Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Circus Hotel

Rosenthalerstr. 1, Mitte, 10119 Berlin, Germany

#12 of 579 hotels in Berlin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1082 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Very friendly atmosphere, great location, rooms are very clean and quiet, with fun design touches.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast downstairs at Common Ground is an experience that requires you to slow down and take your time. If you are a little pressed for time and only have about 30 minutes for breakfast, they will not be able to serve you anything other than a cup of coffee. This is not a big deal, as there are plenty of options for take away in the area, just something to bear in mind.

    Very friendly vibe, the location is great, just around the corner from all the restaurants and cafe's and the U-Bahn is right outside. The hotel has a lovely little courtyard garden that is home to many little birds, creating a peaceful oasis in the middle of the city center. The rooftop offers spectacular city views and an opportunity to join yoga classes on certain mornings. The Bar situated downstairs, common ground, is a meeting spot and breakfast favorite for hotel guests and locals alike, offering a very healthy menu with many plant based options.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    6.7
    The location is perfect, it’s accessible for strollers, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is OK- no more. And for an ok hotel- its pretty expensive.

    The location is perfect, it’s accessible for strollers, the hotel restaurant is really nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.2
    Would recommend this hotel as it has a good vibe and location is great. drinks are a little pricey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    THe first day we used the breakfast voucher but didn’t like being sent to a back room alone and away from the buzz of the rest of the restaurant. Also wasn’t impressed by the offer so the next few days we ordered bf off the menu which is better. When you realise how much better the poached eggs are off the menu as there are Nice side dishes included, then the voucher looks like a poor relative

    Great style and atmosphere

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    5.8
    DISAPOINTED
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfastwas very poor, staff was very slow, there is no air condition in the room, temperature 30 C and no refrigertor. price Euro 128.- without breakfast. really disapointed. I dont want to stay here once more.

    Nothing too much,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.2
    Situated in the best part of Berlin for restaurants;shopping and accessibility
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had unseasonably hot weather and there is no air conditioning! If you are a light sleeper ; ask for a courtyard facing room

    Perfect location with young helpful staff Cool vibe in a great city . You feel that you are a guest in a boutique hotel and amongst all Berlin has to offer Great breakfast. In the courtyard

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Circus hotel was spectacular the location was excellent, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Circus hotel was spectacular the location was excellent, the decor so quirky and cool, the staff were beyond helpful and always happy to answer questions and give directions. Plenty of special touches from complementary cucumber water in reception to the roof top terrace honesty bar made us wish our stay was longer, would certainly stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Perfect spot in Mitte
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of air conditioning. -It was beyond humid and the "high powered" fan was merely enough. They did provide good reasoning in their handbook/glossary why they did not provide this feature due to the ever-changing climate of Berlin & eco-friendliness.

    Amazing location and staff. Clean establishment and room with modern amenities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    Quirky hotel with lovely staff and great food in a trendy area of Berlin with good transport links.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The ceiling fans didn't do too well against the muggy 30 degree heat so it was a little toasty! If you prefer to sleep with an open window, be aware the hotel is on a busy street.

    Circus Hotel is in a very trendy location - excellent for finding great bars, coffee shops and independent stores and it's right next to a subway station. The staff were wonderfully friendly and helpful, and the cocktails and breakfasts were delicious. (I am gluten free, and this was no problem for the staff/kitchen so I would recommend this hotel for coeliacs!) The rooms aren't the height of luxury, but the beds were comfy and everywhere is quirkily decorated. I particularly liked the outdoor terrace, and little touches like placards about the history of the building, great tea in room and classical music over breakfast. We loved our stay and will be back!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.5
    This hotel appeals to the youth. It is decorated rather funky.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air conditioning. The street is NOISY so opening the window at night was not good for sleep. (We did like how the windows masked the traffic noise though)

    The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was very high tech looking, great shower. We liked how helpful the staff was. The rooftop was pleasant . Vouchers for breakfast were great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    3.8
    Thought we would be staying at a romantic circus themed hotel. Instead we got a private dorm room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No air-conditioning led to 4 nights of sweating in bed, trying to sleep. Had to open windows to get any air at all - unfortunately it's right on a 5 way intersection so the sirens and streetcars were truly deafening. This hotel has nothing 'circus' themed about it at all. The attached cafe is dire. Room doesn't even have a refrigerator / minibar.

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.4
    Close to train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Travelled with my sister (there is no provision for other family members) Very noisy, we had courtyard room, music played most if the night and loud voices talking. Maybe it is a hotel for young people only. Booked single beds, got double bed pushed against the wall. Very difficult to get in and out of the bed with both people having arthritic hips. Told reception we had booked in January for May stay, the suggestion was we book direct through the hotel, not other services!!

    Close to train station

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Terrific weekend stay in busy city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Modern, open plan with easy access to reception, bar and eating areas. wonderful sound system with perfect volume whether in the outdoor court yard, lounge, bar or toilet. Helpful multilingual staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel, awesome location. Would recommend to anyone unless they prefer a quiet neighborhood.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We're used to having AC and it was somewhat hot during our stay, so that was slightly uncomfortable overnight when we had to have windows closed because of the busy intersection. The fan helped but was noisy when on highest setting. Overall wasn't a big deal but should be considered if you dislike heat. Key card is required to turn on lights and fan, was slightly inconvenient with 2 people and 2 key cards. No fridge in room. Double bed is just 2 single beds pushed together. Seems to be common in Germany and wasn't a problem in this instance, just be aware.

    The neighborhood was the best part, tons of places to eat and drink and overall nice area to spend time. Nice park nearby. Multiple transit options right outside the hotel! Roof area is very cool. Windows were great for blocking sound and light as our room overlooked the busy intersection. They were big and could be opened fully to let in breeze, very nice. Great view of busy intersection was fun to watch. Beds were good, we had enough pillows and blankets. Free wifi and free printing were nice. Desk staff was nice and helpful. Area felt safe, activity at all times and many businesses open late. Bathroom was nice, cool shower. Restaurant is pretty good. Didn't use the discount because it has limited options and the place isn't too expensive anyway. Not a lot of options for breakfast nearby if you're up early. Rooms are smallish but never felt too small with two people.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    A wonderful space to relax in after a long day of sightseeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only slight disadvantage was that the traffic noise from the street was quite loud.

    I especially liked the spacious, super-clean, fully updated bathroom. It was also nice to have a Bluetooth speaker for playing music in the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    Amazingly fun, comfortable, great value - wish I could visit again next month already!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hallway very dark, which is fine, just had to adjust to that.. The keys going in to the slot to make the lights work - just another adjustment (others in my party had already been used to that). Really am wracking my brain, can't think of anything else!

    Loved everything about it! The amount of traffic etc.. noise that the closed windows blocked out is amazing. And the weight of the curtains - wonderful for keeping light out. Loved the location, and all the amenities - restaurants, bars, bookstore, little grocery store, cash machine *and* park all nearby! Loved the rooftop terrace! The map also with the 4 sectors over on the back wall is great. Also really appreciated the maps at the desk that were given out - on of the best we were using our whole trip. And the Berlin book in each room - loved it - bought it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.2
    Great place, in a convenient location, with lots of shops around. Will definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms got pretty warm; even in May with fans. Adding some sort of A/C would make things better.

    The staff were uniformly excellent! Bath products were so good I would have purchased some to take with me if I’d had room in my bag.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Very pleasantly surprised by the Circus Hotel. Would definitely stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We rented bikes from the Circus Hostel (across the road from the hotel). The bikes weren't that great. A bit badly designed. Definitely rent bikes to see Berlin, but do it from one of the other many bike rental places. They're all the same price €12 per day.

    We had the Junior Suite, which was small but lovely with a fantastic balcony/terrace that got the morning sun. Super comfortable beds, and really friendly, helpful personnel. Wonderful experience overall.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    A friendly informal hotel right in the centre with bags of charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - we loved it.

    Food was delicious, staff young and friendly and the whole hotel had a very nice feel. The bedrooms and bathrooms are cleverly designed - shelves and lighting where you need them. Location so central - we could walk to Museum Island, and there were U Bahn and tram stops outside the door.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    The Owners and the staff were beyond kind! the pictures online are not doing justice to this place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We have travels 2 ladies to Berlin and we decieded to book this hotel online. We loved the fact it looked Unique and cool. Since we arrived the staff guided us since it was our first trip to berlin - they told us where is the really good cafes & bar. In the middle of my trip, I have lost my wallet and the owners granded me to use freely thier hotel's phone so I can call to make all the arragments. The Owners and the staff were beyond kind! truly amazing place... the pictures online are not doing justice to this place! I will defendtly will come back next time I'm in BERLIN!!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    We felt it was home away from home as we were in a local neighbourhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We didn't like how the bed was up against the wall which meant one of us felt a bit claustrophobic but then we understand space is limited.

    We loved the quirkiness of the design and especially the rooftop garden which we enjoyed in the sun. We loved the location of the hotel too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    I felt well-cared for and comfortable at Circus Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rosenthaler Platz has several budget hotels and hostels, so there are many young people on the street exploring, sizing-up restaurants, etc. However, noise was not a problem. Just a sense of a lot of activity.

    The staff members were incredibly helpful in providing individualized, detailed city transit information. The attached restaurant was a wonderful oasis from the hustle and bustle of the street.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.5
    Good location, quirky decor
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’ve stayed here before and loved it so I was disappointed this time. The bed was really uncomfortable, and the cafe was pretty average - I don’t think the breakfast deal is particularly good - you have to pay extra for espresso coffee.

    Good location, quirky decor

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Perfect location and cool vibe
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single rooms are a bit tight and a little hot in the warmer weather (no AC) but all you need really. There is a ceiling fan but it seems it can only run it the light is on.

    Excellent location, friendly staff, hip lounge/resto, comfortable bed, roof deck. Try their beer at their sister property Circus Hostel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    lovely hotel to stay in, we will stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    be nice to have a mini fridge in the room, and air con but there is a fan in the room

    good location for the underground, cafes, amenities etc fab area to explore

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The roof top bar was only open once whilst we were there and had no drinks available, but may have been trying wrong time of day.

    Hotel staff were very helpful. Great busy location and convenient for public transport - right near an underground station. The tablet provided in the room made planning the days activities very easily and looking up information. The A - Z of Berlin book in the room was interesting and a good read

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.5
    So much more than a standard hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was lacklustre and the street was too noisy at night to have the window open. At breakfast, the coffee was bitter and the tea, which looked like very good tea, came with a cup of not-boiling water, so the tea couldn't brew.

    The bar/restaurant/reception area was very relaxed, it didn't feel like a hotel at all. Delicious food, huge portions and so much more than a standard hotel breakfast. The avocado and hummus with salad, salsa and sourdough was particularly good. Friendly atmosphere and comfy seating with an outdoor courtyard too. The brewpub over the road in the Circus Hostel had excellent beer. The wifi functioned at usable speeds, unlike so many hotels. Nice little roof top 'bar.' Short walk to major sites and close to other excellent restaurants. Taxis in Berlin are really good value.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Lovely staff, beautiful surroundings and the best location - will be back to Circus Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would've been great to have some conditioner in the shower to wash our hair.

    The room was so lovely - clean, lovely view of the TV tower, quiet and spacious with all the amenities you need during your stay. We could even hear the birds outside in the morning. The staff are a highlight of the stay, friendly, very knowledgeable on tips and helped us with any request we had. Thank you Circus Hotel! Will come back soon for sure.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    Super cool hotel with an amazingly rooftop bar and about 15...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee in the room or water heater :(

    Super cool hotel with an amazingly rooftop bar and about 15 min away from most Berlin hotspots. Very nice staff- a special thank you to Jan from the third floor cafe for being sooo friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Always an excellent stay at Circus Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Always an excellent stay at Circus Hotel. Immediately made to feel at home and the staff are excellent, so friendly and knowledgable of the fantastic city of Berlin. Commonground downstairs does one of the best brunches/coffee in town - and decent craft beers/cocktails at night - always a treat! As well as providing clean, relaxing and lovely rooms to stay in, the events the Circus team run are wonderful and insightful, giving you an ‘insiders’ look at what the historic and progrsssive Berlin has to offer. Circus Hotel is a perfect base to stay while exploring Berlin and feels the embodiment of the creative fabric and richness of this fascinating city - in its relaxed, non-pretentious and cohesive spirit. Great location, great people, great place to stay and Circus is a great success story!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    8.3
    I would go there again and also recommend it to friends!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could not open my windows. No refrigerator in the room. The room was rather small. Elevator beside the room rather noisy, whem in use.

    Very nice lobby.Very nice and efficient staff.Very clean.Location very central in nice area with lots of good restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Brilliant location, staff and room - massively recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no milk in the room but that's probably only a problem for us English and our tea! I just asked for some at the bar downstairs and they gave us a little jug.

    The staff were so helpful and friendly and having the bar/coffee shop downstairs was great. The hotel is in a brilliant location for bars/restaurants and sight seeing and our room was spacious, quiet and bright with everything we needed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    10
    I have stayed here before and will stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location near the Museum Island is terrific. My room was clean and since it was overlooking the courtyard very quiet. The staff were cordial and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.6
    Circus Hotel - perfect for visitors to Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, nice decor , we had a quiet room and the staff were lovely. access to the Tube was easy, the place itself was full of good places to eat. we would use same hotel again next time.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    8.3
    The staff was extremely helpful and friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not an option for light sleepers. I had a room to the backyard and still heard and felt the streetcar passing by the whole time. The hotel rooms are very small. Design-wise simple.

    The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The room’s bathroom is nice and spacious. The light concept in the hotel room is good. The hotel bar is cool.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    9.6
    Great location, and coffee shop inside the hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We weren't taking to our room, when checked in. Which was a little unprofessional. And it was a shame there wasn't a mini fridge in the room, for milk (when I wanted a cup of tea!). But these were the only small things!

    The staff were very friendly, and it was great to have Commonground Coffee right in the hotel. The breakfasts (especially the french toast) was amazing. And just an extra 12 euros per person. Plus the hotel was right next to a metro and tram stop, which made it very easy to get into town.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.2
    Great location to soak up relaxed Berlin vibes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Going home... and as it was freezing so the rooftop honesty bar wasn't opened.

    What a cool hotel, really nice relaxed vibe. Every staff member we came in contact with were super friendly, and more than helpful. We did ask for a lot of directions. The decor of the rooms were quirky, good facilities, The Circus Berlin Guide & An ipad were available to use in the room. The Commonground cafe - great brunch, menu right up my street! Oh and the cocktails - I had one or two :) My fav by far was the whiskey sour. The overall vibe of the hotel is what I loved, the cherry on top was the record room. Quiet space to bring a nice beer & your favourite record. Luckily we made a trip to the Sunday market and came back with lots of vinyl.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    10
    Just perfect place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no such thing ))

    One simple thing about this place, the only one: the best hotel I`ve ever been in. Maybe not the best architecture or design, but trully sincere service. They care, they just really care about you and your comfort while being there. Every detail, every little thing in the room are made thoughtfully and with love and you can feel it. Thank you so much, dear Circus team! Hope to come again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    10
    Stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well, you can't stop Berlin drivers from honking their horns through the night, so nothing!

    We really enjoyed our stay at the Circus Hotel. Our room was fantastic: very stylish, comfy bed, immaculate bathroom, great shower. The best thing of all though was the location, this was our first visit to Berlin, and I think this was the best possible location. We didn't use public transport for the first 3 days as there is so much to do in walking distance. Great cafes and restaurants nearby, you can walk to the cool neighbourhood of Prenzlauer Berg, and loads of lovely independent shops. We weren't keen on the price tag for breakfast, but you can go to the sister hostel opposite and have all you can eat breakfast buffet for €5 so happy days!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    10
    Super friendly staff who were very helpful with recommending...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super friendly staff who were very helpful with recommending bars, restaurants, how to get around the city and see the sights. Excellent location right in the heart of the city with a U station right outside the front door. Lovely, modern clean rooms with great facilities. There was a problem with our final bill but we brought it up on check out when leaving and it was quickly rectified. Affiliations with a lovely cafe/bar which is great for just relaxing and they add everything onto your room bill which is very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    10
    We will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing was bad or could be better.

    Wonderful lobby, energy, bar, breakfast and design. Really sweet and kind staff. The location is super, close to transportation and things to visit.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    8.3
    Would stay again thank you for having us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Missing tissues in the room, cleaning could have been slightly better but these are minor feedback impovements.

    Nice staff perfect location, new theme rooms, comfortable, kettle coffe and tea, boss bluetooth speakers

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.6
    Great location, lovely staff, very cool hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The circus hotel was in a great location in Mitte, near streets with great restaurants, galleries etc. We had one delicious breakfast but ate out the rest of the time. The staff were super friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.6
    I would definitely stay at this hotel during future visits.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No fitness facility and the parking situation was poor.

    The staff exceeded my expectations. Very informative, gave excellent recommendations for restaurants.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.6
    Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The night vibe was superb, extremely quiet although in a busy area, location was just above the U subway and streetcars (trams), staff was very helpful and accommodating. Great value for money for breakfast at their neighbouring property. Beer at their brewery was a pleasant surprise. Surrounded by very good restaurant choices.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    10
    Great hotel, great staff, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were greeted with a smile then minute we walked in the door. Our room was a junior suite on the third floor and it was fabulous. We had stayed there 2 years ago when we got engaged and when we arrived (on our honeymoon) back we were greeted by a lovely note from the hotel staff and a bottle of prosecco. The location is amazing as it is a stones throw from the nearest underground station. Excellent base and location for exploring the city and surrounding areas

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    10
    Great place to stay and explore from. Excellent service from the staff and a great onsite Cafe.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was a little noisy overlooking the road and right beside the lift,

    Circus hotel is modern and clean, my room was cosy and well set out. Fantastic staff, onsite Uncommon Cafe is superb.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous comfortable trendy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A 20 minutes walk to the main sites.

    Good hairdryer - not attached to the wall. Tea & coffee in the room. Excellent free Wi-fi. Lovely bar on the ground floor. Young enthusiastic & polite staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    6.7
    disconcerting
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On the first night a member of hotel staff burst into my room at 1am due to some unexplained mixup. Why not knock? The following night I was unable to get into my room - my card/key had stopped working on my door, despite still working on the lift. I managed to pull the grumpy night receptionist away from his film and he reset the card but was pretty rude: he didn't want to accompany me to the door to check it was working - he told me, with no intended irony to "Trust the system". The same system that had failed on both nights. OK.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    10
    The room was spotless, the bed comfy, the staff wonderful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was spotless, the bed comfy, the staff wonderful and the breakfast was delicious. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to go to Berlin. It was also in a great location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    8.8
    Great room/location. Disappointing food setup
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar area is run by a different company and we didn't like it. It looks great but the music is too loud, the menu very limited and costs a lot for what you get. Bars nearby better value. Some blurb we read said there is a restaurant for the evening but there isn't.

    Room was great and hotel staff very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    10
    Exceeded all expectations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Amazing lounge in the lobby with relaxing music and atmosphere. The room had modern interior design and exceptional few. Absolutely fabulous rooftop terrace!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    8.8
    The hotel was in a fantastic location - very central with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The coffeeshop and bar staff (which I think is an independant company?) were rather unfriendly and off putting. They made it feel like serving you was an inconvenience. It was an odd contrast to the exceptionally friendly and helpful hotel staff. In addition, the hotel clearly considers itself "boutique" and has done a nice job to fit that model. Very cool vibe, great decor, fun amenities, etc. In my opinion, they fell a little bit short on some small but essential things that can make a huge difference. For example, the sheets, towels, hand soap and even toilet paper were of such poor quality - linens were threadbare and starched to the extreme and all felt like sandpaper on my skin. It's such a small thing, but things like quality (and soft!) linens can really take a hotel from hostel with a nice paint job and private rooms to luxurious boutique hotel worth the extra cost. All this said, The Circus Hotel is still a wonderful choice and I would definitely stay here again, I just think a few small changes could really take it to the next level.

    The hotel was in a fantastic location - very central with excellent access to public transportation. The subway and several tram lines were literally steps away. The hotel itself was very well designed. My double room was small, however the space was maximized and the decor was great. The coffee shop in the lobby was nice, serving wonderful meals and drinks. Really loved the rooftop deck. The front desk staff was lovely - Juri in particular was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    7.9
    first time in Berlin,nice holyday nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    not everybody at the reception was able to give us information,some were and some were not All in all is a good hotel next to an underground station.

    the room is nice ,furnished in good taste but too small for two people not enough space for your clothes, your luggage etc. I suppose there are bigger rooms but ours was small. even if you don't spend so much time in the room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    Paul H
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find fault.

    Excellent location for sightseeing, within walking distance of most major attractions. Plenty of bars and eating places in vicinity.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    6.7
    Location wasn't great, as a solo traveller didn't...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location wasn't great, as a solo traveller didn't feel comfortable walking around at night. Additionally there wasn't really much around there in walking distance.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    9.2
    Great location, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double bed was two single beds, with two single bed covers/blankets. No double sheets or quilts.

    Great location, helpful staff. Nice hotel rooms.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    If I ever go back to Berlin I will definitely be staying here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very limited selection of food in the hotel during the evening

    Communal area of the hotel was amazing, food, drink and staff and I could have quite easily sat there for the 3 days. Landmark TV Tower only 10 min walk away

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.3
    Fantastic bathroom and complimentary toiletries of a really...
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a bit noisy - I was by the main road and could hear trams till quite late. But I would stay there again.

    Fantastic bathroom and complimentary toiletries of a really high standard. Really friendly staff. Cafe on ground floor sold exceptionally good breakfasts.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.9
    Breakfast is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They give us 2 times the wrong room card when check in. But after mistake they offer us breakfast. Quite nice. Also when we pay 130 dollar a room quiete a shame they ask you 1euro for a glass of milk at breakfast ! Anyway ...

    Breakfast is good Decoration very cosy

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    great stay in stylish, friendly hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    super friendly staff with smart stylish rooms. Excellent location right next to a subway station. This the second time I've stayed at The Circus and would definitely recommend

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    Fantastic boutique hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fantastic hotel. Great location, friendly and very helpful staff. Excellent bar and rooms were well equipped. A bit noisy if you left windows open but expected as the location was so central. Option of breakfast at 5 euros pp across the road in the Circus Hostel. Great value and good buffet selection. Plenty of restaurants nearby and right next to the subway. We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and would highly recommend this boutique hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel for my first visit to Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was too popular, I couldn't extend another night in the hotel. :( Can I suggest that the metal cladding that protects the corners of the bed to be removed ? Those metal corners were pretty sharp and with the narrow walking space, hotel guests will be prone to getting scratched by it.

    Lovely hotel! Well decorated reception and cafe area. The hotel staffs were very helpful and armed with good knowledge of the city. The location of the hotel was great, metro station is just at the door step of the hotel and the guests can get to the hip dining/shopping district by walking.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    6.7
    Overall a positive outcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have preferred not to be next to lift. Bar staff could be more attentive. Breakfast bit pricey

    My room other side from street, overlooking little garden. Reception staff very helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warm in room and couldn't sleep with open windows due to noise as opened onto busy junction

    Decor . Facilities , helpful and friendly staff and position in city

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Great downtown location with a great vibe, not your ordinary big city hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We loved the vibe at the Circus Hotel. There was lots of attention to detail and the rooms were all creatively and uniquely decorated. Our room overlooked the courtyard below. There is also a community rooftop terrace with an honesty bar where you can get beer, wine and drinks, reasonably priced. The lobby is very inviting and filled with travelers and locals relaxing an drinking coffee. There were several options for breakfast. We opted to dine across the street at the Hostel where you could get a basic buffet breakfast for $5 Euros PP. You could also get an a la carte option for $12 Euros in the hotel or choose room service option. The staff was friendly and engaging. Parking was offsite, but nearby at the Circus Apartments. I would highly recommend the Circus Hotel. We LOVED it there so much we extended our stay by one night. Berlin is a vibrant city where we hope to return soon. We would definitely choose the Circus again. We met one of the owners in the evening as they were hosting an employee reception in the gardens. He was super friendly and shared a bit about their philosophy. We had a lovely experience overall.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    8.3
    2 tram lines and U-Bahn line right outside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    2 tram lines and U-Bahn line right outside. A number of good restaurants within walking distance. Two laundromats close by. Inside facing room was fairly quiet for busy neighborhood.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Absolutely great, loved the hotel, the staff, and the neighborhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful hotel, great location, pretty big rooms relative to other places I've stayed, 10/10, awesome staff (especially Laura at the front desk)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.8
    Hotel with some character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of noise transmission from the rooms next door. When the doors in the hall closed it shook our whole wall and therefore bed. Cleaners were next door early and it was more than enough to wake us.

    Hotel with some character. Staff great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    7.1
    Pricey and noisy but pleasant overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy from traffic, small room that didn't really reflect the price - hotel literature also says that rooms booked via 3rd parties are subject to 10-20% additional charge which is a bit galling to find out once you arrive!

    Large comfortable bed, €5 buffet breakfast good value

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    Would definitely come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Friendly staff. Comfortable clean rooms. Great food options at the hotel or the hostel across the street. Lovely restaurants around as well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.5
    The bed was comfy and the rooftop bar was quirky.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staying in the first floor means that you hear all the traffic outside from 5am- trams, cars and trains.

    The bed was comfy and the rooftop bar was quirky.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    10
    Excellent stay in an excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent hotel in a great location for all that Mitte and Berlin has to offer. Excellent transport links. Hotel staff are extremely friendly, helpful & professional. Rooms were clean and modern with all amenities in good condition and full working order. I requested a room on a higher floor away from lift and my request was honoured. I read on previous reviews that rooms can be a little warm which I agree with but we kept windows open in the day for ventilation and there was a fan provided so this helped keep the room cool. I Cannot fault this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.3
    Enjoyed area, people watching and neighborhood.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place has great vegan and other food right on the premises, great lounge area, super helpful staff. In interesting neighborhood close to public transportation. Youthful vibe. Only hard part: no ac during heat wave.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.2
    Trendy and pleasant hotel in a great location. Slightly noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I asked for a specific room which was ignored. The hotel was on a noisy street but this didn't stop us from sleeping - after all the walking we were shattered. The double bed was actually two singles joined together and you could not lie in the middle comfortably.

    The atmosphere in the hotel was lovely and the staff were very accommodating. The location was fantastic, especially if you like shopping! The bar was lovely place to relax with a glass of wine before dinner.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    7.9
    Good stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I found it quite hard to sleep due to traffic and trams going by outside + the bedding wasn't so comfortable. The hotel staff were generally great, but the restaurant service was poor - I left without ordering anything as I had waited so long + had already asked to be served twice.

    Loved the modern style room + as I was there for work it was great to have a desk + fast wi-fi. Most of the staff were lovely too. Amazing location - this was the best thing for me :)

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Circus Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: