Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sternhotel Bonn This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Markt 8, Bonn City Centre, 53111 Bonn, Germany

#25 of 72 hotels in Bonn

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 722 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    9.2
    Bonn, Beethoven, worth a visit.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed was curiously small. Comfortable enough, but a bit unusual size for a fairly expensive hotel.

    Nice staff, very helpful. Good breakfast, German style. Great view overlooking the market square.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    8.8
    Great place to stay, would recommend it to anyone traveling to Bonn.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The free WIFI was not very good. Highspeed WIFI cost an extra 5 Euro/24hrs and had a limit on the amount of data usage.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and quiet. The breakfast was very good, the breakfast room pleasant with a great view over the Marktplatz. The location is ideal.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    6.7
    Nice staff and nice comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi and coffe at breakfast had to be paid extra. 162€ a night and not even internet and coffee included? That’s shameless.

    Nice staff and nice comfortable room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    5.4
    Cannot recommend 'economy room' option
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The booked room was an (800 EUR/5 nights) 'economy' room according to the staff, facing the market square which at that time had a huge festival stage with classical music all weekend. Considering there are three restaurants situated right in front of the hotel, a good night's sleep was only possible after 10pm during the week. The room looked old with squeeky and damaged floorboards. The room design was weird with the toilet located in kind of a closet across from the shower. The sink on the other hand was right beside the bed. The bed made loud noises when turning around. The staff, although mostly helpful, came across arrogant. And I really did not appreciate that they snatched my plate away from the table while I was still chewing. The 'free' WiFi was slow, only worked for one device per traveller, and came with a data limit. Would choose established hotel brands next time.

    The hotel was close (2 min walk) from our conference venue (Bonn University) and has a wide variety of restaurants around.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.8
    nice employees.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On booking.com they say they have their own parking spots but they don't but parking in the garage nearby was really cheap like 4 euro for a night in the weekend.

    nice employees. nice breakfast, good selection of tv channels and great location to see bonn

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.9
    Perfect location!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Same music every morning during breakfast , breakfast quality and variety was mediocre for such level of hotel. There was smell coming out from the sink tab in the bathroom and caused the room to smell

    Location, personnel (both in reception and breakfast) was very helpful and very friendly. Hotel offers free wifi but go for the chargeable one with perfect quality

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.2
    A great find in Bonn
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is located in the center of Bonn. There are restaurants that stay open quite late. With windows open it can get loud. There is no air conditioning, so we slept with windows open. It got quiet around 11 pm each night.

    The staff, the room and the location were outstanding. The hotel was a great value for what we got and we were able to walk everywhere that we needed to go. There was a restaurant right next door that we frequented daily. Breakfast was amazing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.1
    Not a bad 2 Star hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi is low grade and single device. 4 star hotel should be air conditioned. They were not friendly to my German colleague who came for breakfast. For 19 euro for breakfast you could be accommodating.

    Nice central location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.2
    Staff were lovely and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a double bed made of two singles, which wasn't so comfortable. The soap/shampoo/body wash smelled a bit like what you would put as a teenage boy :)

    Staff were lovely and helpful. Location is wonderful, right in the city centre, breakfast was very nice and the room was large and light.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    Friendly staff in a historical hotel at the center of Bonn
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel does not have air conditioned. Probably ok for most of the year in Bonn, but with 25 degrees outside my room was quite too hot. The ventilator helped. As for TV, they have Sky, but only two sporting channels - and not the one I would have liked.

    Excellent staff, very friendly and very willing to help. WiFi connection was excellent. Location simply the best you can find in Bonn. The hotel is a historical building (it's been destroyed by bombing during the war and re-built in the old style but with new technologies).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    The location was great, surrounded by various stores and interesting outlets.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't point to anything I didn't like.

    The staff were of excellent attitude and always willing to do anything to further make our stay more enjoyable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location on Market Square, and rooms overlooking the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location on Market Square, and rooms overlooking the square are super... tasty breakfast, too. Free use of the large gym just a minute across the square.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.1
    Location, the comfortable rooms, really good value.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not practical if you need a taxi. No lobby. No air conditioner. Problematic if you come for business trip.

    Location, the comfortable rooms, really good value. Clean. Good breakfast. Great if you are a tourist.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    6.7
    Great localization, next to the city hall.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When I asked reception staff for cutlery and a plate, they refused, despite of having their own restaurant in the hotel. It is the first time, that in 4* hotel staff refused me to borrow such things. I got a room with a view at the backyard, which was a bit dissapointing.

    Great localization, next to the city hall.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.9
    Hotel in the City
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didnt like the really firm/hard bed. That isn't a reflection of the hotel, really it is just my preference. Parking was confusing but I probably should have done my research first.

    The location (in the city) was wonderful! The hotel is near all kinds of shops and restaurants. Breakfast was nice and the servers were highly observant. The bathroom was updated/modern, clean and the supplies were thoughtful. The staff was courteous/friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    Made the work enjoyable.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The rooms are a little cramped and the standard free Wi-Fi a little slow - moving to high-speed Wi-Fi option may make sense.

    Not my first stay at the hotel - overall it works well for me on a work trip. Location is great, as is the breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    Great location, comfortable hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small thing; I don't like the pillows provided in the room but they are typical German style (big floppy, little support) so not unusual.

    Very convenient location, good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    The location is in the Market place which is very convenient...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The heavy key for the room. But it is cute though.

    The location is in the Market place which is very convenient for shopping and transportation. Single room is very clean and tidy. The breakfast is great!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.9
    The breakfast was amazing - one of the widest selections...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was nice, as well as the staff and all else, but did not correspond to the cost. We've stayed at places 1/2 cheaper in rooms of similar or better standard.

    The breakfast was amazing - one of the widest selections we've ever encountered at a hotel. The location is unbeatable if you have the time to enjoy the city. Cheap overnight parking directly under the hotel (Marktgarage).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    8.3
    Location was great, it is in the heart of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Size of room was smaller than expectation. They didn't have digital safe in the room, if you need one don forget to ask for Key of the safe at check in. The free WiFi is just for one device, if you need to connect your mobile and notebook to WiFi you need to pay, which was not mentioned anywhere in the booking.com data.

    Location was great, it is in the heart of the city It is not just a hotel, its historical building

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    6.7
    Overatted.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No similarities between the site photos and reality. Whole room had a "toilet smell" and the bed was moving each time the underground was passing by. I was so "lucky" to have the window very close to the ding-dong bell from the neighbour building and each morning I was woken up by the bell...

    The location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    The room was excellent, tall ceiling and comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was excellent, tall ceiling and comfortable bed. The bathroom was also very spacious. Plenty of storage in the wardrobe and dressers. You would likely have enough room for a weeks worth of clothes. Nearby to plenty of sites and public transport.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    8.3
    Very good breakfast buffet.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wi-fi is only free for one device. The idea of a magnifying mirror is good, but the combination of mirror location and first-generation low-energy light bulbs makes it less useful. In general, lighting is of poor quality

    Very good breakfast buffet. Very friendly and helpful staff. Good selection of non-German TV channels. Good location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    6.3
    I would have loved this hotel, but it didn't hit the spot and disappointed despite the great staff
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dated decor, the finish of some of the woodwork in the room was very basic. The hand basin was in the same room as the bed and not in the bathroom, I have never stayed in a hotel like that before. Breakfast : bacon was good, great coffee

    The staff were really friendly and helpful. The mini-bar was free (or at least the first 3 bottles where), but they didn't tell you. Large room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    8.8
    Super location in the very centre of the old town, nice and...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In my case it was narrow bed but I was in a single room which was not big enough for a double or queen size.

    Super location in the very centre of the old town, nice and helpful staff, excellent breakfast buffet, no problem with providing eg. gluten-free option, they even welcome dogs (one has to inform in advance and there is an extra fee, of course)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    8.8
    Charming hotel in Bonn old city
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The free internet was for only one device. You had to pay if you wanted faster internet for more than one device. Pillows were a little too soft.

    Centrally located in old city, a short walk from main station and near the University/Market metro. Shopping, food and attractions were walking distance. My room faced the square and the view from my window was pretty. The decent sized room was well lit and with a nice warm ambience. The breakfast was good, and featured more than the typical contenital selection. Staff were pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    8.8
    We had a lovely stay in Bonn. It is a beautiful city. The Christmas markets were fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room could do with being modernised. Furniture was a bit dated.

    The beds were very comfortable. The room was very quiet. Room was very clean and well maintained. Location is fantastic.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    2.5
    Never book...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’t know where to start. I usually can start any review with a positive but not this time. The staff at the hotel were rude in the extreme...the rooms were not clean and the pillows were awful. The breakfast was appalling and on one morning we were told they had”run out of bacon” and on the same morning the scrambled eggs were as tough as old boots. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    The breakfast at the Stern is the best breakfast in Bonn.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The breakfast at the Stern is the best breakfast in Bonn. Period. I have been staying at the Stern for 9 years and it will continue to be my Bonn mainstay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    9.2
    Perfect choice, highly recommended
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Funny arrangement of bathroom in the room (separate toilet, shower, sink in the room) sort of ok for single use of the room, but it wouldn’t work for two.

    Fantastic location, in the middle of everything! Bus stop and Markt station just meters away. Super friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    9.6
    Great stay at the beautiful Markt area
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    -

    Amazingly good location. Coming to the city, the airport bus stops at Markt, just next to the hotel. A beautiful town with a large pedestrian area. Friendly and helpful hotel staff. At breakfast, a really good fresh fruit salad and you can make a pot of infused tea.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    7.5
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows are not very confortable.

    Perfect location in the city center. Shopping streets and restaurants are justa round the corner. Rooms are well decorated.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.8
    not much to complain about...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    slow wi-fi and bad connection. they charge you extra for high-speed connection (I find this "kleinlich" petty.), this is a no-no for business travelers, even if they could afford it.

    good location, stayed there several times for my travels to Bonn. the hotel is next to the city town hall and in the middle of the market plaza with tons of shops and restaurants. big room, large TV (46"!) though I hardly use it. very good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    7.9
    that I was told to pay an extra 5 % because I travelled...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    that I was told to pay an extra 5 % because I travelled private and not on buisiness. the first time I had to pay in Bonn for being there for a private reason.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.2
    very good accomodation for the money to see and interesting and historic part of the country
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    heating; you need to figure it out it also does not appear to be bonn hotel-specific; its a european hotel problem nothing ever works right away, and when it does its usually caped at 23C

    very good hotel overall right in the center of town and on a nice square that features the town hall; if you can get a frontal room you have scenic views of the square and town hall and the frequent events taking place place both natasha and petra at the reception were very helpful there are all kinds of restaurants and bars within 2 minutes walk and the beethoven house/museum is also around the corner rooms are very spacious and well equiped very good and typical german hotel breakfast spread and equally good coffee; across the square there is a high tech fitness center for free use by hotel guests transport is good too; central station is 10 min walk and a junction of bus links half that overall very good accommodation for 100 euros or under also given that for that kind of money in london you are staying in a cave, and no i am not comparing the two

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.8
    A clean hotel in a a nice location in central Bonn, but not so good wifi.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Free wifi was like a joke. Only available for one device and speed was awful. Bathroom was ok but toilet was so small.

    Amazing location. In the hearth of Old Town of Bonn. Breakfast was good and the personnel was very cheerful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location in the heart of Bonn.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location in the heart of Bonn. Very friendly staff. Excellent breakfast. Near one of the best restaurants in Bonn. Very clean. The rooms are small, but one should not count on the impossible in a building of the 14th century built.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Fantastic hotel in the centre of Bonn
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely traditional hotel right in the centre of Bonn next to the Rathaus. Comfortable modern room with free drinks in the mini bar. Excellent breakfast included in the price.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    8.3
    Great location, 10 min walk from train station and 5 from...
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location, 10 min walk from train station and 5 from metro. Shops & Restaurants and beethoven house right around the corner. Good breakfast and very friendly staff. The high speed internet worked well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.6
    I have always enjoyed staying at the Stern Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked to have had tea making facilities in my room. I know that I could have asked for a kettle etc. but prefer to be able to make tea and coffee when I want to.

    I have always enjoyed staying at the Stern Hotel. I like that the hotel has undergone changes, but still has the traditional German feel that I have always loved. The breakfast was fantastic!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Excellent Service and Accommodations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was phenomenal. Very kind and helpful. They went above and beyond. The breakfast buffet was amazing. Food was high quality with a beautiful presentation. Right in the center of Bonn.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    7.9
    Room good size.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air-conditioning and it was hot weather! We had just arrived after 26 hours or more travelling from Australia, out of winter, and therefore found the atmosphere rather hot. We were not told that the free wifi was only available on one device at a time - so spent quite a lot of time wondering why we couln't connect.

    Room good size. Powerful shower. Excellent location in heart of the old town. Friendly front desk staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    9.2
    Even better
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Following up my previous review; the free wifi has been upgraded and is now quite ok to work; there is still an extra option for paid wifi, maybe to stream or something. Also the free gym across the square is quite good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    8.8
    Superb Hotel, highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room definitely needs A/C during the hot summer period.

    Staff was very friendly and competent, room had everything that was advertised, quiet nights, superb location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    10
    very comfortable, pleasant, central hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing....

    The facility to use of the gym just across the street was a great bonus. And it a great gym. the staff were extremely friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    9.6
    Great place dead center of town.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free Wifi is poor, upgrade 5 eur per day is worth it though!

    Very friendly staff, great breakfast, best fruit salad in town! Single rooms are sufficiently large. Bikes can be stored in the inner yard.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    7.5
    The location of the hotel is great, just in the city center...
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The initial room that was allocated looked very outdated without a proper bathroom, having the sink in the room and a tiny shower and toilet nearby. We went down to ask for another room and had to pay a fee for the upgrade to a different category which then looked much better. Unfortunately we missed breakfast the day later and ordered lunch bags that weren't great at all. Would have been great not having to pay for breakfast if we have to miss it.

    The location of the hotel is great, just in the city center and in walking distance to shops, bars and restaurants. Reception staff was further extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    7.9
    Perfect location with King Breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel does not consider my reqests written on booking.com. The rooms are small and cleanliness is not good as expected.

    The location of the hotel is very good. The breakfast is rich. Desk personnel are helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.1
    Great location and staff but lacking in other categories.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The layout of the room and its tiled floor were what I liked least. The bathroom was split into three small sections - the shower and toilet on either side of the cramped doorway (where one would expect to have some space to enter the room), and the basin in the bedroom.

    Very pleasant and efficient staff. Excellent location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.2
    Easy peasy. Comfortable, central, nice staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You are not allowed take away a croissant from the breakfast table - sometimes when you are in a rush all you have time for is a grab and go take-away breakfast. When I had paid for breakfast and didn't have time to sit down, I think it's unfair to not allow a small take-away. But overall, a great hotel with helpful staff.

    Very easy hotel. In the city centre, short walk from train station. Nice and quiet. Decent room.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    9.2
    Nice Hotel in the Heart of Bonn
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Slow WiFi unless you pay extra.

    Great location right in the heart of Bonn on a historical square. Good breakfast in the morning. Helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    3.3
    Good breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old, dirty, dusty, smells disgusting in a room,room itself is really small. Receptionist was unfriendly and gave me internet credentials for another number of room. Price is way too high for such a quality,it is maximum 3 stars, not 4.

    Good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    9.6
    Wonderful central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could have done with a little more elbow room at breakfast. Or maybe we should just have got up a bit earlier.

    View over the Marktplatz to the Rathaus (with the huge Christmas tree) was a highlight. And yet it was very quiet, which was a wonderful relief, as I had been a bit worried that noise from a crowded square would have been intrusive.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    7.5
    Great location and... what else?
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some rooms looks like they're awaiting renovation since the early 60's. What annoyed me most was the fact that every, single thing was extra paid - better internet (the free one was not fast enough even to browse pages), even bottle of water.

    4 stars is the ranking of the hotel. Photos on Booking are very promising. Prices higher than average. With all of this I was expecting a really comfortable (not a luxury) stay. However my single room was really disappointing - in big picture it looked like it was still awaiting for its renovation since the early 60's... The bathroom was split by a small corridor - shower on one side, toilette opposite and the sink inside a room. Breakfast proper, but I'm far from calling it "very tasty". Positive aspects - hotel is located at the old town. It's quite and bad is comfortable. It's very clean. And the receptionists were at least very helpful and nice.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    4.6
    Bad experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not good, wash basin next to bed outside the bath, toilet in separate cubical though in Booking.com written private bath. Bed sheet was dirty with traces of... no tea and coffee facilities. Room furniture is old and bed was not comfortable. No view, the room was open to small indoor court without sunlight

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    10
    Thank you for an excellent stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Welcoming staff, very comfortable room - excellent bed and really good en suite. Breakfast was a pleasure. Superb location right in the heart of Bonn.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    7.1
    Pretty good breakfast with loads of coffee or tea served by...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I stayed in was not renovated, like the pictures I saw on booking.com. Later I knew half of the single rooms are renovated and other half were not. I guess I was not lucky during this stay. Rooms were not sound proof.

    Pretty good breakfast with loads of coffee or tea served by Very friendly staff. Found good cable channels

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    10
    I like the location of the hotel, very close to our favorite...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was perfect during our stay.

    I like the location of the hotel, very close to our favorite chinese restaurant in bonn, near the bonn hbf, i love the cleanliness of the bathroom and the very white towels which is what i always loon for in hotels since i dont like using old and tired towels, most of all, the wonderful staff who will welcome you and serve you in a very respectful way.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    8.3
    Practical and convenience of location was great
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom facilities were too narrow and cramp

    Perfect location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    everything , location and room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything , location and room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    Nice bed, great location, good breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice bed, great location, good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Great traditional hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little loud but it’s in a brilliantly central location and was fine windows closed

    Location staff and comfort

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.9
    Good accommodation in the heart of Bonn
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi upselling - you need to pay extra if you want a faster speed.

    Very central, plenty of shops and eateries close by

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    It's a great stay over hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a great stay over hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    5.0
    Very happy with are first trip to Bonn. Lovely weather and very nice people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee machine in the room.

    The whole hotel was spot on. Couldn’t ask for more

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    5.0
    Would not stay in that hotel again during warm or hot weather
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No air-conditioning system in rooms when temperature outside was +38C

    Friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location but the square can be noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location but the square can be noisy. No air conditioning

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    6.7
    Not value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not value for money. Very basic for euro 180/night.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.8
    pozicioni
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    pozicioni

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    8.3
    Clean room and facility
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N

    N

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.6
    I will be recommend my friends for this hotel
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is better if the Wifi more fast

    The Hotel Excellent but need cool aircondition

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent position in the heart of historical Bonn
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent position in the heart of historical Bonn

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.6
    Location, friendly stuff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The same music every morning during breakfast

    Location, friendly stuff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is outstanding

    It's always a pleasure to stay there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Good hotel, would book this hotel again when in Bonn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet and clean room, comfortable bed, Excellent breakfastbuffet and friendly staff. Hotel is closely located to the station.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Sternhotel Bonn traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: