Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The George Hamburg This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Barcastr. 3, St. Georg, 22087 Hamburg, Germany

#60 of 323 hotels in Hamburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1031 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.9
    great location and loved the rooftop bar.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • George S Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant staff were a little rude in the evening time and I wouldn't rate it that highly, they seemed annoyed that we hadn't booked even though there were tonnes of empty seats. They were very slow with service and wouldn't serve us jugs of water, we had to buy bottle water which they were slow to bring. Constantly having to connect to WiFi when you changed room or left the hotel was annoying.

    great location and loved the rooftop bar.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    Really comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • George M Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No on the go breakfast for those guests leaving super early. A protein bar and complimentary coffee would make a huge difference

    Really nice hotel, well located and very friendly and professional staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.7
    They used to have good breakfast and now all the staffs at...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • George Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They used to have good breakfast and now all the staffs at restaurant changed for no reasons and the pancake are cool. There are also no as much choices of food in breakfast but price is keeping the same. People used to be friend and speaking good english and now all changed. I asked for some hot water, the waitress returned to me after 2 minutes and said " Actually you can do it by yourself, the machine is over there " I asked for coffee latte, the old guy said " you have coffee and milk on the table" You just feel like you bother them.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    Interior design was nice decorated, nice restaurant and bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • George S Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff was friendly but not competent! Some trouble and misunderstanding with the use of the bikes, we got the wrong bill to pay the rooms, the printer didn't work so we had to go to another hotel to print our boarding passes etc.

    Interior design was nice decorated, nice restaurant and bar. Good and complete breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable room with good size bathroom
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • George S Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is a little over priced. A better continental offering would be good for those that need to leave early.

    Comfortable room with good size bathroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.2
    Clean, comfortable and spacious room with helpful staff and good facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • George S Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When the reception staff recommended the Number 6 bus, they should have explained the Teilzweig (sub-branch) as this caused great confusion and a major detour the first time we used the bus.

    Very comfy bed; very quiet room; excellent breakfasts; bus stop for the number 6 bus conveniently just outside the hotel which goes to the station and town hall.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.8
    I love this hotel, very cool and fab roof bar in the summer.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is a little walk from the center

    I love this hotel, very cool and fab roof bar in the summer. Staff are always friendly this was my 3rd stay in the George twice for business and once for a city break.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    7.5
    the breakafast is good but it needs mre bread and jam...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • George S Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    sorry look above what is good: the guy at the breakfast..the room and the view..the facilities ..

    the breakafast is good but it needs mre bread and jam variety.. the pools has to be cleaned better also the air condition on the room is average my birthday cake and vine came one day before

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.1
    Overall I can highly recommend this hotel since it is close to the Alster and close to the HBF
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • George M Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at the reception have a problem when you pay cash at the end of your stay - they need a credit card when you check in otherwise they are always afraid that you don’t pay your bill - this i did not understand - I always pay my bills cash worldwide and I was never faced to such problems before - and it is not the first time that I stayed in this hotel - this was disappointing me very much but I brought the issue up when I checked out

    The breakfast is excellent and staff during breakfast was advising well and very helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.9
    Excellent value for money, perfect for a couple on a city trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • George S Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Matrasses were a bit too soft for my taste. Also, the room was dusty.

    Somewhat trendy hotel with a lively bar that attracts visitors form outside. Friendly reception. Location very good for visiting St. Georg area. Bike rental and bus stop next to hotel, spacious in-house parking for 17eu/day. Rooms are fine. I'd recommend booking a room on the 6th with Alster view!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.5
    Too much music and too loud.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • George S Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The music everywhere. Too loud! In the bar you could not hear others talk. The staff reacted like we were a different race when we asked to put the volume down. The pillows were so soft, that they might as well not have been there.

    The. Location is excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.3
    Our go-to hotel in Hamburg!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • George S Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Videos in the elevators are elderly: Elbphilharmonie is still only a warehouse?!

    Very comfortable hotel steps from lively Lange Reihe and the Alster. Friendly and efficient staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    4.6
    The hotel did not meet my expectations and I was disappointed about my stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • George S Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms on the first floor were noisy during the night given the party music in the downstairs area. Reception was not very responsive and gave unclear and times contradictory information on the problem raised with them.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    7.1
    Nice place in a great location that fails to deliver on the basics.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • George M Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In an upscale hotel I expect strong wifi. The wifi in this hotel was horrible. Not even enough to do basic downloading. Also, they failed to provide some basics, like conditioner.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    6.3
    not worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • George S Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The size of the rooms: Teeny tiny for the money you're paying. The overall darkness of the rooms, the pillows were horrendous. The shower wasn't good at all.

    the roof top bar.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    Great Location & High End Property
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • George M Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is about a 15-20 minute walk to main train station in Hamburg which makes it a good location. It is also close to lake and walking paths and bike trails. Breakfast is excellent. The AC works really good in this hotel which was a bonus after staying in many other hotels with minimal AC or weak AC. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. Great hotel and location for business travelers.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    9.6
    great location, very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Group
    • George S Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    sometimes you can feel closing neighbour doors

    great location, very friendly and helpful staff. cozy and stylish rooms. Good restaurant at the hotel, nice breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.8
    avoid restaurant and you should be more than pleased
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • George M Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had several problems with the staff of the restaurant (not the bar, which was impeccable), whose behaviour is far away from what a 4 star etiquette requires. My parents wanted one evening to eat an ice-cream there and eventually have some wine, but they were sent to the bar and told they cannot! For no reasonable explanation. The same pattern next day (same staff), when we wanted to have lunch together and were told that we cannot sit outside, because everything is reserved (it was empty). I told them that we are smokers and we would rather sit outside. The reply came promptly: there are only two meters away to go out and smoke!! We kept standing and deciding what we should do, when we were asked for how long do we want to eat. 1 hour and a half should have been fine. We accepted out of convenience, but no one understood why the need for this charade and lack of politeness. Later on, we sat at the bar and notice the tables remained almost completely empty!! After 3 hours. Their behaviour also changed when regular customers showed up. So those tables were actually kept free in the hope that more important clients come. This is insulting.

    The hotel is really nice, although on the expensive side. The ambiance and design are great; it is really clean and smells good. It has plenty of facilities, like its own underground garage, bar, restaurant, roof terrace, garden, lounge and free Wi-Fi. I enjoyed a lot sitting outside every evening. The music might be load for those who want to sit inside and chat, but we didn't find it aggressive; as long as you seat outside is perfect. This vivid atmosphere is actually not typical for Germany and even many locals come there to relax.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    7.5
    Great vibe but a bit outdated on IT
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • George S Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is a bit outdated, slow internet, old TVs (no Smart TVs), only German tv channels, a radio rather than an docking station, no Gym, no pool

    Great vibe

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    6.7
    Cool design but no wifi and no roof terrace
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • George S Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi did not work in my room in the third floor at all. I spoke to reception staff and they were apologetic but said 'unfortunately it doesn't work well on the third floor' and that was that! The hotel advertises it has a rooftop bar and terrace. It was closed during my stay. When I asked why this was, I was informed they only open it when they can guarantee it will be sunny and dry all day. It was sunny and dry when I was staying but they still didn't open it. They should stipulate this condition when people are booking.

    Great location, nice bar, friendly staff and cool decor and design.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    5.4
    Enjoy the ambience but beware taxi chaos, loud wardrobes, cobwebs and limited wifi.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • George M Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Wardrobes banged shut in our room and neighbours' rooms, and front desk staff knew about it but little had been done. Taxi queuing without a concierge was chaotic and caused me to be late to work. Request to front desk staff to clear cobwebs from room ceiling went ignored. Wifi restricted to one sign in per room

    Excellent ambience in bar and restaurant

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    7.1
    Wonderful, tastefully decorated and hospitable hotel serving amazing food and drinks :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • George M Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Didn't refill the complimentary water after the first day. - Didn't replace shower gel or toileteres amenties

    - Bed was extremely soft - Staff , especially at the reception was very friendly and helpful - Bar and Restaurant was amazing!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    7.9
    The suites were a nice size
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • George Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled of cigarettes, because we had a balcony and guests are allowed to smoke there. The drainage in the bathroom did not work They used far to much perfume throughout the hotel The hotel was very dark

    The suites were a nice size The food was very good. Breakfast and room service They have a great bar and make good cocktails

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    9.2
    Great atmosphere in all hotel areas – room, reception, Bar,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • George Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Great atmosphere in all hotel areas – room, reception, Bar, restaurant.....etc.' The room is cozy any comfortable. The food in the Bar was great (I didn’t try the restaurant but the food is coming from same kitchen so I can trust it's also great there…) Breakfast was really good. The street where the hotel is located is also nice with nice stores and restaurants... Great place to spend a weekend and also for Business stay. It's my second stay in this hotel in last two weeks… highly recommended !

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    7.1
    Wonderful hotel with terrible WiFi.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • George M Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The WiFi is absolute complete RUBBISH. It's a joke. It's an insult to the 21st century, seemingly mocking us from the 1990s. Unstable, unpredictable and even at it's "best" incredibly slow. I don't understand how it is even possible for a rather new and modern hotel in central Hamburg to have such useless Internet connection.

    The hotel is great, as long as you don't need the Internet. Location nice in cozy St Georg district, rooms large and super nice, staff good and helpful. Everything, except...

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    6.7
    Great "hardware" but lots of room for improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • George S Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The George were aware that we were spending our wedding night with them and did not even acknowledge it at all. One shouldn't expect anything beyond what one pays for but I have had anything from rooms filled with flowers (4* hotel chain) to upgrades (5* chain) to a bottle of bubbles (4* boutique) for birthdays rather than weddings. Other minor details were that staff did not help with luggage or open the door when it rained and wouldn't allow me to take a complimentary bowl of cereals for my wife who got dressed at our room when I had already paid for my breakfast. Again all ok by the rules but less than expected in terms of service and savour faire.

    Rooms are somewhat small but very stylish. Vera good breakfast and we also liked the spa a lot. Most staff were also great if it wasn't for some flaws.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    8.8
    Comfortable design hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not in city center, but in nice neighbourhood with restaurants and bars.

    Great interior design. Good beds and pillows. Clean. Nice rooftop bar and restaurant. Will definitely recommend to others.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    7.1
    close to the lake, in a quiet neighbourhood
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    each bed has two small quilts instead of a big one, very strange. The quilt is so small that I have to overlay one another to be fully covered, very uncomfortable. Small room.

    close to the lake, in a quiet neighbourhood

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    10
    Highly recommended
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • George S Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Stylish, fabulous roof terrace with amazing view over the water, exceptional staff and thoughtfully placed facilities - they even have exercise weights in room. Superb.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    8.8
    Great place to stay in Hamburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • George Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The gym facilities could be better for a property of this class.

    The junior suite was very spacious, had a great bath, and the bed was extremely comfortable. The venue is very luxurious and high-end, with a contemporary feel. The location is very good in St. Georg (lots of options nearby), but already at the edge of the quarter.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    7.5
    Four Star Minus with Great Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • George S Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Bar had Music on so loud you could not even think. No Service at all on The Roof Top Campari Loung. Price for breakfast at 19.50 P/P too high with no alternative for the Weekend. Plenty of cafes Close by for light morning eaters. 16 euros for a burger is outrageous since there is a burger restauarnt a block away for less than half the Price. Hotel is too dark all Colors themed to Black, Brown and deep reds. House keepimg poor, dirty glasses left in room, towls not replaced.

    The Location and the comfortable bed.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    7.9
    Good hotel but poor service in restaurant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • George S Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the service in the restaurant was extremely poor. The restaurant claims to be high class, high prices and good food. The servant was not educated to prepare the fish, didn't know how to serve the drinks and the food. The service definitely does not match the level of the hotel

    The hotel is in good condition, nicely located, lots of cisitors and people that came for dinner and the bar

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.1
    Convenient but did not like dark atmosphere of hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • George S Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel very dark. Black walls very imposing. Rooms small and stuffy.

    Staff were very helpful. Close to cafes and walks around river.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • George S Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    paying extra for breakfast

    design is beautiful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.8
    Location is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • George S Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too cold.

    Location is great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.9
    been here 7 years in a row, time to find something new
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • George S Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel needs some TLC after so many years. the music early in the evening is loud.

    atmosphere is nice, good restaurant, good bar, beds are good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    Location , roof terrace
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • George S Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location , roof terrace

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent Hotel would recommend it based on the two days spent here
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • George M Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very helpful and cheerful staff, good position for what we required. Room very clean and well equipped.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.8
    Miss a gym, upon Booking i used the filter gym, and expected...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • George M Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Miss a gym, upon Booking i used the filter gym, and expected to have the possibility to workout inside.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.6
    Breakfast is teriffic
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • George S Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is a little far off from the main attractions

    Breakfast is teriffic

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    9.6
    Will return
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • George S Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent hotel I have used since 2008 , great retaurant!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    7.1
    Friendly staff, nice location, nice room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • George S Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible WiFi connection , impossible to work

    Friendly staff, nice location, nice room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    7.1
    Restaurant closed on Sunday
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • George S Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Restaurant closed on Sunday

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.1
    Very modern decoration, spacious room, great breakfast and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • George S Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that we were initially given a room with no wifi.

    Very modern decoration, spacious room, great breakfast and bar.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    6.3
    Will
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • George S Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Much too noisy. It prevented us from using the restaurant or the bar. Background music should be in the background. And should not be raucous.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    8.3
    Super kompetentes, professionelles Personal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • George S Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Super kompetentes, professionelles Personal.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Stylish and comfortable in St George
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • George S Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the front desk was super helpful and friendly. The hotel is a treasure - stylish and great locale. I am going back for sure!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    New York Feeling in Hamburg!!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • George S Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tolle Bar! Toller Style....

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    8.3
    A very good brealfast selection.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • George S Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A very good brealfast selection.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    Very nice place!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • George S Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everthing was good 😊

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.6
    George a british touch in Hamburg
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • George Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out very busy on my day, 1 person only to attend.

    Rooms facilities and layout, furniture and bathroom space. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.8
    stylish
    • Couple
    • George M Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    modern, super betten, super restaurant

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.3
    Stylish and personal
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • George S Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit far from city center

    Very stylish and the roof top bar offers gorgeous views on a sunny day

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.5
    Design hotel in good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great Location, good service

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    8.8
    Nice room, nice breakfast, nice staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • George M Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice room, nice breakfast, nice staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    7.9
    Bikes for free have been excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • George S Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bikes for free have been excellent

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    10
    My 1st choice in Hamburg
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • George S Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent restaurant but not cheap.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    9.6
    Bar superlativo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • George S Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar superlativo

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    7.9
    Too expensive
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • George M Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy bar

    Too expensive

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    7.5
    Great location in St. Georg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • George S Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lobby seems ready for a refresh.

    Great location, friendly and helpful staff. Bed was really comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    6.3
    Restaurant, design, location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • George S Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wifi, temp. room

    Restaurant, design, location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    10
    Simply stunning hotel of the highest quality
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • George S Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Service, quality staff, attention to detail

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    10
    The George remains one of the classiest hotels I have ever stayed in
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • George S Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    all was great

    We come here every year as it is such a great hotel. Decor, rooms, spa, restaurant and bar...all is excellent

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    9.2
    Late Check out
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • George S Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Late Check out

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    9.6
    The George - the hotel where i can stay for days inside without missing anything.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • George M Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The George - the hotel where i can stay for days inside without missing anything. High class service. Great food. Great staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    6.7
    It was a great hotel handy for us to catch the cruise ship...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • George M Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All ok

    It was a great hotel handy for us to catch the cruise ship in the morning

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    10
    Highly Recommended
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • George M Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Superb service. A stylish, comfortable and well designed hotel. Excellent room facilities.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    8.3
    nice room, nice bed, had a great night sleep!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • George S Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    little far from the city center, but public transport nearby

    nice room, nice bed, had a great night sleep! very clean, loved the shower!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    7.9
    sadly there is no pool in the spa, but thy offer light...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • George S Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    sadly there is no pool in the spa, but thy offer light dumbbells in the rooms which is a nice detail.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    10
    The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The choice of cheeses at the breakfast buffet could be a bit more sophisticated.

    The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff is excellent. We had a celebration at the hotel and were looked after extremely well.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    7.9
    It was very close to the apartment of our Hamburg friends...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was very expensive at 19.50 per person. The coffee was not of the quality one would expect for that price. The two person room had only one easy chair and this was a low plastic rocking chair? The invalid toilet was not in the general hotel area but had to be accessed behind the registration balie.

    It was very close to the apartment of our Hamburg friends who we were visiting

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    10
    Everything is cool and amazing in this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The fire alarm has to be in english too please. I couldnt understand a thing and no one was reachable during the alarm as well

    Everything is cool and amazing in this hotel

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    10
    Staff is very, very friendly, the atmosfeer is very cosy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    make more seats in the bar, and people who want to smoke, they stayed moren than 1/2 hours outside, result, we couldn't sit, wich was irritating.

    Staff is very, very friendly, the atmosfeer is very cosy

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    9.6
    Arriving at 7pm straight from the airport, the cool design...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Arriving at 7pm straight from the airport, the cool design interior and great cocktails in the funky bar set us all up for a perfect evening out in Hamburg. Helpful staff, easy taxi ordering system, clean and comfortable rooms.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    9.6
    An amazingly well-appointed room filled with little...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A tiny bit far from the U-Bahn but it's just a short stroll to either the Hbf or Berliner Tor.

    An amazingly well-appointed room filled with little 'wow' touches. Fantastically well-located right by the lake and in the heart of vibrant St. Georg.

There are also 67 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: