Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Stoll's Sporthotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Oberschönauerstr. 19, 83471 Schönau am Königssee, Germany

#17 of 17 hotels in Schönau am Königssee

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1265 hotel reviews

6.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    6.2

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    6.2

  • Staff

    6.8

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    5.8
    It at a scenic location and has awesome view just infront of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with or without a balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Attenders at the reception could have been little more friendly. Its at such an interior they should be flexible enough to provide us with extra basic utilities like bathing soap ... etc

    It at a scenic location and has awesome view just infront of the hotel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.8
    Perfect for peace and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with or without a balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a car so location was no problem for us, but if no car it could be a bit out from the town.

    The hotel seemed to be recently renovated, and was very clean and fresh. It is located a bit outside the town, and is very peaceful and quiet. It was perfect for relaxing after a busy weekend in Prague. Dinner and breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    5.4
    Lovely location and great option for multiple travellers...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was more expensive advertised. We were charged for using a card to pay which was not explained in advance.

    Lovely location and great option for multiple travellers sharing a room. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location with good view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cost of the hotel was a little high for 1 night stay.

    Nice friendly staff and nice location with very good view and nice restaurants in and around the Hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    5.4
    Good beds, but staff were very rude
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com has the check-in times listed as 15:00 to 00:30. We arrived at 11:54pm and was told we had to pay a "late check-in fee" because we arrived after the 10pm deadline that nobody knew about. When trying to explain to the staff they kept dismissing the conversation and behaving as if they didn't understand what we were saying, even though we showed them their own check-in times on the booking.com website.

    Beds are good, breakfast was average, wifi connection was bad.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    Clean and Proper
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with or without a balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were friendly, polite, readily available, breakfast was delicious and filling. Coffee was good. Decorations in room were old-German, but everything was clean. Water pressure in sink and shower were excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    4.6
    I would not recommend this to anyone, we felt tricked and unwelcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with or without a balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately, a lot. The hotel was extremely expensive for what it is, and the info on the internet is grossly misleading. The lady greeting us (or not greeting us, as was the reality), could not care less about making us feel welcome. She was quite obviously just out for the money. We were hardly looked at when we walked past, there were never any questions about our stay (I wouldnt have asked either if I worked there). They just did not seem to care. Breakfast was acceptable, but did not seem to be cooled sufficiently, which may have resulted in my partners few days of illness. The bed was too short for her, it was hard, and you could not open the bathroom door as there was not enough room to the bed. The bathroom was very small, smelled fusty, and did not feel pleasant at all. There was no ventilation or window in the bathroom. There was no fridge in the room. We can understand the bathroom being small, as the building is an old, traditional one. That is quite ok, but it should be classed as a hostel more than a hotel, and for the price which was paid, it was grossly unfair. After we realised all this, we also understood why the lady at the desk took payment for the full 4 days at arrival. We could not get rid of the feeling that they would be happier if we just paid and left. We do not normally worry about little annoyances in hotels, as we have stayed in many, and most do ok. This room and service, however was a major letdown. I would never recommend anyone I know to stay at this hotel, even for under half the ripoff price they took from us. The only good thing about the place is the nice exterior, our veranda (the nicest part of the room), the pleasant gentleman who answered our e-mails beforehand, and the town of Berchtesgaden which is beautiful.

    Free parking behind the hotel. Pleasant veranda in our room, and a gentleman who answered quickly and very helpfully before we arrived by e-mail. Old building in traditional style.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    6.7
    You are paying for the location, view and scenery with this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had rather a rude email and phone conversation with the general manager as apparently our contact details were incorrect. Review said food available but this is only breakfast, luckily there is a pizzeria next door. Was difficult getting service at the bar.

    You are paying for the location, view and scenery with this hotelwhicj is beautiful. Room was spacious and Beds were comfortable. Good choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    5.8
    cheap hotel - which is not so cheap after all
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with or without a balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a cheap hotel (compared to other places in the area) so the expectations were not high. however, we were very irritated by the fact that the final price has changed from 130 to 190 Eur per night. the extra cost of 60 Eur came from 2x30 Eur per extra beds for kids. ok, partially our fault because we booked for 12 year old kids instead of 4 year old kids and obviously the hotel's availabilities were not ready for this. but the justification of the receptionist "..you are naive and lazy if you dont read the small print and if you dont read what you have just signed..." sounds very unprofessional - eventhough might be true. So, families travelling with kids beware the small print/ foot-notes for this hotel. the extra cost for extra people sleeping in rooms is not included in the initial price. what BOO-king sells you and what the hotel will charge you might be 40-50% off. the receptionist had then a monologue of 20 min on how the world is not fair and how BOO-king employs lawyers and psychologists to trick people. which I believe is true but again, totally out of line and scope. the truth is that the hotel might have caught many families on the same trick. and finally, the rooms stink (couldn't figure out whether it is cow manure (which I would understand) or some chemical) and the TV is just a piece of furniture which doesn't react to any manual or remote controlled action - just a black screen. same was true for wi-fi. The rooms have furniture (beds) which was obviously damaged and mended in a very unprofessional way. the windows are falling apart - better not trying to open them.

    The location of the village where the hotel is located is nice. It is a good starting point to many activities in the area. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.1
    Charming area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with or without a balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One doesn’t feel privacy because of the wooden floor and walls. Sometimes you are afraid to step on stairs for fear of waking other guests. If you move this hotel to another place, it wouldn’t deserve much credit. But I think part of its charm is its matching with the surrounding. Simple and non- pretentious.

    The hotel rooms are part of a three story cottage matching the surrounding area of Beautiful Berchtesgaden. The furniture was old and seemed part of the whole rural theme. Reception and staff were very good, especially Matthia. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    5.0
    Mixed Feelings
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The female staff from the manageress down were obviously trained by Basil Falwty, but the two male members of staff were fine and actually very helpful.. This is a beautiful location and we enjoyed our 10 days there, despite the dreadful manageress who pretended to not understand English and just made you feel unwelcome. Get rid of her if you want to improve this hotel she is better given a backroom job where she doesn't meet the public. Unbeleivably, we would return if we don't have to meet her.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.9
    Breakfast was great, good location on the bus route between...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The owners were not there for check in, you had to call their other hotel to get them to come over to check you in. Luckily there were some locals there that helped us get a hold of them. This also took a while.

    Breakfast was great, good location on the bus route between Berchtesgaden & Königssee. Rooms were large enough for a family of 4 and clean. Great views from the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    3.3
    Not recommended !!!!!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with or without a balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not recommended!!!!!Bad service,pour breakfast.Room also was totally different what we expected. It looks that diner is not possible to eat there, we need to look for another place to eat.Under the table we found trouses!!!! So how they clean and for what we payed money?Bad also not comfortable, was difficult to sleep.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    5.0
    Intransparent, complicated, stressed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with or without a balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The main issue we had with this place was that our room was inappropriate for the number of people. We reserved for two adults and two small kids. However, we were given a double room with a single large bed. Upon discussing with the receptionist we learned the following: 1- our reservation, according to their system was only for two 2- according to the hotel, we are to blame for booking the hotel through booking.com instead of booking by email or phone directly. I was told "you are just a guest", whatever that may mean. 3- according to the hotel, booking.com is to blame for the errors in the booking 4- there was nothing they could do (the receptionist claimed to be unable to make any decision, as her supervisors where away on holiday and absolutely out-of-reach), but charge us the very-clearly-specified fee for either a cot or a bed. 5- they seemed awfully well prepared for this situation. Other reviews confirm that this is not the first time this has happened. 6- they even try to overcharge you on their own terms. We got a cot for our entire stay, which according to their policy is for 20 euros per stay. However, the information provided on site by the receptionist was 20 euros per night. Quite a difference.This money is to be paid on cash only, for inexplicable (yet rather suspicious) reasons. 7- Customer support from booking.com helped out in sorting out the issue. Nonetheless, we still paid 20 euros per night for the cot. Additionally, the staff seems to be completely out of tune with the friendliness which is expected from hotel staff. The receptionists was constantly complaining, huffing and cursing. It may be understandable that high season is stressfull, and they seem to be understaffed, but us guests should notice it.

    The place is nicely located, just a short drive away from Koenigsee and from Berchtesgaden. The building is nice and gives a nice bavarian feeling. The pizza restaurant next to the hotel is very good value.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    2.9
    Stay Away!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with or without a balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The proprietor left the premise 5 mins after Check in and did not return for an hour. Additionally, the rate and conditions agreed upon through Booking.com were not honored by property. They added over 100€ to the price more than what I booked through this site even though I booked the room for two kids and two adults. None of the additional charges were in the booking.com fine print. Even though we booked for four and paid Extra for our children, we were given a room with ONLY a bed about the size of a queen (pic attached, taken from bathroom) and no additional space for a cot for ALL FOUR of us and our two dogs (which we coordinated ahead of time). We could not even get extra blankets or pillows for the room. It was above 88 degrees Fahrenheit with no wind movement and we could not get a fan for the room. It was so bad our dogs stopped eating and drinking and we left in the middle of the night before heat stroke set in for the kids and the dogs. The sporthotel said the disconnect in paying for the child (20€ extra per night) was between the ‘American English’ and ‘British English’ version of booking. Even if there was a “fee” for an additional child in the room, it still didn’t change the size of room given or a cot added, lack of extra bedding, or an appropriately sized room. The proprietor was completely apathetic. Find a different place even if it means paying just a little bit more. This place is not worth it.

    Half way between Königssee and Berchtesgaden (but it’s still not worth it!)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    5.8
    We barely sleeping the night just to catch and kill the BIG...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We barely sleeping the night just to catch and kill the BIG BED BUGS from our bed and my children's legs... and the bugs we killed, are all blooded. Even after 7-8 bugs killed, I still got bites afterward and feel very uncomfortable in the following trip. The manager of this hotel returned me all the money with good attitude. I do hope they can improve the cleaning otherwise it will be the most terrible nightmare their customer going to have just like me.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    6.3
    The location of this property was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with or without a balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a little trouble at check. We were so tired from our trip and just wanted to be in our room. We had to call for someone to help us at the front desk and waited 20 minutes to be handed the keys. The front desk was very apologetic though. Overall great stay! Will recommend to friends.

    The location of this property was amazing. Our view from our room was absolutely breath taking! Room was VERY clean, bed was VERY comfortable. Loved all of the decorations, and breakfast was wonderful! Coffee was my favorite since it was nice and strong.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    3.8
    Do not stay at this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with or without a balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The personnel was extremely unfriendly. The lady at the counter was constantly huffing and puffing. She was not comfortable with English, but that does not justify her rude behavior. Throughout our whole stay we felt like we were in a place where we were not welcome. Definitely not worth the 170 euro/night.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.5
    Good value for B&B in beutiful mountain scenery.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Minimalist staffing. The restaurant does breakfast only: there is a very good pizzeria next door plus one other restaurant in the village.

    Set in beautiful mountain scenery, the hotel markets itself as being for the cost-conscious. Looking at what we paid and what we got, I reckon it does what it says on the can. Has on-site parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    6.7
    It's alright if you are not looking for much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with or without a balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception of the man when we arrived was not friendly at all. The hotel has very old furniture.

    For the low price I wasn't expecting much. The breakfast was good, the room was clean and ok for a place to spend a night while you are on the road. Very old furniture though & the man at the reception was not very friendly at all. It's as if we were bothering him, especially when we asked questions concerning our lodging. The women were alright and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    6.7
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cereal was stale. We had to unscrew the lights over the bed and use the small wall light at night.

    Plenty of coffee and plentiful breakfast. Great location for all the area attractions.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    Good location and comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with or without a balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathing area is quite small and the draining system wasnt really good for my room. No shampoo provided.

    The location is good, it is near to the main city and also Konigsee. The hotel is very antique with a beautiful mountain view. The room is clean and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    6.7
    Cute but rude staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with or without a balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The women at reception is extremely rude and reacts aggressively to any questions. Unfortunately, even though I had almost expected it based on the other reviews, it immediately dampens your stay, which would otherwise have been nice.

    The hotel is very cute and the rooms and bathroom are fine. Breakfast is also fine and typical of what you get in other hotels.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    5.0
    I’d spend money elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you have kids- don’t stay here!! Apparently they don’t count as people and will not receive any sort of towels and bedding - to include comforters and pillows. They wanted to charge us for “extra” pillows for people who were on the reservation. Terrible customer service. It was early June and very warm in the room. There are no screens on the windows so bugs flew in as we attempted to cool the room. Also, TV didn’t work.

    The place was cute and we had our own balcony. It was close to Berchtesgaden, so the location was good. The included breakfast was a bonus.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.7
    Nice place and great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with or without a balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The proprietor on duty was not very nice. Told us the heaters were turned off at 18 degrees celcius and then gave us a small fan for the room that only worked on high - so was too warm. It just seemed odd for the price we paid that the heater would be unavailable to use. It was a cold and rainy night. The price was too much for the room.

    Nice place and great breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    2.9
    The pizzeria next door.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with or without a balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very icy welcome at the reception, there is an additional tax when you pay by credit card (any credit cards), staff doesn’t speak english, strong smell of stale tobacco in the room, an used tissue full of blood has been found in the bed !! proximity of the road - room very noisy This hotel does not deserve 3 stars, price is too high for the delivered quality and services

    The pizzeria next door..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast spread was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with or without a balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked our room on Booking.com for a room with 2 kids and 2 adults. When we got there the lady told us the room only had one large bed and she excused herself to go look at it, we thought she was putting in another roll-away bed, nope. Then I went to ask her for extra pillows and blankets, of which she gave me one pillow and one blanket for 2 kids. In the morning, she said she had to charge me 5 Euro because her boss told her so and when I inquired why, she said, 'oh no, I can't right now, my head is about to explode'. I just paid and left, though I should have just left.

    Breakfast spread was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    5.0
    Nice location but bad service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with or without a balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfriendly reception man. We arrived earlier than the check-in hour and we planned to eat something at the restaurant's hotel but the reception man told us that we should go somewhere else because their restaurant is expensive. Weird! How can you tell your customers to go somewhere else if they stay at your hotel?! And another thing is that their "policy" is that whoever pays more gets the best room and not the "first come first served" he actually told us that many people paid the same amount but if we pay there more he will give us a better room than to the others.Interesting way of promoting your hotel!

    Good breakfast and location with a beautiful view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    5.4
    Old Hotel with very small room if u like antique furniture...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with or without a balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old Hotel with very small room if u like antique furniture than ok .if u go to balkon please always put your shoes don’t forget.Breakfast is ok but not very nice. One of the Employees in reception he is very friendly another people are ok

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.9
    Good last minute budget (relatively) stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with or without a balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were two single beds even though we requested for a single double bed with big mattress. The mattresses were too fluffy and soft and the pillows similar. We would have preferred slightly firmer mattresses and pillows. The breakfast was decent. It will get you set up for a nice long day but is nothing special.

    We were two couples and both our rooms had good views. The property had a nice air to it and the rooms were clean and better than we expected for the price we paid (50 euro for a night for each room, booked 2 days in advance with breakfast included).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    6.3
    Suitable for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with or without a balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Squeaky bed Clearly audible neighbours due to slender walls Breakfast was satisfactory, but could have been better. Cereal container were left overnight on the table with just a covered lid. No toaster. Rotten Fruits. no choice for bread. Only few pieces of cake. No lift Laminate flooring For the price paid, it seems overpriced The room with or without Balcony is a lottery system. Not clearly mentioned during booking

    Good heating during winter Located near to Koenigssee There is one sleigh track nearby, open to public Two good restaurants nearby

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    10
    Great experience at a cute and cozy lodge!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with or without a balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is so quaint and cozy! The decor was unique and felt of a true Bavarian style lodge. The staff was so helpful, they provided us with maps and brochures for local hiking. The breakfast was delicious, with a good variety, including cheese cake! They were able to accommodate or late check in, and were happy to hold our luggage past checkout.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    8.8
    the Hungaryan guys was nice Great guy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are not taken care everyday well..toilet papaer was missing we had to ask but perfect to sleep and stay to rest.beds are huge so me and my friend get 30 m2 room.huge,best for the price.Be carefull when you pay by card they will charge you fee when you get there but they dont say that at the page..18 percent card fee i think so i feel like monkeybusiness but if you at the frontdesk you will see there ..

    the Hungaryan guys was nice Great guy..Room was huge nice location.up the to road there was a nice restaurant with home made snaps and local beer.2,5 km from the center .we walked so it was ok.the view is AMAZING snowy mountans and Amazing Lands houses.The girls around are Beautifull so its more important too :)So the best Place for hiking and after take a rest ...Higly recomended we will back next summer.The buffet was supernice.nice so many selection you get fat if you cant control yourself.Anyway highly recomended ..

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    4.6
    Served only as a place to sleep, but it was nothing fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with or without a balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Considering the price we paid I was disappointed. The room we stayed in was crammed full of furniture. The bathroom was really outdated. Cheap toiletries. There really was way too much furniture in our room - we could barely move around the bed because of the enormous wardrobe.

    There is a wonderful restaurant at the end of the street for dinner or lunch. Nice big breakfast every morning. Close to Konigssee.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    8.8
    The interior design of the hotel is very European, and I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with or without a balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I hope that the hotel is able to provide detailed information about the bus to the Konigssee Lake.

    The interior design of the hotel is very European, and I like it very much. Breakfast buffet is very delicious and rich in variety.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    6.3
    The views were amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with or without a balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    the restaurant was closed. Maybe due to low season, but it was not flagged to us until arrival. Parking is "hidden" you can barely see the sign. The bed was cranky, it made a lot of noise.

    The views were amazing! It is worth waking soon and looking through the window

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    4.6
    Run down, Dirty and Highly Misleading Facilities information on Booking .com
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with or without a balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival I had to wait while the receptionist dealt very poorly with a genuine complaint from a guest which she would have to refer to her boss. (Her words). At this stage I am already wondering if I have made the wrong choice booking this hotel and I have not checked in yet. After checking in, it was suggest that I pay up front for a 3 night stay. Again not a good sign. I asked what time the restaurant opened and I am told it's not in use. I found the property extremely run down. The carpets throughout the hotel are filthy and there are stains in abundance in the hallways and my room. The bathroom sink was chipped and cracked and the hot and cold taps where reversed on the sink and the shower (an accident waiting to happen) which the management knew about when challenged. It took over a minute to get hot water to wash my hands. In the bathroom there were garlands of cobwebs which had clearly been there for some time. The hotel is noisy as you can here other guest in the adjacent and above rooms. When paying the bill I was charged extra for paying by credit card and a further 10 Euro per night for my dog. The management were not up front on this charge when I arrived, or provided any benefit for it. When challenged on this you guessed it I would need to speak to my boss, who is never around . There is a theme here which I have herd several times repeated over my stay. I could list more but there are other reviews that can tell you more which I wish I had read before booking. The photographs say it all.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.8
    Mountain views, traditional Bavarian experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with or without a balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location out of main town,(but a beautiful area),limited restaurant choices, need a car. Extra charge for balcony room not clear in booking info

    Good breakfast, superb views from balcony, traditional bavarian decor. Free public transport

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    5.8
    Rate it as: Fair. It's okay if, like us, you're there for breakfast and sleeping then out all day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The booking was wrong, completely, and we weren't the only guests with this issue. We heard at least four other families with similar booking issues, the rooms were not accurately described. For two adults and a child the room as stated would sleep 3, as long as everyone slept on one bed and didn't have any luggage (because there wasn't enough space to put two suitcases around the bed). Some of the staff were very courteous while others, while not rude, certainly weren't pleasant to work with. The dining and bar area were not accessible outside of breakfast, which would have been really nice.

    The location was very nice, short drive to several points of interest in the area. There was enough parking for the rooms each night although the lot was full. The breakfast area was really nice and service there was very good. We had an issue with the booking, the room that said it would sleep 3 had only 1 bed and no space for another. They did resolve the issue, and the man that we dealt with was courteous and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    6.3
    A person at the checking did not give us the room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 6-Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A person at the checking did not give us the room corresponding to the room we booked. When we pointed out that we want what we booked, he was rude – he did not give us what we booked, he did not apologize and even told us that we cannot expect to get the correct room because we booked at booking.com. He said that the hotel did not have the room we booked. My feeling is that the hotel should at least correct information at the booking system.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.1
    Nice stay, but avoid the small rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with or without a balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a room on the top floor that was rather small and cramped. As a result, there was limited floor space given the double bed and cupboard.

    Good location if you have a car. Just a few minutes drive from Königsee and close to the salt mines too. Clean room with good bedding/linen. Good breakfast with wide range of options.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.5
    The views were spectacular of the mountains!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with or without a balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not called a sport hotel for nothing! WiFi good, rooms clean,bathroom was up to date, food was good

    The views were spectacular of the mountains!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful scenery, quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with or without a balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no elevator so heavy luggage will need to be manhandled up the stairs.

    Quiet location with comfy bed, nice breakfast (-the warm bread rolls were WUNDERBAR!), friendly staff and the view from the balcony outside my room was fantastic! The restaurant (Gasthof Bodner) just nearby is highly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    6.3
    Nice location but bad service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with or without a balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds were incredibly squeaky; even moving my leg would make my bed make a sound loud enough to wake my partner (our bed was two twin beds pushed together). The hotel is fairly loud in the mornings as you can hear people above you walking around. Breakfast was fine, but as others have mentioned, the cereals are served in huge bowls that are left out overnight with just a plate over them (see attached photo taken in the evening). That didn't instill much confidence in food safety in us. We were also really put off by all the signs and rules on the front desk - almost as if the owner is very bitter. There was a sign prohibiting hand-washing clothes in the rooms with a monetary fine if caught. There was also a sign informing customers that if you pay by credit card, you have to pay a 1.8% and that Booking.com doesn't permit the hotel to post it because Booking.com does not want to be transparent with fees and doesn't want to disclose it's 12% commission. The whole thing left us feeling icky and not at all like we were on an enjoyable vacation. Finally, when we arrived (at the check-in time we stated we would when we booked), nobody was there. There was a sign on the desk stating she would be back two hours before our arrival time. We waited around for about 25 minutes before she came back.

    This was a fun place to stay because the downstairs restaurant/bar area is not in business, but the staff will sell guests bears to enjoy in the area. It's a great place to play games or chat . The furnishings were traditional Bavarian and very pretty. Parking is behind the building and very convenient. The hotel is not in the main hotel area, but there are two restaurants within walking distance. The balcony views are lovely!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    7.5
    Decent hotel for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with or without a balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check in only after 3 p.m. but if you arrive a bit early there is no one, not even possible to drop the luggage. Parking space was way too small.

    Decent hotel for the price. Breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    3.8
    Too expensive for what it is.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with or without a balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hair in breakfast platters, rooms are old and smell awful, no kettle or fridge, no air conditioning, parking was full, really tight and near impossible to park. Too expensive for what it is.

    Family atmosphere, great views, great location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.3
    Great location close to koenigsee.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At time of stay, village only had 1 restaurant serving many B and B’s. So evening meal was a challenge. Clear pricing, but should be discounts for longer stays.

    Great location close to koenigsee. Children appreciated super WiFi. Laundry service for reasonable price.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.1
    Very clean bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 6-Bed Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not possible to use WIFI, I guess limited number of users. No ventilation in WC. Bed matraces and pillows not comfortable.

    Very clean bathroom. Shower cabin wasn't leaking. Tasty cake on breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    6.7
    Breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with or without a balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    WLan was very bad, my smart phone (Windows phone) was connected to the WLan, but didn't internet connection. My wife was using android smart phone, only the web browser had internet connection, other apps her was using couldn't work with internet. I asked the hotel reception after the tourist info, like bus connection etc, but they didn't know. The hot water became very hot or cold during bathing.

    Breakfast was good. The room with balcony and view of mountain is little small but is Ok because of the big balcony.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    3.8
    The staff (reception) was not very service minded and barely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff (reception) was not very service minded and barely spoke German - and no English. The bed was horrible and the walls really thin, so you could hear virtually everything from the rest of the rooms. This is not supposed to be a budget hotel - if you consider the price - but it really seems like one.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    6.7
    Fantastic scenery and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with or without a balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was disappointed to have a room without a balcony especially as it was the same price as the one with a balcony.. The staff were ok - didn't seem that interested in us on our check- in.

    A fantastic view from the bedrooms., especially the one with a balcony.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    4.6
    This hotel is OK for one night or to but not for longer stay.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with or without a balcony
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was boring, the same every day. The boss and his wife were rude. We had to pay our bill one night before we went (Kl. 23 at night)! because he was affraid at we go without payment??? Beds are too old and uncomfortable. I will not recommend to anybody for longer stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    5.4
    Good location but poor value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with or without a balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very dark, couldn't get Wifi in our room, breakfast was basic and there were no TV channels in English. Also, it was quite expensive compared to other hotels we have stayed in so it was not good value for money!

    We liked the location and balcony.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    6.3
    Made the best of it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with or without a balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside parking limited if you come late-- no elevator, asked for adjoining rooms due to traveling with minors, could not accommodate, were on different floors, male proprietor gruff, small rooms, dirty carpet, no balcony,

    The view from the front room, laundry service within three hours, outside garden seating, hotel had umbrellas to use, female staff lovely and accommodating even though English was limited

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    8.8
    Family atmosphere, amazing views, location, typical Alpine...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with or without a balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family atmosphere, amazing views, location, typical Alpine building, typical rooms and furniture, good location for exploring Koenigssee and Berchtesgaden, prosecco for breakfast :-)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    What a View!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with or without a balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant is no longer open.

    The breakfast was great! We had great views out of the balcony (shared). Nice quiet location out of town a bit, great for us. The view out the balcony was absolutely awesome. The front desk person (forgot his name) was great to talk to, he treated us like royalty.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.8
    Pleasant stay. Host could do with some customer service training though!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with or without a balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Interaction with the host wasn't friendly or efficient. As such check in and check out was challenging.

    Stunning location with views of the mountains. Nice rooms. Plenty of parking. Good breakfast. Good restaurant nearby.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    10
    Cozy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with or without a balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi only had internet in the early morning hours when others users were sleeping.

    Very helpful staff, clean room, delicous breakfast prepared for us for takeaway. Cosy place in cold wet weather.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    7.5
    Glory from the past.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with or without a balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not run by locals but owned and run by eastern Europeans (nice men) but I go for Bavaria in Bavaria when booking in a traditional hotel. Had the feeling it had been top of the bill - King Hussein even stayed there - but now left to live for a few more years. Garden sets too old.

    Nice traditional room. Great view when you stand in front of the hotel towards the mountains. When you turn left and walk 5 minutes there is a great restaurant with a biergarten.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    6.3
    Personal was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with or without a balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room and thin walls - we could not sleep as we heard every word in our neighbour's room 😣 We missed the lift. Bteakfast started at 8 and waa crowded. We would prefer earlier time. Ivana+Vladimir

    Personal was very friendly. Balcony was a fine bonus.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    3.3
    Not worth it... careless staff, old and dirty rooms.... the location and view is nice at least
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    To start, the staff are a russian couple who didn't do a good job understanding the client should be on first place. I have politely complained that my bed sheets were not clean, instead of acknowledging the mistake with shame I was told they were clean and I was wrong..well,I was ready to leave the hotel and look somewhere else but since it was already paid and only one night I decided to stay. they later told me the bed sheets were replaced. Also, their restaurant within the hotel is non functional, apparently they didn't have enough staff and what they do is ask what do you want to eat and can order for you, for an extra fee if you prefer.

    The location for the Hotel was really nice for the views on to the mountains from the village

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel with incredible views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was closed and drinks were too expensive.

    The location is great. Close to everything in Berchtesgaden and with awesome landscapes in all directions.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    7.1
    Family stay near Königsee
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom key was missing. We booked 2 rooms and in one of the rooms, the bathroom door almost came out. Hotel needs some renovation

    Wonderful location. Königsee at walking distance even with small kids.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    8.8
    It was in a good position for hiking to the lake and it was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with or without a balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist could do better to be more welcoming

    It was in a good position for hiking to the lake and it was under ' Eagles Nest' wonderful scenery

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    10
    Lovely, beautiful hotel with great history
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with or without a balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is close to the road, so if you have a front facing window you'll hear the traffic early in the morning. Not much you can do about that ;)

    This beautiful older guesthouse was precious. Located in Schonau am Königsee, just minutes from Berchtesgaden I considered this a gem. Our rooms were very clean and pretty with views of the Alps ~ we walked to dinner in the town and there were little shops (little pricey) but sweet. Also, this was a perfect stop along our tour to Slovenia. The King of Jordan stayed here one time, check out the articles on the wall, pretty cool! Our beds were super comfortable and the breakfasts were GREAT! Lots of food and different options to choose from -

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    7.1
    A good hotel for a night or two.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with or without a balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is small and needs some refurbishing (toilet seat cover falling off, shower tube worn out, shower doors not fitting tightly). One standing light, the bulb was going off/on.

    It's overall an ok place, nothing very impressive, clean. Breakfast has a typical choice of cold food. Coffee was ok. There were families with toddlers like us (there are ikea high chairs for toddlers in the restaurant area) and people with their dogs. My kid got to play with quite some toys that were probably forgotten by previous visitors, so he was very happy to check out thst cupboard next to the reception once we were back to the hotel after a long day. Yes, the view over the mountains was spectacular.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    7.5
    A quaint little place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 6-Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints, except it would be good to have an elevator there if you have heavy suitcases to lug!

    A quaint little place. Old but very clean and comfortable. The staff was helpful, and we could help ourselves to hot water in the restaurant, which mattered to us because it was snowing heavily when we were there. There is a good restaurant nearby that served nice Bavarian food.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    10
    Perfect hotel within your budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with or without a balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Best receiption, best view of Alps from our room balcony, was like living in our dream. Had really good breakfast. The room has really nice antique interior. I will definitely book again if I visit next time. I recommend this hotel for one who likes to live close to nature with home comfort. The owner is kind enough to answer questions we had. The best hotel so far on our trip.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    5.0
    Location was great, we got the room with balcony and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with or without a balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything else wasn't impressive at all. Wifi was terrible if there was any at all, staff wasn't helpful and sometimes rude. Bathroom is very very small. And breakfast was bad - for 10 euros you at least expect to see something warm, but it was only boiled eggs, some ham and one type of a bread

    Location was great, we got the room with balcony and mountain view

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    2.9
    dog was allowed
    • With a pet
    • Family with young children
    • 6-Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was freezing cold when we arrived and it stayed fresh even after turning on the heat room was not made up after the first night, they just emptied the bin and changed part of the towels

    dog was allowed

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    10
    Great location with a mountain view .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with or without a balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location with a mountain view .Hotel stuff was also very nice and helpful. The small hotel itself has really cosy atmosphere in a traditional Bavarian style… with yummy breakfast 

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    7.9
    Location was great and hotel was very rustic German which we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with or without a balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was mostly family and the mother was awesome - but others were not as with it and customer focused

    Location was great and hotel was very rustic German which we love

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    6.3
    Pretty disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had to leave early because of the misinformation on booking.com. There was no wifi in our room, which was a big deal for this trip because my husband had work he needed to do online. The website also has misinformation about the rooms with balconies. There are apparently no double rooms with balconies. That was a big disappointment. We ended up going to a hotel down the street that was more like an apartment and had wifi. All of this isn't really the hotel's fault. They told us booking.com needs to update their information. However, the staff was not very helpful.

    The room was very clean and nice, just not exactly what we expected.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    10
    The best hotel at Königsee!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with or without a balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was the best service I ever had. Owners were so helpful and gave us a lot of advises where to go and how to see as much as we want. We felt like we were their good friends, but not like just hotel guests. All food at the breakfast was good and fresh. Also the balcony view was amazing. Really love this place, I'd like to come back there! By the way, hotel is very historical place with a great background!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    6.7
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with or without a balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little too rustic for my liking. Room was dark, uninviting, and felt very much like a patch up. WiFi was a struggle.

    Great breakfast. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: