Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Stumbergers Hotel 3 stars

Sehler Anlagen 29, 56812 Cochem, Germany

#11 of 32 hotels in Cochem

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 368 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 67

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were given a choice of rooms. Chose a room with views of the river and the castle and a large balcony. Lovely to sit and watch the river boats. Excellent value for money, nice breakfast. Would stay here again if we visit Cochem.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is very good. Value for money is good. If you don't drive, it takes a nice 15-20 minutes walk along the river to the train station. If you drive, it is perfect location not being in too central location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, our stay was pretty much perfect.

    Our room had a balcony overlooking the river and a view of the castle, it was very comfortable and clean. The staff was great and very attentive. The breakfast spread was very complete and lots of homemade goodies. Will certainly return and stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owner was snarky and rude, very unaccommodating. Not child-friendly. I was told at check-in, after not being greeted at all, that I should've known that there were no cribs available, it says it right on the website. It did not and booking.com failed us then by offering hotels that matched our requests of crib. Why even put in the info about children's ages and needs if you'll offer hotels that specifically aren't child-friendly. Also, the rate we were quoted stated that breakfast was included in the price, but we were charged for it at check-out. I didn't fight it because I just wanted to get out of there asap.

    The eggs at breakfast were quite delicious and the view from the breakfast room was lovely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Three was no one to greet us at check in. You put a code in and the key drops out and you have to find your room by yourself. no one there to give you information on when breakfast is served Etc. The photos also make the rooms appear bigger than they are.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very nice and helpful. The hotel and room were very clean. The food was very good and plentiful. Great location. I would recommend this place to my friends.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    Wonderful breakfast! We had a view of Cochem Castle from our room, as well as the river and vineyards along the river. Staff was friendly and provided tips on what to do in the area (we were there for the weinfest). Free parking with plenty of spaces and good wifi. Short walk to the heart of Cochem, could be reached by bike or bus as well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location right at a roundabout (on the other hand - easy of reach). Distant from the Cochem centre.

    Rich breakfast and attending staff. Keys easy to obtain after hours (code and a box) - it worked well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wi-fi signal was too weak to cover the separate building where we stayed.

    Very nice and clean hotel within walking distance to Cochem town. We stayed one night in the family room situated in a quite picturesque building separate from the main building. It was very spacious and clean. Beds were comfortable. The location of the hotel was very convenient when travelling by car.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had awesome rooms with views of the river. Walking distance to town. Breakfast very good. Service outstanding. Enjoyed the "beer garden" for a refreshing drink when we arrived. Need I say more?

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very hot. The accommodations did not have air conditioning or a fan. You could open the windows but at times it was still kind of miserable. It is about a mile and a half to this location. Take a taxi with all your luggage. If not it can be an uncomfortable walk.

    The owner was very sweet. The food was awesome. Cochem castle was awesome. The nights are quiet and scenic with the river there. The castle there and the scenic river walk.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely hotel next to the river with plenty of parking Just a stroll into town Our room had a view of the castle also The restaurant was really good and its possible to eat outside on the terrace if the weather is good Many meals included a salad bar. Highly recommended

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would be nice to have an elevator to guest rooms.

    The hotel was not in the town center, but a short (20 min) walk away. It was quiet, with lovely views. The host/manager was extremely efficient and the staff most accommodating. Rooms and public facilities were very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. Our one night stay was quite pleasant. The hotel is not luxurious, but certainly everything a traveler/guest needs. We highly recommend it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Weather was quite warm. without A/C one needs to open windows at night thus suffering from traffic noise since Hotel situated along a major road.

    Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a popular restaurant so very busy in the evening as a result it was quite noisy. .

    Great location by the River Danube and a mere 5 mins into town. Room was large and airy and very nicely laid out. Breakfast was good with good choice of cold continental food. Dinner the night before was excellent and great choice. There was even an English menu and local wine was good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no shampoo nor soap the second day. The bedsheets could be a bit cleaner.

    Very nice staff. Good breakfast. Good location. Nice view. Private parking.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    Excellent service. I was surprised with the breakfast, it had several options and it was very good. Great view to the castle. I had a big room for my family of 4.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were a bit big and uncomfortable but that's a small thing. We would return.

    Location and staff were absolutely spot on. We loved we could have a beer straight away after a VERY hot journey on a motorbike and the views from our room overlooking the river were gorgeous. Breakfast was gorgeous too.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed our stay so much we booked another night for our return visit home. Clean, comfortable, great breakfast and good restaurant. Friendly staff. And the bonus of our 80 year old vintage car under cover!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a shame the restaurant was closed on a Tuesday. This could be clearer at time of booking as we would have ate there.

    The staff are very friendly and helpful, the room was great and very clean

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet location a short walk into Cochem. Shower was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and very comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable bed, great food and wine selection. Very quiet road in front of the building. The balcony overlooked the river and Reichsburg Castle.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff and the owner remembered us from last time (we have stayed 3 times before) food is excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    NA

    Friendly staff, good size room, and quiet as it's a little removed from the center of town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bit of a hike to the town centre

    Very nice hotel, great food in restaurant, good breakfast and the view from the balcony is brilliant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely so clean food faboulas position of hotel beautiful would stay again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean hotel and rooms, comfortable bed, easy walk to town, views of Mosel and castle, staff were lovely, good breakfast, easy and free parking

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very friendly and excellent Service !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everthing was good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Clean and efficient, excellent host

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower

    The room was very clean

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent view of the river and castle.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We needed to boil water in our room and we didnt have anything to do it

    Good breakfast. The view was amazing and the staff very helpfull

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great friebdly stafg

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff. Catered to my needs as I'm a coeliac.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was fairly tiny and the shower was small.

    Spacious room and amazing views

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was excellent. Staff was very helpful. Parking was free.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no fridge in room.

    Breakfast room with panorama window. Clean tidy. Friendly staff, free parking.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location excellent, room good size and clean with large balcony overlooking the Mosel. Bier garden food very good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was excellent. I have not eaten any breakfast that could rival it anywhere else. The staff was very nice and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor internet.

    Warm host and good location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    stayed here before and it was the same as then......EXCELLENT....

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I missed a refrigirator in the room.

    We enjoyed very much the quality of the dinners.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A super good view to the castel in Cochem.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The heater next to the bed would had better change to other side or the wood on it may deteriorate very soon.

    The hosts are very nice and helpful, and the breakfast is fresh and plentiful. We do have a comfortable stay there.

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    30-minutes of free WiFi, en had to purchase 24-hr pass for 3€ -- which was hard to do because you had to go online to confirm email address! But if you already used up yr free 30 minutes, as I had, you'll have to do like me: drive around until you can find another hotel with free WiFi and no password so you can get online to confirm.

    View out my window of Cochem Castle and the Mosel River. Very nice owners/staff with great service and food. ONLY problem was WiFi

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The wifi signal was very weak outside of the dining room, and non-existent in the apartment. The rooms were a good value and we enjoyed our stay. Just an FYI, this location is outside the main part of town, slightly away from the main area of shops and restaurants, but there is a café nearby and a full restaurant on-site.

    The rooms were clean and comfortable, and felt up-to-date. Two of us stayed in the apartment in the separate building behind the main gasthaus. It was roomy and comfortable. We would stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We stayed in the cottage suite behind the main building. Some people might be bothered that the wifi didn't reach out to the cottage but we were fine and welcomed inside anytime for wifi. (It actually reached to our door).

    The owner was very attentive even at the buffet breakfast. We were in the cottage behind and it was a nice suite for us with a view of the castle! We liked that we were a little ways away from the bustle of central Cochem, an easy enough walk and there's a city bus right in front if needed.

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is our second stay in two years and it did not disappoint. The hotel is conveniently situated beside the Mosel just outside the town. The terrace bar is a lovely place to enjoy a beer and a lovely view of Cochem castle.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice location at side of the river. Clean colourful and well kept hotel. Excellent restaurant with plenty of free parking. Room was spacious, comfortable and clean.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No elevator and rooms were on the upper floors.

    Within walking distance of town at a reasonable cost in a very tourist based and charming old world town. Parking was free and ample for the vehicle.

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    30 minutes of free wifi.

    View of Moselle River. Spacious bedroom and huge bathroom. Excellent breakfast with smoked salmon and raw nuts not seen in other hotels.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was no breakfast on my first morning there (Tuesday). The thirty minutes of free Wi-Fi seemed out of place amongst the other amenities of the hotel.

    The staff was excellent and the breakfast buffet was above average.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    On a busy road

    Extremely helpful and friendly staff Location overlooking river and Cochem

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Was very friendly staffs and clean hotel

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We have visited this hotel before. The staff are very freindly and the rooms are excellent.

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No wifi.

    A wonderful hotel, very secure, with a great view of the Mosel. A bit of a walk to Cochem for restos.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    None

    Clean comfortable single room with large bed. Excellent breakfast choice

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No WiFI Added breakfast price for the little kid - 3 years old

    Very big room with nice & clean private bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Spacious room excellent breakfast very good value

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    floorboards squeaking every time you walked about. felt sorry for those below us.

    good breakfast nice area.

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quite a walk into the centre of town. Road noise

    Located overlooking river. Good restaurant with choice of outdoor tables. Clean Friendly

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small bathroom

    Big corner balcony

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We enjoyed our stay very much , and would not hesitate to come again , everything was to our liking . 10/10

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 67

Guests also reviewed these properties: