Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Stella Maris This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Reimarusstr. 12, Hamburg Neustadt, 20459 Hamburg, Germany

#87 of 340 hotels in Hamburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1800 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    10
    Better then we expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Captain Class Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dislikes.

    Better then we expected. Great location and staff. Very welcoming and beautiful location. Nice accommodations and the morning breakfasts were a great way to start the day.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    We had a very nice, short city vacation. Stella Maris is an ideal place to stay with many Hamburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Captain Class Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not a proper double, but two singles to put together and therefore not so comfortable like one would expect.

    The location, an excellent and healthy breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.1
    Close to the museums
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Officer Class Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is good, the building is close to the town center and a short walk from many museums. The sitting room of the hotel was very comfortable. The room is comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.2
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Captain Class Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room faced west and the afternoon sun turned it into an oven; but once the sun was down, the room cooled off. As to be expected at a German hotel, no AC.

    Location was super convenient, with lots of Portuguese and Italian restaurants in the neighborhood. The room was clean and comfortable with good closet space, a large bathroom, and windows that opened all the way for ventilation. The breakfast buffet, although a extra charge, was excellent and good value.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    4.6
    Not as expected for the price .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Officer Class Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Temp was 35 degree and no A.C or even Fan. Parking were 5 min walk . Not convenient when you have kids and trolley . Not stroller friendly as there is no way except climbing all over the stairs .

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    8.8
    We were unfortunate to stay during the heat wave.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Captain Class Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were unfortunate to stay during the heat wave. Our room on the 4th floor was very hot with no airconditioning or even a fan. The hotel is well positioned on the harbour in hamburg. Very good in the winter i suspect.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    Location, Location, Location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Officer Class Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    there was nothing we didn’t like but would mention that in my opinion the hotel itself was a little expensive for ‘room only’

    excellent location just next to the promenade on the port and very good fish restaurants, walking distance to the shopping area and both the U & S trains.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.5
    Sleeping facilities were fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Captain Class Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    One of the staff behaved directly impolite (no information on WiFi at arrival. Unexpected reproaches when we asked for missing towels in our room) Information on socalled »Kulturförderabgabe« should be presented beforehand !

    Sleeping facilities were fine. The same is true for breakfast serving.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.1
    We had a nice weekend at the Elbjazz festival. The room would have been premium if AC.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Captain Class Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC in room. Since it was warm and sunshine outside. Temp in the room was unbarebly. With windows wide open a lot of noise from the restaurants at the street was very disturbing until late.

    Clean and tidy. Good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.9
    Rooms were quiet, small but comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Officer Class Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weatger was very hot while we were there, in the low 30,s . The rooms are not air conditioned, too hot to sleep.. we would return great value for money but not in the summer.

    Great location, close to sidewalk cafe, and walking distance to local attractions

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.3
    Lovely hotel Again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Captain Class Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good but we didnt realise we couldnt check out before 7am. The receptionist was at the desk at 6.35 but made us wait for 25 minutes before she checked us out. She was quite rude! Please note if you have an early flight its best to pay the evening before. Stayed at the hotel quite a few times and didnt have this proble. Next time we will know better.

    Breakfast as always was fabulous..such a huge choice both hot and cold. Great attention to detail and service. Efficient check in and lovely terrace with our room on the first floor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.8
    Good an der comfortable hotel, saw the lion king, ideal location for that.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Captain Class Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been included at the price in my opinion. The double bed were 2 separate mattresses. All in all a good stay, but those things bugged me.

    Nice location, nice staff and clean rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    Perfect stay to explore Hamburg main tourist attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Officer Class Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fiddling around repeatingly with the code for the WiFi. The curtains in our room got stuck. Curtain rail could do with some lubricant or new runners. Ensuite is on the small side but still sufficient.

    Breakfast was extremely good. A lot of attention to detail like soy and lactose free milk, hard/soft boiled as well as scrambled eggs. Great variety on offer at buffet including fresh fruit and all very nicely presented. Very attentive staff. Very comfy bed with allergy free pillows. Windows that opened and closed properly. Much appreciated magnifier mirrow in bathroom. The location of the hotel is perfect. Short distance to walk to tube, harbour and Elbphilharmonie, plenty of choice for restaurants of all cuisine and still incredible quiet. We were on the 3rd floor with a window to the back which was heavenly quiet despite close proximity to residential buildings. Half an hour stroll to Binnen/Aussenalster and museums.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    Fabulous Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Captain Class Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything

    Everything was wonderful (my second stay here). Breakfast is very very good..fabulous selection and choice.Very close to station and river !

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.3
    very good location and breakfast and nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Officer Class Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately, the room was cold and damp when we went to the room. We had to turn our radiator on. It would have been nice if the room had been warm already.

    very good location and breakfast and nice staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    7.5
    The breakfast was ok but could be better for 13 Euro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Officer Class Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed 2 nights. There was no cleaning, they did not even take the garbages. Breakfast could be better.

    The breakfast was ok but could be better for 13 Euro. The rooms are comfortable. The location is good, close to Sbahn and Ubahn. Walking distance to many touristic atractions.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    7.5
    Short business trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Officer Class Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice hotel. The lobby and restaurant and really cosy. If you like to spend some time in the evening in the hotel, excellent place to go. It is overall very nice I just felt the room was too small for the price, but all good. Very quite.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    8.8
    Really enjoyed discovering Hamburg from this comfy hotel in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Captain Class Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Reception staff hid away behind the counter, that doesn't give a very friendly first impression.

    Everything was done well - clean, tidy and comfortable. For Christmas, the little salon downstairs was nicely decorated and with lots of help-yourself sweeties! Excellent location, 5 mins from S-Bahn to station, really good Portugese restaurant up the street.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    9.6
    A pleasant saty at a wonderful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Officer Class Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wonderful hotel. Clean, quiet, with a wonderful location (port area and next to St.Pauli, close to everything (U-S Bhan Landungsbrücken station less than 2 blocks away and direct trains S-1 to and from Hamburg Airport T1 terminal ) Nice room and bed. Heaters works properly. Living room at the lobby area with computers (2) with free internet. Nice wi-fi at the rooms. A lot of interesting-old nautical decoration at the main lobby and comun areas. A nice cafeteria. Christmas details free for the guests like chocolates, sweets, candies, cookies, and so on, at the lobby lounge-living room. The staff polite and correct helps with information or directions. Comunication with the staff mainly in German or English.. No problem with that. After 11 pm the hotel main door close and then you need to use your room door card to access the main entrance and floor walkways doors to your room. I recommend 4th floor and inner view (garden) like us, its quiet. More than 27 restaurants and cafeterias side by side and in 1-2 block radius from the hotel. Merry Christmas to the staff and thanks for a pleasant stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    6.3
    The room was spacious, the bathroom as well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Officer Class Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We: 'Goodmorning, we have a reservation. We think it is under the name of Kuijer.' Receptionist: 'You think?' That was one of the first things she said. An unpleasant first impression, pity. The hotel itself is ok, but except for the 'living room', it is quite blend. We skipped breakfast, €13 pp was too much for our idea.

    The room was spacious, the bathroom as well. Good bed and shower. It has a small walk-in closet, handy. Location is good, near a subway station. Many (Portuguese) restaurants in the neighbourhood.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    8.8
    Very close to U-bahn and S-bahn, lots of restaurants nearby,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Officer Class Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wifi a bit weak

    Very close to U-bahn and S-bahn, lots of restaurants nearby, very quiet attention to safety with a lot of magentic doors that opened only with the key card (without any complication).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    8.3
    Clean and great value for a short stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Officer Class Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    Bed was comfortable and the hotel was clean throughout. I'd recommend this hotel for business or for a good weekend away in Hamburg. Great value!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Excellent location, very close to the S1 and the U3.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Officer Class Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to mention - just note that there are some stair steps to climb for accessing the hotel.

    Excellent location, very close to the S1 and the U3. Very easy to reach form the airport (direct connection). The room was large and comfortable, with an excellent Wi-Fi service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.6
    Will definitely be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Officer Class Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a balcony and the room itself was very spacious. The bed was comfy and the bathroom was modern. The breakfast buffet was fantastic and so nicely laid out.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Fabulous location, hotel first class, we would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Captain Class Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The steep steps to get inside the hotel and no one to help get the cases up the stairs.

    We liked That the hotel was small and tastefully decorated throughout ,The breakfast was Supurb , the room was excellent with comfortable beds and feather duvet. We liked the grass balcony too. The location was right on the river, with the underground near by, great for sight seeing. Yes a fabulous hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    10
    Ideal for cruisers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Captain Class Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didn't have any dislikes.

    Hotel very clean and comfortable. Breakfast is excellent value and very good with plenty of choice. Location is ideal for anyone taking a cruise from Hamburg as it is very close to the ferry stops, is also very accessible from airport using 'S' Bahn train service. Hotel is well placed in Portuguese district for really good restaurants and in good location for all major sights.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    8.3
    Friendly hotel, well located and public areas have nice decor
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Captain Class Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rom decor is a little dated

    Excellent location in the Portuguese part of the city - lots of places within easy walk. Connection to airport on S line is most convenient. Room was ok: nothing special but fine for the price. Friendly staff and welcoming atmosphere.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    9.2
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Captain Class Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A minibar/fridge and perhaps a watercooker for coffee/tea would have suited the officersclass rooms.

    Perfect location in the heart of the Portugeese district with lots of restaurants and bars and 1 minute from the harbor. Very nice maritime styled and you can see the old seemanshouse characteristics throughtour the building. Relatively cheap underground public parking (via hotel pass) for 15euro/day

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    7.1
    perfect location but single room too expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    single room too expensive (as it really was a one person room only). breakfast was not included, staff didn't remind us of that, instead acted like it was included. bad surprise when paying.

    perfect location. very good breakfast incl. coffee to go.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    8.8
    Stella Maris is in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Captain Class Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea & coffee making facilities in the room would be a welcome addition.

    Stella Maris is in a great location. Easy to get to on the s-bahn from the airport & close to the landing stages for boat trips etc. The hotel has a cosy, welcoming feel & the maritime theme gives it a real sense of place. Our twin room was light, airy & larger than expected. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    9.2
    Really clean room and comfortable bed.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Captain Class Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fridge in the room would be nice and ability to have a cup of coffee in your room - now these were not available.

    Really clean room and comfortable bed. Excellent breakfast. Lots of nice restaurans right next door, still nice quiet area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    8.8
    Overall a very good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Captain Class Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff is not the friendliest one but I guess for 3 days you can take it. One of our rooms had ants in it and it didn't seem like it was cleaned properly.

    The location is absolutely great, the restaurants around the hotel are great. It is very quiet and the rooms have a good size. Breakfast is great and compared to other locals very cheap.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    10
    The breakfast was very beautifully presented and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Captain Class Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very beautifully presented and very healthy. It was very handy for many attractions at St Pauli, in the city and round the harbour.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    9.6
    Perfect stay in a great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Captain Class Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautifully clean, spacious and charmingly decorated, loved the photographs and the model ships. In an ideal location for exploring Hamburg on foot or by public transport.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous small hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Officer Class Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The reception staff could be a bit more smiley! Not much friendliness there. When we asked for some help they did help us. The two ladies that cleaned our room each day were really smiley & friendly. We asked for an extra pillow & these were provided straight away. Maybe they should be on reception.

    The hotel was very clean, warm and in an excellent location. The sound proofing isn't very good but people were respectful. There are plenty of nice restaurants around the hotel even though it is in a residential area. The underground is a 6/7 minute walk away. We thought breakfast was expensive at €13 each so we ate out each morning.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    7.1
    The size of the room,and bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Captain Class Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Add coffee/tea making facilities,especially in winter when close by coffee shops open at 10 am..and also when we did not elect to have breakfast.Also no phone to order room service for coffee or tea...!!all else was good

    The size of the room,and bathroom..new ,clean and comfortable...

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    7.1
    Location is good, central, nice balcony
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Officer Class Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the lady at the reception at the morning was not very polite, the bath room was small and the sink more for children

    Location is good, central, nice balcony

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    8.8
    Perfect location place, is very quite but as well a lot of...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Captain Class Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is not included - 13 EUR per person Reception works till 23:00 PM I checked in at 00:30 and need WiFi for working. Unfortunately I get wifi code only next morning. WiFi code should be leaved in every room, it is very simple.

    Perfect location place, is very quite but as well a lot of nice bars and restaurants in 1 minute walk. Metro station in 4 minutes walk and goes straightly to airport. Very comfortable bed. Very good and variate breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    9.6
    A Great Place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Officer Class Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was excellent within easy striking distance of most attractions via the U-Bahn and S-Bahn , and surrounded by some excellent Italian, Portuguese and Spanish restaurants. The breakfast was first class with a friendly waitress and a good selection of food and drinks. The building was also very secure where you had to use your key card to access the outside door after hours and also the corridor where our room was situated

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    7.9
    Excellent location, amazing staff, super quiet and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Captain Class Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The matress was too soft for me, and being a double room I was expecting a couple's bed, not two separate beds (although I didn't specify it in my reservation, so maybe was just failure to communicate).

    Excellent location, amazing staff, super quiet and very clean.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    8.3
    Downtown convenient modern hotel with maritime flair
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Captain Class Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Whilst everything went according to plan and I would give the hotel a highish value-for-money rating there was a slight reluctance by the reception to deal with special requests and help non German speakers find their way around

    The breakfast was excellent and the staff there obliging. The room was clean and quiet if a little smaller than we expected from the upgraded category. The area really attractive and proximity to my place of work ideal

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Captain Class Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, nice rooms, quiet.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    9.2
    room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Captain Class Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    short opening hours of reception

    room

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic location, great beds, friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Captain Class Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated look, bathroom cleanliness

    Fantastic location, great beds, friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.5
    overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Officer Class Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    single room a bit small but thw bed was comfortable ans the room quiet

    Good location, very clean and good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.8
    It was our 3rd stay in this hotel and we will come back again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location to explore this city, many places are in walking distance, great breakfast buffet, very friendly and helpful hotel staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.2
    Nice and cozy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Captain Class Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little too loud at night because of all the cafes around.

    Very good breakfast. Nice, clean and cozy room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    8.8
    Basic, elementary and very comfortable hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Officer Class Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wish there was a bar in the hotel...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.5
    The captain's room is spacious
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Captain Class Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The captain's room is spacious

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable and very well placed
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Captain Class Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quick chek-in and check-out!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    10
    great place to stay, very comfy, very clean and nice food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Captain Class Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    all very good.. no complaints!

    everything was perfect for our three day trip to Hamburg for a concert at the Elbphilhamonie....

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    8.8
    Business friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Captain Class Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simple and business like

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.2
    Location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Captain Class Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.3
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Captain Class Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    5.0
    Ok old, out of date hotell but good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Captain Class Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive but nice breakfast. Staff does not inform about price... so be aware its charged not included.

    Ok old, out of date hotell but good location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Officer Class Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff is not the friendliest one.

    The location is great. Clean room. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    6.7
    Good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Captain Class Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite a small room compared to others near-by. Imagine a cabin on a ferry.

    Good location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.6
    Nice hotel with a cettain originality snd perfect location in Hamburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Captain Class Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location for Hamzrg

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    Came at night
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Captain Class Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi code to be found

    Came at night Cheacked in easily with no staff. Great room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    10
    Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Officer Class Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything

    Location!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    7.1
    Check in times!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Captain Class Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in times! Had to wander around all day waiting so basically missed out on a day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel well located
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Officer Class Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Light cooking smell in the room which was on the back of the building.

    Nice hotel located in a touristic area near to the harbor

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    10
    Large Rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Captain Class Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large Rooms

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    7.5
    good stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Officer Class Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reception not so kind

    location very good with a lot of restaurants

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    10
    Handy location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Officer Class Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast. Close to restaurants, Elbe Tunnel, some attractions.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    7.5
    Overall an enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Captain Class Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The female staff member was very unhelpful, unfriendly and non-professional - the only setback of our stay!

    Overall an enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    7.5
    Good value for money, comfortable and clean
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Officer Class Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mini bar in room

    The room was very spacious and clean, good facilities.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    7.5
    Good value and location. Nice place.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Captain Class Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were not overly friendly.

    Good location and value for money.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    9.2
    Cozy room right under the roof, had everything we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only thing I didn't like was that the double bed had two mattresses and a gap in the middle.

    Cozy room right under the roof, had everything we needed. The location is perfect for a walk along the harbour to Speicherstadt or HafenCity. Lots of Portuguese/Italian restaurants close by, although it's best to make a reservation on weekends because it gets quite crowded.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    On our booking.com special requests section we noted that we would be arriving between 11pm and midnight. When we arrived we found the hotel locked up and unattended. We enlisted the help of a gracious man (multilingual in German and English) passing by. He called the after hours emergency number and after much discussion convinced the attendant that we had a reservation and obtained the code to obtain the electronic key. The next morning we spoke to the front desk person explaining what had happened. She insisted that they had sent us an email with the details of gaining entrance after hours. Later we accessed our email and found that they sent the email on the day of our arrival. Unfortunately, our plane travel from So. California, started one day before that and we did not have access to our email while traveling (our email provider requires a secure connection which is not available on the airport WiFi systems.) Our suggestion that the hotel should have alerted us sooner, was rebuffed saying that "We don't read the special request section of the booking". She went on to say that if you have a special request, you should phone or email them. If this true, then a statement in the confirmation of the booking should alert customers to contact them directly with any special requests.

    Quiet room. Excellent breakfast buffet with cordial dining room staff.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    8.8
    -location: close to the harbour and St Pauli &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -location: close to the harbour and St Pauli & Reeperbahn. S-/U-Bahn station (Landungsbrücken) is also nearby -spacious room -nautical theme

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2016

    6.7
    Location in the middle of a lot of Portuguese restaurants, 5...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    For the price very small room and bathroom, no fridge, poor television channels, periodic smoking smell in the bathroom.

    Location in the middle of a lot of Portuguese restaurants, 5 minutes walk to Landungsbrücken and Ringbahn.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    8.8
    The location is great!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    TV wasn't working, Internet is very very very very SLOW! It's unacceptable for german hotel. The stuff come to the reception only at 6.30-6.45 in the morning.

    The location is great! The room is comfortable and big enough(my at least). This hotel is value the money i paid for.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    9.2
    location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi connection is weak at rooms

    location is perfect. it is very close both U & S bahns. breakfast is nice and value for money. it is a clean hotel

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    9.6
    Location 5 minutes walk from Landungsbruecken station is...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Not so bad, but I would prefer the price of breakfast to be included in the price...

    Location 5 minutes walk from Landungsbruecken station is perfect. The rooms and the public spaces are very beautifully designed. The room was very practical and well-designed, beds are very comfortable. Even though our room faced the street, we hardly had any noise. Breakfast was good. WiFi reception was very good.

There are also 41 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Stella Maris traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: