Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Steigenberger Hotel de Saxe This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Neumarkt 9 ( Navigation Landhausstr. 2), Altstadt, 01067 Dresden, Germany

#16 of 106 hotels in Dresden

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3747 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I found it a bit odd that there was no complimentary soap in the bathroom which means I had to climb in the bathtub to use the shower gel every time I was washing my hands. I struggled with the air con system as it is only written in German and I couldn't find any instructions in English, and so the room was pretty cold. The TV was very frustrating as there is an introduction to the hotel chain that plays very loudly every time the TV is turned on, and I couldn't lower the volume. The TV (or the remote control?) wasn't working and so the introduction video kept on repeating - I ended up turning the TV off and not using it again. The magnetic key didn't work one day and so I had to get another one, but these things happen.

    The location is pretty good as it is walking distance from the Zwinger Palace, the Green Vaults and several good restaurants. The room was clean and the staff helpful, although some of them were struggling a little with English. The hotel is just what you expect to get on a business trip: it was convenient but not particularly luxurious and a bit charmless.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guest parking was adequately with access to the hotel lobby, but the drive in and drive out are extremely narrow and uncomfortable, if you don't know your car well and if you're not extra careful, you will surely hit or scratch your car. There is no valet service.

    The Staff were extra helpful, although at departure the receptionist showed doubt when I said I had not used anything from the minibar, she even showed as if she was surprised, as if I was not truthful. The beds, the mattress was good, but it was amazing how a junior suite extra large double bed is in fact 2 singles put next to each other, nevertheless, the staff did their best to eliminate the gap between the 2 beds, it was better later, but still it could be felt. The room amenities were fine, nothing extraordinary, but sufficient. The guest parking was adequately with access to the hotel lobby, but the drive in and drive out are extremely narrow and uncomfortable, if you don't know your car well and if you're not extra careful, you will surely hit or scratch your car. The breakfast was 7/10. Hotel location is emasculate, close to everything touristic, but yet easy to access and away from noise.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we booked was Superior double but the overall impression was that it was a little tired. The pillows were very uncomfortable and had no underneath pillow cases. The bathroom was fine but there were hardly any toiletries. The towels were quite worn out, not nice, fluffy white ones which we would have expected in a hotel of this sort.

    The location on the square was excellent. The meal that we had at the Summer Terrace was very good and the staff were cheerful. Breakfast was exceptionally good with a huge choice of food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff needs additional training. Several instances where I was not happy with customer service. Housekeeping removed empty plastic bottles from closet I was planning to recycle. Staff should nit be going into closets of occupied rooms. Misinformation on hop on-hop-off bus ticket sale. Delays in getting laundry back. Overall staff attitude not consistent with class of hitel.

    Great location. Very nice facility. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet did not work at room, spent hours with reception sorting that out. Staff obvuously knew the problem and was instructed to play it down. Very annoying, if you need internet, select another hotel.

    Good location and nice hotel. Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I need to ask my robs and sleepers. The bathroom didn’t had conditioner for hair. I was aspected to see it and didn’t take my. Despite of location it’s not the same Hotel like in Düsseldorf. Alylthogh location is really great! Breakfast I didn’t like. They didn’t have normal salmon on breakfast.

    Location!!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only gripe I had from my week's stay is that the TVs don't support external devices (HDMI and USB are disabled), so no Netflix, Amazon, SWITCH or camera photos - only TV. But, there's so much to do in and around the city, you won't miss it :)

    Lovely rooms, friendly and approachable staff all in a location that's simply perfect for sightseeing: everything within walking distance including a huge range of restaurants, bars and cafes. Bikes are available for hire (for a fee), making it a great base to explore the city. And the fantastic breakfast buffet is very high quality and has something for everyone (even special requests).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV could be better, air condition is old fashioned, no regulation. A bit more luxury for a best chain 5-star hotel in the downtown!

    Excellent breakfast. Quite rooms. A lot of TV programs available including Cuba and Russia.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast should've been complimentary instead of 19€ per day.

    Room was big. Location is excellent. Hotel is very clean and the staff very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was extremely uncomfortable because it was hard as a rock! The pillows were huge and much too soft .

    The bath was good. Very nice breakfast room with lovely view of Neumarkt and the Frauenkirche.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing to dislike.

    The hotel is the perfect place to stay from all points of view; location (right opposite the FrauenKirche), comfort, cleanliness and a lovely breakfast buffet. No complaints whatsoever. Will definitely be recommending it to others visiting Dresden.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The towels need to be changed, they are worn and quite hard. There is an extra charge if you want to use the fitness centre... is this really necessary?

    The location was brilliant! Room was large and had a lovely view. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location, Easy parking in the public garage straight under the hotel , lovely staff, bar area very relaxing, beautiful breakfast room and a faultless buffet of food. Did not use the spa but it looked nice at the entrance. Located right in the heart of the city by the main attractions.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were dreadful far too soft we asked for another but received another very soft one This would be our only complaint

    Great hotel in every way

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel advertises its tea and coffee making facilities in the room but they are very mean with supplies! To be fair though, they did give us more when we asked for it. Also, for such a well established hotel it would have been nice to have real spoons, not plastic stirrers. Little things but it does make a difference.

    The location is excellent for all the sights and, at this time of year, the Christmas markets. The room was warm and comfortable, with very good pillows. The breakfast was excellent, an extensive range of food available which was really tasty. For a large hotel it was very quiet in our room and the aircon actually worked so we had the room at just the right temperature to get a good nights sleep.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was one of the best we've had. So much choice, fresh and tasty. We were there in part for the Christmas markets and one was literally on the doorstep, yet not at all intrusive. Great location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    -

    The hotel has the enormous advantage of being very central, with all the major sites within 5 - 10 minutes' walk (or two minutes in the case of the Frauenkirche). Dresden bis a stunningly beautiful city, and surprisingly uncrowded.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only had Breakfast on two mornings during a four day stay, but still got charged for four days breakfast. This made me very annoyed because I don't like paying for something I didn't have.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed !!! The worst ever .. the mattress is stiff like a stone and the pillows were so so so soft that we couldn’t sleep the first night. They brought us other pillows next night but still very similar .

    Staff, Cleanness and location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff very professional and helpful. Car was parked for us, room very comfortable. Dogs were given a bed, water and welcome biscuits and voted it their best hotel visited. Breakfast outstanding, location central and car access easy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nasty stains on an already grubby carpet. Minimal toiletries and no hand soap. It was ok but wouldn't go again, expensive for an average stay, there are better hotels in Dresden.

    Good location. Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The free internet was painfully slow, which really is not acceptable in a hotel of this class.However, I complained, the staff put us onto the faster, "paid "internet free of charge, which we appreciated. However, all guests should have access to fast internet at no extra cost in a four star hotel. The coffee making facilities are a bit stingy for a 4 star hotel: No spoons, just some plastic stick to stir one's coffee. For two people, only two tiny tubs of milk. This was fixed after I asked for more. The same applies to bathroom products: Only one tube of shampoo for two people, and the product is a combined shampoo plus conditioner, which does not work well. Again, we received extra shampoo upon request. I suggest that guests should be advised beforehand that, upon arrival, they have to pay extra for Kurtaxe, as the booking site says" All taxes included".

    The staff were really very helpful and friendly, the location was perfect for our short stay trip and our room was comfortable, clean, spacious and well equipped.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To be honest, nothing I can think of.the

    The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Excellent location in the centre of the old town. The lounge bar also surged excellent food. Would definitely stay there again. Also enjoyed having tea and coffee tray in my room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing comes to mind.

    The room was very comfortable. The staff were excellent; very helpful indeed. The breakfasts were first class. The location could not be bettered.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beds were medium / medium hard which I and my husband liked. The room was very spacious and quiet facing the inner yard of the building. However elegant the room was I was missing the extra interior touch which does make a difference in personalising. The breakfast incl sparkling wine and newspapers was to die for. Nothing was missing on the breakfast buffet! As we were a group of friends we very much appreciated the bar and bistro located in the lobby which we kept as a meeting point. It provided a very easy 'come and go' for us.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We did not plan on going to Dresden. Due to train malfunction had to spend night. Used Booking.com found a great last minute deal. This hotel is a luxury hotel in every sense of the word. Fantastic breakfast and service.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed.... unfortunately the mattress had a plastic style protector which was very disconcerting. It also added to the firmness /hardness of the bed.

    Beautiful breakfast, superb location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pillows could have been firmer, and an additional pillow would have been perfect.

    The breakfast bar was extensive and included goodies like hot-smoked salmon. There is nothing nicer than a glass of Sekt at breakfast, and the tea selection and the Samovar with boiling water are a tea drinkers joy!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It seems like a German specifics in general, but even for a room with one big bed there are 2 separate blankets provided and 2 sheets from single beds are used to cover this queen-sized bed. But not a tragedy after all - they give also 2 smaller blankets instead of one big one, so you might not notice the juncture if stick to your own blanket :) TV arrangement (a monitor hidden in a cupboard with a limited rotation angle) is curious and apparently prompting guest to watch TV only when alone in the room, as it is best viewed from the only armchair. While in bed, you'd have a strange angle, but we just needed a bit of news and music before going to bed, so did not suffer long :) What the hotel could use more is its historic provenance. The building is old and has some interesting history, but you don't feel that much when you are inside. In fact, in the atrium, it feels like a regular 4-star chain hotel, but such places can't have what this building has! I would love to see the facility to exploit its heritage in the ambiance not only from outside, but inside as well (walls, decorations, historical facts available for study...)

    Location is very central and historical, next door to main landmarks. The breakfast is excellent and in better weather would be unbeatable if seated outside on a terrace with a magnificent view on the square and church. Knowing German bedding specifics, I asked specifically for the one big bed (instead of 2 beds put together) and we got it. Personal is very responsive and friendly, even before our arrival in e-mail communication. Room is clean and air-conditioning adjustable. Parking options are well explained in advance (underground private garage or public parking nearby)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had received an offer for a reduction from an evening meal in the hotel, but the member of staff on check in did not seem to understand what this was all about. Due to this we chose not to eat our evening meal in the hotel.

    The quality of the breakfast was excellent with an excellent selection of hot and cold foods. Our room was spacious and very well equipped. Staff were friendly and very helpful. We arrived early to the hotel and the concierge arranged for our luggage to be securely stored. The hotel booked us in to our room ready for when we returned later in the day.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was excellent!

    This hotel was definitely an excellent choice! We were on our honeymoon and the hotel definitely made our stay at Dresden even more worthwhile. The attention to detail was easily noticed right from the check in, as the staff quickly congratulated us on our wedding and gave us an upgrade to a beautiful and large room that had an incredible view. In addition, they provided us with a a complementary bottle of german wine (along with a congratulatory note). These details really make the experience even more special, so we were extremely happy with our hotel selection. Overall, the hotel has an excellent location, great staff, clean rooms, and most importantly offers a great value for what it has to offer. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Some of the receptionists were very slow, demotivated, provided a service like in the "good old" times. WIFI was very slow up to the point it was useless. We "upgraded" to a "high speed" internet for 4 euros/day, that was exactly the same.

    Rooms very spacious, clean and very comfortable. Beds were great, pillows a bit soft to my taste but we got more of them and then was good. The bathroom was very good. We greatly appreciated the table and the 2 chairs in the room that made our stay enjoyable. The breakfast was excellent and the service great. Within walking distance you have many landmarks to visit. Further down there is a mall and supermarket, then Altmarkt a very nice experience this time of the year.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It rained for the 2 days that we were there!!!!

    We upgraded to a room overlooking the plaza. This room was very large, great beds and an excellent breakfast was included. Highly recommended in the old town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view .... but the hotel was busy and we were only staying one night

    Perfekt location, clean, friendly staff and room amenities had a modern touch although the hotel is more of an old school elegant hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Certainly not 5 star property...felt more like a 3 star hotel with respect to room comfort and amenities. Also, rooms were still not ready by 330pm - totally unacceptable for a property with 5 star ambitions

    the spa area was nice and worth the stay

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There did not seem to be a communal meeting space to enjoy a drink. The lobby area was hectic even when it was empty. Did not feel like a place to meet.

    Fabulous location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the gym is not a gym, it's like 4 bicycles/running machines. And they ask you for 2 euros to use it.

    breakfast is A great spread, for 15 euros each. The location on the reconstructed square opposite the Frauenkiche is good. The hotel is very clean and modern and the rooms spacious by European standards.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I personally loved the air conditioning. I know it is nothing special, but it gave us such comfort in this heat. Furthermore the location of the hotel is absolutely amazing - was so near our concert in the Zwinger and all the nice restaurants! The staff was extremely professional and friendly. We tried the cocktails at the lobby bar and they were also excellent! I will come back for sure and can only reccoment everyone to choose this great hotel for their stay!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is really ridiculous that you have to pay extra to have faster Internet. Stop with that nonsense, please.

    A perfect location. Great people. Immaculate, comfy, nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a double bed, but it was two singles pushed together.

    The location was excellent, right in the middle of the old town and an easy walk to so much more. Parking was available next door. Staff were friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We didn't like the pillows as they were to soft and it was quite hard sleeping on them. Also, we have booked a large double bed and the in the first night we've got a room with 2 separate double beds joined together.

    The location is absolutely great and the staff very polite and helpful. You have every major tourist spot in walking distance from the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed two days and liked to order breakfast just for one day (we left early in the morning second day). We have been told that it is only possible to order breakfast for the entire period of stay, and therefore had to give up and not having breakfast at the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need a spare blanket in the room while the air conditiong can be a bit cool

    A truly great hotel, with warm and friendly staff, room, breakfast and services are superior. I would certainly return without looking at the competition. The location is indeed splendid!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!

    Luxurious hotel right in heart of restored historic square (across from Martin Luther statue). Beautiful and outstanding buffet breakfast service included in room price. Room plus breakfast = excellent value. We arrived about 9:30 PM by train and were able to eat dinner right nearby. Enjoyed a nightcap at the bar; bartender friendly and helpful. Next day we were right at the sites and sights for a day of touring in foot. Lovely hotel and very quiet. Just a perfect spot for two nights in Dresden.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room stank of cigarettes... but then again, it's Germany... everyone smokes. Wifi was pretty slow. If you're contemplating Netflix and chill, you might just want to skip ahead to the chill.

    I didn't stay here long enough to take advantage of all of the facilities, but overall, I was happy with this hotel. The room was spacious, the bathroom was lovely, and the bed was comfortable. I can't fault the location - very close to trams, restaurants, attractions, etc. I asked for quiet room, and I got it. Overall, good stay!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cannot really complain about anything...

    The greeting on arrival, the offer to upgrade to a superior was discrete - and the offer was worthwhile, so we took it. A lovely room overlooking the square. Excellent location to visit the main historical sights of Dresden. A bottle of Chilled Champagne in the room - a surprise birthday gift from the management (someone actually reads the cards we fill in on check-in!!) Excellent spread on the breakfast buffet - on the terrace overlooking the square. Our third visit to this hotel - never disappoints, and we'll go back again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning staff kept opening the door to clean the room while we were still in it at 9:30am getting dressed. One has to really lock the doors from the inside. We didn't know. Also if you use their wifi, you'll be charged an extra 10 Euro. We didn't know.

    The location at the beautiful Frauenkirche plaza and the modern tastefully done interior design of this hotel is wonderful! I loved the floor lamps in the lobby most!!! Its enjoyable to take an evening stroll in the plaza and grab some dinner and then ice cream and marvel at the storefronts in this expensive quarter of town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast lounge is quite small, also the food variety is not too exceptional as for the price.

    One of best locations in Dresden, public (underground) parking is just around the corner.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited evening meal menu - food was good but looked like it was designed for a one or two night stay.

    Extremely quiet room - felt like there was no-one else in the hotel then breakfast was busy. Staff had that brilliant mix of super polite and very friendly. Position was absolutely in the heart of the old town, and breakfast on the balcony was a treat.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel has great Open air Café in square, which is great place to relax and take in the surroundings along with a background of local musicians playing in the square. Right beside local attractions / sites with plenty of restaurants to choose from.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    Pleasant, welcoming staff. Excellent location in city. Nice room. Good AC, WIFI. TV. Really nice breakfast. Very classy hotel but not snobby. Enjoy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very stylish Hotel with best location on main square. Rooms were large and well appointed. The breakfast buffet selection was out of this world and so beautifully displayed. Loved the elegant centre foyer and glass atrium with bar and piano. We were lucky to experience an outdoor classical concert on the night of our stay which was held on the main square outside our hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Steigenbergr was just excellen choise for couple of night. Staff was very friendly, hotel location is just perfect and hotel itself is clean and nice. Sauna is worth to try. Breakfast was super.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of anything

    Very extensive breakfast, various offerings incl. healthy ones. Located in the center of town in front of the Martin-Luther-Statue & Frauenkirche, easy to reach. Parking is an undergorund public parking, easy to access.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Construction works outside the hotel spoil the views of the place but the normal operating hours are respected

    It is located in the historical heart of the town. Very quite and peaceful hotel. A great choice of restaurants around. Truly warm welcome at reception.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great hotel for good price! Quite big and comfortable room, very comfortable bed, very helpful stuff. Great location: really close to major attractions! Excellent breakfast: sparkling wine, sturgeon, salmon, strawberries, orange fresh and a variety of cheeses for breakfast :)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom was not fitted with proper safety grab bars to get in and out of the tub in fact it was rather difficult to do so safely needs urgent attention. Mattresses were very uncomfortable to sleep on.

    Property is located in a great and convenient spot so that one could walk to see the inner city highlights.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Best value for money I have seen in a while. Dresden really is a super cheap city making even the better hotels quite affordable. Couldn't think of a better location to stay in Dresden either.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There's some new building work being undertaken on the square which might impinge on those guests with rooms facing it

    Excellent breakfast & very central yet quiet

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - location: couldn't be better! The hotel is located in a very beautiful part of the city. Also, there are many restaurants nearby. - Staff: very friendly - nice breakfast - comfortable bed and great shower

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    WLAN needs to be improved. Had to "relogin" with credentials more than 10 times per day. Speed was ok, but many disruptions.

    Very good breakfast. Excellent service

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More amenities in the bathroom and better wifi connection.

    All staff was excellent, proper breakfast and easily comparable with 5* hotel breakfast, restaurant in the evening offers only few meals but all of them are excellent as well as their staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - free parking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very nice and helpful. The beds were super comfortable, big breakfast selection and great location! The food, especially the chateaubriand and the desserts in the restaurant de Saxe are to die for, so good!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - free parking
    • Stayed 1 night

    No idee.

    Easy reach by car and the parking facility. The hotel is in the middle of the historic center. Friendly personell. Breakfast. High quality of the room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi is workable but slow which is a pain if you are wanting to book transport, look up things to do and or see reviews of local sites. They do however provide a very helpful map at the reception.

    The location was amazing with everything you need within a 400m radius of the hotel. The square offers both an authentic German dinning experience with the local pubs as well as western dinning if required. There is a mall 5 mins walk away for those who prefer the shopping experience. There are also many historical buildings and museums within the immediate surroundings. The hotel has a large variety of options for room service and their staff are friendly. They also offer a fitness and spa service which provides many options for those who are that way inclined. Overall a good experience and highly recommended.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -One out of very few times that things are perfect for me

    -Nice bath-room With tub and shower -Minibar -Coffee making facilities -Good easy parking below hotel

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very hard to say anything negative. We had two rooms (with two of us in each room), and my one observation is that the wifi was a bit spotty and somewhat slow.

    We stayed on our visits to Dresden Christkrindle markets. This is a great location - right in the center of the city. Parking was also convenient. Staff was very friendly. Room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The free Wi-Fi was not merely bad; it was utterly unusable (256 kbps is like using dial-up in the early 90s--unsecure pages would take several minutes to load; secure pages wouldn't load at all). So, figure 8 euro/day into the cost of the hotel to pay for an upgrade if you actually need to accomplish anything online. Breakfast is twice what I'd pay in a cafe, so I didn't bother. A choice of pillows should be offered for those who don't like feather pillows (I don't, as they don't provide the neck and shoulder support I need). Spa is another extra fee.

    location, location, location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not really much that was not to like!

    The location of the hotel and the staff are just great - not the first time I stayed here and it was not the last time!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff were a little abrupt.

    Good hotel in central location, easy access to most of the alstadt sights. Breakfast was very good, 5*standard (means smoked salmon and champagne) and well worth e15 I paid. Gym was OK, basic but useable for most people Doorman was very nice and we had an engaging chat while I waited for a taxi.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free WiFi is terrible, next to useless for work Fitness room is very small.

    Great location. Comfortable quiet rooms. Friendly staff. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing not to like. We were there over a national holiday weekend so the crowds were large and security was tight for the Chancellor's visit. Still, it was very worthwhile.

    The location of this relatively new hotel is excellent and within easy walking distance of all sights in the old city.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Towels were a little thin for such a nice hotel.

    Lovely hotel in the heart of the old city. Staff were very helpful parking the car for us, upgrading our room, giving us tips on the city. Room was wonderful. Extremely comfortable. It was our 3rd time to Dresden and I would stay in this hotel again. Enjoy

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You must pay extra for a useable WiFi connection

    Perfect location, attractive interior contrasting with the baroque architecture of Dresden, convenient parking, top quality service

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The fact that the room-maids don't abide by the principle whereby only the towels left on the floor or in the bathtube have to be changed. They change systematilly the towels regardless of the place where they are left. The sighs of a receptionist when explaining how the municipal tax charged to the customers is calculate, as meaning that the customer concerned is quite an uneasy person.

    The rooms are rather quiet, at least at the part of the hotel were that allocated to me is located. The bed is very comfortable with a hard mattress. Breakfast is rather thorough and all the food is of an utmost quality.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Steigenberger Hotel de Saxe traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: