Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Steigenberger Hotel Thüringer Hof This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Karlsplatz 11, 99817 Eisenach, Germany

#5 of 19 hotels in Eisenach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 853 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 54

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    The rooms at the Steigenberger are just perfectly furnished...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is fine, but not worth the €17 they charge.

    The rooms at the Steigenberger are just perfectly furnished - ample space with modern, somewhat minimalist furniture. That's not usually my thing, but it made such an impression that I felt like spending the day in the room to get the most out of it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel in a very convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were left a little confused by the imagery on the website which gave the impression that a room like ours was a 'standard' room rather than a 'superior' room and it was difficult to establish what made it a 'superior' room. Housekeeping was inconsistent but improved towards the end of our four-days stay.

    The room was well appointed and had extras such as bathrobe, slippers, tea & coffee making facilities; we had a good view from the windows across roof-tops and further on to the surrounding hills; the hotel was very central in the old town and exceptionally close to a range of restaurants, coffee shops, high street shops and places to visit; the car park was very convenient and there was a gym with showers and sauna. The restaurant served an excellent range of foods for breakfast and all the staff were very polite and helpful; several of them spoke good English. For a town-centre hotel it offered good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Overall a good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I know Eisenach was a smaller town, but I was disappointed in the level of ability of the staff to speak English well. Would have thought English speaking would have been better.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    Good location and great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was located at Karlsplatz and very convenient to take the bus to Wartburg Castle directly . Lots of choices for breakfast and even can provide hot omelette by chef .It is quite different with other Germany hotel. Price is very reasonable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.9
    Hotel lovely, restaurant service problematic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking here, as in many locations in Germany, is tricky. Small, underground garage with a very, very tight 90-degree turn-in. Appreciate the on-site location, but it was a bit stressful! Also could have used more explanation on the entrance/exit procedure for the garage, with various buttons, levers, etc to operate door. Nothing negative to say about our room, but I will say that we ate dinner at the hotel restaurant and, while my partner's food was very good, it arrived almost an hour before mine. We were sitting outside, but after waiting over an hour for my food, it became too cold outside, so the server asked us if we wanted to move inside. We did this, and then waited for a pretty long time inside too, for a meal that I really didn't even want anymore by the time it got there. We were given one free drink because of the wait time, but staff really didn't seem all that put out by it. Was not our best dining experience.

    This property is in a beautiful location within walking distance of the historic town center, and it manages to keep its own historic feel, with its elegant dark-wood lobby, while providing modern, comfortable rooms for its guests. As a bonus, a bus stop with a bus running up to the Wartburg Castle is located mere steps from the hotel entrance, a huge plus for us, as parking at the castle was completely full when we arrived in the afternoon. We were able to leave our car at the hotel and just hop on the bus, avoiding the long, steep, uphill hike from the larger, almost-full carpark at the base of the castle hill. Hotel staff were very helpful in letting us know how to navigate all of this.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    6.7
    The location was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The most expensive of all of our hotels. A small bedside fan would help with circulation. Many of the other facilities we stayed at without ac had a fan. For the price, coffee should be available (at least in the room). We just felt it was overpriced.

    The location was great!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    The staff was the most professional I met in this trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was the most professional I met in this trip. Genuine and nice and truly helpful. The hotel caters to both tourist and professionals. It has an excellent German restaurant in the lobby/ sidewalk area. It is truly an old German Hotel the way I remember them from 50 years ago but it has modernized without loosing any only world charm of which it has a lot. I will stay there again if given the chance. If traveling by train, the walk is less than 10 minutes, and it is a level walk. I would recommend Steigenberger to anyone without reservation.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    9.2
    A real gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tiny entrance to car park - but there is a work-around, and the staff were most accommodating.

    The staff were extremely helpful, and the room was lovely. The wine bar adjacent to the lobby was first class, and both dinner and breakfast were delicious

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    7.5
    Superb location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Original room next to elevator shaft, not pleasant, we were moved upon request. Basement parking is very tight fit, also extra cost Euro4/day versus outside parking.

    Superb location. Very comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    6.7
    Great Location, right in the centre of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    outdated decor, lack of helpful items such as water kettle, ironing board. Most of all though we found the staff not very welcoming. They were polite, but not really helpful at all , e.g unable to answer simple questions about a local event but didn't care enough to find out for us.

    Great Location, right in the centre of town

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    8.3
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower over the bath is difficult to get out of and in all cases less safe - a shower only option would be good. It was hot on our visit and while hotel had a fan on request it would be more comfortable with ceiling fan of a/c.

    The location is excellent for access to all the sites of interest and bus stop to castle was very close. Location of outside dining is excellent. I have not stayed in a Steigenberger hotel before but will certainly look for them in future.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    8.3
    Comfortable and well located hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked through booking.com and were surprised to realize that the room rate did not include breakfast. Our room was a bit noisy in the evening/morning (street side/2nd floor). Fortunately the weather was not too warm and we did not have to open the windows at night.

    Our room was very spacious with a huge bathroom. The assortment for breakfast was impressive. Nice fitness room. Excellent location to visit tourist attractions.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.3
    Getting the car into and out of the parking area is...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Getting the car into and out of the parking area is catastrophic. Even the width of the parking area fits only very small cars.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent address just five walking minutes from the train station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast coffee.

    Friendly staff at the reception.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.9
    Ok for a night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Narrow parking places, no air conditioning

    Nice old lobby friendly stafg

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    comfortable base, tasty food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location in the heart of the city is ideal; very good breakfast with beautiful view; very good in-house restaurant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    The history the building and it is a special hotel in a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The history the building and it is a special hotel in a great small town Plus the restaurant was quality and reasonably priced

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.6
    Everything just great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything just great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    9.2
    Parking is available but experienced Driver necessary for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is available but experienced Driver necessary for Access.. .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    5.8
    Size of the room was OK and location great
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception staff on the departure day was not regardful and careful, close to customer

    Size of the room was OK and location great

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.2
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nicely decorated and big rooms. Hotel is immediately in the center of the city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    Great location great facilities. Overpriced food
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced food. Breakfast was 17.50 each. Across the street we payed 9.00 for thw two of us

    Elegant. Settings

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    9.2
    It was an ideal location for exploring Eisenach and its surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The central locality and quietness of the room were what pleased us most.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    9.6
    Great Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning.

    Great room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    8.8
    very good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pillows were too soft.

    Very nice hotel with quiet rooms. Amazing breakfast. Staff was very nice and professional.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    7.9
    The parking places were permanently full.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking places were permanently full.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    8.3
    The front desk and waitstaff at the restaurant were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The front desk and waitstaff at the restaurant were extremely helpful and kind. Buffet breakfast was also great. Location was perfect.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    9.2
    Luxury hotel in Eisenbach
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not cheap

    A quality hotel

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    7.9
    Very pleasant stay. Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No soap when I arrived. This was quickly rectified.

    The early morning breakfast box. The friendly restaurant staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    8.8
    Excellent location to visit Warburg Castle & Thuringia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was excellent. comfy bed - quiet situation despite being in town centre. good eating terrace oppostie hotel entrance,

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    9.6
    Classic and gorgeous atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Classic and gorgeous atmosphere Restaurant seems expensive but reasonable. Not far from the station and cultural spots.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    7.9
    Generally a good hotel. Value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not so good view from our window

    Location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    7.9
    Italian food.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Italian food...tagliatelle...😊

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    6.3
    Nice old building, good restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The entry to the parking under the hotel is narrow, but the exit is even more narrow, causing damage to my car. Both entry and exit are suited for small cars, but obviously not for bigger cars. The hotel should warn for that in advance, which was not the case.

    Nice old building, good restaurant

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    9.6
    Do keep the wonderful, old staircase in the hall :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The vegetarian ravioli was a big dissapointment, as I know a great deal about ravioli. Too heavy and much too "al dente". And the soup, in which it lay, was it 100% vegetarian ? The prunes at breakfast were very dry. Some hotels offers soaked, blended, prunes. Would that be possible for you ? we would like to come back

    Do keep the wonderful, old staircase in the hall :-) Very good croissants and bread, we enjoyed the atmosphere and being able to park in the yard.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2016

    7.1
    Breakfast, Staff, Restaurant, Size of the room, Location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Free wifi is FUBAR. Payed wifi is 8 euro a 24 hr. Is of streaming speed. However... your device get kicked out frequently and you are required to log in again with room number, name and departure date. This is 2015, This is Germany, This is a 4 star hotel. Get your ICT stuff straight! You're a business hotel! My car's directionlight doesn't even blinker as much as the amount of time I had to log in again.

    Breakfast, Staff, Restaurant, Size of the room, Location. Me and my wife had a happy stay. Just one thing was the utmost anoying, see above.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    10
    The Front Desk staff, and I must mention Frau Bauer in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing.

    The Front Desk staff, and I must mention Frau Bauer in particular, were excellent always providing smiling, reliable, professional attention. Nothing was too much trouble. The House Keeping Staff were also cheerful and friendly in their professionalism. It made my stay, which was perfect in every respect, memorable.

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    7.9
    Very convenient for the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Strangely, during our short stay, the management decided to replace the single chair in the room with a more modern version that was impossible to sit comfortably on. Style over substance?

    Very convenient for the town. Staff were helpful. We did not eat in the hotel at all so cannot comment.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    7.9
    Staff very helpful - provided us with a fan during hot...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No air conditioning in the room - but most hotels we stayed in did not have air conditioning. Air conditioning in the restaurant.

    Staff very helpful - provided us with a fan during hot weather. Great location. Great breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    7.9
    The location (500 mtr from train station) and supportiveness...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having no airconditioning is really not according 4-star standards. The bathroom (although modern equiped) has only a bath-tub, and no separate shower.

    The location (500 mtr from train station) and supportiveness of the staff are superb. Try the bar for some nice cocktails or the italian restaurant next door (Michelangelo),

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2015

    9.6
    The staff are very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Found the pillows to be a bit small but the staff were obliging and supplied additional pillows. A small complaint!

    The staff are very friendly and helpful. The food at the restaurant is excellent and the staff knowledgeable about the food and the wine. Good, quality breakfast with a wide selection. This is the second time we have stayed here in Eisenach.

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2016

    8.8
    Wifi connection is too bad.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi connection is too bad. Prices for it are too high.

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2016

    7.1
    Breakfast fresh and selectfull!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Matresses of the bed were not comfortable.

    Breakfast fresh and selectfull! Location and views outside the windows are stouning!

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    9.2
    location (5 min.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    location (5 min. on foot to station), superb size room, quiet, staff very helpful

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    9.2
    Great location and a very beautiful and comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -

    Great location and a very beautiful and comfortable hotel

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2015

    8.8
    Excellent location, friendly staff, clean rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Excellent location, friendly staff, clean rooms

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    9.2
    Dinner
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    parking situation

    Dinner

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    6.7
    Location and style
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No airconditioning; Too expensive breakfast (we skipped)

    Location and style

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    10
    The location, the staff, the breakfasts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location, the staff, the breakfasts.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    8.3
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WLAN service not customer friendly

    Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    10
    This hotel is well located, has a great restaurant, well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel is well located, has a great restaurant, well appointed bedroom with plenty of space, friendly staff and great atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2015

    8.8
    Good location, less than ten minutes from station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    None

    Good location, less than ten minutes from station. A genuine **** hotel.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    8.8
    I liked everything, with one exception
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Entrance to the parking lot to tight

    I liked everything, with one exception

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    10
    nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bed too firm

    nice staff

There are also 33 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 54

Guests also reviewed these properties: