Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Tempelhof - City-Messe-Arena

Tempel Str. 22, Deutz, 50679 Cologne, Germany

#38 of 40 B&Bs and Inns in Cologne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 321 hotel reviews

5.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    4.4

  • Comfort

    4.4

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    4.5

  • Staff

    5.4

  • Value for money

    5.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 33

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    Cheap, clean, friendly place that exceeded my expectations given the other reviews on this site.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lots of steps up to the room. The shower was missing one of the doors, though there's a drain in the bathroom so maybe it's meant to be like that? The beds, room size and breakfast selection was fine for a hotel of this size and price, but you'd get better at a premium place. I was perfectly happy with what I had and would stay here again for the entirety of a week-long visit. Wifi struggled when I was uploading pictures larger than a MB or so. But it did the job.

    Changed my booking to only be for one night based on negative reviews on this site. Out of curiosity I still wanted to visit (How can a place be as bad as the reviews claim it is?) and when I arrived I found a friendly, clean place seemingly run by just 2 busy people. I checked in a little early, but that wasn't a problem- got to see my room being mopped before I settled in. Breakfast is included for free with a modest selection of cereals, drinks and bread. The other place I stayed was absolutely fine as well, but this one had a larger room, an extra bed, was cheaper and included breakfast. Wish I had stayed here for the whole of my stay and will be considering it for the whole of my trip next year.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    2.9
    Awful, not a hotel level, I am very unsatisfied, I do not recommend it!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There was no bed as showed in the photos, only a mattress put on a podium made from same material as the floor on which slithered continuous! The curtain was come off. The shower holder was broken. Cleaning was poor. There was a dirty blouse in the wardrobe. The water cattle was dirty inside. The rolls at breakfast were unbaked (made from frozen rolls). I must pay also the City tax, however I complete the form for tax free and I paid with business card. The man at reception doesn't speak and understand nor German nor English language. He simply change the price to be the same as with City tax, even if I told him that I am not the first time in this city for business purpose and I know the rules. He do not know!

    Not fare from public transport. Quiet area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    6.3
    Quiet location not far from the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cleanliness was lacking. The hotel did not have a vacuum cleaner , the lady only used a dry mop so the floor was not clean. Run by chinese staff so communication is difficult with the clean staff. Breakfast was Okay with a limited variety and limited quantity. No quality in bed /Bath linen and the fittings

    Quiet location not far from the train station. Large room with simple amenities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    2.5
    Don't book this dirty hotel
    • Couple
    • Submitted via mobile

    Total room was dirty and not clean. So far the most worst hotel I know. The food the offer is all from micro wave. Old rooms. And totally not friendly staff.

    The time to check out

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.5
    No frills but adequate and close to city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were 2 shower heads but only the small one worked. Water was lukewarm in the afternoon but hot in the morning. No one about when checking out at 7.3oam the next morning and reception phone went to automated message so had to leave key in room

    Great location, just over the river from the city centre. Room was basic but adequate. The room had a fridge and a kettle which was great. Burger restaurant directly opposite. Small supermarket a 5 min walk away and a small basic shop very close by.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    5.8
    Location close to Messe/Deutz station and supermarkets,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast starts at 8am and coffee was available only at 8:15am. A bit late in my opinion! The hotel has to be renovated.

    Location close to Messe/Deutz station and supermarkets, restaurants close by! Wifi was good! The price was fair!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    4.2
    Over Priced
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast not until 8.00am - for Business Travelers....! Room very basic, shower not working, no shower soaps/shampoo etc No bathmat etc

    Location only.....

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    4.2
    The location is the only good point of this hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely everything else. First the breakfast, the breads and buns in breakfast was not fresh. When asked for fresh ones they heat the breads and provide it. Next is about room cleaning. They had done it like once in 3 days and had to ask the person to do it. I would not suggest this for people who would want to stay for more than couple of days.

    The location is the only good point of this hotel. Very close to local transportation or long distance train.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    4.2
    Did not like it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel didn’t look clean at all, you could see stains in the bathroom and the smell in general wasn’t nice. The cleaning lady was quite rude, she woke us up at 9 in the morning knocking at the door and yelling thinking that we were meant to check out that day (which for sure she should have checked). We tried going for our breakfast but the restaurant was closed! I would definitely not recommend the place.

    It was easily accessible.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    5.0
    ______________
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was s basic it had mattress laid on and base that was built from one side to the other looked like a stage curtains hanging off television no signal breakfast was just ok had to ask for bread items out of date

    Close to koln messe

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    2.5
    Worst hotel in world please dont book this hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Every one who are looking this hotel please dont book stay on road side but dont book this hotel I have a very bad exprience with this hotel ........I am from dubai uae.

    I have very worst exprience in this hotel I wants to inform all who are looking for this hotel please please dont book this hotel they dont have any staff,room are very dirty brakfast is worst.wifi is not working.... I CAN SAYS THIS IS WORST HOTEL PLEASE DONT BOOK ANY HOW....

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    2.9
    BLACK HOLE OF CALCUTTA
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Arrival was met at reception with a Chinese gentlemen who could not speak English!! In fact the whole hotel(wrong description for this place) is run by Chinese with very little English!! My room was on the 3rd floor anyone with any disability will have difficulty accessing the rooms. I opened the door to be met by a sparse and wretched room. The bed was no more than a wooden pallet with a flannelette base sheet and a duvet the bedding was clean. On the bed were two towels that I would not use to wipe my dog with, they were grey and grubby, asking for replacements was impossible to convey to reception due to lack of English. Switch on the TV which did not work no signal, have a cup of tea or coffee with advertised facilities, no milk no sugar no coffee or tea and the kettle was a mission to boil as it had a faulty on off switch!! The room to be fair was warm!! the furniture was way past its sell buy date and the general condition of the room dismal and depressive. Now we move to breakfast which was served at 8.00am, I was at reception at 7.50 and the door to the hotel was closed at 753 this Chinese came out of the rooms she looked like she had crawled out of bed in a grubby grey tracksuit and passed me with a grunt.!! I sat at a table and waited for her to prepare out culinary delights. while these were being prepared I viewed the selection of cereals all of which were old and stale, the bread at the side of the toaster was also old and not fresh, however 4 rolls were later brought to the buffet table. The fruit bowel had perished fruit, the bananas were rotten. The girl brought Yogurts and placed in a small fridge, I selected one to find that they were 3 days out of date I made this aware but they were still left there for some other unsuspecting customer. next was the meat platter which was minimal for all to share and honestly one would have had to be adventurous to sample it. To be fair the boiled egg although hard was tasty on toast!!!

    absolutely nothing if this is what booking.com recommend then I will never recommend you to any of my working colleagues

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    8.3
    I got what I expected for the price. I will likely come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    German / English barely spoken Breakfast acceptable but not what I would call a hotel breakfast. As I didn't expect much considering the price I paid I was satisfied.

    50€ for a night in a hotel in Cologne on a Saturday night, booked last minute, located 10 minutes walk from Deutz Station and 5 Minutes walk from Suevenstrasse including breakfast is a very good price!! The cleaningness of the room was good enough. I would recommend this hotel for people who just need a place to sleep and shower.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    6.7
    Proximity to the trade Show is excellent
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very Basic, but to stay there for a trade Show is ok...

    Proximity to the trade Show is excellent Also very Close to Restaurants or bars Easy to get to cologne centre by tram or foot (in the spring or summer :-) )

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    5.8
    Simple and well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was asked when was my check-out after the first night and also had the room door opened by the room service while sleeping in the first morning there.

    Comfortable bed, a good variety of food for breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    2.9
    Dirty room with makeshift bed on a platform - not what I expect for €170/night
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Floors dirty, cobwebs on ceilings, shower head broken - smell of Chinese food from owners downstairs / noise from other rooms very loud. Room is worth €15 night abs a hostel - disgustingly for the €170 price just because there is an exhibition in town

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    2.5
    Very bad
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    5.0
    Towels were too old.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Towels, Bed and Breakfast

    Towels were too old. Two single beds not properly joined together for a couple

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Had a great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely loved the room, the staff were great and the amenities in the room were just great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    4.6
    Great city poor hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty room pillow cases filthy ,had a kettle no tea coffee ECT, no hot breakfast no bread for toast very poor for b and b .

    Not far from center !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    4.6
    Not very pleasent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleaness was not so good and electrical materials (TV or Satelite) i had to plug in the electrical connections.

    The Location was fine.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.5
    All very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All very good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    3.8
    Wouldn’t stay a second night
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelled like cigarettes, the building looked gross, the garage door was open all night, noisy, way too expensive for what I got.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    6.3
    less paid hence okay .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no lift

    no lift ..average room facilities ..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    3.8
    Booking.com must balcklist this property as soon as possible
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very non-cooperative

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    Simple, friendly, affordable stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet connection very poor. Not adequate for doing work.

    Value for money. Nice view of Cathedral. No hassle.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    4.6
    Unfriendly staff. No room service. No clean towel change.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Nothing about this place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.9
    The location was right for the purpose of my stay
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kettle but not tea or coffee

    The location was right for the purpose of my stay

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    7.9
    Simple for an overnight stay if visiting LANXESS Arena area of Cologne.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small rooms with tiny TV.

    Apart from the reception area the rooms and breakfast area were very clean. Conveniently situated for LANXESS Arena.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    2.5
    will never opt for this place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    staying at this place

    will never opt for this place

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    4.2
    The worst place I have ever been...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything

    Nothing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    9.2
    i sted at this property be ford much better now lots of work...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i sted at this property be ford much better now lots of work done.on it

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    7.5
    Good price/ quality
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little dusty. Breakfast ends at 10 pm sharp. A little noisy

    Nice rooms and good beds. Good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 33

Browse Hotel Tempelhof - City-Messe-Arena traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: