Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Stern Hotel 2 stars

Merseburgerstr. 158, Alt-West, 04179 Leipzig, Germany

#62 of 90 hotels in Leipzig

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 753 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    7.2

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 39

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was quite a heavy smell in the room. Also when I arrived, even if the windows had some sort of do-it-yourself mounted insect nets, there were 4 big flies inside. The property is situated in a back-area of a car dealer and a petrol station. There were some heavy odours outside too. The value for money was quite at the limit. You could feel this anywhere. In the room the furniture was quite old, cheap and not very well taken care of. The bathroom was small, and the shower cabin was quite bad, made out of a one piece of plastic and with a curtain on the side where you would enter. It was quite dark in the shower cabin as the cabin itself was having opaque plastic walls. At least it did not leak. The pillows were very very cheap and soft, almost nonexistent. The breakfast food choice was quite limited and there were a lot of flies in the breakfast room.

    The bed itself was quite good, high and medium-hard. The hotel has quite a big private parking lot.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bit far from the city center. But not a big issue.

    Good value for money! I loved especially the fact that there is a kettle and coffee/tea in the room at disposal. Free WiFi and parking were also very convenient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When you arrive to the Hotel you would think it is a backyard scrap thing. Hospitality and service makes up for that, and the rooms are simple - but what you need.

    Breakfast was above expectations. Fresh bread Delicious coffee and a very friendly staff. For a low cost Hotel - more than you would expect.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good value for money. Fits if you're looking for a stay-over while on the road. Tiny room and bathroom, however both were spotless clean. Facilities asks for renovation but usable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pleasant staff. My only criticism of the hotel was in the shower there was no shelf to put your toiletries when showering. The hotel is on the outskirts, however civilization is reachable if you have a car or willing to walk a bit. There is no clear signage of where the railway station is or bus stops, you have to ask the locals. But generally Leipzig is not geared up for tourism, if it wants tourists to spend in their area then they need to have adequate signage on streets/roads and on their rail station and translate in an international language or have people actually at the train stations to help. I found the hotel stay comfortable but travelling around leipzig was stressful. I will not be travelling to the city again.

    I liked the fact room was en-suite The staff were helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect from the reception to the breakfast. The beds were comfy, the TV was big enough and our night was warm, the staff very welcoming and pleasant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really loud the walls are paper thin with no soundproofing The place looks sketchy from outside Everything was quite dated inside We were thinking about spending another night but slept so poorly due to no sound proofing we left.

    Clean Comfy bed Great book of information in the rooms

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had car trouble on the way over to Stern Hotel and couldn't make the check-in on time. When I called they told me the combination to the keysafe so we could get into our room no matter what time we arrived.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    With a car no issue at all, but nearest tram stop is a 15 min walk away (a supermarket can be reached within 10 mins)

    Friendly staff, nice room and good breakfast provided with lots of choice. Secure parking

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No issue for my stay in May, but as there is no air-condition in the rooms, I can imagine the hot summer nights could be a bit tropical

    Good breakfast, close to the city center, free parking, good wifi

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Hotel itself has a charme of the 50ties. You should book especially a nonsmoker room. Otherwise you will get a smoker room possibly. Public transport (tram or train) is a good walk away, but workable. You can eat nearby german food for small money.

    I liked the relatively cheap prices and the secure parking at this hotel. As well as the room provided everything to sleep inside and to clean yourself. There is also a 24hours secured acces, even in the case there is nobody at the reception.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in the middle of nowhere, very hot in the room. Close to a reclycing plant. Noisy with the window open all through the night.

    Great bloke that runs the place, lots of parking. Thai massage but not on a Sunday.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Signs to direct you to the spot. One evenig was noisy for a short period.

    Everythig was fine.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good. Excelent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit dated

    Good service and clean room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thinny walls and you can hear everything through

    Friendly staff, great breakfast, good for dogs (we came for a show and had 2 dogs with us)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of smoking in the room

    Very kindly to the dogs, Good wifi,

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    remote location

    good deal quiet ok clean quiet

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    some bugs.

    Staff helpfully, Car parking, easy to find.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    great price and room and breakfast were spotless. Although room was tiny and facility looked run down. Important things were great

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As usual, for this money good enough.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    :)

    The best for this price:)

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    too noisy

    clean

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Walls between the rooms so thin, that you can hear everything what is going on in the hotel, ie. person who is practicing playing violin till late evening.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    We stucked in the highway, so we reached the hotel az 03:00. The staff was really friendly,and helpful, they let us entry even if this time was the reception closed,and let us sleep ,and stay in the room until 14:00. Very good hotel!

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    • Family with young children

    hard to find hotel at night , our room stinks , you can easly smell cigarettes were smoked there, we asked for baby travel cot via our booking but no cot in the room on our arrival ,

    friendly staff, not to bad breakfast

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very noisy. We heard the other guests snoring. Seems that nobody in the area had ever heard of the Stern Hotel. We had to look and ask over and over again.

    We booked this hotel for a short stay (1 night) The overall experience was good, a clean hotel.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We have made a reservation for one big bed instead of two separate beds. Although, we have got 2 separate and the staff did nothing to change that. Very hard beds

    Very clean room and good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Person at reception spoke only very basic English but we've managed to communicate anyway ;)

    Basic in a good way. Big car park, clean, good size room with shower, decent breakfast served from 6.00am which suited us perfectly. Good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bus 131 to and from the main railway station goes only once every hour and the nearest bus stop was a good walk from the hotel.

    The owner has a great personality and speaks good English, wifi and breakfast excellent, cheap cold drinks available. Secure parking. Very good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A long walk to the tram.

    Quiet, a nice view of gardens.

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The reality exceeds the expectations. Clean, well equipped rooms and very kind personal!

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    thank all staff member,in stern hotel

    thank all staff member of the stern hotel

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great for its price. nothing to mention

    Staff was great. Confortable double bed.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Clean and in a quiet area. A good continental breakfast which comes as a price add-on. Some English spoken as my German is limited..

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The materass and pillow could remember Napoleon. Breakfast very simple.

    Good parking. Clean.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Noisy, railways next door

    The room is clean and big enough, Clean

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast served at the weekends from 7am. On the booking.com advertised from 6am each morning.

    Good quality, good value for money, very good staff.

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 39

Guests also reviewed these properties: