Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Akzent Hotel Strandhalle This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Strandweg 2, 24837 Schleswig, Germany

#19 of 28 hotels in Schleswig

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 668 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Classic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only little inconvenience was that I asked for a double bed and instead they were 2 single beds put together that during the night seperated and one risked to fall. At least have a system to block the beds together. Otherwise a fantastic place to stay

    Fantastic breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room 135 was not at all acceptable. It was on the top floor, hot, and extremely smelly, like the carpet should have been replaced. It smelled of sweat and smoke. No air circulation. I changed to Room 105 on the main floor, however the window was left open by cleaning staff, and I had a ceiling full of mosquitos. When I got the bugs out the window, it necessitated that I keep the window closed, which left the room very hot, stuffy and uncomfortable.

    Breakfast was a nice offering. Coffee good. Serving staff friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Classic
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Ice cube compartment in the fridge was totally blocked wit ice and hence useless. The bathroom was not very cleverly designed. The room had two very large wardrobes but no bench to lay the suitcase on. At our arrival, the shampoo dispenser was empty, even though the room had just been made up. Bedside tables were quite dusty.

    Very nice staff in the restaurant. Breakfast was good, as was dinner. The room was not big, but had everything we needed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Basic
    • Stayed 1 night

    would have been nice to have a room with a water view :-)

    Expansive breakfast buffet with many choices. The staff were friendly and helpful to non German speakers. The restaurant for dinner served great fish, with views over the water. Old town and the water front is good for a stroll after a days driving.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room Comfort
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfriendly reception from the boss (said I should not have used booking.com to change reservation dates!!. ) No lift to upper floors or offer of help with heavy suitcase. Dinner tasty but service incredibly slow.

    Nice setting on river Schlei with view of the water. Good value mini-bar in room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Comfort with Water View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are so helpful and accommodating. The view from our balcony was lovely, so try and book a room with a balcony. The balcony was big enough to sit out. Wifi was free and fast. The breakfast was varied and replenished regularly. We ate 2 meals as well as breakfasts and thought the food very good and well priced. The help to the room with our bags (there is no lift, but the stairs have a good gradient & are wide) Easy walk 1 way to the Schloss and to the old town in the other.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room Comfort with Water View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is only 1 Scandinavian TV channel (the Danish channel DR1), and this channel is almost impossible to watch due to bad picture quality (same as last time we stayed here, some months ago). Please fix this before next time!! Not enough shelfes etc. in bathroom to put our toiletries. The room is maybe not the most modern one we have lived in, however we like the athmosphere indeed, as the rooms are both very comfortable and clean, and looks nice.

    Super location 5 minutes to walk from pedestrian street, very good free parking space outside the hotel. Nice clean room with balcony and beautiful fjord view with afternoon sun on the balcony. Good bed. Breakfast very good, coffee was super. This time we ate at the hotel restaurant in the evenings, with a very high restaurant standard to a reasonable price. We had the same table in the evenings, as our breakfast table, a very nice table with view with direction to the fjord. All staff very polite and helpful, both in restaurant and reception.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Comfort with Water View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad tv quality, the single Danish channel (DR1) was almost impossible to watch due to noisy picture quality. No water boiler in the room, not super modern furnished althugh newly painted and quite clean and nice room.

    Good parking conditions, location just 4 minutes to walk from pedestrian street, nice view to the fjord from hotel room. Very Nice balcony. Enough space in room, two comfortable rest chairs and table between, comfortable bed, two duvets, electricity easy available above bed tables and elsewhere. Enough closet space, safe and minibar. Enough storage space in bath room. 2 beer glasses and 2 wine glasses + 1 bottle of water for free. Polite and friendly staff. Coffee at breakfast very good. Bacon, sausages and scrambled eggs tasted quite good, although average bread. Cosy breakfast restaurant with good chairs. Good value for money.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Classic
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was really dirty and full of dust. Hairs from the previous renters were all over the place. When notifying the reception they told us that they would fix this but instead they cleaned one additional desk instead of the whole room.

    Staff was very friendly

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Classic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a little outdated. Bad pillows. Limited English support, especially in restaurant.

    Location, view, restaurant good, including great breakfast selection.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room Basic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better pillows. Not comfortable.

    The breakfast was one of the best of all the hotels on our trip. You provided a huge variety of interesting options.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities are rather dated, particularly the plumbing. Our bathroom had a very small bath with hand-held shower (no wall bracket) and a tiny shower curtain. Impossible to have a proper shower without drenching the floor.

    Brilliant location right on the waterside.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Comfort with Water View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View, breakfast, parking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Comfort with Water View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy, because outside there was a reunion of model boat owners.

    Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Classic
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were all very helpful and the meals were very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room Basic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, friendly staff and nice breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Central position overlooking the Schlei

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Classic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff reminded me of a certain fictional hotel in Torquay.

    Fantastic setting, on the fiord, near the old town.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Classic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows too soft

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room Comfort
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast.

    The staff was awesome. In the morning I had a problem with my handy and she helped me with my provider.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Everything was excelkent

    A wonderful hotel with friendly helpful staff spoke excellent English and attended to my dietary needs Excellent location Would recommend to anyone

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Very nice room that looked recently renovated. The water view was nice. The breakfast was good. The location is relatively close to the main places. Greek parking. Good Internett. The restaurant for was good and there is nice outdoor dinning.

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A lift would be handy, but that's as drastic as it gets!

    The hotel's location is unparalleled, right on an inlet of the Schlei. The rooms were cozy, immaculately clean and the staff beyond helpful - special note must be made of receptionist Herr Brande, who made my journey home just a bit easier with pre-booking train tickets for me, as I don't speak German. Food was fabulously good (the best seafood tagliatelle I have tasted in many's a year and good hearty breakfasts). Make sure you try the rote grutze ( a fruity compote with ice cream) and don;t miss a nice glass of Flensberger Pilsner as a treat with whatever meal choice you order - you won't be disappointed. WiFi was excellent, and free.This isn;t a luxe hotel of the sort nouveau riche enjoy, it;s more of a genteel home from home which has nothing to prove, as it already has charm in abundance, excellent chefs and staff and knows how to represent the hospitality of its town to the max. The Strandhalle is, in short, a cozy jewel of a place

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nice location, the staff was quite helpfull in all matters, good breakfast, they had prepared a baby chair for our granddaughter and baby cutlery and glas.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It's an older property with a great location. But the property is in dire need of renovation. Rooms, beds, tvs... Old and worn. But for one night, on the water, it's ok.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No elevator Bed uncomfortable Incorrect heights of facilities in bathroom causes discomfort

    Breakfast The view from the room Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very dog-friendly hotel. First time ever that I could bring my dog with me in the breakfast room.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    too much noice

    Situated close to habor and sea

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location.Good choice at breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Helpful and friendly staff, nice room with balcony and sea view. Excellent dinner restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Helpful staff, good food in restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food OK

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

Browse Akzent Hotel Strandhalle traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: