Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Stoll's Hotel Alpina 3 stars

Ulmenweg 14-16, 83471 Schönau am Königssee, Germany

#7 of 17 hotels in Schönau am Königssee

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 337 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was really really nice to spend a bit time here. The SPA was wonderfull and breakfast was delicious! Everything was excellent and we’re going to visit this place next time !! Love it

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    A place to come home to: We keep coming back to Stoll's Alpina because of the excellent service. We are always welcomed and treated like royalty. For example, we received an upgrade to our room without even asking! Views are astounding, kids loved the pool, and it's a short drive to all the slopes. The hotel has a deep sense of history ... celebrities and royals started coming here 60 years ago when Mr. Stoll was a world famous skier. The doors, windows and alcoves throughout are gathered from his travels in Africa and around the world. The hotel is now mostly being run by his son, but Mr. Stoll Sr. and Jr. still take time to greet their guests or sit down and tell old stories.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Warning - no elevator. Also, no card key. Wifi access is very limited to almost nothing depending on the area of your room.

    We stayed at the hotel for one night. The room we stayed was a family room and it looked like it was recently renovated. The beds were comfortable. There were some interesting memorabilia and old litho prints displayed in the basement hallway between the main building and another building where the restaurant and the swimming pool were located. The breakfast selection was nice and healthy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were very nice, the room was clean, spacious and had a nice balcony viewing the garden and the mountains. What we enjoyed most was the rich breakfast, bakery, cold cuts, plenty of fruit, cereals, very good tea and the staff kept replenishing it at all times. It is away from the main touristic area in a district full of hotels and bed and breakfasts surrounded by gardens so you feel like being there alone, yet it is not far away from the the village center, there are some buses running nearby, we used a car to get where we needed. Down in Berchtesgaden, one can find several supermarkets, shops and restaurants and there is one directly at the hotel. Although we did not try it, we were overlooking the restaurant from our balcony and there seemed to be salad buffet and served hot meals, looking as tasty as the breakfast. We did not have time to try the wellness and it was a bit cold for the outside swimming pool, but everything seemed clean and nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room Cat. B
    • Stayed 1 night

    sound isolation - neighbours woke me up both nights with their small children and a dog all barking early in the morning :)

    Small cozy SPA facilities. Nice view of the mountains.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location if you don't have a car is a little bit isolated and quite a walk from Berchtesgaden or to kognisee lake. Also there could be tea and coffee in the room and this would be a nice touch.

    The location of the hotel was absolutely beautiful, the hotel itself is wonderfully decorated and well kept. Especially the sauna room and pool was great to use and is open all night! The staff were great and really helpful, they even gave us free drinks on the last evening. Had a brilliant stay!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room Cat. B
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast is a bit limited but i'm just nitpicking.

    Personel was great, location was good, room was clean and very cosy. Bus stop 300m from the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Just a few things, not really big minuses.. There is no lift, so if you have a heavy luggage be sure to ask for room at 1st floor

    One of the best vacations ever! I haven"t expected that we love this hotel so much! We traveled with 5-months-old baby and we were helped with everything. The staff was so nice and helpful, room was clean and nicely furnished, with large bathroom. The breakfast was tasty, as well as evening menu and afternoon cakes:) Loads of opportunities for hiking around even with a stroller. The hotel has room for playing with children which was handy when it was raining. The swimming pools and sauna are very clean, as a tired mama i was really happy to relax there:)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms on the top floor are poor and with a low ceiling.

    Perfect place to have a rest! Two swimming pools - outdoor and indoor. Very quiet place! Good breakfasts. Excellent mountain view! Koenigzee Lake is 5 minutes far from the hotel by car. The hotel has it's own history, sometimes you feel yourself like in Medieval castle!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is a little piece of paradise. The pool was wonderful after a day of sight seeing. The lounge was great with a large selection. The restaurant they have on site had excellent food and service. We were there for two nights and did not want to leave. The location was great for site seeing and there was a lot of parking which was never full so you never had to worry about getting back in time to park. If I return to see more of the area I will book again!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Checking out at 10am, and we got 3 times knocking-door reminders before 10:30am. No ventilator in Bathroom, also can't open the window.

    Special feeling about the traditional architectures, sweet garden and swimming pool. Very relaxed when isolated from civilizations. Beautiful canteen. good place to walk around and see mountains.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing..

    This hotel was by far one of the best we have stayed so far. Internet coverage is so good you can surf almost everywhere and it was the fastest I have ever seen in a hotel. The room was very big with two balconies and bayerish furniture and very clean as well. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was decent. Location is very good you can reach the lake easily by car or by bike. This hotel offers a very relaxing vacation, I can recommend it to everybody

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of air flow in room, bathroom had a window that couldn't be opened and room on top floor got very hot and it was only May

    Breakfast is great with nice selection, location is good but if your decide to walk beware of the hills. Has family room/ kids room but the hotel isn't really set up for younger children.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Smokers standing at the front door when we arrived. Breakfast didn't begin until 8:00 am so we had to rush due to our schedule for the morning.

    The most comfortable bed of our entire trip! The staff gave us an extra room so that one of us didn't have to sleep on the sofa bed...no extra charge! Very kind!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Think we must have been upgraded! Our " room " consisted of a lounge with large tv, bedroom also with tv and a bathroom too. Fantastic breakfast, great location, stunning scenery.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately our room was up in the attic which was not easy with a heavy suitcase, no lift. Hard for mature couples like us. Also had difficulty finding our room but we were helped by a lovely cleaning lady.

    Lovely hotel in a beautiful setting. The breakfast was superb with plenty of variety. They also serve tea and cake in the afternoon free of charge if required which is a lovely touch.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It needs a makeover. Too old. Bathroom, finishings, interior room, no soap or alike in bathroom, no fresh smell in room but damp etc. Price value is totally and utterly out of balance.

    Staff communicates nicely, and are friendly. We really liked the staff!! Also the link to past famous guests is nice and interesting.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have more of a variety.

    Amazing location! The staff was very friendly and helpful, the rooms were comfortable and dinner at the hotel was delicious!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a lot really, the main building does appear to be in need of some updating, the bedroom we were first offered had a very small bathroom, no shower, only a bath(with shower attachment) and very dated decor.

    We arrived late and they let us go straight to the restaurant to eat before checking in. We were not happy with our room due to the very small bathroom but they changed it to a much better one. The indoor pool and sauna were also excellent, very clean and modern. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the location was excellent. We didn't try the outdoor pool but that looked very clean and well maintained.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room Cat. B
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very quite place

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room Cat. B
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Unfriendly waitresses and evening dinner was not good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are a little bit too aggressive. Not filling breakfast, although it was still in breakfast time.

    Nice old-fashioned decoration

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    it's not easy to get to the hotel when you don't have a car

    nice place, great people, lovely restaurant

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    staff was not good but owner stoll was jentel man

    nice location swimpool

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super family friendly! Outdoor + indoor playgrounds for the kids, outdoor + indoor pool, good wifi, and pet friendly. Rooms were also very spacious.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast Restaurant

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    more choice for breakfast

    perfect view

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dining room is not big enough when hotel is full.

    Lovely grounds, lovely room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simply outstanding!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    some of the rooms are a bit small

    excellent property and location, outdoor pool

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms and bathrooms need to be refurbished

    Breakfast was perfect

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing I can think of...

    Classic old Bavarian accommodations with great staff and food (Breakfast)...Beautiful location in the mountains...very near Berchtesgaden, Eagle's Nest, Konigssee... very nice room and bath...beautiful flowers/grounds...Nice deck with views..

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Don't think it could be made better.

    Everything in this hotel is just perfect, we enjoyed our stay and didn't want to live. It's family owned, and the owner's name on the wall guarantees the quality.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The only thing I would change would be to add ceiling fans in the rooms, as our room did get a bit stuffy.

    The staff was friendly and helpful and we felt very welcome! Breakfast was good and the fresh trout we had for dinner was scrumptious! The beautiful outdoor pool (along with poolside snack service) was a welcome break after hot days of sight-seeing.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    old room with a window on the ceiling. the bathroom needs to be renovated the breakfast could have more food options and a better presentation!

    The view of landscape and the garden!

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The fire alarm went off at 2:00 in the morning, but there were no procedures on how to let everyone know to go back inside.

    The children's play area, both pools, the bar area, and the wonderful lady who waited on us in the bar area. Also, the layout of the property.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    To call it a hotel is misleading. The facility is more of a dated bed and breakfast. Our apartment, while spacious, had no air conditioning and was meagerly furnished. The principal bed was comfortable but had no top sheet, only a duvet and one pillow per person. The bathroom was spacious, but there were only towels, no face cloths. A hairdryer was provided, but there was no iron. To have clothing ironed by staff cost 3 to 4 euro per piece. We traveled with our teenaged son, so to accommodate three people, we booked an apartment and were charged an extra 50 euro for the third bed. However, the third bed turned out to be a pullout sofa, not a standard bed.

    Stoll's is conveniently located with breathtaking views. It appears to be a converted monestary or convent with beautiful religious statuary and stained glass.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    A little old fashioned (traditional?) in its decor, but it clearly had a semi-famous past, judging by some of the photos. The uneven sofa bed in the living rm was fine for small kids, but would have been terrible for adults/teenagers.

    Amazing views, big gardens, swimming pools (ID and OD), nice restaurant, lovely lounging areas, helpful reception staff. Apartment room (Rm73) very large with balcony and amazing views.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms are too spartan for the money you pay

    The location surrounded by mountains is amazing

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were pleased to stay in an authentic German village style accommodation. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great view!

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No wifi in the room.

    Tranditional place

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A bit expensive

    Great location in Berchtesgaten area.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    everything was fine.

    lovely place, liked the whole place. nice garden, clean pool and sauna and a real nice breakfast.

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Guests also reviewed these properties: