Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of TOP Jagdschloss Hotel Niederwald This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Jagdschloss Niederwald 1, 65385 Rüdesheim am Rhein, Germany

#13 of 27 hotels in Rüdesheim am Rhein

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 332 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 52

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.1
    Excellent breakfast with beautiful view out over the valley
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the top floor seemed like the servants quarters. The building is historical so NO AIR CONDITIONING. On a hot day the top floor was unbearable................it's a long drive to Rudesheim

    Excellent breakfast with beautiful view out over the valley

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.5
    Ok. A bit of a tourist trap and a bit overpriced. Crowded on a nice day with locals not staying
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed one night and on check out the desk person tried to say we scratched the sink til she realized my wife spoke perfect German and we weren’t just Americans to be taken advantage of. What would we scratch a sink with? A tooth brush? I mean give me a break... last place to do that unjust accusation was dollar rental car and I’ve never rented from them again. I’d go back to the Jagdschloss as it was a great stay for one night before our 5nights on the Rhine. Food was good and view from restaurant was great. We ordered soup and an entree and waitor forgot to put the soup order in. There is a tall skinny blond hair kitchen guy with his Goldilocks in a bun who actually made me laugh when at lunch in the outside garden he set two pizzas at the wrong table and walked away. When we sat down in the restaurant later on for dinner he delivered 2 slate appetizer herring platters at our table which was wrong. Later that night I watched him deliver more food incorrectly to another table causing a very funny ruckus. He’s really pretty funny to watch. The schlossI is a favorite with the locals who use the grounds as a park to hike around. It is a bit of a tourist trap.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    5.8
    Location is nice and the swimming pool is alright but this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness, atmosphere and food quality were poor.

    Location is nice and the swimming pool is alright but this hotel has nothing to do with 4 stars as they claim.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    6.7
    Adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apart from the early check in the interaction with the staff at the reception was mediocre. We were given a room in a side building instead of the main schloss. No mention of this while we were booking our stay or in the conformation. The direction to the main building were unclear and there were no directions on the premises.

    The location and view from the restaurant are awesome. We arrived early and still got a room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.3
    Interesting schloss in a beautiful area. Perfect for a honeymoon or romantic getaway!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant could have had more menu choices. Lots of wild game on the menu. It was good if you like wildgame.

    Interesting villa that was impeccably clean. The staff were kind and helpful. I would have liked more menu options and the breakfast was good with traditional German flair. We will be back!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.8
    the ground and hotel are very nice, Everything else was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we were there on a Sat. night and it was a bit noisy till 1:00 in the morning. Bed not the best.

    the ground and hotel are very nice, Everything else was great - restaurant had good service and we had two very nice meals. Staff was friendly and very well mannered

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.5
    Missed opportunity
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Missed opportunity. They have the loveliest outdoor patio covered with beautiful plane trees where you could sit and have a drink or light meal. The food however is really bad. We stayed there twice in a few days and sampled 4 of the 6-7 dishes on offer they were all really bad and we would never order anything there again. The waiter was arrogant and sarcastic and was not often around. This could be such a fantastic spot where walkers and sightseers come but I noticed that many only had a drink as they have obviously sampled the wares before. What a shame.

    This is one of our favourite places to stay as it has so much old world charm in the most beautiful setting. We love walking down to the reindeer and feeding them. T

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    10
    A charming hotel in beautiful surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A charismatic hotel in beautiful surroundings. The hotel has a perfectly sized pool well suited for babies, and the dinner was tasty and of high quality. Unfortunately we did not have time to explore the outdoor park and forest. I highly recommend this place to families with small children.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.6
    Easy to be in love above the Rhine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful little studio ... away from the hotel, but close to the restaurant and bar. Spotless. Didn't know it was as far away from Rudesheim as it was, but that proved a pleasant surprise ... there were quiet forested trails and a tram down to the town. We totally enjoyed both.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    8.8
    A wonderful mansion hotel in the hills above Rüdesheim.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. Maybe breakfast could be improved to 4star level.

    The hotel is in a beautiful location with great views from the restaurant on the fields of the hills above Rüdesheim.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    8.8
    A beautiful stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could have been included in the price given that the hotel is a lone building in the park; the food in the restaurant was very unfortunate and pricy (but since this does not belong to the evaluation of the hotel as such, I still rated the hotel high). The room was a bit dark in the corner of the roof of an adjacent building.

    Excellent location in the midst of a beautiful park; a pleasant, calm room; helpful staff and a tasty breakfast outside in the sun on the terrace which in and of itself is in a beautiful setting!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    9.2
    An exclusive location for a weekend in the Rüdesheimer region.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After 5 minutes of recapping. Nothing.

    Very hunting lodge style.Very warm atmosphere. However the best part of this hotel are the staff. Always friendly and extremely attentive with an immediate response to the guests needs.The pool and sauna is well equipped, if not a bit small, when one considered the amount of guests the hotel can entertain.Breakfast was good with a broad offer for all tastes.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    6.3
    Would have been nice if we had been given a room actually in the hotel !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were allocated in the annex which is too far from the hotel. Just as well it wasn't raining too much ! Room fittings were good but it was darkly furnished and the room very dark with the windows shadowed by trees. Gloomy is the only description I would give it. Not a nice place to be in other than to sleep. If you do decide to stay at this hotel, demand a room in the main hotel. If you are only offered the annex, stay somewhere else !

    Very good quality place but it should have been for the high price charged. Nice pool and sauna

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    5.8
    The location was great, if you need rest, this is one area...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For a 2 person room,the room was really too small, the bed took almost all the room, you could not really move around. Given the price, it was overpriced.

    The location was great, if you need rest, this is one area to stay in, to get your batteries charged, breakfast was good, personel friendly

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    9.6
    what a treat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was really looking for somewhere just off the autobahn after a long drive and this hotel was a little further than expected (about 30 minutes from the autobahn) with an unexpected Rhine ferry crossing (only cost 5.60 euros). However definitely worth the drive, I would do it again!

    This was a treat for us on our way back from the alps. The hotel is lovely surrounded by forest walks and a deer park. Enjoyed using the pool and sauna and the evening meal was delicious with fantastic local wine. Parking was plentiful and easy, staff were friendly and the breakfast buffet was great. I wish we'd had more time there to go running on the trails and get the chairlift down to the town!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    8.3
    Great forest setting but a little dated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a bit dated for the price.

    A very nice setting in the forest area, within easy reach to the cable car to get to the town. Also had a nice little pool & sauna, although the pool was a bit too cold. Plenty of parking. Nice food.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.8
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    rooms a bit outdated, but clean pricey

    very good coffee indoor pool and sauna with outdoor terrace outdoor activities the view relaxing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    10
    Germanic splendor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    . Not so close to town. Need a car

    Spa facilities were good. Great place for hiking and walking

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    10
    Perfect Escape
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are wide distance apart from hotel lobby

    service Rooms Food location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    7.9
    Stay with small group
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, tiny bathroom

    Good location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    7.9
    A moment of peace in the woods
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are old fashionned with carpet flour.

    The location is amazing and the surrounding beautiful. Breakfast buffet of great quality.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    8.3
    bed, beautiful garden, quiet location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    bed, beautiful garden, quiet location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    10
    Beautiful location and hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Last orders in the restaurant is quite early, the food looks fantastic but I had to settle for a sandwich, it was a nice sandwich though

    Beautiful location and hotel. It was a joy to take a walk in the forest before breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    8.3
    Good location if you want to get away from it all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower cubicle tiny - in a large bathroom? A small observation... as everything else was pretty good!

    Good location if you want to get away from it all. Great base for walking, cycling, car-touring. Traditional, characterful hotel. We had extremely spacious comfortable room (101) with lovely views. Free, easy parking. Free, fast Wi-fi.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    8.8
    Very friendly staff, who could speak multiple languages.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The double beds are two singles pushed together, so you have a gap in the middle. This is common in Germany, but not as comfy as a real double bed. Extra charge for a baby cot.

    Very friendly staff, who could speak multiple languages. Very nice location, and nice grounds. Nice dinner which was not over priced as typical in a 4 star location.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    7.9
    The location is lovely and peaceful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast could have been better organised as they seemed to take a long time to refill the units. Checking out was confusing because the receptionist was unable to deal with a small queue.

    The location is lovely and peaceful. The restaurant and breakfast areas have panoramic views. Dinner was very good. The rooms were spacious and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2015

    8.8
    Nice old house, in a beautiful forest setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pillow was too thin Sometimes Internet didn't connect in our room

    Nice old house, in a beautiful forest setting. The staff was very friendly, and kind to fulfill my special request. The pool and sauna was a very pleasant addition to our stay. Rich and tasty breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    9.6
    Staff was communicative, helpful, efficient, professional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had no bad experience, but being up that steep winding, basically single lane road wasn't fun driving. Of course, if it was more accessible, it wouldn't have been so beautiful and quiet - I'll take beautiful and quiet.

    Staff was communicative, helpful, efficient, professional. Facilities were lovely & quiet. Space to move around in, especially in the bathroom, was wonderful - and the windows had SCREENS. Dinner was excellent, for choice, quality & service (although wine by the glass selection could be improved). Breakfast was excellent for range of choice. Location within easy walking distance of the monument, with a spectacular view of the Rhine, was OUTSTANDING, as was the historical significance of the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    7.1
    Friendly and helpful staff, crispy bacon at the breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No one at the bar, the room was a bit dated, takes 1/2 hour walking to get to the lift to rudesheim

    Friendly and helpful staff, crispy bacon at the breakfast buffet :)

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    8.3
    It's a bit distanced from town center, but very relaxed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Only Wi-Fi. Connection in our room was not good.

    It's a bit distanced from town center, but very relaxed atmosphere with friendly staff and surprisingly nice restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    8.3
    The location was lovely, up above Rüdesheim (although I can...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff were generally a bit unmotivated. Our waiter at dinner seemed more concerned with chatting with his colleagues than serving our table. Once served, our beef cheeks were incredibly salty and almost inedible. We had read lots of good reviews about the quality of the food so we were surprised. Apart from that, the room was quite loud - there was a party somewhere nearby and we could hear music until 5am. The breakfast was a joke, avoid it at all costs and drive into town to get something there!

    The location was lovely, up above Rüdesheim (although I can imagine it would be difficult to get there without a car). We had a nice spacious room in the separate building, with nice views over the property. The terrace dining area was lovely.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    10
    I'm so glad I found this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was great.

    I'm so glad I found this place. It had hiking trails, a beautiful pool and spa, historical setting and fabulous fresh air. Loved it. Staff was wonderful.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    7.9
    This hotel has a beautiful location and the breakfast was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Unfortunately, like most hotels in Germany, there was no air conditioning, or even a fan, to help us get through record-high temperatures in July.

    This hotel has a beautiful location and the breakfast was excellent. We also really loved the homemade iced tea on offer at the garden restaurant - this is a rarity in Germany!

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    10
    I loved everything about this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I loved everything about this place. You could not find a more perfect hotel than TOP. The atmosphere was elegant and luxurious, the staff was so helpful, and the food served in their restaurant was amazing. I can honestly say that I did not want to leave.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    6.3
    very quiet secluded location, well off the beaten track.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room much smaller than picture indicated. The business suite, is definitely not business minded nor a real suite. Location too quiet for my liking,

    very quiet secluded location, well off the beaten track. Excellent food in the restaurant Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    9.2
    Good sized room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little pricey. A little isolated from town. Room was in a separate building from main hotel; had to walk to pool/sauna/exercise room in the rain.

    Good sized room. Beautiful location. Very good restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    10
    Quiet location, staff very helpful with regards to our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It would be nice with a little more attention on servicing guests in the bar area. I had to actually go find someone to get a drink.

    Quiet location, staff very helpful with regards to our 2-year old boy. Lovely with the deer in the backyard, our little boy loved it and so did we. The view from the dining room is magnificent.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    7.9
    Pretty and quiet surrounding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pool was quite cold.

    Pretty and quiet surrounding. Dinner and wine at the hotel's restaraurant was fantastic. Very good value.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    9.6
    Excellent location for retreat and exposure to the Rhine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location for retreat and exposure to the Rhine. Great running track through forest.

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    5.4
    Restaurant good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Elevator only to second floor. Had to slug bags to 3rd floor. No help from staff. (No bellman) Not for handicapped.

    Restaurant good.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    10
    Great location, quiet atmosphere, good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location, quiet atmosphere, good food.

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    6.7
    pleasant location in woods
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No lifts to upper bedrooms

    pleasant location in woods

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    9.2
    Great lake view rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great lake view rooms

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    9.6
    gorgeous, perfect place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    be aware that the hotel restaurant is overrun with hikers at lunch time on weekends.

    gorgeous, perfect place.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    10
    Lication
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Height of bathtub/shower, a little high to get in/out

    Lication

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    7.5
    The restaraunt for dinner was excellent .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No lift to the bedrooms in the building away from the main hotel.

    The restaraunt for dinner was excellent . Great waiters,great wines.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    8.8
    Lovely place when you don't need proximity to the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Lovely place when you don't need proximity to the city. Would love to be back.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    10
    The best hotel you can book for this price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Sad to leave this place

    The best hotel you can book for this price. Just excellent.

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    9.2
    Quite woodland retreat, beautiful gardens, lovely room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quite woodland retreat, beautiful gardens, lovely room.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    9.2
    Private and easy parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Private and easy parking Dinner was surprisingly good The room is quiet and clean

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    10
    Everything !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We had to walk outside to go to the pool area. Could be an issue in winter !

    Everything !

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    9.2
    The evening meal was over priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The evening meal was over priced.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 52

Guests also reviewed these properties: