Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Royal Inn This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Hohenzollernring 46, Altstadt-Nord, 50672 Cologne, Germany

#181 of 223 hotels in Cologne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 606 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 44

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I don't mind loud music during the night but some may do; there is a night club next door and was loud till late on Wednesday night.

    Spacious room with a balcony, decent finish, great location close to transport links and many restaurants, clubs, etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When booking I had noted in special requests about late check in. They did not accommodate this at all and we had to wait half an hour for someone to come back to the hotel and open reception. She was very rude and refused to accept they had made a mistake even after showing her the booking confirmation with the late check in request

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms in the back has a belong that is connected to all other balconies all other levels using a spiral staircase. Seems unsafe.

    Rooms were large and clean and quiet. It felt very private, as if you were living in an apartment without a kitchen.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no free parking near by, only separate parking for 6 euro per day. Beds were super uncomfortable, room was not cleaned well. My son is allergic to dust and he got problems here, because during our stay no one cleaned under the beds.

    Good Wi-Fi. The personal was super friendly and nice, especially during the breakfast, and it is the reason why I give not low rate.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. On a Saturday night nearby nightclubs were very loud and continued till past 05:00 am 2 The bed pillows were only flat squares and gave no support 3 The bed duvet was very thin and too small for the bed, giving no warmth against a cold draught coming in from the balcony door

    Nice breakfast and good central location for access to xmas markets

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We actually walked past the hotel entrance without noticing it so it would be better if the signboard at the entrance was more prominent and the hotel signboard at the top, stated Royal Inn Hotel.

    Located just beside Burgerista, there are fast food restaurants and supermarkets within walking distance. As we were there for the Christmas markets, there was two within 7 mins walk. Then from there, you will be able to locate the rest of the Christmas Markets. Room was decent and despite not having a nice view at the back, it snowed in the morning which was great!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were dreadful and the extra ones I requested were never delivered. The tv was awful and kept losing its signal. The reception was closed at night so if you lost your key you would be locked out.

    Location and security was good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Safety Really bad 1/ door to balcony was broken and people can get inside of the room easy we could not sleep whole night as they can not fixed right away. 2/ elevator broken 2 times 01 time right on the day we left the hotel with 2 heavy suit cases full of samples ??? It was horrible for us we stayed in 5th floor. 3/ noisy whole night with people got drunk in this area

    Staffs are nice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Where to start? Location is ABOVE a restaurant, almost impossible to find. 2 flights of stairs to get to reception. Everything feels very old, ancient... serious need of remodelling. In Paris, this would be a 2 **, I have NO IDEA how they kept their 4**** all this time... makes no sense to me. Room was decent, clean-ish. No heating even though I asked for it, no international channel on the TV (basically 5 channels were working), the bed was NOT MADE (wtf ???). I don't care if I'm travelling to Germany, Peru or the UK, this is a hotel. Ive never in my life walked into a room where the bed was not made, and the sheet was placed folded on top of the matress (with a covering sheet). This makes no sense whatsoever. This is a HOTEL. People from all over the world come to visit. Forget the German "standards". The spare comforter in the board was DIRTY (like yellow stains dirty) and the "balcony" opens up to a flight of STAIRS that have direct access outsite... meaning you don't feel safe at all .... I would never go back and I would absolutely recomment NOT GOING.

    The staff is nice. That's about the only positive thing I have to say about this place. Being nice is really cool and all, but at some point, we really have to be comfortable and we're paying a 4* hotel for a room and service, not just for being to be nice ....

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In General, this hotel not what it occurs. You have your breakfast at reception which is also the internet room. The rooms are very small and may get a makeover and have to be cleaned. My curtains were broken and the balcony door could not be closed properly. The free Wi-Fi and TV doesn't work. While the staff says that it does work and what shuts the door for me were the (clean) towels with stains in it.

    The breakfast is good. Fresh coffee and sandwiches

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in closed at 10pm and our train was delayed.

    Central location yet quiet room. Room and bathroom were good size and you had access to a shared balcony. Delicious breakfast on offer. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't realize that the hotel street is on a club, bars and restaurants street where the noise didn't stop until 2:00am. The room where I stayed in was very small and there was a connecting balcony to my kids room. The balcony would not be safe for a baby or toddler, because of large gaps.

    The front desk helpers were very friendly and accommodating. I also liked the proximity the hotel was to the Metro line and it was walking distance to the Koln Cathedral (10-15 minutes).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was so awful that I could not have the breakfast for the second and third day. TV remote didn't work. No one fixed it despite complaining to the reception for 2 days. There was no shower gel and body lotion in the room. In the bathroom there was no shower gel and there was no place to even keep the gel that I had to go and get myself. Housekeeping removed one of the towels and didn't replace the wet one. Totally awful experience.

    Except for the location, there was nothing to like in this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-fi was not working properly.

    Position is good, Dome in 15 minutes walking distance, very busy street with lots of shops, restaurant, bakeries and cafe'. There is public parking. the hotel is simple and rooms small but cute and comfy. They kept our bags for many hours while we where visiting the town after the check-out.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entry way stank of urine, the beds were uncomfortable and the duvets and pillows were paper-thin.

    Location. The bathroom was nice and things were adequately clean.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It looked like the hotel is currently doing some building work so I never used the advertised karaoke bar or Italian restaurant. The bed itself was also a little on the small side.

    Personally I spent very little time in the hotel as I was keen to get out and explore the city as much as possible. The room was basic but a nice size. Having a balcony was a nice touch too.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    So much! The worst first: After a day of work at the fair we came back and the door of our room was completely open for at least 8h. The managers answer was: "That never happened before, I can't believe you!" We had a lot of confidential material in our room about our company and a lot of valuable hardware. Finally her offer was a free breakfast for 8 Euro for the two of us. Unbelievable! Next to that, there some kind of Festival in front of the Hotel and the main stage was physically reachable from our balcony. It was unbelievable loud all nights we were staying there. The managements answer "You should have known that before!" Yeah, that's why I'm getting a 4 Star Hotel in a another city. Last but not least. The rooms, we got two, have been pretty dirty. There have been drips of urine at the toilet, the water in the shower was not flowing of, so I had to fix the drain in the middle of the night. Walls have been scratched the mirror was broken and so on. Definitely not comfortable and not worth our money. I asked more than once for a refund but the manager got really angry, the situation more than once really heated and she was telling me that she has no option to lower the price because booking.com. She was not sorry and refused any kind of refund or lowering the price. Never again!

    Except for the management the staff was super nice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Busy street

    The location close to U bahn

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and vfm

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    CLEANING and confort and there is a terrible smell

    wi-fi

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful staff Clean and efficient and excellent location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have like a kettle to make tea or coffee

    Room was very quiet and very warm

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    great central location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning when +35. Terrible.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is comfortable and quiet, balcony is a bonus, only stayed for one night but great value for money.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ok

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea/coffee facilities in room

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    staff

    nothing

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    cool personnel

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    More coat hangers

    Excellent location, friendly staff, free wifi, clean rooms and comfy beds

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was noisy and the shower was broken. The personal didn't show any compassion.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hotel is close to at least one sex shop. Admittedly I arrived late because my flight was delayed but it took some time to wake up the night manager who was asleep on a rollaway bed next to reception. Room was hot and far too noisy outside to open the window. Cologne just does not have enough hotel rooms when there is a convention on. I paid 177 euro for this room. It was worth about half that amount

    Room was OK I guess but not for the money spent.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Everything!! The room, the facilities, the breakfast, the staff, especialy Sr. Jorge, he is great a especial person!! Very close to bars and restaurants! It was a great stay!

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking was more difficult that expected. The nearest parking hall was full. Took a while to find a one with space.

    breakfast and the man at the reception that spoke 17 (?) languages

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was dirty with cracks in the walls, tiles missing in bathroom and staff then charged us extra for our room that had already been charged in full.

    Hotel is within easy access of underground, local shops and several Christmas markets

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No parking, had to park in a parking garage down the street. It costs 12 euro for overnight parking.

    Staff was nice and the hotel was nice also. I enjoyed my stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Plus: "convenient to nightlife, exposure to local fauna" Minus: Incredibly loud at night, located above bars and karaoke with people screaming well past midnight, there was an ant problem in the bathroom

    Good location

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    /

    clean, comfortable but only one key for a 3p room?

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    N/A

    Decor was very nice, staff were very polite and accommodating.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    The place is located around hot spot for young people. and downtown.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bed and no a.c.

    The staff.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Every think was ok .

    My stay was very nice, hotel location was vary good ,restarent and shops are vary close to the hotel, vary nice stuff .

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Shower was very poor and room smelt of cigarette smoke. Charged more taxes on check out even though the room was prepaid

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 44

Browse Royal Inn traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: