Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Mandala Hotel This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Potsdamer Str. 3, Mitte, 10785 Berlin, Germany

#7 of 579 hotels in Berlin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2082 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.8
    Excellent hotel would benefit from tighter Management
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some things in room not working eg fridge not cold for whole week after reporting twice. A/Con very cold at night and difficult to adjust.

    Very modern. Friendly, helpful staff in Reception. Convenient location right on Potsdammerplatz. Major sights around 20-30 minutes walking and good restaurants in area. Pleasant Bar for an evening drink.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    Good location, spacious room, even though the bed was a it...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am regularly staying in 5 star hotels and the staff in the Mandala is definitely worse than average. When I arrived they couldn't find my reservation and suggested I was in the wrong hotel. There were always two people at the reception but obviously only one was able to do check-in and check-out which caused quite some delay. The second person (was always somebody different) seemed helpless and not experienced.

    Good location, spacious room, even though the bed was a it tiny

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent staff, outstanding customer service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff, outstanding customer service. The hotel itself is more of a really good four star hotel. The facilities are not comparable to a five star hotel. There is no swimming pool, the reception is tiny although the staff were all extremely helpful without exception. The key niche is the Michelin 2 star restaurant that is located on the fifth floor. A real gem. Fantastic experience and quite affordable for a restaurant that makes edible art. My compliments to the chef, the sommelier and the excellent staff. If you are ever in Berlin make this your stop. You will not regret.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Perfect location which is in centre of city, 150mts from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location which is in centre of city, 150mts from metro station. Wonderful breakfast - one of the best I have had. Great service and staff - special thanks to Julia for all the help. Very nice, clean and spacious rooms.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.2
    great hotel in great location.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Food selection for room service and value for money very poor. Also mini bar contents far too expensive. Poor tasting Curry-wurst with french fries € 34, no thank you! :(

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    Great staff, excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Everything was perfect. Nothing that we did not like.

    - Great staff. Very helpful and courteous. - Excellent location. Close to all public transport options. - Fecil - the 2 michelin star restaurant is in the property. Book 1-2 weeks in advance.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location, easy to walk everywhere
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall I was happy with my stay here! Just two minor things that could be impose over is WiFi was slow on my iPad and mobile phone but fast on my laptop. I didn’t report this to the staff but maybe that would have helped. The breakfast was not included and rather costly to buy on the day.

    Great location, easy to walk everywhere Room looked amazing and felt glamorous Hotel was very Clean Friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.3
    Nothing spectacular, but friendly and convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Management Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They did charge us for a few amenities we didn't use, but overall the loss was around just 20€ or so

    Location and cleanliness, very helpful staff, too

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.3
    Nice boutique hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a misunderstanding with the lights. The master switch does not switch off all the lights. They need a small sign for the bed lights because the last thing you want to be doing late at night is working out how to switch them off! EUR 30 for breakfast in Berlin is atrocious.

    Beautiful room and comfortable bed, with nice touches like books, cds, and the universal declaration of human rights!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Superb weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Management Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    N/a

    Location was excellent for sight seeing, shopping and loads of restaurants nearby. Our suite was lovely and the staff very friendly and attentive.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.8
    our stay was wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    that we didn’t get all the information when we arrived.....for ex. regarding the possibility to use the pool of the hotel close by......

    the location, the cleanliness and it was very quiet

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    Spacious rooms, ideal for business trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was extremely cold, even after turning off the aircon. A free bottle of water should be provided for this price/category.

    Great location in the city centre, very supportive, helpful staff, spacious, clean rooms. The windows can be opened, which is a big plus for me. In terms of food, a wide range of choice is offered for breakfast, the restaurant is beautiful, the winter garden is really nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    Peaceful, staff very friendly and helpful, location good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wireless internet connection was slow which hindered my work me as my laptop doesn't have an ethernet connection. Though the room was supposed to have cooking facilities these were few and meager. TV small and lacking connection capabilities apart from the blu-ray player. No casting or throwing capabilities. Hotel seems unsure in what it wants to be, business or personal. Lobby small and could get crowded. Sometimes difficult to get a taxi.

    Peaceful, staff very friendly and helpful, location good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.3
    Robots
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Management Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I guess it's a coltural thing But I could swear the staff are actual androids ( robots) Super wiered I travel a lot This was a first And by the way Not only one staff member But all of them Strange Or perhaps Germany progressed so much that they actually have already put robots to work Again Super super strange

    It was clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Modern hotel in class with a great hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No swimming pool, but it's not a matter for me. They can provide many things like kichen sets and bath amenities, just ask. That sometime need to get used to it.

    Yrue gust satisfaction oriented. Whatever you asked hotel staffs do the best they can with smiles as soon as possible. This hotel is very fanctional for business parson to stay. Every details working well. So this hotel is with the different concept of 5 stars. This hotel is not fancy decoration, but contemporary art with modern technology to make feel comfortable to stay, play and work in the modern/classic city Berlin.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    5.4
    Good, convenient location, close to train, metro, shops and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa facilities were not available. Breakfast was good but limited selection. Parking is NOT private - public parking with no security and hotel does not take responsibility. Our car was broken into and things stolen and hotel took no responsibility for false claim of private parking and no cameras. Do NOT stay if private parking is a must.

    Good, convenient location, close to train, metro, shops and restaurants

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Perfect weekend break hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet peaceful within walking distance of main attractions.very clean with everything you need just the perfect place for a weekend away from the kids.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No 24 hr room service. Breakfast ok. I was told twice that, despite explaining that we had to leave for the airport, breakfast starts at 6:30 not 6:25. Sorry to say but the Breakfast display was not complete until 6:37. If you want to be German about, so can I.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Relaxing spot in Berlin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Management Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inflexible on the booking once I accidentally made a non refundable reservation.

    Everything! This is a wonderful hotel with great amenities. Very peaceful and beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    good hotel, great location, great restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    shower, hairdryer, airco, not enough coat racks (only 4), the duvet on the bed was not large enough (even not the size of the bed)

    splendid location, spaceful room, hairdryer not powerful enough, airco didn't work (repared after two demands) shower didn't work well, breakfast very good, dinner in Facil worth 2 Michelin stars, no bar, spa was closed. just good enough for a 5 star hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.1
    Overly priced for a bad room design.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Management Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom too close to bed. Lighting system too complicated-Did not serve our needs. Bathtub water drain did not hold water. No hand soap in shower. No exercise room. Restauant way too expensive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Very large room , breakfast big selecction ,excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Management Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    only one tv at room even when we had an area as living room. Only tv was in front of our bed.

    Very large room , breakfast big selecction ,excellent location .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    We love this hotel and will stay again for the next trip to Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel is located in a nice neighborhood We had a junior suite with the large room size and Balcony. The room was very new and in the good condition. Very convenience with a short distance to the shopping mall and transportations.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.9
    Overall pleasant experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Not sure if it was Booking's system's problem but the room was mistaken for one people. When we arrived we found only one blanket in the room. So the next day we spoke to the receptionist about it and he happily added another extra blanket for us. However had to charge extra for the breakfast the extra person had. - The breakfast could have more selections to it.

    - The room was quite spacious. - Convenient location to most touristy spots. - The guests who stayed in there were friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    8.8
    Very good - surprised that water was not included in the high price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Garden Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would expect a bottle of water to be included in the room price...

    Excellent room, good breakfast (even though the variety of cheese is very limited for example).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    Excellent!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing!

    People are really professional, friendly,helpful..... not on a “trained fake” level !!! That’s how it have to be! Keep going guys !! Thank you !!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    9.6
    Nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Management Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It isn't the cheapest hotel so anyone looking to save money should look elsewhere. However, this hotel is amazing. Great breakfast facilities and excellent location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    9.6
    A very convenient place to stay in such winter day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The cleaning service. Sometimes they come so early and sometimes very late.

    The location is fantastic and the staffs are super friendly. That's the reason I keep coming back to your site.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    This is a top quality hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This is a top quality hotel. Good location for the sights. Easy to get to from the airport by public transport - RE7 followed by U2. Very professional staff. Everyone speaks English. The Facil restaurant on the 5th floor had two Michelin stars . It’s booked up months in advance but worth asking if there’s a cancellation when you check in. We did and it’s a real treat.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.3
    A nice stay near Sony Center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel does not reach the quality of 5 star as it is rated by Booking. The reception area is tight. The bathroom is adjacent to the bed with sliding doors that can not be locked.

    Very close to Sony Center, wide balcony with beautiful view.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    10
    Brilliant, would go back in a heartbeat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Management Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very friendly and helpful, provided us with maps on arrival and gave us a couple of insiders to the city! Room was exceptionally clean, in the perfect spot with the Perfect view from the balcony! Will definitely be staying at the Mandala next time I’m in Berlin, it was definitely one of the best hotels I have stayed in so far.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking may be tough to find. Nothing else to really complain about

    We visited Berlin for the Christmas markets, and were surprised to find one of the good markets right below the hotel - Potsdamer Platz. The location really does take the cake - easy accessibility from the metro, from Hauptbahnhof, from a couple of bus routes and to mall of berlin. You can also easily walk to Brandenburg Gate and the sights around it. The staff was very helpful, and the rooms were spacious for European standards. Comfortable beds, cozy rooms and luxurious bathrooms. We will definitely be coming back.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel, staff and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    None

    A clean and aesthetic place, comfortable and clean rooms, very comfortable bed. Excellent breakfast, pleasant staff and ready to help with any question or request

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.5
    More suited to a business stay but very central!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pillows weren't the most comfortable. I think my expectations were just higher seeing all the fantastic pictures on the site. The room we got didn't match the pics but they were clean and roomy all the same. It feels more like a business hotel (rather than one for leisure) with the study desk and decor. Would have helped to have a power point near the study desk though!

    The hotel was very close to both S and U train lines, making it easy to get around Berlin. We went during xmas and there was a market right next door so that was a bonus. The hotel was clean and spacious and the king sized bed was fantastic.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    9.6
    Very nice hotel in great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Management Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice hotel in great location! The room was comfortable and the staff very friendly and helpful! King size beds and large bathroom! I recommend it!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    6.7
    We will certainly not come back. For the money we spent very disappointing.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pretending to be 5-Star but hardly a 3-Star. Breakfast price and Breakfast room size - too little tables on some days. First day Over Easy egg were very dry. Interesting when you know you are actually sitting in one of Berlins so called best (Star?) restaurants - FACIL. The windows in the room could be better - its a bit too noisy. Bed was not comfortable for us - but that's a matter of taste We booked this Hotel mainly for "Best Hotel Spa in Berlin". But sorry, the Spa is a joke. No steam bath, no pool, no Jacuzzi. Just a couple of dry sauna and a Bio Sauna which is only for woman (bad if you are visiting as a couple). Very few chairs/ lounge beds only and ALL occupied by towels. Not enough towels in the entry. Parking ridiculously OVERPRIZED (40 EUR / day). Some other Hotel property in the area is half or at least a lot less.

    The breakfast (if you ordered eggs are actually served) - though they don't have enough space. So people need to wait which didn't go well with some visitors who were loudly complaining. Excuse was "not enough waiter/ waitress" which is interesting in a City like Berlin. The Executive Suite was nice size and good layout. Location on Potsdamer Platz is without question excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    In this hotel everything is perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Management Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In this hotel everything is perfect! Room, breakfast, service, staff, view, location,decoration, clearance and so many..All are excellent! I want to visit Berlin again, because of it's culture and to relax into this marvellous hotel in the centre of the sity! Unforgetable , Bravo!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.8
    comfortable stay, excellent location, but facilities a bit lacking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the duvet wasn’t big enough, my partner is only 6ft and it didn’t cover his feet. but they generously sent another one up so all was good. the room was advertised as an aparthotel, but was lacking in some facilities. there was a stovetop but no pots or pans (my partner only eats porridge for breakfast and he was a bit disappointed, part of the reason why we only stay in aparthotels), there was a cutting board but no knives (maybe because of health and safety regulations?), there was no ironing facility in the room itself (i was told i had to go to a laundry room and do my ironing there?) i suppose because there’s an abundance of eating places around then it shouldn’t matter there’s no full cooking facilities but it should’ve been advertised more as a hotel room, rather than an aparthotel. but i suppose the space that you get partly makes up for it.

    the location is excellent. very central and well connected. room is very spacious, very warm and comfortable for the winter holidays. i can’t compliment the staff enough, they were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.6
    The room was superb, the braeakfast was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Management Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was superb, the braeakfast was great! next to Potsdamer Platz with different public transport to get to the hotel and to go to different important places (such as Zoo Station, Alexander Platz, etc.)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    10
    The best choice to stay in Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Management Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect! The staff was very helpful. The room was very big and convinient. The photos are in accordance to what we actually got. The hotel is really close, within 8 minutes walking distance, to the monuments. Should we visit again Berlin, we will stay again in the mandala hotel!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    10
    Five star class!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This could not be improved upon

    Pure class! The staff, hotel and facilities cannot be faulted Location is perfect for a city visit, shopping malls and trains within easy walking distance

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    9.2
    A lovely, quiet, hotel with well appointed rooms and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is right beside Potsdamer Platz and convenient for Brandenburg gate and Reichstag and Gemaldgalerie Not so close to e.g. Gendarmenmarkt or the TV tower. Depends what you want to do! The breakfast offer was €30 per person per night. I thought this was a little expensive. I didn't take this - I usually only have a coffe and a croissant for breakfast! Perhaps breakfast is really exceptional, I can't say! I've nothing really negative to say about the hotel.

    To Booking.com: the ratings don't allow an n/a answer so I had to answer the facilities question even though I didn't use any facilities except the room! The hotel: Very friendly, helpful and welcoming staff. One girl in particular (Claudia, I think) printed off train information to help us get back to the airport. She thought of everything: the fare we'd need the train numbers, destinations and platforms. I really appreciated that - I was finding the trains and the transport network difficult to work out. Room was very clean and nicely furnished. Bathroom also very clean. The room was lovely - it felt "new". Room was also very quiet at night so no probs sleeping.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    9.2
    A fun weekend in Berlin, made better by a great hotel with lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A normal sized pillow would have been good (too big) & the room was a v warm at night, however was fine with window open.

    Great staff, very friendly, great location, lovely rooms.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    8.8
    Location of the hotel is great and the staff were super...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt like that they had built in soaps and shampoos. There was no lotion. I didnt like the wuality of the robe and towels.

    Location of the hotel is great and the staff were super friendly. I love the restaurants in the hotel. The food is great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    9.6
    Outstanding customer service and convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa was good but manicure (two of us had) was not an area of expertise. A third bed was in our suite and not great for an adult.

    Excellent customer service - front desk manager was outstanding we felt very well looked after. The suite was home from home.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    The Mandala is one of my favorite hotels.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish they offered some kind of complimentary breakfast given the price of accommodations. Or at least a cheaper and quick breakfast options apart from the expensive room service or 35€ sit down breakfast.

    The rooms are simple but very well planned, stylish, clean and comfortable. Everything has been thought of. It’s a great hotel for business travelers.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    6.3
    I booked a room for two adults and one child, should there...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked a room for two adults and one child, should there be one large bed and one single bed. The reality was one double bed for us. After the complaint, they brought a small wooden bed lying down to the floor for the child... Both restaurants in the property were full for the evening, very small lobby and the stuff did not say anything about the property and the possibilities of relaxation

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    6.3
    very average hotel wish id booked the lovely Ritz Carlton acrossm the road
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very expensive for standard of hotel. extra beds were very small for kids and didn't suit their size, Room was cold no heating on in room end of Nov. Forgot to give us the alarm call we requested. No atmosphere in hotel. no porter to assist with bags. breakfast room was full had to eat breakfast in other room & expensive for kids at €25 per child

    Very expensive for standard of hotel. extra beds were very small for kids and didn't suit their size, Room was cold no heating on in room end of Nov. Forgot to give us the alarm call we requested. No atmosphere in hotel. no porter in hotel to assist with bags

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    3.3
    Dirty sheets, ripped curtains on arrival, don´t stay there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Management Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Our sheets were dirty upon our arrival, there was a disgusting stain under the pillow. Curtains and sofa cover were ripped, the room needed a renovation 3 years ago. Definitely cannot be called a boutique hotel. Location wasn´t the best for tourism and shopping. I would never return.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    8.8
    Good place to walk to attractions and shopping; good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms rates are higher than most. for this at least water should be complimentary in the room. Breakfast spread was just ok, nothing great as compared to couple of other hotels we stayed in incl 4 star. Restaurant staff head (man ) was very cold and unfriendly

    Attentive staff Good view from our room Quiet and classy place Opposite Sony center and right next to Mall of Berlin. walking distance to station Potsdamer platz.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    9.2
    Perfect location to visit the city: close to public...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The spa only offers sauna facilities - no pool nor jacuzzi

    Perfect location to visit the city: close to public transport and within walking distance of most touristic sites. Delicious and extensive breakfast (although rather pricy) and large, quiet rooms offering all comfort.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    9.2
    One of the best medium size hotels in the world, where work...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    One of the best medium size hotels in the world, where work and pleasure can be combined effortlessly. Only a Nespresso machine in the room would lift it from totally outstanding to complete perfection!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    6.7
    Good hotel if you get a deal but not among the top 5* in Berlin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Management Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is nice and we got a good deal - under 200 Euro for the night but I don't think the Mandala is one of the strong 5* in the city, there are much better ones for the same money. It's trying to play in the league of the Hyatt or Ritz but it's simply not. - The light in the spa is not very relaxing, too bright in some areas - They used a lot of images by Herb Ritts for the decoration but printed on really cheap canvas - it doesn't look premium at all - not sure if the art is officially inquired - The staff in the spa didn't feel very professional, i was trying face cream after the spa session and came back the next day because I was thinking about buying some of the product. on arrival I asked if I can try the sample again and the guy said in a defiant tone 'you can buy them too' as it was too much asked as I already tried it the day before ... the service of the person didn't fit into a 5* it fit more into a country side 3* spa in a smaller city. in general a weird attitude. There was another guy, very tall, who was friendly though. - There is a musty smell in the hotel lobby and on floor 7 sometimes, a general issue at the Potsdamer Platz but didn't have that at the Hyatt when I stayed there. - The interior of the room feels a bit dated, not very modern or 2017 - had the Management Suite with Balcony

    Great Breakfast. Friendly and fast room service. Great food. Sauna is nice but missing steam room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.2
    Deluxe city stay - don’t miss the breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Design a little outdated here and there.

    Breakfast was amazing. It’s on the premises of the **Michelin restaurant Facil and extremely classy. The approach is quite minimalist but the quality is superb. Saunas in the spa are great; pity there is no pool. Very family friendly, particularly for a deluxe city hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    Excellent stay! Highly recommended.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Management Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really king size beds, two different sheets. breakfast is very expensive.

    Excellent stay in the center of Mitte. Surrounded by small bistro bars, international and German cuisine, in front of the Sony center. One of Europe’s biggest malls is in the close proximity, and for those who are interested in the spy museum, it is just a few 100 meters away. Overall our stay was extremely pleased with very helpful and friendly staff. Apart from the beautiful design, the staff made everything better. Recommended is a visit to the spa on the hotel’s top floor (great view). Great food and drinks in a relaxing environment. Again, great hotel and highly recommended for people that like a relaxing weekend in Berlin. Prize vs quality is very high.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    8.8
    I felt relaxed and refreshed after my stay - which is exactly what I had planned!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Management Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The day I was leaving the trains were not running. A friend texted me about it as I was checking out. Rather than offering to help me get information, the staff let me order a taxi and go to the train station. When I came back after not having needed to go at all, they did immediately let me returm to the room for a late checkout. But at a five star hotel, the person at the desk should have offered to help me out.

    The hotel is very peaceful and the staff is lovely. The spa is just as amazing as everyone says - not overcrowded. The massage was the best I ever had. I was upgraded to an executive suite which was spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Management Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We spent 3 nights at the Mandala expñoring Berlin. The hotel is a gem very near the Potsdammer Plaz. Jessica at the reception desk got us last minute reservations for great restaurants. Our room with a balcony was more than expected. We will return for sure.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.6
    Always fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Management Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pillows are too soft but this is totally a personal preference.

    We travel to Berlin often and try to stay at the Mandalay when we do as the location is great, the property is very nice, and the staff are very professional and friendly. You can NOT go wrong at the Mandalay in Berlin. Great value for money as well.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.5
    The location was really perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was really perfect. Room well equipped and comfortable. However the bad thing is the Qui restaurant was very expensive and food wasn’t good: we ordered a penne pasta with chicken and we got a penne with a strong smell of tuna! They changed but it wasn’t tasty. And we asked for any kind of sauce with the steak but they wasn’t able to give us anything: no vegetables no french fries Nothing. I asked the reception severttimes for an adpter to charge my laptop but for three days they said that all adapter was taken by other guest. Very small lobby for a 5 star hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    The Mandala is comfortable and well designed. I felt like I had my own residence in Berlin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Management Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Since there was a kitchenette a few nice plates, bowls and flatware would have been appreciated.

    The suite was spacious and well appointed. The terrace was a special treat. Breakfast was top notch.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    The hotel is very well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing - an excellent hotel.

    The hotel is very well located. The room was very comfortable, quiet and well equipped. The staff are very helpful and professional - nothing was too much trouble. We enjoyed our stay very much.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel shame that there was no air conditioning in use.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No air conditioning, had to sleep with windows open. Very noisy traffic in road below. We will book a hotel with air conditioning next time.

    Lovely hotel, food and staff were fantastic.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.6
    Oasis of calm and pleasure
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was a little bit too hard for me, and housekeeping didn't clean my room until the mid-afternoon when I found it after returning from sightseeing to have a rest. My only other comment is that because FACIL is used for serving breakfast, and it isn't a huge room, at the weekend you may have to wait to be seated.

    Rooms are spacious, the whole hotel has a calm ambience, FACIL restaurant is exceptional, the bar is very lovely, and the massage I had at the 11th floor spa I had was first rate.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    8.3
    Good location, friendly stuff. But it's quite expensive when not included breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's expensive when it is in the time of Berlin marathon esp., price not included breakfast.

    Good location in the middle of city and good facilities in the room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A front staff was reluctant to help connect my smartphone with Wifi telling me that Wifi wave was too weak in the front area. However another staff made it soon, and my stress has gone.

    The manager's studio to which we were upgraded, was enough spacious, highly clean and comfortable. Breakfast was fine. Room keeping staff, a woman, was kind and generous.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.6
    The location is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was a little disappointing for 30Euros. There was only a continental buffet and then an ordering service for eggs, the servings of which were small.

    The location is excellent. There are good eateries, shops and supermarkets within walking distance.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    2.5
    Don't go. Waste of money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. No hot enough water for two first nights !!!! 2. No internet for the first day !!!!!! 3. No apologizes or attempt to offer a compromise!!!! 4. I would've found much better, less expensive hotel than this with better conditions!!!!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    Highly recommend this place for numerous reasons!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing ... I look forward to staying here again and wish all hotels has their standard of excellence for the price.

    This place rocked from the great staff, nice room to great location. I could have spent more time here!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.6
    Very welcoming staff, great bar which also had food that was...
    • Solo traveller
    • Garden Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very welcoming staff, great bar which also had food that was of a far better standard than usual hotel bar food. Fantastic spacious rooms and great value for money. I'd definitely recommend the Mandala.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful hotel but don't expect a smile!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast staff too serious, quite rude and inflexible No menu at breakfast - I like to be stimulated by food combinations

    Quality of food Pleasant check-in staff Room was modern and high quality

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    6.3
    Disappointing and overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price was not value for money. This is supposed to be 5* but you got nothing but an acceptable room. Even charged (without knowing) €20 for parking your car which you had no alternative. €30 each for breakfast ludicrous. Staff stood around not helping anyone. Eg don't even show how the card works in the lift. Getting your car out. Staff aloof each time you left or came in. Left you to sort everything out yourself. This hotel is only good enough for business people who have to be there.

    Close to Brandenburg gate.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    10
    Perfect!
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Perfect central location. Very quiet spacy rooms with great wifi, comfy bed, big bathroom. AMAZING breakfast: the choice and quality of food was wonderful: all the bread sorts MUST be tried. And VERY kind personal and friendly staff (reception, door, housekeeping, breakfast etc). You could see they really wanted their guests to be happy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.6
    Super comfy base in modern area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing- although restaurants around expensive to eat in, made use of kitchenette.

    Very spacious, we had kitchenette which came in useful, air-con worked great, bed super-comfy, Very quiet room, no noise from busy street, located opposite centre with nice bars.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Modern, up to date and well located hotel with friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    I don't like synthetic doonas.

    The design layout of the room was unusual but very effective and the bathroom was superb. The hotel is located very centrally and the staff are friendly and helpful. The electronically controlled blinds were cool and we had a good view.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    10
    Great staff, great location and great room 😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Management Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facil was closed and we only found out via other means. Very disappointed to not be able to eat there.

    The ladies are breakfast sneakily sourced us some avocado!

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Mandala Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: