great first impression.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Best place in Koln
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was perfect

    The location close to the resturants and bars, the staff very friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.5
    Great friendly staff, lovely quiet location, close to subway...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Great friendly staff, lovely quiet location, close to subway, comfortable bed in clean room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    5.8
    in the rooms there is no refrigerator.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    in the rooms there is no refrigerator. and there is no slippers for using in the room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    7.9
    Köln trip 25 August, 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't have a fridge in the room or tea/coffee facilities.

    Easy early check-in and approachable staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.6
    Good place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator works if you have a key

    Everything

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    Super close to city center, modern rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super close to city center, modern rooms

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Stadthotel am Römerturm traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: