Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Stiftswingert This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Am Stiftswingert 4, Oberstadt, 55131 Mainz, Germany

#24 of 30 hotels in Mainz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 708 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant attached to this hotel needs more friendly staff! In any case, it seems that the restaurant is a separate property so the hotel cannot be held responsible for that. Many nice eateries nearby so better choose from among them.

    Everything. All was nice. Big rooms and nice people. They also reimbursed me double charged bill on my credit card.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All staff were very friendly. It's located in quiet and nice area. There is a supermarket nearby. The room was clean and confortabl. The breakfast was also good!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No elevator, uncomfortable beds. Breakfast could have been better.

    Clean, spacious room and bathroom. The windows had roller blinds. Location not to far from old city center. Free parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little small for the money I paid and the mattress dipped in a little causing me some back discomfort. I did book at the last minute so I guess weigh that with this review.

    It was clean and the location was ideal for easy access to the city and its attractions. The staff was very helpful and it’s next to a store and restaurant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the staff in the night (Saturday/Sunday), was very rude and unhelpful. People in the room below us were having a loud party well into the night (around 3 a.m.) and he wasn't helpful at all, and even called me too sensitive for complaining that I can't sleep. He was just standing there helpless as we argued with the horrible party people. If you have such a badly built building, don't wonder that people are going to complain about the noise, if a group of people decide to have a party. He just told us all he can do is to tell the people to be quiet, and they completely ignored him. It's the hotel's responsibility to make sure that your guests can sleep in the room they have paid for. We felt completely ignored and offended. I'd suggest rethinking your night-time policy. Are you a night-club or a hotel? I felt bad for rating down the otherwise super friendly staff, but I've never had such a horrible night at a hotel.

    Comfy beds, clean rooms, good breakfast, mostly nice staff (daytime), nice location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long walk with a big hill to the city center. If you're traveling by bike you may find another location more convenient.

    Fairly clean and a reasonable breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed at 3rd floor with no lift. The stairs were a bit much after a long day for my husband. We would have liked a bit more fresh fruit and bread for breakfast but that's possibly because we were not the first in the breakfast room.

    Great location. 10 mins walk from the old town and car park available. Friendly and helpful staff. Safe area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi did not work at all. This is a great minus. Something hot for breakfast would also be nice to have.

    The service quality was fine and the personnel were really helpful. Breakfasts were also good. The hotel is situated just across the Altstadt and not far from the business area, 10 minutes by feet from it.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the people where very nice' & helpfull...unkomplicated. Room clean and comfortable. Absolute from Preise unbeatable' If your looking for somewhere reasonable on Budget near to the city... Try this place

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Missing hairdryer. Window curtains were little old and with holes . Beed sheets were sintetic

    Staf was friendly and professional and the room was clean.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are very nice and helpful

    Staff are very nice and helpful , hotel oder eggs , bed mattress are very bad you sink in them like there is hole in the middle. No lifts so you have to take the stairs .

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In a quite area, about 15 min on foot away from the city center, we had a good experience at Hotel Stiftswingert. The room was very big and hot enough, very good wireless connection and pleasant staff. Breakfast was plentiful, but average. You can reach the hotel by foot (~7 min, a bit uphill) from "Mainz Römisches Theater" train station if you come from the airport. You can use several buses that stop right next to the hotel. A Rewe store is right next to the hotel also.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is very simple, but quality is OK. Not expect something special.

    Quiet place around. Shop is very close, and it is easy to reach Eisgrub-brau for nice beer and local food

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a Fan in room, in summer is really not enough! No elevator ..... Not so convenient

    Breakfast :nice Employee : perfect nice and sweet Location : near supermarket and bus stop

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Needs some updating but still a very nice hotel. Not very central to downtown, but withing walking distance.

    Very nice breakfast, light and noise canceling shades, very convenient location to the wine festival. Both the room and bathroom are spacious. Great value for the money.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Asking for pillows, iron etc all seemed a bit too much as the older man almost grudgingly retreated to the basement to see what he could find. Handed us a pillow (one!) with the pillow case just on top; no big deal of course but just lacked a bit of grace. We also thought these things would be standard offering.

    Most of the staff were very willing to help, especially since there is no lift and we were not on the ground floor, so they helped us with our bags. Extra large, sunny and bright room which was terrific - something of an old-fashioned feel of space and décor but it suited us nicely. The hotel was close to a super restaurant around the corner which is part of a tennis club. Quiet area yet close to the city.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lights over my bed and on the wall did not work, so the first night I did not use them. I asked to be moved the next night to a quieter room in the back of the hotel and got a room with a balcony that was much quieter. The rug was soiled (from cigarettes???). Otherwise the room was terrific and the breakfast was lovely, especially after I found out that my lactose intolerance could be accommodated.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No Lift. Poor Wi-Fi. Our twin Beds were too low to ground for adults and were a bit uncomfortable. Local aircraft noise late at night kept us awake when windows open in summer. Could do with Air Conditioning on top floor A bit dated. Hadn't moved on since the 70's

    Very helpful and friendly staff. Nice location. Good breakfast and great coffee.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A no-frill hotel with nice rooms, good breakfast. City centre in walking distance (10 min.) by pedestrian / low traffic roads. Free parking. Supermarket and bus stop just outside the door. No elevator.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a double room but when we arrived they had only two single rooms for us. It wasn't a real problem for us so we accepted. The lady was really worried about that, but she was also really kind and smiley and she provided for beer and wine bottles in our rooms. Rooms very clean and comfort, bathroom with facilities, bike covered in, staff really kind, good breakfast, quite location near to the center and the Romanische Theatre Bahnof (train station)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no A/C in th middle of a heatwave the little fan in the room was working overtime

    We asked for a double bed room but we got 2 singles instead . but it didn't matter since we moved the bedside table out of the way and joined the 2 single beds. its about 15 min to the city centre

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Struggled to get my Apple devices to see the Wi-fi connection. No lift/elevator.

    Room very comfortable, bathroom very spacious. Breakfast typically German and more than adequate.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattresses were really bad. A lot of noise from the street. Bit far from city center

    Price

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the staffs are friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Linta I believe was the front desk personal went out of her way . I would return because of her!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Friendly staff, great breakfast, large rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there is no A.C in the room

    The breakfast was excellent and good wifi connection

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More/larger cushions

    Friendly receptionists

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift, dirty corridors

    Staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single bed

    Location, WiFi, Car Park & Facilities

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean. Silent. Simple. Good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift

    Good location, breakfast included, there’s always a staff in the reception

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast service was rather perfunctory, food was average.

    The desk clerk who checked us in was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there was no lift

    Almost everything

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel would benefit from redecoration and newer mattresses

    Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Litle bit old material in room.

    Staf so perfect.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Wi-Fi services in the room were not that great. Could be better.

    The support staff were very helpful and the room was very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It can be quite noisy in the mornings.

    Having a restaurant downstairs.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old fashioned furniture

    clean room and all you need furniture. Very friendly hosts and good German style breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very noisy. Street, plains, neighbour rooms. Apart from that, I had to live in a smoked room despite a request for a non-smoking one.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room smells cigaret smoke.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi connection is unstable.

    Simple, closed to city center. Normal standard german style breakfast..

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The net curtains were full of holes!

    Quiet location convenient ok Italian restaurant for dinner

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed should be harder. There should be liquid soap in the bathroom.

    Breakfast, cleanliness, staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was old, no elevator, run down, dirty carpet. Single rooms were very small.

    Free parking. Staff were good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air condition would have been Nice. 30 degrees celcius and no air condition is hard.

    Very Nice and helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some updates, renovations and repairs are needed.

    Good location, great people, clean, comfortable beds.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The person of hotel is very nice,reserve the parking area for my car ,show me the map how to go to downtown, also the breakfast is very very good!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    to far out of town

    nice breaky

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very cosy room and kind staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastische breakfast!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    booked a non Smoking room, but got an extra ventilated cleaned room, you could still smell the last smoker. Was the last room to be booked though. Nice and friendly Hotel. I would visit again.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the distance from down town may seem slightly high if you don't like walking... but the parks in the neighborhood are very pretty...

    All was perfect for what we expected

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lacked some of the UK features, like tea and coffee in the room. In a very residential area so no bars/cafes close by. Needed to walk to Mainz (about 1Km) for these. Bed was a tad soft and could have done with being replaced.

    Very convenient for visiting Mainz, staff very friendly and provided me with loads of info about where to visit and the best ways to get there

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    First night, the Wi-fi did not work, next day it was repaired but it worked with limited connectivity. No elevator - had to walk in the 3rd floor. Bed was a little old and very narrow, but it worked for me for three nights only.

    Liked spacious rooms, solid breakfast, clean sheets. Hotel is a little old but seems to be well maintained.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    A very tired carpet and when requesting non-feather bedding we were still left with one feather pillow....... not helpful when you are allergic. The coffee was rather bad.

    The staff was friendly

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No lift inside, so warm breakfast

    Nice place, close to train station and Mainz center - we could reach everything we need in 10-20 min on foot. The rooms are cozy and clean. Breakfast are full and served from 6 a.m. which is really nice I liked the guys over the desk - they are extremely friendly :)

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Don't leave your key with the nightstaff. He left our key in the lobby open for anyone to take (front door wide open) and left for 20 min. Didn't seem to understand we didn't think that was safe and did not apologize. Unfriendly and arrogant. Except that and another member who was annoyed when we asked for fresh towels, the other staff is extremely friendly, polite and helpful. Also, tell them directly how you would like to pay. They charged my credit card without consulting me first...

    Breakfast good for the value of money and a very nice breakfast staff who offered vegan option upon request. Helpful for ideas about what do to around mainz

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    no elevator in the hotel

    location is doesn't matter) Mainz is small city. friendly staff. big fresh room. clean. good breakfast. books on the floor.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The size of the single bed room.

    If travelling from/to frankfurt airport, the location of the hotel is convenient get off/on at the Roemisches theater s-bahn station which is 10 min walk from the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff and owner are really friendly and ready to help with anything I needed. Overall it's not 5 stars hotel but exactly what you need if you're in Mainz for a visit and it is very close to the center 10 walk + bus station at across the street to anywhere in Mainz.

    The

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wifi was just OK

    Excellent location near Roman fort, theatre, body museum along with cathedral, Gutenburg museum, old town and railway station Staff advice, breakfast and comfort excellent

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A very friendly, family-run hotel in a good part of town, close to the Roemisches Theater station, short walk to the historic town centre. Our twin room was clean and comfortable. Would stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    a map for finding our way around

    green leafy walking areas, friendly reception

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bed was too low and too soft. There is no lift.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    There was no elevator in the hotel. The breakfast was poor

    Clean and big room.

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    a bit on the tired side

    Price, location, breakfast

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    everything is so nice

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    front of house

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff, easy to find location, a few minutes walk to the beautiful rose garden and the river Rhine, excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room had a smell about it like it was masking the smoking that had gone on in there.

    Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    decor a little dated

    lovely family fun hotel,staff very friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    facilities, specially for hot weather

    Staff

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Best hotel breakfast in recent history. Very good Internet connection

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Stiftswingert traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: