Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Tandreas This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Licherstrasse 55, 35394 Gießen, Germany

#3 of 15 hotels in Gießen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 325 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small parking inside

    Very good unespected restaurent. Perfect service specially at the restaurant a young man called Farid having good contact with all customers giving very good advices.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were too soft for me so my head sank down too much. If you like more support under your head then you need to double up.

    The hotel was in a nice location and the rooms were a nice size. The staff was friendly and responded quickly when we needed help.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were unable to gain access to the hotel in the evening with our room cards as they wouldn't open the doors which they should have done. On Sunday the restaurant was closed which was a surprise. Breakfast was excellent as was the one evening meal we had there. The staff were very pleasant and most had very good English. The room was very nice but had no aircon and it did get warm at night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was in room 105,next to the kitchen, above the employees break area and smoking area.Could not open the windows due to smoke. Noisy trash canes all night. My wife and I Couldn't not sleep. Terrible experience.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Well trained and friendly staff. Very good restaurant with high quality dishes, including seasonal specialities. Very well located just outside the city centre. Breakfast with tasty stuff and nice atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice small hotel with excellent restaurant always friendly and helpful staff. Across from it is located Giessen's 'Old Cemetery' (Alter Friedhof) which is more like a large park and well worth a stroll. Conrad Roentgern's grave is there. He was a professor at Giessen's University

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were in Giessen to attend a concert and although the room was not air conditioned and it was a very hot 35c, the room was very comfortable, the location to the town and train station was an easy walk, plenty buses too. Breakfast was excellent and staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We are from the US and are used to top and bottom sheets..

    The staff were very helpful and very friendly and everyone spoke English. The entire facility was spotless and modern. Private Parking inside close to the elevator was a bones. The restaurant was wonderful for dinner and breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No internet acces due to other users. I was told to try after midnight. Not good after been awake since 06.30 and spend 11 hours in a car driving more than 1000 km.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff and cleanliness

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi

    The restaurant

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Large room beautifully decorated .Excellent breakfast and very pleasant staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very friendly and breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking situation is a little challanging

    Good breakfast, large room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be nice to have tea and coffee facilities in the room

    Small, friendly hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing we found ...

    I was surprised positively - very nice Hotel!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    need a/c in the rooms

    very clean hotel and friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly, helpful staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking space. The dinner was very good exept it was in a hurry.

    It is a good hotel for a stop over.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit more light in the bathroom around the mirror

    Grat Choice for breakfast, dinner and on the bar

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All great. but Wifi connection is not good

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No AC, made the room very warm and stuffy

    Great breakfast!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    for the weather, air conditioning would have helped us sleep better. We opened the window, but that let in the traffic noise.

    Hotel was unique, nicely designed and furnished; nice patio and room balcony. Breakfast was outstanding - variety, tastes and display. Good location outside Frankfort with reasonable drive to the airport.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It would be great if the restaurant opened on Sunday, but everyone needs a day off!

    The hotel is lovely, the breakfast is fabulous and the restaurant is excellent for dinner.

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Staffs are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are little old, no aircon. in the room, they bought us a fan. Room equipment are not well placed. WIFI is not working well everywhere. Restaurant is expensive respect what we have ordered. It is not a real 4 star hotel, but in Giessen there is not so many choice, so this one could be ok.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The noise from the street made it difficult to get a good night's sleep, even with all the windows closed. The side of the hotel the 'Liebig Suite' is located is on the side of the busy street, the noise from the cars driving by was loud.

    Staff was nice and helpful. Liebig Suite is spacious with a big bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We were able to book this hotel on our way from Berlin, the day before our flight home from Frankfurt. Our rooms were ready and check in was easy, even at 10:30 pm. The breakfast was fantastic, large assortment of food from hard rolls with meat and cheese to eggs, fruit juice and yoghurt, something for everyone in our group of five.

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I informed the hotel manager at the reception upon my arrival, that I was travelling alone and therefore did'nt need the 2 bed room I had reserved. So far so good. To my suprise they charged me upon checkout twice for breakfast. Asking for an explanation the lady at the front desk informed me the reason beeing was that I had originally booked a 2 bed room.

    The friendly service at the hotel bar in the late evening.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The Wifi connection is of very poor quality. You can hear clearly what is happening in the upper floor.

    Huge breakfast with very fresh food. Delicious

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Thanks for the free WIFI. But in the (quiet) room at the very back of the hotel the internet connection is a little poor and slow.

    Overall very good with special thanks to the "Chef" and to Mrs Schneider who has been very kind and helpful. A place where to stay and return to!

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi almost non-existing :-(

    The staff and the restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No gym facilities unfortunately, a bit far from city centre

    Beautiful hotel, great kitchen and friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Continental breakfast was the best. Room very comfortable and a great location for the university.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No pool, no gym

    Food

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Excellent staff and location! Restaurant was superb! We will stay there again next year!!

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi was a pain

    Clean, spacious and a wonderful staff.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff were very helpful and friendly. Great breakfasts. Lovely balcony that caught the sun all day - pity it is on a busy road.

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Very clean free parking and and comfortable hotel

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Long walk to the city centre

    Great suite all in all

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    NO COFFEE IN ROOM

    MODERN DECOR

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Guests also reviewed these properties: