Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Steigenberger Conti Hansa This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Schlossgarten 7, 24103 Kiel, Germany

#22 of 44 hotels in Kiel

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1261 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 62

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.1
    A very convenient location.
    • Couple
    • Double Plus Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We got locked in our room & couldn't get out, our first call to reception was ignored. We were late for our wedding because of this. Some staff were excellent, however the customer service was very unequal. It was very confusing over the airport shuttle & they told us different times to leave which made us very nervous about getting our flight. They did not explain it properly because the actual shuttle was really good.

    Location and clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    5.8
    Unbearably hot on a summer day. But good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No proper air conditining. The room was boiling on a summer day. The room we got face east and it was like a greenhouse. This hotel sells itself a lluxury brand. But in this day amd age air conditioning should be a given. The heat was unbearable. Also the hotel really needs an update. It is quite stuck in the 1980s and 1990s

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.1
    Cruise terminal approach is the main/only reason to stay..
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Regular rooms don't have air conditioning !! For air conditioned room they require additional cost..disappointing..

    Location very close to the cruise terminal

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.6
    the hotel is very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the car park fee was way to high €21 pound per day , when i booked it with yourselves it was priced up at only €18 when i questioned it the reply was it had gone up.

    the waiters were very smart and polite

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    It was a very nice stay in beutiful surroundings
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In our room 250 the WC was not clean enough and the staff was unable to do better, because it was not only difficult - it was impossible to do it better. As your your hotel is excellent one I will advise you to renew the WC in room number 250 as soon as possible.

    Everything except the WC in our room number 250. The room was on the other hand excellent - tadellos in German! Breakfast and food at the restaurant also first quality.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    6.7
    I guess it was really nice in the 80's/90's
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Plus Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's pretty outdated. Worn down carpetry, curtains, furniture from the 80's/90's. Strong cleaning smell everywhere. I guess it was really nice in the 80's/90's. No airconditioning therefore lot of bugs/killed bugs in the room as you need to have windows open on sunny days. It as warm during my stay.

    Breakfast buffet is really good. Dinner overall is decent. Staff is great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel and great location.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Out room was close to the elevator and you could hear the motor on and on, even through the night. The prise for parking should be included otherwise it’s too expensive.

    The location it’s excellent. The interiors and distribution are top. Staff are also very friendly and polite.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    8.8
    good place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    may be more an hotel for people who are retired : there were many actually, and I'm not sure young people would enjoy this atmosphere.

    I had dreamt of that hotel 22 years ago when a student : so, it is very comfortable, and the place is perfect (quiet with a park, but very close to the center, and right on the way for bus). The room was big, the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was very well (the typical German breakfast in four stars hotels).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    6.3
    Quite nice but too expensive for the quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a bit shappy. Impossible to regulate shower temperature. Bathtub drain very slow. Toilet flush not sufficient.

    Super breakfast. Nice reception staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    5.8
    Overpriced not a 4 star hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Plus Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over priced old fashioned hotel. It was also really loud in the other rooms and the hotel staff could not get on top of the noise. The breakfast was bad quality for € 17,50! Expensive mini bar

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel with an individual style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really. It met my expectations

    Good location Nice part of town Close to the old town Close to the ferries Excellent meal Very good night's sleep Good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.2
    Very satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plumbing in my room was a bit dated, water temperature from shower fluctuated. Would have been fine with thermostatic shower

    Nice hotel and I appreciated the secure under hotel parking for my motorbike

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.8
    Excellent hotel in the heart of Kiel with a breakfast worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some noise at night from an air-condition fan (outside the room) and the elevators. Garage tight.

    Excellent, rich breakfast for meat-lovers and vegetarians. Friendly professional staff at desk, bar and breakfast. Business class room, 2nd floor, street-facing, sufficient space, clean and well-equipped bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    4.2
    Unhappy with this hotel's listing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel claims to offer parking but strictly speaking it does not. It is joined on to a stacker-type car park owned by the city of Kiel with no control either over whether any bays may or may not be available for guests, or over the exorbitant cost of overnight parking (€18 at time of writing). Overnight parking is after all why guests with cars tend to choose hotels with parking facilities. We would have booked elsewhere, had we known the truth. We felt we had been lured under false pretences. At one point it was suggested by front desk staff that we park in a dock area, a considerable walk away and, I imagine, questionably safe at night. Note: street parking in the area round the hotel is very restricted by resident permit zones, etc. The room was also noisy at night and occasionally smelled of cigarette smoke.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    6.3
    Central location
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Plus Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture is really old with holes in it. Bathroom not clean. Breakfast is not up to date as well as the presentation. there is a smokers lounge at the entrance. We could smell the cigarette smoke in the breakfast room.

    Central location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    7.9
    Nice and clean hotel near the old city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are quite small for a 4 star hotel. There are other Steigenberger hotels where you get more for the price. And in most hotels on the world you get at least one bottle of water for free and not 4€30

    Nice and clean hotel near the old city. Good bed. There is a coffee machine in the room. Good view and quit pleace compearing that the hotel is near the harbour.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    6.0
    Good location but very poor facilities for the price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Plus Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not all rooms have safes!? As a business hotel with 4 stars recommended by HSH Nordbank most people carry laptops and other expensive items and expecting a safe in a 4 star hotel room is standard. The rooms have no air conditioning. Unbelievable! I will be changing my future bookings even though this hotel is near my work place.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable, but expensive and seems to give more attention to conferences than to private guests!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Plus Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very upset to have been refused entry to the restaurant on 23/24 March because of a conference. Had not been pre-warned about this. Offered a table in a very cold, draughty hallway. Manager offered some compensation but, as very good customers at the restaurant, we were still not satisfied. We understand that the conference trade is lucrative - but we were guests too! Room did not contain a lot of what was on webpage - no safe/no trouser press/no slippers. We were told we had a Double Room Plus but wonder if this is what we got? Also breakfast was supposed to be included in the room rate - was it??? Feel we may have been overcharged. All in all we do not feel we will return next time we are in Kiel visiting our family there.

    Was nice to have a shower cubicle - pity we had to then have a smoking room as had requested a non-smoking one. Breakfast was good, but expensive when inviting guests. Why were there 2 room rates 134 and 146 Euros?

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    7.1
    All in all ok hotel though not great value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You pay extra for good Internet, free alternative is so slow it's unusable. Though you are paying more than average for this hotel don't expect anything for free. Even water is not complimentary and would cost around €5 a bottle.

    Nice location, good food and reasonable gym.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    8.3
    Recommendable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The free internet/wifi is too slow and not stable.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Very good restaurant and breakfast. Convenient parking garage and good location. The rooms are comfortable and the hotel facilities meet the expectations of a business traveller.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    7.1
    Sauna and reception desk staff was very friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee neither tea in the rooms Restaurant staff not paying attention to guests in the lounge area Semi used bath lotion in bathroom

    Sauna and reception desk staff was very friendly

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.9
    Perfect location close to oldtown
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC in the room made it almost impossible to sleep.

    Perfect location close to oldtown

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    6.3
    Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con in room - too hot

    Staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The standard rooms too small and needs up dating.

    The staff went out of their way to make us happy

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.5
    The stay was OK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room to a very high price.

    very near to the city center.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.8
    The minebar was almost empty at arrival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The minebar was almost empty at arrival. No cooling of the minibar. There was no ice machine to be found.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    5.4
    Great breakfast, but very hot rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No climate control in the rooms!!

    The breakfast buffet was brilliant!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    Everything is good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just the price is too high.

    Everything is good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.3
    Next to the city center and the ferries
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds were too hard for us.

    The location of the hotel is just amazing, very close to the city center.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    7.5
    Nice but a bit worn 80's hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was a bit hard. Wifi slow. The room appears a bit worn and very 80's.

    Nice view. Breakfast was good. OK location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    10
    Steigenberger aka amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad to say

    Great location, big rooms and great food!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    10
    I always choose this hotel since year 2014 and still feel happy as an customer.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Plus Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I have expeirenced WiFi problems last night only.

    Silence, cleaning, quality of breakfast and behaviours of the people at reception.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.3
    Go upgraded to business room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I go upgraded to a business room that has air conditioning and more modern bathroom wth a glass shower door!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    7.9
    Nice but needs some improvements
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi wasn't good. Have to pay for a better one

    Nice and clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    8.3
    Got upgraded to business room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tokenery gym. Small and limited equipment

    Got upgraded to business room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.8
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    6.3
    Good location buy not real 4 star
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon! When it gets warm outside the rooms are boiling.

    Next to place of work

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    6.7
    Reasonable place to stay if you work nearby
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only some room have safes. No air conditioning.

    Proximity to my place of work. Room size is okay but decor is from the 1970s

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    10
    Parking garage was full so we had to find another place to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking garage was full so we had to find another place to park

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    9.6
    Excellent overnight stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Easy stroll to the town centre, quiet location, friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    6.3
    Not the old fashioned Steigenberger quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Interior bit outdated, no good equipment in bathroom, wifi not functioning well. Parking and breakfast expensive.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    7.5
    nice hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is good but expensive

    Nearby location to visit

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    8.3
    Really nice room, perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parkingspace : expensive !

    Really nice room, perfect location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    10
    Well situated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Slow free wify. Parking in basement not free. 18 Euro for one night stay!

    Well situated. Modern hotel. Parking in basement. Good breakfast buffet. Had a good stay at the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    5.4
    Location was perfect, staff was friendly!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Cleaniliness of the room, bedsheets were torn. Furniture was very old fashioned, i am not used from Steigenberger.

    Location was perfect, staff was friendly!

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    7.5
    Good location close to the northern part of the center.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Cleaning service was really loud on the corridor, didn't speak German and tried to enter the room 3 or 4 times within 30min even though the door was locked. The free Internet is very very slow and not state of the art. The furniture of the room could be renovated

    Good location close to the northern part of the center. Decent breakfast

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    8.8
    Modern rooms, very clean, rooms a bit small but very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very expensive parking. Cheaper public parking nearby.

    Modern rooms, very clean, rooms a bit small but very comfortable. Mini Bar, Nespresso machine and good beds. Good location, walking distance near harbour and old town.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    5.4
    The people in the reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    old dirty hotel has to get a complete refit it's a shame that the name of the hotel is Steigenberger if i was the owner of the Steigenberger hotel group i would give the hotel a complete different name " dirty old inn"

    The people in the reception

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    9.6
    The staff are extremely helpful and friendly.
    • Solo traveller

    The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. Beautiful views of the forde and the park. Within walking distance of the main shopping areas but there is a bus stop right outside and they are frequent. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    9.6
    informationen om Wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    informationen om Wifi

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    10
    The location is perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    None

    The location is perfect

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2016

    9.6
    Check-in war super, Zimmer waren auf dem neusten Stand!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Check-in war super, Zimmer waren auf dem neusten Stand!

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    8.8
    Friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Free Wi-Fi is a bit slow.

    Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    8.8
    Friendly staff, good location, clean rooms and good...
    • Couple

    Thei did not have crispy bacon!!!

    Friendly staff, good location, clean rooms and good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    7.1
    Excellent location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Although clean the room is in urgent need of a renovation

    Excellent location and friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    5.8
    Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing

    Staff

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    7.1
    Nice cleaning staff, very good breakfast but a bit expensive.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice cleaning staff, very good breakfast but a bit expensive...

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    6.3
    Clean and good Wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room Service served as a wake up call, hammering against doors at nine. Shower went from good to icewater.

    Clean and good Wifi

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    7.9
    EXTREMELY FRIENDLY STAFF
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    EXTREMELY FRIENDLY STAFF

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    10
    staff where the best, very kind and helpful I would highly...
    • Couple

    staff where the best, very kind and helpful I would highly recommend this hotel. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    5.0
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor standard on the rooms, special the beds. Elevator location?????????????

    Location.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    10
    Out son is at university in Kiel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very little but the pillows are too soft for my liking.

    Out son is at university in Kiel. The location was perfect.

There are also 27 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 62

Guests also reviewed these properties: