Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Stern 3 stars

Sternstr. 53, Pempelfort, 40479 Düsseldorf, Germany

#94 of 197 hotels in Düsseldorf

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 160 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No baby bed mattress available. A bit poor breakfast, no eggs refill no croissants refill. No elevator. When you park your car in their garage and you are first arriver, two others can park behind you what makes it unavailable to get your car during your stay.

    I'd liked the fact we received a bigger room because of a baby bed. The baby bed was provided, however I had to double check a couple of time. No guarantee there was a bed even though I made the booking for a child of 1 year.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lack of "Do not disturb" door signs meant the cleaning lady would knock on my door and get me out of bed every morning. I supposed this would be easy to solve directly with Reception.

    The staff was very polite, welcoming and friendly. The location was good for me (near the Ehrenhof) and there's plenty of cafes and shops in the area. The room was clean and comfortable. Overall it was an enjoyable stay and I would recommend Hotel Stern to visitors travelling alone or on business trips.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom

    Staff was really nice, helped us out with parking and we're very friendly, rooms look nice enough and beds were comfortable, bathroom's are small and dated. 15 minute walk from city centre, not bad!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nice comfy rooms, Great breakfast and a very warmly welcoming staff. Not your 5-star upper class hotel but certainly a secret tip for Düsseldorf if you want to stay in a more familiar atmosphere.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Maybe coffee/tea in the room?

    Very central and walking distance to Old Dusseldorf & Rhine, close Convention/Expo centre and to rail & trams.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When they have the time I would decorate the entrance , staircase and reception desk. But it added character to a near perfect experience. Thank you.

    Very homely and very friendly. Wonderful breakfast room and offering. Lovely Attentive owners and staff. Parking spaces are really handy.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Owner did cheat me accommodating me in dirty, cigarette smelling private apartment without proper bed 2 blocks from the Hotel instead of Hotel room I have booked and paied. Refused to offer discount - Horrible, don't stay there They are cheating customers!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints!

    The owners were so kind and helpful. Lovely people! The housekeeper accomodated my late sleeping and still had the room spotless every day. The hotel is comfortable and feels home-like.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was small soft n felt like no bedsheets Heating in room felt non existent

    Parking garage was good Two nice bottle of water in room in time when u travelled n tasty

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two, rather expensive, additional costs such as 15€/day parking for 3 days-rate while we booked for 2 nights and breakfast not included

    Very friendly staff, spacious rooms and clean. Walking distance to the city center

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great hotel just outside the old city centre. Great staff and owners. Frank and his lovely wife serve a great breakfast and offer a safe parking place for your car. We booked for two nights but could have stayed many more nights. Thanks guys!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Located centrally, close to a metro station (Nordstraße) and tram stops, with restaurants and cafeterias just around the corner. A safe area, quiet (at least my room that was facing the backyard). A family-run business, friendly, ready to help. Will stay here next time I'm in town.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been good to have tea and coffee making facilities in the room. One flat pillow was not enough to make sitting on the bed comfortable or sleeping.

    It was fairly easy walking to the Rhine and the old town. Hosts were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arrived late in the morning and contacted bookings, however bookings didn't inform hotel. It was unpleasant to manage this issue after long journey. Since, reception was very friendly everything was fine.

    Great service and friendly reception - Extremly satisfied with this behavior. I would recommend this to everyone. If, I ever go back to Dusseldorf Hotel Stern is done deal for me:)

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no parking place at the hotel

    The decoration details were everywhere

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The owners are very nice and welcoming, the room is big and clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel provides what you need for a good night stay. Clean, comfortable and hospitable staff.

    Very friendly staff. Hospitable atmosphere.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The furniture is very worn out and quite minimalistic for the hotel’s category. There was an unpleasant smell in the corridors of the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to sleep with windows open due to hot weather and the noise from the road/tram was disruptive

    Friendly hosts

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location, friendly people. I would definitely recommend this place.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was super friendly!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Tram next to the window. But not very noisy - windows with very good sound isolation.

    Nice and helpful staff, good breakfast, cozy room.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    5' walk from the city center.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The equipment is older and shower was not in 100% shape. Wi-fi connection is very very unstable.

    Clean hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very helpful staff. Nice little place.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Arrived 2200 as arranged, to find hotel locked with no staff on duty,had to track down owner by mobile phone,then collect hotel and room key from a local shop. Room clean but very basic,would not rate 3 star, would describe more as a hostel. Not worth the money, would not return.

    The location was ideal for visiting relatives.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Blinds to maintain total obscurity in the room

    the friendliness and personal approach of the owner, the location (central & very close to public transportation)

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    One drawback because my only language is English is that there were no English speaking TV channels.

    The property owners were fantastic people for this small almost B&B style hotel. The location to Old Town and public transport is very good. Very good value as long as you don't arrive during a convention but that's what supply and demand will do.

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Only a small detail - heating was turned off when I came to the room.

    Friendly stuff, able to speak English without troubles. Hotel on a good place - close to u-bahn, s-bahn.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Herr Tillman made us very welcome and could not do enough to help us with local facilities, transport and recommendations for things to see and do. We will definitely come again.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The S-bahn runs on the same street as the hotel. And with the construction going on nearby it was a little noisier in the morning than I would have liked. But, this is a hotel in the city; so that shouldn't be surprising.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was a little smaller than expected but very clean and comfortable. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything about Hotel Stern is perfect, short walk to Aldstadt and close to the subway. Very friendly multilingual owners, nice quiet location with garden in back of hotel, made to order breakfast in the mornings. I'll always stay at Hotel Stern!

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi was a bit erratic. A kettle in room would be good.

    Easy 10 minute walk to Altstadt and riverside. Station and airport also easily accessible. Friendly helpful hosts and great breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Not enough space to store dresses in case of long stay.

    Frendly atmosphere and always very kind and keen to help. A nice hotel out of crowd but near center, old town at 15 minutes walk throught a park and lively decorated rooms. Some rooms are better than others so it us better ti ask before. Lovely garden in spring and nice breakfast room. The hotel does not have a lounge where staying when you are out of your room in winter. Good heating. Owner very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Advertised breakfast included but was not!

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice spacious room with a balcony on walking distance from the center of town.

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The family who owns the hotel were amazingly accommodating and helpful, and the room was perfect. Couldn't have asked for more!

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We both liked everything, the staff were very friendly and welcoming .

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Newly renovated and hands-on approach from the owner.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Nothing special.

    Good hospitality, clean and fancy room, beautiful back yard, very convenience to the station.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Very poor hotel. very weak internet wi fi no elevators needs a tram to reach main train station no minibar in room

    Nothing

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Guests also reviewed these properties: