Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Residenz Hotel am Festspielhaus This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Josef-Wulff-Straße 75, 45657 Recklinghausen, Germany

#2 of 5 hotels in Recklinghausen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 464 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 35

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable oasis in Recklinghausen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows. Too small and not plentiful enough.

    Large comfortable rooms. Plentiful, tasty breakfast - served until 11:00h!!! Very civilised. Spa superb and wellness treatments extremely good value.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    6.3
    Good location for one night, but would not stay there again.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was nice, but a bit confused about check out time, and adding the cost of breakfast. Curtains in room were more for decoration. To reduce the light and for privacy the metal shutters needed to be lowered. Room was not very cozy. Shower had no basin so water went all over the bathroom.

    Large room, staff friendly and easy to find. For me an excellent location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    8.8
    Very good place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Internet ist not the best, even if I was told it is a new provider, so should be great. Breakfast is good, but lacking variety of fresh vegetables. For the price of 13 EUR is ok.

    Quiet area. Good maintenance of the general area around of hotel. Enough parking spots. Personnel was always very helpful and friendly, apart from one misunderstanding (they forgot to carry two cartons of samples I received up to the room, so I needed to carry those myself late in the evening and then return the carry wagon back down. My room was not the nearest to the reception, so it was quite a journey I would have saved myself). Rooms are very large and spacious. The whole hotel is disabled-friendly and there also many seniors, who live there. Two restaurants - for long-term renter and hotel guests. The food is very good and properly priced. Wellness and spa areas were clean and well arranged. The equipment was good maintained.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.5
    Good value appartment, seems to be party of a retirement complex!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More heating - was cold.

    Large apartment - could have done with an extra bed as family of 5, but was all good size and clean. Was expecting one room so the sitting room, kitchen and extra bedroom were a real bonus. Food in the restaurant was great, enormous portions. Didn't stay for breakfast but there is a shop with bakery etc just outside.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.6
    Very good, will visit again, as it was our second stay already.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything apart that I can't speak German and staff in restaurant didn't understand how I like my steak ;)

    Love German sausages for breakfast and the idea of cooked breakfast not just cold continental

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    7.9
    A bit disapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The free wife worked for 1st day, then was lost. The power points in the rather expensive suite were lacking in number,and very badly located.

    The staff, (when around) were very friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.1
    Great for a few nights stay!
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 18 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are horrible. I weigh approximately 78 kg and the Mattress was too soft for me. Gave me lower back pains near the end of my long stay. Shorter stays probably won't have same effect ones lower back. Also, the headboard is covered in a carpet type cloth material which captures and holds dust. My girlfriend noticed it immediately when she stayed with me a few nights. Her allergies kicked in hard by the second day and she seems to think it was the headboard. The rooms have small kitchens with stove and refrigerator. However, they provide no pots, pans, or cooking utensils. They do provide a couple of forks and spoons. If you want to prepare your own meals you need to purchase everything you need to do this, but given the few options available in the area for hotels with kitchens, it's not such a bad deal for long term occupants. Lastly, the restaurant food was over priced and underwhelming with not a lot to choose from. I usually ate elsewheres.

    Located in a very quiet area near a large park and small zoo. Dog friendly hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel but not suitable for children
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is great, we were a group with 13 children, which with the best will in the world you cannot keep silent. At this hotel due to the large number of elderly guests and residents, they expect children to be seen and not heard. For this reason I would not say it is suitable for children. I would not take even one or two, as even when I was only in the company of 1 or 2 children, other guests frowned and made them feel very unwelcome.

    The rooms were spacious, well appointed. Beds very comfortable and the hotel was immaculate. Benedict Pihnouf working on reception was absolutely lovely and could not have tried harder or been more accomodating of our group. Perfect gentleman and star member of staff. Benedict was a great help and really looked after us.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    6.7
    Met the purpose
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it is also a residence for the elderly and I found the atmosphere a little strange.

    We had lots of space in the room. Suits families and a nice breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    3.3
    More old peoples home than hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The suite was laid out in such a manner you had to walk from bedroom to lobby just to dress! Very strange. As you walked in there was a lobby with a bathroom (good size) to the left. There was a full length mirror, wardrobe and space for clothing in the lobby! Go through another door to into the living room (again a good size) with a kitchenette off to the right. Go through the living room and get to a bedroom - good size but no mirror, drawers or space to change so each time you wanted to get ready to go out (went to Germany for a wedding), you would need to walk through living room to bathroom to lobby?!?!? Got there on Friday and put valuables in safe, Saturday when I went to get money from the safe it wouldn't work. All reception would say was that the engineer / handyman didn't work weekends and I would have to wait until Tuesday (by which time I would have left). I had to get very cross and demand for a manager come open the safe. She said I was to just leave it open and don't close it again! A manager followed us along the corridor asking if we wanted something. It wasn't until someone told her that we were guests that she left us!?!?!? The 24 hr bar closed at 10pm At breakfast we were told to sit anywhere and when we did we were asked to move?!?! The wifi was bad. Think the main reason for the hotel was because it was an old people's home, loads of pensioners in wheelchairs. Very strange entry system to room. Had trouble each and every time and no one explained it was not the same as most rooms or gave any instructions The staff are not prepared for international guests at all!

    The spa was brilliant - even though there was no one to get hold of in case you got into any trouble. There was a swimming pool, whirlpool, sauna, wet room solarium and some sort of water massage bed Euro 5 fir 5 mins. Beautiful loungers to relax on but no one around so not really safe for you to go in on your own.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    7.9
    The receptionist should inform the client when handicapped...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist should inform the client when handicapped room is assigned. I believe that the bill of the room can be paid in the morning at the check out as they have the credit card number for the reservation

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    6.3
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet didn't work in our part of the hotel during three days of our stay. They didn't resolve it, because there was no one who could resolve the problem. I had to made some extra mobile expenses on my own for limit Internet in my room. The rooms have a kitchenette however it is not equiped, only with a watercooker. You have to pay 15 Euros extra for kitchen equipment. This is not mentioned on booking.com, their site or at check in. The rooms are clean but they should look at the dirty stains at the leather chairs and clean the balconys (cigarettes and birth stuff) properly. I was there last year and the dirty balconys and stains on the chairs where also a problem.

    Spacious rooms

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 16 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard bed and the pillows to soft other than that everything was good

    food Was great staff very friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    "Bequem"
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    electronic key of the room is difficult to use

    nice room, quiet environment, near to the Festspielhaus

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.9
    We like the environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Clean, quite, very big garden

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.8
    nice stay for visit to Ruhrfestpiele
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very quiet and beautiful nature

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    6.7
    An ideal place to stay for the area we wished to visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room we were given had smelly drains but once reported to reception we were given another better room

    Very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    9.2
    Lage, Sauberkeit,
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lage, Sauberkeit,

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.9
    Spacious rooms and good breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fairly cool reception... no TV in bedroom....

    Spacious rooms and good breakfast...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    6.7
    Nice stay , but as always cold efficiency from staff ...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff friendliness

    room ,spa and location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    7.9
    Early shut down of the sauna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Early shut down of the sauna

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    7.9
    The room was spacious, quiet and spotless.
    • Group

    I requested disabled parking when booking. There was only one disabled space, round the corner from the main entrance. There was a side door reasonably close, but this could not be opened from outside. The space was only standard width, so impossible to open door sufficiently wide to get out. Staff okay, but not overly helpful. For example we were told that we could not have coffee in the cafe as they were getting ready for lunch, so we should go to a table by the bar. After 20 minutes they had still not taken our order.

    The room was spacious, quiet and spotless. Pleasantly furnished and nice to have a balcony. It was really good having a separate bedroom. As the bathroom was off the hall, it was possible to go at night without waking the other person. The evening meal was good, but breakfast only acceptable. However, there was a shop downstairs, so we were able to buy fresh bread rolls and coffee daily.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    8.3
    The rooms are spacious and with a kitchenette.
    • Group

    It was a bit cold as the heaters are turned off at night.

    The rooms are spacious and with a kitchenette. All rooms are wheelchair accessible. The Breakfast-Buffet is large and leaves no wishes open, the restaurant has high quality food and great staff!

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2016

    4.2
    Not much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It smelled like a nursing home! We had two rooms. My children's room was on the senior citizen home side and my husband and I were in the hotel side. The hotel side was ok but the smell and atmosphere was horrible on the senior side for children. My children were miserable and it was difficult for any of us to walk through the halls without wanting to gag from the smell.

    Not much. The price and the rooms look exactly as the photos show online. Perfect place to stay if you are visiting your elderly parents who live there or if you want to see how life could be in the future as a senior. They looked happy and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    7.5
    Easy to access.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The invoice was confusing and gave the impression that we paid the breakfast twice. The fact that the hotel is also a retirement home was surprising.

    Easy to access. Clean. Ok for a family with 2 kids. Nice staff. Really good food (dinner and breakfast)

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    7.5
    Super clean and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Glass door between bedrooms and hall needs blinds. Kitchenette had no pans or microwave so apart from kettle...useless.

    Super clean and spacious. Superb breakfast selection.

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    6.3
    1. Rooms are big, spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    1. No vessels, utensils in kitchen. Very ill equipped kitchen. 2. Swimming pool is available after 7 p.m only most of the time. Swimming pool is very small. 3. Sauna and spa facilities were not available for 2 out of 3 days. 4. Breakfast not included in the room rate is a let off. 5. No play area / facilities for children to play.

    1. Rooms are big, spacious. 2. Rooms are clean 3. Restaurant is good and reasonably priced.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    8.3
    Immediate update to a suite at check-in.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I personally don't like shower curtains in any rooms, but especially not in a suite. Breakfast was not very special

    Immediate update to a suite at check-in. Very comfortable and spacious room. Staff was absolutely friendly

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    10
    We liked everything but we were especially impressed about...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    nothing to criticize!

    We liked everything but we were especially impressed about the friendliness of staff and the size of the room. The Finnish sauna is also excellent.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    9.2
    Spacious rooms, beautiful gardens, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Spacious rooms, beautiful gardens, helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2016

    7.9
    Staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Boring environment Wifi did not work

    Staff Nice rooms Very clean and well taken care off Mainly 65+ and a couple of businessmen

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2016

    9.6
    The staffs are the most Friendly people I have ever met at...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    nil

    The staffs are the most Friendly people I have ever met at reception desk...... It is great to talk with Dog.....

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    9.2
    Had an apartment - huge!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I didn't mind at all but I didn't expect the hotel to be a mix of hotel and retirement home.

    Had an apartment - huge! Very quiet location.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    9.2
    Everything
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2015

    9.2
    Thanx
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    So bad Wifi

    Thanx

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 35

Browse Residenz Hotel am Festspielhaus traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: