Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Terminus am Hauptbahnhof This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Steindamm 5, St. Georg, 20099 Hamburg, Germany

#166 of 323 hotels in Hamburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1856 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.3
    Good Location, Great Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loud mornings.

    Wonderful location just minutes walk from the main train station. The public transit was easy to understand and the staff at Terminus was very helpful and professional. The surrounding area was bustling with many people which was exciting at times but a little annoying in the early mornings. The city of Hamburg is interesting to say the list and is a must see when in Germany!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.6
    The room was comfortable and quiet, despite being 300m from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom/Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was comfortable and quiet, despite being 300m from the central train station in a busy street. The staff are very friendly and helpful . I was confused by many other reviews saying the lift stopped between floors - I worried it would break down!!! It simply stops on the landing of the staircase between floors so you walk a half flight of stairs - no effort at all. I would certainly stay here again for comfort, friendliness , convenience and value for money

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Great Little hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice and helpful staff! Can’t praise them enough. Storing luggage the departure day, no problem. Clean room and hotel. Close to the central station. Small hotel, which I personally like, and normal breakfast. We were two parents and two kids 8 and 11. Everyone enjoyed it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.6
    The staff was really kind and all the mentioned amenities...
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was really kind and all the mentioned amenities were provided. The twin room was clean and cozy. The location is a big plus for those passing Hamburg and in need of an overnight stay, because it is located just across from the main railway and bus station. It is a small hotel, with a narrow entrance and therefore a bit harder to spot, but it is really worth the stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.9
    Nicer inside
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The station area isn't the nicest, but it was convenient.

    Hotel was much better on the inside than the outside. Clean, comfortable room, big bathroom. Close to the station.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.9
    Convenient and comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cracked sink in my room. A few more English TV channels and News would be nice. Apart from this all was good

    Convenient location, right by the main railway station. The room was comfortable and a good size. Ideal for my business trip. Will look to book again when i come to Hamburg. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable and convenient place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a problem, but note that the hotel has no ground floor and reception is one level up from the street. Can be a little hard to find.

    Very close to central trainstation and thus convenient to reach other parts of the city. Very friendly and obliging staff/reception. Nice breakfast and good scrambled eggs. We asked for two rooms close together and were given two rooms that were together and with their own little section of hallway separate from any others, so was almost as if they were connecting which was really convenient. Quiet rooms despite being in the city, and comfortable beds. Small bathrooms but all in good order.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.5
    Friendly staff and close to Hauptbahnhof if U travel with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside temperature was +32'c and no air condition in the room. Was a bit hot to sleep.

    Friendly staff and close to Hauptbahnhof if U travel with train.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    6.7
    Great wifi, poor lift, grimy location, but nice staff. It'll do for a day exploring Hamburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom/Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift us atrocious, always stopping at level 1, no matter your direction. The location is handy but a bit grimy. The breakfast bread was stale

    The Wi-Fi coverage was excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.6
    A nice place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entrance looked shabby, but once you get to reception it is very nice. No air conditioning. Noisy at night.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms clean and spacious. Very good location. Buffet breakfast very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    5.8
    OK for staff + room, not OK as far as common spaces are concerned
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom/Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty wc. On both days. Because of dirty clients. Almost impossible to sleep with an opened, because the street is quite noisy at night.

    Nice staff and breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    Excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift does not go to each floor. Luggage needs to be carried a dozen or so steps up or down from each landing so a small problem for large luggage. Immediate surrounding area was untidy, crowded and noisy but felt safe.

    Friendly and professional staff. Business like but warm and welcoming. Room was very comfortable and bed excellent. Breakfast was very good. Location excellent for train travellers.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing experience considering geographical location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Elevator access was sub-standard and did not go to our room on level 2, luggage had to be carried between floors, small hotel room, poor external appearance from street level and very noisy

    Handy location close to train and main shopping precinct

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    5.0
    Would not recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fittings in bathroom loose and broken. Very very hot room. Very expensive for what you got. Poor breakfast and expensivr for what we got. Outllok from window scruffy.

    Friendly reception.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.5
    Stayed for only a night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The area did not feel safe. I saw people throwing bottles around outside close to the metro. There is a doner place just next to the entrance of the hotel with customers at night, that gives a bit secure feeling. The room is old, has to be renovated in general.

    Stayed for only a night. Good for commuters or a short stay for this price but would not recommend for families. Very close to the central station. The bed was comfortable, clean sheets. The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.9
    The hotel is very close from the central station, metro, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Someone came into my room by mistake and he used the his room key. I think all costomers use same key and I think it is not safe

    The hotel is very close from the central station, metro, and bus terminal. You can get everything close by, there is a supermarket, so many restaurants, bank, ATMS, and coffe shops, too. The location is amazing and the staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    Got the essentials right for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is in a good location, 3 min walk from the Central station ( which was great since we arrived in rain at night). The neighborhood is "train- stationy" (if that's not an adjective it should be). We walked to the Rathaus, opera house, ferry boat terminal etc. Dont expect trendy updated decor...but we didn't mind at all because our room was spic-n-span clean and the staff couldn't have been nicer.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    A good choice for a short stay in Hamburg
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom/Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location close to the railway station has its downsides, there are a lot of strange people in that part of the city.

    This hotel far exceeded my expectations. I had a single room with a shared bathroom. It was clean and cosy. The shared bathroom was always clean as well. The hotel is 2 minutes walk from the railway station, there are a lot of shops and restaurants all around. The guys working at the reception were really nice, always smiling, I felt welcome at the hotel. I do not think that in that location and for that price, I could find a better hotel. I would definitely like to stay there again when back to Hamburg.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.5
    Friendly staff, good breakfast, spotlessly clean.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con so had to open windows to cool the room down. The street below was very noisy so our sleep was often interrupted.

    Friendly staff, good breakfast, spotlessly clean. Close proximity to station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location if getting an early train.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom/Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only there for short time so can't say. Also the lift doesn't seem to stop on the floor you want which means lugging bags downstairs or up.

    Didn't arrive until midnight and they were totally OK with that and up graded my room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    A two minute walk from the station to a kind staff, comfortable room and a terrific breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    At first glance the one block area immediately surrounding the hotel's entrance appears a little rough around the edges, but the folks who frequent and run the markets, shops and restaurants are harmless, friendly and appreciate the trade of visitors to the city.

    Staff is outstanding, breakfast delicious and an excellent value, and the rooms met our needs in every way except one: ours lacked air conditioning, which was unfortunate, given that our visit took place during an unusually warm week. The hotel's proximity to the terminal and to the sidewalk cafes in the hotels adjacent to the station, and to the wealth of restaurants in the surrounding neighborhood help to make the Terminus an excellent choice for vacationers.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.5
    Very good and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was okay. The only minus: the water in sink and shower did was stuck and almost pooped over.

    Very good and helpful staff. They helped out with printing a train ticket I forgot to print myself, and saved my day 👌🏼😃 Also: the breakfast was very good!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.3
    excellent hotel excellent location excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    absolutely superb , arrived early and the staff made sure we were in our room asap , really friendly staff and very helpful and cheerful , could not fault the hotel at all

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.6
    Location is great for city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The street was scary cause of homeless people but they don’t bother tough.

    Location is great for city center. So close to central bus and train stations.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    4.6
    Just stay somewhere else
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weird mouldy smell, the room was unbearably hot, noise insulation was poor. And do remember to lock your door ( I was woken up by someone rattling my door twice during the night).

    It was close to the station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.5
    Capital "V" Value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom/Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All staff helpful friendly and had "can do" attitude. Breakfast phenomenal at price, and easily better than eating out. Excellent location for all types of public transport.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Great Place to Stay Near Central Station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom/Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at reception was welcoming and enthusiastic - provided a lot of good information. The location is perfect if you want to stay right by the central train station due to late arrival or early departure. The breakfast buffet in the morning was perfect for €7.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    Very close to train.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little noisy from street noise but not enough to prevent us from sleeping.

    Very close to train. Handy to public transportation. Check in person very nice and informative. Breakfast was reasonable and good. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    I can recommend it.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can not complain about anything.

    Breakfast was varied and tasted. The price was favourable and the location close to the railway station and metro excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.4
    The rooms are okay, but the fixtures, fittings and furniture...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are okay, but the fixtures, fittings and furniture have a bit of a worn out feel. The location is central, but is very lively and feels a bit unsafe late at night - typical of many areas around main railway stations.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.5
    Satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had walking impaired in our group and it was difficult but managed to navigate the stairs.

    Close proximity to train station, staff helpful and close to eating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    Good for backpackers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The surrounding is not very secure. The bath room is too small.

    The position is very good. Public parking places Nice reception, 24hours service. Worthy of money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    8.8
    In general, it was a good experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only problem was a bass. It bothered me one night. But the hotel staff, solved the problem the next day.

    It was near the main train station and the city center. The breakfast was good too. The staff were nice and kind. The hot and cold water was OK. The hotel had a kind of city map. The reservation helped us to visit some nice places.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.1
    Close to Hauptbahnhof
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom/Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some kind of funky smell throughout the hotel, although thankfully not in the breakfast room. Walls are a bit thin so if you are unlucky enough to have a noisey neighbour, youll know all about it. On the fringe of an area featuring homeless and/or drug addicts, so be careful which way you walk!

    Close to train station, local eats. Staff were freindly and helpful. Breakfast just adequate, but priced accordingly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location, close to train and bus station only 20...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, close to train and bus station only 20 mins from airport. Clean and tidy, beds very comfy. Reception staff were more than helpful and polite.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.2
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing i may complain a little bit is the matress is too soft for me. I personally am more like less soft matress. But it is a minor problem for me and maybe others will like it.

    Just in front the central station. Really nice location. I was arranged to another place close by and the room is much better than i expected in considerring the price. It worth much more than the price i pay. The stuff is also very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    6.7
    It's a "OK" Hotel for a few days. Great Location. Clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom/Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Room with a bit of dust - A bit small (I booked a single room but I expected that it was a bit bigger) - More or less expensive for the size of the room

    - Great Location, just by the Hamburg Main Train Station - Good bed sheets and pillow - Clean - 24 Hours Reception (Not all hotels in Germany are like this) - Bathroom with Hair Dryer - Elevator / Lift

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    6.3
    No comment!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom/Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I never saw such a dirty bathroom. There was hairy everywhere. They asked me to pay 30 € because they told me I left a towel on the floor in the bathroom, which was not true as bathroom is shared and that could have been anyone. they told me that they have another guests and they have to use it again. I wanted to ask him does they not wash the towels after every guest??! They have the slowest elevator in the history of all elevators and it always stops on the first floor and then the receptionist is looking at you like you are in jail or in the correction facility. They spy on you and are looking for any way to make you fell uncomfortable. I payed 30€ for this room but i understand it can be way more expencive.

    Beds are comfortable but single room is so small you cant move.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.5
    Close to Train and shops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although there is a lift, you still need to climb up stairs to reach your room. I guess that’s the design of the building.

    Friendly receptionist. Easy check in/out. Close to Hamburg Train station. Lots of restaurants in the area. Good if you have an early/late train ride.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.2
    Excellent value for money and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was exceptional value for money. Everything was clean, the staff were helpful and the location near the main railway station very convenient. Given we just wanted a comfortable room to come back to at night, I'd say the Hotel Terminus couldn't be beaten.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    6.3
    Basic, but comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom/Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were small (and quite expensive), and the toilet and shower room were outside on the landing, but it wasn't a big problem.

    The rooms were very clean and quiet, despite being in a very central location. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    8.8
    I wanted cheap, basic, private accommodation near the train station and that's exactly what I got.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As with most train stations it's not the most salubrious area of the city. I made sure I was indoors by the time it got dark.

    Proximity to train station, friendly receptionist/manager, quiet room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    8.3
    Was really great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a really nice, big room with bed, tv and a sofa. The bathroom was also really great with a nice shower. The hotel is very close to Hauptbahnhof. The breakfast was very good and very cheap. There are many diners near by. We could leave the luggage there after we checked out.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.9
    shower was surprisingly good and clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the building is not comfortable, elevator is really slow and tiny, just used the stairs to climb. luckily I was on the 2nd floor. Still, really not expensive so I guess it's OK

    shower was surprisingly good and clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.2
    Clean, well priced, well located hotel with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were really very friendly. Clean new looking bathroom, hand wash and body/hair wash, good shower. The hotel is not in the best street, but as it is near the end of the street, has a secure buzz-in door, and it is a large road with lots of people walking most of the time, you don't feel threatened like you might if it was a backstreet (I felt much more comfortable here than walking down the Reeperbahn). Once inside the hotel felt completely safe and happy. Location is really handy for the Hauptbahnhof, just round the corner, and there's a few restaurants/bar along the side of the station that seem decent to eat/drink in.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    8.3
    Amazing value for money in the heart of Hamburg
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom/Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    The neighborhood. Had luggage stolen...

    The location, new en suite bathroom (optional - there are rooms with bathrooms down the hall on the 5th floor).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom/Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room wasn't well-lit - no lamp at bedside or desk.

    Very hospitable staff! They always carry grins and smiles on their faces, and give elaborated answers to queries. (PS. If you've decided to activate a "Hamburg Card" at the hotel which I really recommend, remember to make a check list of things and places it gives discounts! I've "lost" almost 10 EUR in Elbphilharmonie catering and merchandises... *facepalm*) Room is quite nice - only drawback is that it's always too dark. Shared shower and toilet are the cleanest among the hostels I stayed in Europe and US. Location is impeccable - 2 min walk to main station and 3 min walk to MKG.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    9.2
    Good room, really decent breakfast, nice staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Add yoghurt WITHOUT sugar ("natur" in German). More and more people realise that sugar is really a poison in the quantities in which we consume it (and the replacement sugars in "light" products are usually even worse).

    Good room, really decent breakfast, nice staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.2
    Great value convenient to main train station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillow was not to my taste, but that is, of course, a personal preference.

    The location next to the Bahnhof was extremely convenient. The facilities are basic, but quite clean and adequately comfortable. Excellent value for the price. I was traveling as a woman alone, and I felt safe walking to the hotel late at night. The bed was firm, but not uncomfortable. I found the staff very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    5.0
    Passable for a very short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom/Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Location is close to the central bus station and metro station, but it is generally bad. I wouldn't recommend for a solo traveler (especially female, like me). - The room had a weird smell all the time. I kept opening the window to no avail. - Room was small and had no proper bed. The bed looked more like a sofa with a pillow.

    - Staff was friendly and ready to answer any of my questions - Communal bathroom/shower & room were decently clean - 24hr reception

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    4.2
    Good value, very close to train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lift does not go to directly all floors, which may be a problem if you have a lot of luggage or have problems with a few stairs.

    Helpful staff and good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.9
    Worth the price if you want to be near Hamburg hbf
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I got there, the staff told me that I would have to go to another hotel just 20 meters ahead. They should have informed that before I get there.

    Good location And good wifi.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Close to the main station easy walk and we could leave luggage at reception for the day after checkout. Also good priced breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    2.5
    They try to hoax the client to pay for they lack of proper maintenance
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sewer system of the shower didnt work well so i got to cut the shower and hurry to dry the bathroom floor with a towel. Now, that i leave, they try to fake damage by water to make my pay for their lack of maintenance. Bad atittude!

    It was fine for the price.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.9
    Good budget hotel in great location for the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The location is great if you are visiting central Hamburg, being close to the main rail station (2 mins. walk) and opposite the bus station. It is about a 10-15 mins. walk to the city centre down one of the main shopping streets. While the location is great the locality is a bit run down and quite ethnic (mainly Turkish and Asian) but at no time did we feel threatened or unsafe and we are a couple of a certain age with a handicapped son. We did not see any evidence of prostitution or drugs as I have seen mentioned in other reviews, and there were more homeless people sleeping rough down in the city centre than around the hotel. All the staff are very friendly and helpful, particularly the guy who mans Reception all day, every day (sorry, I don't know your name) - he was always happy, smiley, and when we asked for our son's room to be changed there was no problem. The rooms are very clean with comfortable beds, lovely crisp white bed linen and white towels. The bathrooms are very nicely fitted and clean and the shower was powerful. Toiletries are provided on the wash basin and in the shower. We stayed for 6 nights over Christmas and we had a change of bed linen and clean towels every day, even if we left them on the rails. The free Wi-Fi worked well and there is a safe in the room which can be used for a charge of €3 with a €10 refundable deposit. We didn't book breakfast as we like to explore local coffee shops etc. but we were able to order breakfast on a day by day basis if we wanted it, which we did on 3 mornings and it was a typical continental breakfast with bread rolls; hams and cheeses; toast and preserves etc etc., and was actually cheaper than the price quoted online. The dining room is pleasant and again, very clean. I had some reservations after booking this hotel when I read some of the negative reviews but I need not have worried.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.2
    Great place for its value!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Area , small bathroom

    I would recommend this place for anyone who is stopping by hamburg shortly for it’s Location near the main station , friendliness of the staff , and low price!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    10
    Great location and price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower didn't drain really well, but if that's the worst thing about a stay...

    Located stumbling distance from the Hamburg Hbf, the Terminus was simple yet ample in all ways. Breakfast was economic and delicious, with a good selection. Rooms were clean and well maintained - everything you could ask for.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    10
    We liked our stay - especially the upbeat and very friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing... the elevator is super small and doesn't exactly stop on the floors. So, for travelers with a lot of baggage it might be a a bit of unexpected extra-schlepping.

    We liked our stay - especially the upbeat and very friendly staff. The distance to the train station is just a short walkway. We had to stay a night longer as planned in Hamburg and chose the TERMINUS again !

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    7.9
    A nice little hotel 150m from the main rst.( Hauptbahnhof) Big very clean rooms and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    After dark the streetlife..

    Although the hotel entrance was small and and you may rather easy pass the main door. After You found it You notice Y are welcome at small reception. Staff is friendly and helpfull. The lift and the steps are narrow but the rooms at least no 34 is very cosy, big and clean, updated bathroom !. A Good buffet breakfast . Prize/quality Good. Also a wiev ( 3rd floor)to the Street Steindaam. Well, The street is OK on daylight, but in the night the street is full of homeless, orient people....etc..

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    8.8
    Would go back to this hotel for a short stsy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area was a little seedy but were never bothered by anyone

    Location from train or bus station to hotel was perfect ..within steps and hotel was easy to find using address and street name...staff at reception was outstanding.(habib)he made us feel at home...for location perfect..grocery stores and restaurants very close by..we could basically find doner restaurants but we're very delicious and reasonable..although room was small it was perfect for a short stay

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    8.3
    They do say up front that the lift doesn’t go to all floors.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They do say up front that the lift doesn’t go to all floors. To be precise, the (tiny) lift goes to half a stair above or below the floors, and then you get to haul your bags the last bit up the stairs. Better than not having a lift at all, though.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    7.5
    Nice and clean with very friendly personell, in a more lively neighborhood of Hamburg
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although there is a (very narrow) elevator, you always have to go at least one flight of stairs as it stops in between floors. The night lamp at my bed had had better times. The switch was broken and was repaired with duct tape. Although it did work, I decided I’d rather not use it in fear of electric shock. I personally don’t mind the area where the hotel is located at all. But for people who don’t feel comfortable in areas where 95% of the population has a migration background or is in any adult business, the hotel is definitely in the wrong place.

    Location is very close to the main train station and the access to the underground line U1 is right across the street. Staff is very friendly. The bathroom, although small, is well set up and fairly new. If you’re into Döner or Falafel or groceries from Turkish supermarkets, there’s a wide variety of possibilities right in the street where the hotel is situated.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    9.2
    Well located and great value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very cold when I arrived but soon warmed up when I turned on both of the radiators.

    Very well located, only a 2 minute walk from the main train station. The room was large and very clean. The staff were also very helpful. I found it really great value for money, especially for a one night stop over in Hamburg.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.2
    Central location, great service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom/Toilet
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was very tidy and kept clean. The staff helped when they could and were without fault. The room, despite being on a noisy street, was still quiet. I was very happy with Hotel Terminus on my stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    6.7
    Convenient for travelers, but beware...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too many druggies, bums, and prostitutes hanging around the streets all day and night near the front door. The room is small and the price does not represent good value.

    Near the Hauptbahnhof, friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    6.3
    Nice staff always available to support.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom/Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator is too small and slow. The in front desk is located in second floor, therefore you need to wait for elevator or use stairs. Not recommended to people with heavy or lot of luggage. My room was on 5th floor but the elevator only goes to 4th... The location of hotel is not nice.

    Nice staff always available to support.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.9
    For the budget traveller
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom/Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Those who dislike stairs need to be aware the lift starts on the first floor. The lift itsel is small, not good for those with claustrophobia. And the walls seem a bit thin, do noise from neighbouring rooms can be an issue.

    Very close to the Hauptbahnhof in a bustling multicultural part of Hamburg. Very friendly and pleasant staff and the place was clean and tidy. Being a budget option, the facilities are a bit lacking. For the traveller on a tight budget this place is quite ok,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    9.2
    Close to station and several restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entrance, reception, lift and stairwells were shabby and worn. But see past that!

    The room was good size. Very clean. Comfortable. Bathroom very good. The room had everything you need. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    7.5
    Hotel was convenient and suited our purposes
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bit expensive for what was availlable but it seems it's the going rate for the area so no complaints

    Location right by the railway station and close to bars. Not too rowdy and no issues with late night revellers

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Happy with good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The elevator for the 2nd and 3rd floor stopped only on the 3rd floor. The front entrance was in an area that seemed a bit run down but after the first day we liked being in an ethnic area with an ethnic market across the street and plenty of small restaurants (mostly doner kebab) near the front door.

    The location is what sold us: 5 minutes from the ZOB (central bus station) where we arrived and departed and less than 10 minutes from the central train station. The staff were great; the breakfast was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    8.3
    It was very difficukt to find entrance door in a street with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Area nxt to hotel

    It was very difficukt to find entrance door in a street with sex n arabic shops. It was really hidden and better information would have helped

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.6
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The neighbourhood isn't the best at night.

    Very pleasant, relatively small hotel with super friendly staff and some ''last minute'' deal i got made it good value for money. Close to all kinds of public transport. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Nice hotel with a central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The amount of gangs and solicitation going on outside the hotel is very scary. We feared leaving at night.

    Excellent very friendly staff. The room was very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    7.5
    Decent for travelers
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While located next to the main station and the central shopping area, the street that the hotel is on is not very suitable for families (e.g. erotic shops, messy, a bit hectic). However, the street was safe, and the central area is 5 minute walk away. Just make sure you take that into account. Suitable for young travelers who do not mind such discomfort.

    The property was clean, the staff was helpful and accommodating. Service was decent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.2
    Small comfortable hotel in great central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nearby Construction noise a bit earlier than should be.

    Location great for centre and transport. Staff were helpful and friendly with a good breakfast as an option. Comfortable room

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: