Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Tiergarten Berlin This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Alt-Moabit 89, Mitte, 10559 Berlin, Germany

#249 of 579 hotels in Berlin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 411 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 74

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The place is old. Assume the last people had sex about 120 years ago. Internet did not work. The elevator doesn't work at night. Maybe it was a great traditional hotel and I did not understand value. But I did not like it.

    I had a bed. I slept on it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    One of reception ladies couple of times talked rather emotionally and tough with me - she was worried about bikes we've rent. Probably this impression was because of her specific English language. It was confusing, but other days she was nice.

    Design - all this old furniture in corridors, big stairs, windows with wooden frames and sill wide enough to sit on it drinking coffee at the morning. Historical building. Good location. Courtyard is so pretty and quiet. Bicycle rent. Ans it was also so nice to find body cream in bathroom!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Maybe the cleaning lady shuldn't pee into the guest's toilet or if she does, she should pull it of... it wasn't such a gusty sight.

    Comfortable room in a magnificent palace built in 1893 & just 15 minutes walk from the Hauptbahnhof. The wooden staircase is adorable!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not modern, older furniture, you can hear the neighbour snoring

    Near the airport and central train station, family style feeling, I had a very quiet room to the inner courtyard

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - it is a good hotel which I would recommend.

    A good hotel - no frills, but solid, clean and well located. Good size rooms, nice well-equipped bathrooms, very clean, nice friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist was very rude when I asked about getting to a certain destination. No very nice after I just arrived 1st time in berlin

    Liked the location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air-conditioning; there was a fan and the multiple windows could be opened but it took a long time to get the stuffy, warm air moving. I just wouldn't stay here for more than a night as the hotel is old and a long walk from any restaurants.

    The proximity to Tegel was what we were looking for as we flew out the next day. The lady at the front desk was very helpful with printing boarding passes etc. There is a U-Bahn stop fairly close.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Very comfortable lovely spacious room. Good to have a fridge for chilling drinks and snacks. Coffee machine available also. We didn't have breakfast. Friendly helpful staff. Great location with TXL bus into Alexanderplatz and underground close by

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We could not make the wifi work. The elevator is tiny.

    We liked the room. It was friendly. Coffee machine with espresso drinks and hot chocolate available for purchase 24/7

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    My husband rates hotels by the breakfast and has decided that we should move to Berlin ! It was amazing! The old world charm, high ceilings , windows that open wide to let in the sounds of the city, best hotel we have stayed in in a long time. The front desk staff were so nice the young man (was determined not to forget his name) he was great. Directed us to the best restaurants Gave detailed instructions on sight seeing tours and made us feel so comfortable! And did I mention the breakfast ? We stayed an extra day because we were so happy with the place

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast coffee was not great. Room furniture outdated and quite 'hostel-like'.

    Great location of hotel, not far from underground train station. Airport bus TXL within 500m away. Friendly, obliging staff, very helpful concierge. The breakfast was ample, lots of choice between fresh food and cereals. Great interior of old ceilings and lights.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Large comfortable room with staff who was extraordinarily helpful! Breakfast was fantastic; coffee machine awesome! It was very helpful to purchase train tickets, etc. from reception. Great location to catch the trains!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite the breakfast is marketed really intense we didn't like the preparation so far and rather decided to get something from outside.

    Quit and clean rooms. Especially the big bathroom was nice 👍🏻

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Upon getting into the room, we found pieces of potato chip just below the sofa, not ours of course. And we kept being kicked out from internet connection, we just have to reconnect very often but then it worked fine.

    The family room here is generously spacious. The elevator worked fine but was very small. Comparing to family room of other hotels, this one is very good. Each of us got our own single bed, not bunkbeds not a sofa bed. The room could get really warm (heater was off and we were there in May) but we could sleep with a window opened and it was not very noisy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is not included in the price and it costs extra 12.50 EUR per person, per night, which makes the total price a big high. The hotel is clean however old and needs renovation. It looks somehow threadbare thus not clean nevertheless staff pays special attention on cleaning.

    The hotel is basic but nice and comfy. It’s situated in the center. The staff is very friendly and supportive. The breakfast was very nice. I was surprised by the offer of many different fruits along with everything else from the cold and hot buffet.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty old windows, it might get cold in winter. Not really soundproof walls and doors, luckily I got no noisy neighbours.

    Convenient location, pretty close to TXL. Easy to find. Very friendly and helpful staff at front desk. Nice old building with high ceilings.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Water kettle or tea or coffee in the room. One had to go down a couple of floors to get hot water and you bring your own tea or buy coffee at the machine. Also if you book through booking.com you pay extra for breakfast. Bed sheets were not changed daily even if they were soiled.

    Location with reference to public transport is good. Rooms are nice and big. Breakfast is decent even though you pay extra if you book through booking.com or any other hotel booking website

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    we have used this hotel before and found it to be the best Berlin hotel we have ever stayed in. We go at least once a year to Berlin and have stayed in a number of Hotels and, although they have all been of good quality, this hotel and especially the staff is far ahead

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe German don't drink tea so there's no kettle in the room. This happens to all hotels while I stay in Germany. Apart from that, everything is perfect.

    Room is clean. Decor is nice too. Staff are friendly and helpful. Location is very good. Just one stop from the central station (TXL).

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff not very welcoming.

    Superb breakfast buffet. Dog friendly. Great location to walk to all the sights. We had two rooms between four of us, one of which room (9.1) had a superb bathroom with a bath and separate shower and was huge. The other room (6) had a tiny bathroom with only a shower wc and hand basin despite both rooms costing the same (booked via booking.com). None the less would recommend as clean comfortable and good value.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Charming family run hotel. Nothing too much trouble for staff. Lots of information on things to do and see in Berlin. Excellent breakfast buffet. Large, high ceilinged bedrooms. Really nice place to stay.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bar fridge and kettle in the room noting that the lack of these may have been deliberate.

    Large room with comfortable beds, separate bathroom, very clean and very quiet. Breakfast at EU10 pp was great value for money as the choice was enormous. Appreciated the artwork in the room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel needs a little TLC. Worn carpet, and furnishings. Creaky halls. Would be nice to have a fan in the room (or ceiling fan) without having to acquire one at the desk, as there is no air conditioning. The Wifi was spotty and slow.

    Location was decent. Within short walking distance to public transport or about a half hour walk through a park along the river to the Brandenburg Gate area. There was a nice area near/behind the hotel with restaurants along the river.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit hot during summer

    Great location, good breakfast and excellent service

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly, helpful staff. Rooms simple, and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was large. Breakfast and staff wonderful!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel with huge rooms and excellent service for a good price!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything ok. Outstanding breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the owner Stefan is very nice and helpful. Once l communicate with him l felt very comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated decor

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wifi is rubbish. Very dark and dingy stairwell.

    Convenient. Nice staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked it all.

    The breakfast is excellent! Very Nice and Clean bathroom. Very Nice straff. Easy to get on the bus and metro.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had possessions burgled from our room so it's not a hotel to be trusted

    Friendly manager

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    was very sufficient for my purposes

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    good position, cheap price, confortable bed

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows too soft.

    Fan in room. Very nice painting in room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent breakfast at reasonable cost

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The manager allowed my daughter who lives nearby to prepare the room as a surprise for my wife's birthday.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room rate too high for this level of comfort

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very Old room furniture

    Breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Friendliness of staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very poorly insulated windows with cold draft making it very uncomfortable to sleep

    excellent buffet for breakfast, personnel and wifi connection

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms look pretty worn out.

    The breakfast was outstanding. Very good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    --

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi very unreliable and street noise with windows open as room 51 is on the main street

    Well furnished, thick towels, plenty of electric outlets

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Bell boy service available. Very unpleasant neighborhood:drugs, homeless,prostitution. Not recommended for family at all. Very disappointing.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little too loud outside. Free parking would be an advantage.

    For the dates I've stayed the value was outstanding.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would expect a hotel within this price range to have much better facilities.

    Stuff was very nice and helpful

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    Magnific Breakfast

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    #1- booking.com stated that there was free wifi. There wasn't. #2- booking.com also stated that there was a shuttle that went to and from the airport (one of the main deciding factors). There was not. Extremely disappointed in the cost for this hotel (additional 10 euro for breakfast AND an extra euro for coffee) as after talking with people the day after staying there, we could've stayed at a nicer hotel for 20+ euros cheaper than what we spent and closer to the airport. Also- would've given this place a lower rating but the lowest I could give was a 2.5.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not that many restaurants in the area. Hotel does have a small lift to the floors, but beware that you need to pass several steps to get to it.

    Location was good for my purposes (attending conference at nearby hotel).

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The breakfast was a little expensive (10 euros). I would have tried if it was cheaper.

    We stayed in a room for three people and it was large enough and very comfortable! Besides you can get directly to the Tegel airport by bus within 20 or 30 mins.

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    location is slightly sorry, there's no convinience near there.

    I visited 5 different hotel in germany, breakfast of tiergarten was best in germany.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A cool place, not "fancy" in the tiresome hotelway. Very nice interior of our room, smooth colours and graceful old furniture. Good coffee in the 24-hours automat, and that's very important.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Inexplicably expensive: it costs as a high-level hotel, even if it is not. Everything needs heavy restoration. Poor structure. The day after I went to another hotel: it costed less than one third and was better.

    Breakfast was good enough, and WiFi worked properly.

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is on a fairly busy street, so some noise if you are in a room facing the front.

    This hotel has real old-style Berlin charm; it is located in a fine Wilhelmine building in a lively neighbourhood, not far from the river and Tiergarten, with good public transport connections (Bus and U-Bahn) for the whole city. A nice touch is the free hot-drinks for non-breakfasting guests during breakfast hours.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel building is really interesting, but somewhat decadent by its potential. With a renovation could host a 5 star hotel.

    The room was huge with tall ceiling, very illuminated and aired.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Extremely friendly, helpful staff and welcoming. Very comfortable and pleasant stay

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful down duvet and historic hotel. Perfect for our overnight stay en route they tegal

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Stayed 1 night to sight see in Berlin 3of us slept comfortably

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Noisy for rooms next to street, bed not comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The staff is very helpful and friendly, and the breakfast buffet is extraordinary.

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very friendly and service minded staff.

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The brilliant choice for breakfast. Such a wide selection of everything which is replenished on a regular basis.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff is so helpful

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great Value. Parking inexpemsive. Very good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Take a wrong turn and you are in a dark unlit area!

    Very welcoming staff and central location

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Matress and pillow they arent comfortable

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    • Family with young children

    Staff was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location and price

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No air conditioning.

    Very good breakfast.

There are also 33 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 74

Guests also reviewed these properties: