Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Radisson Blu Fürst Leopold Hotel This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Friedensplatz, 06844 Dessau, Germany

#2 of 6 hotels in Dessau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1029 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 54

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.2
    Very nice room with plenty of space and a well appointed...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast dear at €15 and car park charge of €12

    Very nice room with plenty of space and a well appointed bathroom. Good locale with easy walk to several restaurants, including El Greco for Greek food which we enjoyed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.1
    hotel ok, except for this naughty receptionist
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor service at reception. Clerk at duty seemed annoyed when we booked through Booking instead of directly with them (they offered the same price). Didn't finalize the reservation untill the confimation from Booking came through, which she claimed could take up to an hour (whilst I showed her the confimation on my phone). Took 20 minutes. Told us where to put our bikes, but had not prepared our key cards to open this bike shed (in the garage). Declined to speak English.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    6.3
    Adequate.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room wasn't exactly warm and no amount of fiddling with the thermostat made it any warmer. Service at reception was confused. Breakfast was very disappointing: no coffee in the pot on my table, no milk in the jug. The 'hot' food on display was well past it's best (at 9am).

    The room was a decent size and the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    9.6
    The centre of Dessau is rather dreary. Stick to the Bauhaus and ancillary buildings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room we were initially allocated exuded a bizarre smell, but after being given another room (with no fuss at all) our stay was very enjoyable. We ate in the hotel restaurant most evenings. Some of the dishes were a trifle bizarre, but on the whole good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    Pleasant hôtel with good conference center.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quiet room, with large space. Nice and attentive staff. Clean and well placed for my meeting. Quite long to access from the Berlin airport but it's very easy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.9
    Clean and convenient
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bathtub in my bathroom, in spite of my requesting one (just a shower).

    It was an excellent starting point for visiting the magical Schloss Mosigkau, on the edge of Dessau. A castle with fabulous 18th-century rococo interiors, displaying world-class paintings, and with attractive grounds.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    7.5
    air conditioning didn't work- room was very hot...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    air conditioning didn't work- room was very hot (didn't get the impression they were working on it- BUT: they took off the breakfast charge from my bill).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.2
    A comfortable, comprehensive and well located hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The initial attitude of the reception desk could have been warmer.

    The central location, general style and comfort, and pleasant restaurant staff made this an enjoyable stay. Our German language is basic and generally, every effort was made to speak English and to assist us. The location means an easy walk or cycle to most sights. The railway is a mere few minutes walk away. Dessau is a good base point, too, for travelling further afield. We enjoyed our time here.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    6.3
    Dessau, a city in signatancy!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel is ok. But the room service is not so good. In water pot remained half pot dirty water. And the city is too bad, very poor infrastructures, difficult to shopping but with high probability to see neonazi on the street.

    The restaurant in hotel is quiet good and got very nice meal. Not far away from the raikway station.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    6.7
    business trip to Dessau in relaxing hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillows provided are really really thin I needed 4 pillows to have the feeling I have a pillow beneath my head the window in my room had only one functional hinge

    The room is spacious, and the desk in the room is nice working space Dinner in hotel restaurant is excellent

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel - lovely city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room overlooked the trams which do rumble first thing in the morning - ask for a rear facing room!

    Excellent hotel near the railway station and opera house! What more could one want!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    4.2
    avoid.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    unnecessary weird and xenophobic comments from one of the reception staff. lack of understanding and stressful discussion around the concept of booking through booking.com. airless and sticky room.

    good breakfast with nice and friendly service.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    3.8
    Large room and generally clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff's customer service skills were well below expectations for a 4 star and specially Radisson. There were several things that were missed by cleaning staff( which i guess does happen sometimes and i think its ok) what i did not like is that when i went down in my pajamas to put things write the staff attitude was very rude and felt that they needed a good trainning in customer service and hospitality.

    Large room and generally clean

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    6.3
    Acceptable but clearly dated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    An unpleasant stink in the corridors (but then again the entire city of Dessau seems to have a serious problem with their sewage system which causes a distinctive stench to emanate throughout the town). Breakfast overpriced. It is clear the hotel is not a new establishment, feels like the '80s.

    A good enough hotel for an overnight stay. Good location in the centre of Dessau.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.3
    location is great, room is tidy and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the facility is little bit old

    location is great, room is tidy and clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.9
    Breakfast and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Twin Room or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no effective air con when book this hotel because it advertised that it had it

    Breakfast and facilities On site restaurants

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Exactly what I expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean room, polite and nice hotel's crew, clean wellness facilities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.2
    Everything was pretty much to expections.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a bit noisy; some undefined electronic noises throughout the stay.

    Assortment; ability to order specific egg dishes.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff and facility

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    7.5
    I have been accommodated in smoking room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have been accommodated in smoking room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable stay in Dessau
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few of the staff were not very friendly or welcoming.

    Breakfast buffet had a great selection. Room was spacious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    8.3
    Close to train station and restaurant food was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Area surrounding the Hotel was poorly lit.

    Close to train station and restaurant food was very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    10
    Ideal location for exploring Bauhaus Dessau
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast should be better for price

    Genuinely stylish with a high degree of finish, spacious stylish rooms

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.2
    Size and layout of room;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Size and layout of room; ease of parking; proximity to bauhaus; relaxed ambiance

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    Worth while
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff and Hotel and Food really good,

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    9.2
    View from the room, cleanliness
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from the room, cleanliness

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    7.5
    Perfect place when travelling whithout a car: walking distance between city and mainstation
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the athmosphere in the restaurant -like a big mainstation hall.

    Nice staff, all very friendly

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    9.2
    excellent price/quality ratio
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hard to find the way to the parking lot at first

    very friendly staff, comfortable, spatious room, overall excellent price/quality ratio

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    9.6
    Good location, clearing room and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    staff should have more smile especially when the guest check out

    Good location, clearing room and comfortable

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    9.6
    As returning guests we received a free upgrade.
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Twin Room or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As returning guests we received a free upgrade. Very nice hotel.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    6.7
    Excellent service in restaurant and delicious food and wine.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet in room dirty. Trainee at check-out.

    Excellent service in restaurant and delicious food and wine.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    7.5
    Dessau
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dogs on property

    Staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    4.6
    Internet is really bad
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Internet is really bad too costly for its value

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    10
    Great bauhaus experience in a very good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    excellent staff, super standard room, great restaurant

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    7.5
    Upgraded room at no extra costs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upgraded room at no extra costs.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2016

    8.3
    Near station, not noisy, kind staff, and breakfast is nice.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    There is no store or good restaurant in the vicinity, so you have to walk a bit to enjoy Dessau's night.

    Near station, not noisy, kind staff, and breakfast is nice. it is a hotel that can be normally recommended.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2016

    10
    Perfect location near main station and the Anhaltsche...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    Perfect location near main station and the Anhaltsche Theatre/ Opera. Large airy rooms, great breakfast and very service oriented helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    7.5
    Good location few steps from the train station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not always easy to understand the staff in English. Shower towel small, and complimentary toiletries only the first days. No coffee/tea, no fridge in the room.

    Good location few steps from the train station. Nice wellness centre with sauna, steam bath and jacuzzi. The room was spacious and comfortable as well as the bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    6.3
    The central location was handy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had to pay for 2 breakfasts (€16 each) even though I was on my own. The receptionist didn't exercise any discretion he might have had to charge for 1 person. I thought it was poor value for money and it left an overall bad impression.

    The central location was handy. Most of the staff were friendly.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2015

    5.0
    Just the location near Train Station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wi-fi is not working all the night and always disconnected and It was horrible because I've to do some important online meetings that costs me too much .

    Just the location near Train Station

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2015

    8.3
    It's the third time we stay there and we will most...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We have no complaints.

    It's the third time we stay there and we will most likely go back next time we go to Dessau. The hotel is really close to the train station and fairly close to the city center, it's fully equipped, the bed is comfortable, it's got everything we need! The Wi-Fi worked pretty well in the room.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    7.5
    We liked the wifi, the food - breakfast and restaurant menu,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The curtains were partially torn down with no option to fix them without tools; the carpets in hall and room are stained.

    We liked the wifi, the food - breakfast and restaurant menu, the hotel garage, the kindness off the hotel staff, the spacious rooms.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    10
    Very friendly staff, child-friendly, perfect location close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very friendly staff, child-friendly, perfect location close to train station and Georgianum.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    9.2
    location,breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    location,breakfast

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    10
    Our room was very light and big
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    N/A

    Our room was very light and big

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    9.6
    The comfy green chair!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    That they gave me towels I didn't need...

    The comfy green chair!

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    9.2
    Family room is big and cosy.
    • Family with young children

    Rooms need small renovation

    Family room is big and cosy.

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    9.2
    Quality Hotel very comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Quality Hotel very comfortable

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    9.2
    The superior room is really large and bright.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great hotel

    The superior room is really large and bright. The best room we have had in a European hotel. Modern furnishings, nice and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    6.3
    free wifi, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bed, pillows, tv

    free wifi, location

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    8.3
    Breakfast, lunch and dinner very good.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Everything was ok. Servants could be smiling more.

    Breakfast, lunch and dinner very good. Large underground parking.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2015

    8.8
    nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    nice location

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2015

    8.8
    prompt efficient reception
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the scrambled eggs at breakfast...!

    prompt efficient reception

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2015

    7.5
    the price for breakfirst to high!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the price for breakfirst to high!!

There are also 38 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 54

Guests also reviewed these properties: