Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Steigenberger Hotel Stadt Hamburg This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Am Markt 24, 23966 Wismar, Germany

#7 of 21 hotels in Wismar

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 789 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 25

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    7.5
    Beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    We had to park off premises. It's a 5 minute walk. It is a very impersonal, business hotel, The rooms are dated and the shower small. Bit of a disappointment for a Steigenberger Hotel.

    Beautiful location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    5.4
    Good location but we wouldn't repeat at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were pretty basic. Felt like the equivalent of a Motel 6 in the US. We were given a floor on the first floor where there are meeting and conference rooms...and yes there meetings while we were there. Also, just the general upkeep seemed lacking. As an example, the carpeting in the hall outside our room was stained and needed a good cleaning or replacement.

    About the only thing I would say is that the location is good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    10
    Relaxing in a beautiful Hanseatic town with stunning surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast buffet bar could be better designed with enough room for grazers to pass one another.

    Good central location and much quieter than might be expected. Excellent breakfasts. Imaginative system of offering 5 euros off a meal in exchange for forgoing a day's room service, apparently without affecting staff pay rates. Good value sauna.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.2
    Best location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More information about the spa area. Was it free to use whenever?

    Fresh fruits for breakfast. Very good location with walking distance to many places we wanted to visit.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    7.9
    A Comfortable Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ensuite a bit small

    The location is good, being in the old town. Its easy to access the harbour and the train station. Wifi free and fast. We had a quiet room The breakfast was good quality and provided plenty of variety. The hotel,represents good value

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    9.6
    Very good food and excellent for people with dogs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good food and excellent for people with dogs. Dog was also allowed in the main restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    7.1
    Location, breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No airco

    Location, breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.9
    A good stay in the heart of Wismar
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one thing: our room was too hot because there was no conditioned air.

    The position, in the main square. The room was very clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    Perfect hotel in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing I didn't like , everything was perfect.

    All, the friendly staff, the location,breakfast....

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    6.3
    Nice location in the centre of Wismar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom not 4-star worthy, sauna only open from 16 - 22.00 h

    Nice location in the centre of Wismar

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Great!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    yLovely room, nice beds, great staff and we really enjoyed our 3rd. stay here.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    8.8
    Value for money!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was a little bit cold and you could not adjust the temp.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    7.9
    Nice and friendly personal at check in/ out
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice and friendly personal at check in/ out

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    7.5
    Lovely city well worth a visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning but they got a fan for us

    Staff very friendly and accomodating

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    10
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much toiletries were provided.

    Clean, spacious, extremely convenient location. Not far from the train station.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    10
    convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    convenient location clean bathroom

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    9.2
    Nice cozy room in 2.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lobby and Galerie does not look nice - odd colours and no atmosphere - towels very simple and think.

    Nice cozy room in 2. Building of the house + quiet 5 minutes walk to station and restaurant Gleisbett which is worth to go for lunch or drinks

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    8.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room 211 did not connect to the WiFi even after the connection on my device had been established at the front desk. I had to go to a different location in the building in order to connect every time.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    8.3
    The hotel was conveniently situated on the old market square...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfortunately our room was situated right above the parkingcellar and every time a car was entering or leaving we would wake up to the noise of the sliding door to the garage. It could do with some oil or another solution. To the roadside however you can hear cars driving as the whole market places is made of cobble stones.

    The hotel was conveniently situated on the old market square centrally in wismar. We arrived to early so our room wasn´t ready. The staff at reception very kindly offered to keep our luggage. When arriving later the luggage was already in the room. When having an accident scolding myself in coffee the reception very kindly helped with getting a doctor to our room and the staff and gave a bag with icecubes and a teatowel to cool down the burn They changed the bedlinen with spilt coffee even though it was almost midnight. We thought there would be a charge for this inconvenience but very kindly it was a nice service they didn´t charge us for.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    8.3
    Nice room overlooking market square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice breakfast area but buffet area not big enough. Bit of a scamble to get your food.

    Nice room overlooking market square. Very clean

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    7.5
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room Size.

    Location.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    7.9
    Good location, quiet rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Had to pay extra for sauna

    Good location, quiet rooms

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    7.5
    Hotel parking is too expensive.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hotel parking is too expensive.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    9.6
    perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    perfect location

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2015

    8.3
    Location is very good staff is very friendly
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Breakfast was too expensive

    Location is very good staff is very friendly

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 25

Guests also reviewed these properties: