Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Star am Dom Superior This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Ursulastraße 4-8, Altstadt-Nord, 50668 Cologne, Germany

#209 of 223 hotels in Cologne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3164 hotel reviews

6.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.5

  • Comfort

    5.7

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    5.8

  • Staff

    7.2

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    4.2
    I cannot reccommend this hotel, the breakfast is terrible - hotel and rooms need maintenance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is not clean enough - the rooms are a bit shabby and could do with renovation and a better maintenance in general. There was no aircondition but this we knew beforehand - there were fans. The breakfast was terrible, even the coffee I could hardly drink. At 7 o Clock in the morning we woke up with quite some noise coming from outside as they were renovating the house next door and started working and drilling at 07.00 in the morning. This can of course happen and is hard for a hotel to Control......but I feel we should have been notified about this at least.. I am sorry to say but I am not able to reccommend the hotel to anyone.

    The size of the room was ok - it was quite big and good for 3 people. I actually had to book a room for 4 people as the 3 bedroom rooms were not available when I booked. The location is quite good - short distance to the main attractions and the city center etc.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    6.7
    Very friendly helpfull staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very noisy, building site outside our room started banging at 7 am. No air con just a fan. No tea/coffee facilities in room. Basic self service continental breakfast.

    Very friendly helpfull staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    5.8
    Decent hotel to spend a few nights, but only if majority of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decent hotel to spend a few nights, but only if majority of your time is going be spent outside the hotel. If anyone is looking for recreation facilities within the hotel, this may not be the place for you.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    6.3
    Close to the central station and dome.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is next to a wide road, where the traffic is quite strong. Sleeping with opened window is impossible. Small bathroom with bathroom curtain. Even in the room was a safe, it was not possible to use it (there was no battery inside).

    Close to the central station and dome.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.2
    The women on the reception was very friendly and nice!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The women on the reception was very friendly and nice! The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the central station and therefore in a good location. Its a bit noisy at times as the hotel is right next to a busy road - but perfect for an overnight stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Great base to explore
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was brilliant, quick walk from the main train station and minutes from the Cathedral. The area itself is not the greatest but I felt safe and it was convenient

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.9
    Fantastic experience is all i can vouch for
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    some more clarity to how to reach the property from the train station could have been helpful.

    Excellent breakfast spread,very helpful staff and nice property.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.1
    A fridge and good Wifi would been great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had no fridge and the view was of the back of another building and noisy sex from 2 till 6 and was apart of it😂. Wifi was meh.

    Location very close to the Dom and the alt statt

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    4.6
    The lobby and the restaurant are good and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found the hotel too expensive. I visit Köln for a family party and I have to stay in this hotel because the one my cousin recommended, was overbooked. The room was very small and dark. The decoration was not pretry and the

    The lobby and the restaurant are good and clean. They are little, but confortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    6.3
    Would most likely book a different stay next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My bed frame was broken, also the height of the showert was not adjustable since it was broken as well. Unfortunatly the hotel does not match the pictures shown on the website. None of the provided Wifis were working.

    Very friendly staff. great location, really close to central statiom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    Good Breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms on the front of the hotel have a bit of road noise due to the road just outside. No tea/coffee making facilities in room. Had to disturb the receptionist and pay extra to get a cup of tea late in the evening. Rooms and bathroom are quite small, but all the amenities are there.

    Good Breakfast. Good WiFi. Several Channels on TV. Bed is comfortable. Good facilities in the bathroom except for the rather small size. Located very close to main train station and cathedral.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.3
    My son broke accidently a small mirror which is hanging on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    My son broke accidently a small mirror which is hanging on the wall which you can pull to you for shaving, .... , since it was not good fixed. It's one of thos mirrors you buy for few € ... We needed to pay 50€ for this accident, while we were staying with 7 people there .... The fine was not in relation to the "damage" done .... It's a pitty ....

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location and good value for money over all
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the elevator only goes up to the 3rd floor so if your room was in the forth floor like us, then you had to carry your bags one floor up a narrow set of steps which was not easy with two small children.

    Very good location within walking distance to the cathedral and the main central train station. It was good to have breakfast included in our stay but the selection of food is very basic and limited

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    4.6
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities. The noise isolation in the room was very poor. I was able to hear the noice of tv or telephone conversation from the neighbouring room.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    3.3
    Very Bad exp,Totaly waste of money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room with Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1.Very small room and this hotel doesnt deserve any star. 2.No Basic facilities in room like telephone,Tea/Cofee maker,Shampoo,Tooth nd denatl kit etc. 3.only breads in Breakfast .Very Bad. 4.only 2 person in full staffand they are even not supportive. 5.I had requested early check at the time of booking but not allowed.Had to wait till 3 pm whereas i ad reched by 10 am. 6. Not service driven hotel. 7.No Kitchen inside for lunch/Dinner. 8.No Room Service

    Only Location which is close to Station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    8.3
    A good 3 star hotel. Good location, rooms and hotel is a bit dated but comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing of note was the walls are slightly thin and you could hear doors slamming

    It was a solid 3 star hotel. Skittles dated but a good place to put your head down for the night

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    5.0
    Convenient for location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked if we could have an early check and a late check out and was given a straight no, no kettle or tea and coffee facilities in the room which is a bit disappointing breakfast wasnt that good either

    Location from train station

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    8.8
    Enjoed our stay very much, will come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only downfall was a construction site next door, so a bit of a noise in the morning (even at 7 am on Saturday!!)

    Breakfast was plentifull and viriation very good. Room begger than expected on the top floor though, but we like to exercise. Bathroom spotless and towels clean and changed every morning. Beds comfy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    5.8
    Too expensive for the quality that you get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was unfortunately not that quiet for a six lanes road is located at the front of the hotel, therefore there is always some noise, but decreases a lot after 10pm. The hotel needs to be renovated. I discovered a hole in the duvet cover and my towel was punctured. The breakfast area was close to the entrance door and therefore it was somehow cold and the breakfast was not exceptional.

    Good location very near to the Dom, a bit further away from the shopping area. There are very nice paintings on the walls everywhere. Bedding was comfy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    3.3
    Not family friendly and there are better places to stay nearby at similar rates.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Certainly not family friendly. We had a "triple room" which meant a couch shoved into a room that can barely fit the double bed and struggled to find space for the portacot we had with us. The first room we got seemed ok...but the bathroom lights didn't work so we got moved to a room that was severely smaller. No highchairs in the breakfast room. Too much furniture in the rooms so they feel crowded and there is nowhere to open your suitacse...except on your bed. Decor is in need of updating. The entry foyer, breakfast room and sleezy lounge give the impression that this is a nice place but when you get into the rooms then the place is dated and in dire need of refurbishment. While it's possible to get rooms with a "view" of the Dom ours was poor due to newer buildings across the road so its not worth paying the premium for a room with a view. Location is all you'll get with this place and with no parking provided.

    This place is good if location is all that matters to you.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    3.8
    nothing this was a very bad hotel with lots of noise...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    when we complain about the noise of other guests at 03h45 in the morning there were no response from there side - we complained 3 times during the night

    nothing this was a very bad hotel with lots of noise throughout the night from other guests

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    6.3
    we were told that breakfast was on from 7-11 but when we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we were told that breakfast was on from 7-11 but when we showed up at 10:30 the following morning everything was closed up. we weren't even offered cereal. very frustrating!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    3.8
    Trust the reviews!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Instead of the room that I initially requested and paid for, my family was put in a smaller room. A really TINY room for a family of four! When I talked to the reception about it they said: "oh yeah! The crib didn't fit in the big room so we moved you to a smaller room" 😳 Well, thank you for letting me know before I came!!! Or better, letting me know at all!!! The conditions we stayed in were horrendous. There was barely any space to walk. Now, we did get a small refund but honestly it wasn't even worth it. I didn't like the hotel or anything about it: facilities, breakfast, personnel 👎. Not worth the value! I guess, it's partially my fault and I should have read the reviews more carefully. I would never recommend this hotel.

    The location was ok

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    5.8
    OK for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms felt cramped and dark, the view from our windows was a brick wall and the safe was broken! Maybe the rooms with a view were less claustrophobic.

    Location was good. Its central location allowed us to walk everywhere with ease. Breakfast was good ... once you got a table. When approached, staff were helpful (but not over-friendly).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.5
    Adequate, Budget hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double bed was made up with 2 single sheets and 2 duvets? The safe wasn’t working. Breakfast for the first 2 mornings was hard work. Tables hadn’t been cleaned so I had to ask for cutlery. The room was dated but functional. Tea and coffee facilities would be nice in the room.

    Good location. Friendly, helpful guy on reception.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    8.3
    Convenient to explore the Koelner Altstadt, making the most interesting area of the City accessible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing in particular

    Location. Be aware that there is no on-site parking, but the nearby underground car park seems to be used to about only 70% capacity. Cost there is Euro 18 per 24hours,

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    5.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked this well in advance and paid 150 euros per night. Booked 4 double rooms for two nights, so the cost was 1200 euros. I was put in a room that was tiny, dark and in need of re-decoration. After complaining, I was moved into a bigger room but only after the first night, as they said that they were full on the first. ( Why a couple would be put in the first room is beyond me, it is a single NOT double room) I was also given a refund of 25 Euros (big deal! after giving them 1200 euros of custom). There are no Tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms The night before this hotel, we were in Dusseldorf in a hotel that was 92 euros per night, bigger rooms and a much better place than this. This hotel is in a great location but if you look around, you will find much better for your money. I asked the other seven people in our party how much they would expect to pay for this hotel after staying there and the average answer was 75-85 Euros. So look around people, there is much better than this for your cash.

    Great location. Clean Rooms. Nice breakfast with lots of choice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    7.9
    We had to ask for it but got a free cup of tea at night to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Says parking but they send you to a car park 200m away, and at a cost of €18 a night. Staff were ok but no smiles seemed hostile

    We had to ask for it but got a free cup of tea at night to take to our room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    5.4
    Good location, good choice if you travel on a budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff was a bit cold. Maybe it’s cultural difference. The property is old, but things are functioning.

    Location is good. Near central train station and the catherdral and Ludwig Museum.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    4.2
    As a regular guest in Cologne, this is one to avoid
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was stuffy, the bathroom smelled musty and wasn't clean. The toilet seat was broken and the shower curtain (an improvised solution attached to where the doors should have been in the shower stall) was dirty and smelly. There was furniture in the room that obviously didn't belong in there (a large couch preventing access to the coat hanging space on the wall) but the chair that should have been there so one could sit down at the desk was missing. I asked for a quiet room and got one facing the road. At check-in the staff was OK but check-out was unhelpful. I will not be going back.

    The bed was OK

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.5
    Good location, fairly basic but value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room bit on small side. No tea or coffee / kettle in room.

    Clean room, good location for central Cologne. Room very warm with plenty hot water. Self service breakfast, help yourself. Not a cooked fry up but very nice and healthy options.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    5.8
    Location was good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was not in good condition. The shower cubicle doors were missing. Shower curtain was installed, it was longer than the height of the cubicle, 30cm of the curtain was on the shower tray, staying in wet water.

    Location was good. Wifi was good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    3.3
    * Trashy hotel... Stay away *
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked 3 nights at this hotel after looking in the Internet at pictures that made it look like a pretty “Boutique Hotel” at very reasonable rates. What a decieving reality upon arrival to say the least. This is a hotel with a pretty bar area and decent breakfast room. That’s it. The rest is an old trashy place with super small rooms and the most uncomfortable beds and pillows. The sheets and comforters are so gross that you try to avoid the minimum contact of your skin with them at all times. I am a crew member for a major airline, and obviously I stay at many different hotels worlwide. This was by far the worst experience I ever had with a room anywhere else. Not even a phone to contact the reception desk or the outside in case of an emergency. The man at the front desk that starts his shift at 3:00 talks loudly until very late at night, and because of the proximity you can hear every word he says when you are trying to sleep. After one night of this nightmare, I gave notice to the guy who works the morning shift, of my intention to leave earlier, and use only 2 nights instead of 3. He just replied that he would pass the information to his boss. When I went to check out this morning, they had already charge my credit card for 3 nights, stating that because I had booked for 3 nights, they had to charge my card accordingly regardless of my notice to leave earlier. I was not surprised, since I had read a previous night a comment by a lady with the same exact situation. I have no doubt that they will sell my trashy room 124 again tonight, making a double profit out of it. I learned my lesson about being extremely cautious and skeptical the next time I see pictures and prices in the booking sites that seem to good to be true. The difference in price is not worth the aggravation, discomfort and lack of sleep associated with it. All I can say is: “Stay the hell away from this trashy place at all costs and just pay a little more for a decent accomodation..”

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    10
    Truly excellent value for what you pay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower had a shower curtain. Not a biggy but I do not like showering with a curtain.

    Extremely good price. Fantastic value for money. Room was large, clean and quiet. Hotel has a lift. Breakfast was good. Fried eggs were very tasty.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    4.2
    Horrible Hotel Experience!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The maintenanace staff barged inside our rooms 2 times consecutive days without knocking or asking while my wife was not ready!!!!

    Location to main train station

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    7.5
    The location is good and the bed is soft and the breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking place is in front of hotel but it is not free and easy to be get surprise paper from police.

    The location is good and the bed is soft and the breakfast is good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.3
    Very comfy, cosy, and welcoming. Would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic, but you get what you pay for. Wasn’t enough food or cutlery at breakfast, but we did come down towards the latter end of the breakfast period.

    The staff were very helpful, generous, informative, and friendly. Made us feel very welcome. The bed and pillows were amazingly comfy!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    Bed was comfortable with lots of pillows and duvet was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The door didn't have either a deadbolt or a privacy chain. Basically anyone with the electronic key could open the door at anytime including when a person was sleeping. I propped the chair up against the door for peace of mind. No A/C and my window faced the main road so it was a bit noisy at night with pedestrian and car traffic however the cost of the room was inexpensive and good value and was what I expected for the price. If A/C and luxury is your thing, pay more money and book somewhere else.

    Bed was comfortable with lots of pillows and duvet was fluffed everyday. Property is old and well used over the years as seen in the scuffed, damaged walls and frayed carpet. The bathroom was clean, mold free with a modern shower. The safe no longer worked with batteries however I was given a key which did the trick nicely. Easy walking distance from the central train station, the Dome Cathedral, shopping and restaurants . Breakfast was simple but good food. As a traveler on a tight budget, I got what I expected for the price. The staff were friendly and helpful, despite my lack of german, especially Sabri. Staff at the desk 24/7.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    6.3
    MR VALENTIN AT THE RECEPTION IN THE NIGHT SHIFT WAS VERY...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    SOAP OR SHOWER GEL CAN BE PROVIDED . I THINK.

    MR VALENTIN AT THE RECEPTION IN THE NIGHT SHIFT WAS VERY HELPFUL AND VERY GOOD AT CUSTOMER SERVICE. IN THE BATHROOMS ROOMS THERE IS A TINY SOAP BAR PROVIDED . JUST ENOUGHT WASH YOUR PALM. IT WOULD HAVE BEEN NICE IF WE WERE INFORMED OT CARRY OUR BATH SOAPS. ROOMS ARE BY THE HIGHWAY. VERY NOISY THROUGHOUT THE NIGHT IF THE WINDOWS ARE OPEN. IF NOT THEN IT GETS WARMER

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.2
    excellent vacation in Cologne, accommodation was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WIFI was not really powerful but i was on vacation so no problem. Room a bit small but was manageable

    Breakfast very good, location is very central and Dom is at walking distance. Room good according to European standards, (in the US the rooms are usually bigger. Staff very good and friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    5.0
    Location is very convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small and dark. Bathroom was tiny that it can only fit 1 person. There was construction noise starting from 7:30am, the room was shaking with noise, be prepared not able to sleep after that.

    Location is very convenient

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    8.8
    The Hotel is Awesome, distance to the train station. Cologne is an Awesome city
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel, my room , the lounge everything was perfect, but there was ONE BIG PROBLEM. Next to the hotel (even next to my room) there was construction work and they started very early in the morning.

    It is a very special hotel, like a hotel in Miami (Art-Deco)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    4.6
    Old dirty hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Terrible place with small, old rooms. Old creaky floors in the room and in halls , holes on bed linens and dirty bedspreads. Micro bathroom and disabled TV, poor breakfast. Can't reccomend to anybody

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    4.2
    Adequate but woudn't stay there agian.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beds were very uncomfortable. Rooms were small and needed updating. Bathroom was very small. Had to sit on toilet with head at an angle. Thick layer of dust under bed.

    Location was usefully local which was nice, but it was on the less nice side of Cologne so a little bit scary. Shower was powerful and hot.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    5.8
    Very disappointed, not what the website says
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The looked like it desperately required redecorating, the ensuite bathroom leaked from the sink, I’ll fitted shower curtain and the bedding had holes and tears in it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    3.3
    Bad experience !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The price that we paid for the hotel (aprox. 250€ x night) is not in line with the quality of the hotel. The room was dirty, old, dark, with bad ventilation and smells bad. After the 1st night we decided to change to another hotel and lose 3 complete nights + breakfast. I would not recommend the hotel to anybody else.

    Nada

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.9
    The location was very central, near the Hauptbanhof.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overall, the property could do with some updating.

    The location was very central, near the Hauptbanhof. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom sink and floor were new and modern.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    8.3
    Value for money, good breakfast and 5 mins. walk from rail station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very poor lighting in bedroom. Ceiling painted yellow, a weak wattage light bulb with heavy shade. Could not read for long. Had to go in bathroom for better light to read guides.

    Facilities in room were fine great lighting in bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    6.3
    I had a really nice time
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was very old and not clean enough.

    The hotel is situated in the center of Cologne, it's very easy to get to all sightseeings, cafes,restaurants, shops and Rhine quay. My room was very small, but that wasn't a problem as the whole time I was out, and just slept in there. Breakfast was really good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    7.5
    Cologne deserves a longer stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A relativel inexpensive transit spot. Small room but functional ie, all works. However wi-fi much better down in the lounge. Breakfast ok and included. V. Close to amazing cathedral and that bridge over the Rhine.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    6.7
    Just barely worth the money. Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are small with only a few electricity outlets which aren't always easily accessible. Shower is small and very minimal. Slanted walls above the bed led to some head bumps. No air conditioning, only a standing fan.

    Staff was nice, breakfast was alright and the daily room service was great. Location is great and easily accessible via train.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.9
    Parking possible in front of the entrance, but limited to...
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking possible in front of the entrance, but limited to three/four cars. We were lucky to catch one of them. Central Station and Kölner Dom within 7 mins walk. Perfect location. For those who want to stay a bit longer in the night with beer/drinks Cafe Stövchen is recommendable, 100 m further up the street and then to the right. Open until 01:00 a.m.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    7.1
    We were only in cologne one afternoon and night. We wasted a lot of time with parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was the biggest problem. We were told to park in the lot across the street. Could not find it. Wasted much valuable time on this. Went back for help 3 times and eventually parked in front of the building. That was a huge waste of time. The room was tiny and the fan, well we fixed it. Just a loose screw. We parked at a garage and we couldn't find our way on foot back to the hotel. We moved the car to the street and were out first thing in the am

    The bed was the softest. Bathroom spotless. Felt squished but safe and the room was clean. I was traveling w my 20 year old daughter. We are flexible.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    5.8
    Just so so. Fitting for business trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room is not big enough for 3 people family. Serviceman cannot speak English except receptionist. Reception can speak English very well.

    Located near Kölner Dom. Reception can speak English very well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    4.0
    A sleepless night
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was the worst hotel I've staying at in Germany!so noisy with being on a main road,beds not clean and no toilet roll!also got charged 5€ for 2 glasses of water as it was sweltering in the night

    Was centrally located tho hard to find

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    4.6
    Slightly above average
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is not spacious enough for four people. Bathroom shower control was faulty. You don't have much of choices for your breakfast.

    Location is superb. Staff are accommodating. The lady at the restaurant was a German machine attending to 20 guests at go was unbelievable. Getting the stay with the breakfast was a good deal.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    8.3
    Fantastic location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom had a weird/strong scent.

    Fantastic location! Minutes away from the Kolner Dom. Overall facility was good, room was good and bathroom was nice but a little small. Great free breakfast included. Overall great stay for the price we paid.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    6.3
    We loved cologne and the hotel is located close to main attractions and shopping.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor was outdated, there was no ironing board or bar fridge for storage in the room. Also it was very tight for a family and had no cooling for the hot days we had.

    The breakfast in the mornings were a nice start to the day. The staff were friendly and accommodating. Short walk to cathedral.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    2.9
    Stay safe dont book this hotel
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Nothing the most bad hotel that i ever go , not safe at all very poor hotel and bad worker. and my apple ipad was stolen in the hotel Don't book this hotel stay safe

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    6.3
    Only the location is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and the bathroom was tiny. I booked a superior room and it was very small. I couldn't even open my suitcase properly.

    Only the location is good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    3.3
    Awful, will not come back or recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cramped room due to loft ceiling Second bed was a couch Cot was in the corner behind the bed and inaccessible Power points and power boards were within reach of children's beds Room was hot Construction noises from next door woke us at 7am Bed was the worst ever.

    Late night check-in (2am), with very helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    3.8
    Property not designed for temperature above 18 degree...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Property not designed for temperature above 18 degree Celsius.. It was a tiny room and was suffocatingly hot as the room didnt have adequate ventilation.. A table fan should be provided in the minimum in all rooms.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    8.3
    It is a very convenient place for a stop-over.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room overlooked the main street below, and as a result the noise of traffic was a bit disturbing.

    The reception staff were very courteous to visitors wh o had appointments to see me.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    8.3
    Small cosy hotel ... 5 minutes walk to Cathedral !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No on-site parking but a underground park is available at 200 m from the property.

    Good location with Koln Cathedral only 5 minutes away on foot. River Rhein is also close by. Rooms ,though small, took care of the essentials. Bathroom also was small but had all necessities. A good Pizza outlet is just next to the hotel. It was pretty hot in the room but we were provided a fan when asked. Breakfast was decent with a good coffee machine at hand.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    2.5
    Central to business and tourist areas
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Difficult to find Room cleanliness questionable and minimum bathroom facilities Shower didn't work properly; dance between scolding hot and freezing cold Not suitable for business travelers Tried to charge for someone else's alcohol bill Charged more than booking contract and REFUSED to change / refund extra Not a good place to stay unless you accept substandard accommodation

    Central to business and tourist areas

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    6.7
    I like the silence
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is too small and as hot as hell. I can't imagine to stay here in the summer. The internet connection wasn't good in the room. Some day it connected, some day it didn't. Some day it seemed it connected, but no, it wasn't. So I went to downstairs, nearby the reception it worked. Because the internet which used in the room and the reception was divided. Breakfast room was nearby the reception, so I could just use the internet during the breakfast. And the reception personel has to learn to be nicer.

    I asked for a quiet room, and there was the most quiet room I've evet stayed, thanks. Breakfast is ok, but I tried to eat an egg and it wasn't fresh, it was obvious that they boiled that egg yesterday, and served the next day too. So I didn't eat an egg during my stay anymore but the other foods were ok.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    7.9
    I booked 2 rooms: first room just standart space, and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator is small just for two person but its okay

    I booked 2 rooms: first room just standart space, and the other room is so big which is have living room separated with bedroom Have elevator Include breakfast - pretty good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    7.9
    Helpful staff!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was very small. Street noise kept us awake for a while. The Star is not on Don, and Köln taxi drivers are a mixed lot. One refused to drive us and pointed us in the wrong direction and said we could walk. Another refused to answer my inquiry about the location of the hotel. The hotel, of course, could not help that, but "am Dom" is not quite accurate.

    The two employees we encountered were very helpful. The chef made us a fine breakfast an hour before official opening of the breakfast room at 7 a.m. because we had a 7:12 train to catch.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    5.8
    poor cooperation, rude react
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front officer agreed for our eariler breakfast at 6.30 but F&B officer impolitely blamed us of reaching the canteen too early the next day. never again!!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    9.2
    Perfect hotel to explore Cologne
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in staff were excellent, provided us with a map of the city and showed us places that might be of interest. Hotel was very easy to find and super close to good transport links, most things were in walking distance. There was a big shower and bathroom, beds were comfortable and clean. Everything was pretty great and to top it off free breakfast! Would definitely come back and recommend too.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    9.2
    Great value for your money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was really cramped but it served its purpose.

    The beds were very comfortable and the location is conveniently located in walking distance from the train station. The breakfast was amazing!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    3.8
    Very disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was on the first floor and smelled musty. The floor was horrible. The bathroom was extremely small. My daughter said her bed smelled like urine. To top it off the room next door was extremely loud - some of them came back to the room at 3 am and people continued to arrive and pound on their door until 6 am. We complained but management didn't seem to care.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    4.2
    Small things,but anyway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small things,but anyway.In the bathroom behind the toilet there was a towel just in the corner like someone has just used it.In the room there was a bottle of mineral water,but it was not full(like a compliment for guests),also that someone drink it before. When we checked in,they asked do we pay with card or cash and when we say that we pay by card,they answered that it isnt possible so we need to find a place for taking out money... Everything was about breakfast,it was delicious,the only thing I liked about hotel..

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    3.3
    My recommendation......don't stay here.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a lot. Room was overpriced. Lights and power fittings did not work. Doubted the rooms were even safe to stay in. Room was very small and grubby. Staff were arrogant and unpleasant. WIFI was poor. Overall a horrible hotel.

    Nothing. Horrible hotel. Location was ok.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    10
    In the centre of everything we wanted to see.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was pretty basic but OK. Their card machine wasn't working so we had to draw out cash to pay the bill. Neither of these would stop us booking again or recommending the hotel to others.

    We had a bigger room than expected. Useful check out time at noon meant we could come back from visiting the Cathedral and have a drink before checking out, leaving our bags until later.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Star am Dom Superior traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: