Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Leipzig City Nord by Campanile This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Wittenberger Str. 87, Nord, 04129 Leipzig, Germany

#85 of 90 hotels in Leipzig

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1710 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is very near to zoo but a little far from city center. Internet connection drops time to time.

    It is an old hotel but rooms are completely renovated. There is a lobby &bar which you can hang out and have some drinks. There is a rewe market next door, which you can use for your daily needs. Rooms are equipped with kettle & glasses (offered with some coffee and tea). There is always free coffee at the lobby as well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Carpet needs refreshing. Lock a bit awkward.

    The tram (16) is only 7 minutes from the central train station. Most of the staff are very helpful especially Bettina. Breakfast is great and set me up for the day. Stayed their before as usually good value for money. Their information pack is one of the most informative for this kind of hotel and 24 hour desk is also helpful. Shops close by and dear old Rossmans too. Great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad pillows and uncomfortable night sleep. not all staff spoke english so was bit difficult to ask for help, location bit far out to walk. Trams went past all night so was quite loud.

    Powerful shower

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    n/a

    The staff were welcoming and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. The location right next to the stop for Tram 16 was really convenient. Reception desk open until late was very helpful for a late arrival. Great value for money. The room was also quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We came early but with the help of very lovely lady we could check in right away and she was so nice to give us detailed directions around the city. Over all, great experience!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The biggest problem was that me and my friend couldn't use a wi fi in hotel because we have iphones.. And that was very important for us and our business. We had to leave hotel to use internet.

    Rewe supermarket is close to the hotel, and few coffee shops.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was absolutely disgusted there was no Wi-Fi in the room. I was treating my daughter who is 21 to a break for her birthday and needless to say she was so disappointed the wi-if didn't work. We brought this to the attention of the receptionist but nothing was done.

    The bedroom was comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    access was hard at first, not easy to unload car in front of hotel

    good hotel. clean. quiet. a bit akward for parking, unless you pay for underground parking!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Chocoalte Museli/Chocolate Croissants. waiting for bread to be defrosted. Slow early breakfast. Musroom in scrambled eggs!! (and greenery? (parsley?Paving issues which I helped to resolve myself. No heating in main bedroom. Feather pillows despite me requesting none feather.

    Goats Cheese. (I had to ask for it again the second day) smoked salmon.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no information on Booking that parking were cash payment. Staff couldn’t explain this in English when we arrived late at night. Even in german they didn’t say where we could find an ATM and easily solve it. We had do drive several laps around the block to find a parking space.

    Beds were ok, room clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In my room I noted, that a bottle of mineral water was only free for guests who booked directly with the hotel. Slightly unnecessary to show the bottle and although the room was for a good price, they should appreciate guests, that in good time before arrival, have booked a room that is not cancellable.

    As a regular guest over the years the hotel was as usual very good and nice and I got a room to the backyard just as I wished. The tram just a few meters from the hotel takes you to the central station and city centre in 10 minutes

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only part of the staff were friendly. The parking is not in the hotel. It is near and underground... so you'll have to find it firstly and then find a way back to the hotel

    Great location. Cute room. Breakfast was really delicious

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air-conditioning in the lobby and room - could be an issue during warm days as some rooms are on a street side. Some mess in the corridor - seems like rooms are under refreshment process (that is good), however, beds and mattrasses on the floor gives worse experience. Maybe they are struggling with space for it?

    spacious room, clean and nice bathroom, extremely comfortable bed, nearby public transport, parking possible on surrounding streets.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was very clean, but the older carpet stained.

    staff was very courteous and went out of their way to be helpful. One recommendation would be to include the info as to how to get their by public transit. It is very convenient once it is known, but would have made our arrival easier.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The floor is fully carpeted and the hotel old, thus the carpets are and look very dirty.

    Good location just 4 stops from the city centre with the Tram 16. Free public parking in the steet across.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet was dirty and my wife got allergic as a result i hv requested to upgrade my room hotel without carpet with additional 25euro per night

    Close to mart and tram

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One can notice, that hotel is kind of wear-down already. Budget class, but good enough just to oversleep. Staff's knowledge of English and ability to give tips about public transportation could be better.

    Location. Easy to reach city center on tram. Hotel easy reachable if arriving by car.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no lotion for us

    The room was very clean. The location was near a tram stop. Finding it and moving to the city centre from the hotel was very easy. It was also in a relatively quiet part of town

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were not very helpful and the WiFi didnt work in the room and barely worked in the lobby. The room was clean and the needs were good but in general the hotel was very worn down and uninviting.

    Easy to arrive by car. Easy to take the tram to the center.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The floor (carpet) in the room was very, very dirty and the bathroom (shower) was not enough clean.

    Good location close to the tram stop and relatively close to the city centre. Good way to the Highway. Big, good and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No fridge in the room, it is really hot in summertime, no air condition. Carage is strange on Sundays.

    no payment for dogs, great location, free wifi, breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tiny and the street noise was extremely loud, as was noise from room next door. What we didn't like most of all is that this hotel is quite far from the city center and there is nothing around the hotel to do, eat or see, and public transit is not convenient from this hotel. I'd recommend elsewhere for tourists.

    Room was clean and nice bathroom

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet connection is good but not ideal -- there are interruptions in the service.

    The rooms are very quiet -- excellent sound insulation. Also the place is very clean. Location is good -- 10 min on tram from the city center.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Carpet had many stains on it which made it look very unpleasant. No air con, no fans, it was 20 degrees c outside the day we stayed and it was still too warm to sleep well.

    Hot drink making facilities in the room. Lobby air looked very tidy. Safe car parking, useful access to trams to city centre.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfort and clean rooms, free coffee and tea in the room + an option rofr coffee to go upon reception, helpful staff and cozy location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WiFi was only serviceable. Not very good.

    Convenient to the city center with a short tram connection while being located in a quite part of town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very comfortable hotel close to a tram stop with convenient links to the centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good value for low price. Nice staff!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good tram connection to explore Leipzig

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking only extra cost

    location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    BREAKFAST EXPENSIVE

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negative here.

    Position was excellent. As soon as you went out, you can go on Tram line 16 and in 15min you will be on Leipzig Messegelände!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location, cleanliness and good value for money

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs tram number on web site. 16 staff to reply to emails

    Near tram. Staff and price

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    did not eat breakfast there....charge was extra not included

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hard to answer, everything was great.

    Extra soft bed. Also the wonderful feature of the hotel - the kettle in the room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very poor staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower floor was a bit slippery though; could be improved. Thank you.

    The heater in the bathroom which allowed drying of clothes was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you close the window its too hot, when you open the window its too noisy from the tram.

    Very comfortable bed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff and atmosphere was very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room is quite small.

    Good hotel, very nice for this price, tram stop is next to hotel with link to city centre, coffee and tea in room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Surrounding there is nothing especial

    It's close to market where I had work

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of AC unit.

    Breakfast was great, room was quiet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Description doesn't make clear that breakfast and car parking is extra.

    Value for money

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel looks old, the stuff not very friendly, the parking was 9 euro/day.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    camera si baie

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing in particular - too short stay.

    Good breakfast, good location (for a Messe visitor).

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Quite noisy from the street and from the lift.

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excelent location, clean and comfortable room, staff was friendly and very helpful!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The WiFi didn't work in our room on the first floor. This was a bit annoying

    Beds were comfy. Room was a good price

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    elevator

    very nice service, room was clean, good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very well located in Leipzig, real value for money.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Near train station, bar, supermarket and The city center

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spacious rooms. We needed an extra bed for a child and that was OK. It fitted really good, leaving us still enough space.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wi-fi is not in rooms

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I got room that was sharing the same wall with elevator. Luckily not too often was going the elevator during night. But early in the morning yes. Very noisy. And the WIFI.... nonexistant.

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There was a wi fi in the ad on booking.com but basically the signal was so poor that I needed to go to the lounge to use any proper wi fi

    Positive overall service and hospitality.Very helpful and professional staff!

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Despite we ask for a car parking place, they don't arrange anything. We arrived 1:30 in the morning and we have to look around the roads to leave the car for 40 minutes. The next day we ask again and they told us that they have parking place and they arranged it. So the night staff dint know it.

    Actually everything was perfect (location, clean rooms, etc.)

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A little too remote from the centre--and, later at night (9pm) little in the way of restaurants in the largely residential district. Take the tram--easy and cheap.

    Friendly staff, decent room, good value

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    As a photographer I strongly depend on WiFi. Unfortunately, WiFi in our room did not work due to technical issues. I reported this issue on the very first day, staff was not able to fix the problem within the five days I stayed there. Staff at the front desk answered all questions, but for some reason I did not really feel welcome. The room was really tiny, almost no space to put my bags & equipment.

    Everything was clean. Beds were narrow but comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Several times in the flow of month stopped at this hotel. On floors the internet does not simply work. Guidance of hotel does not turn on this attention.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    However, the WIFI is non-functional the moment it gets a bit busy. I had no internet access for my whole stay, which put me in a difficult position as I was travelling for business. This seems to be a permanent problem according to some staff. Unfortunately,next time I wont be able to book with this hotel if this issue does not get resolved.

    The hotel was nice, clean and the staff friendly. The breakfast is exceptionally good.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A very minor issue but the wifi was down during our stay and when it was working it didn't reach into our rooms

    Helpful and friendly staff, fantastic value for money and very clean. Perfect for our needs- using as a base to get into the city.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was only 80 cm....better would be 90 cm..., for single person.

    Room was oke, space for to put things in the wardrobe. Possibility to make coffee and tee! Near the hotel you can take the tram, 4 stations and you are in the centre. Price/quality was perfect!

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were traveling with a dog, and on the booking page there was written that animals didn't pay any fee. As we get there they pretend us to make us pay 10€. After my harassment they've changed their mind and didn't let us pay anything. Very noisy sounds from the street right below. WiFi was an illusion.

    Various breakfast. Clean.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small room with not much ventilation from the window. The pillow and quilt were both feather filled which made my eyes itch.

    Close to the tram stop so convenient for town. Reception sold tickets for the tram which was useful. Free wifi in all rooms.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Free WLAN, kettle in room. Room was clean and comfortable and great value for money. The hotel is In a small shopping centre with a supermarket and there are three good restaurants within 3 minutes walk. Good tram connection to the Centre of Leipzig (only 4 stops)

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was very hot, with no option to keep window open for safety reasons. Room was clean enough but stains in carpet made it look scruffy. Wifi cut off frequently in room, which made it of no use.

    Basic but pleasant enough hotel, only short tramride away from city center. Sufficient information available at hotel, great little shopping plaza next door to hotel, coffee en tea making facilities in room and free coffee in lobby

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No wifi sinal at all!! But I was told it was normal. If no wifi signal, please notify clearly in your website. Please do not use weak signal as an excuse! It is very important for customers.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel staff was so kind and fixed the issue of allergic pillows and deck immediately and everyting was ok at the end.

    Very good breakfast. Very friendy, helpful staff. I am allergic against pollen and some animal products, especially in bed linen, pillow etc. The hotel has feathers in the pillows that is not the common practise in most hotels. Synthetic materials are low cost and fit to all. Nevertheless, the hotel has as a default high allergenic products in the bed which is not understandable. The hotel management should really change all decks and pillows and not to simply transfer the issue systematically to all clients that may have increasing allegies. It is not acceptable that the client has to know in advance this things.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The garage is not the hotel's property, hotel gives access to a big underground garage 200m next to the building so there is no direct connection to the hotel.

    For 9€ a day you can use an underground garage. In the next building, 20m from the hotel there is Rewe (supermarket), Rossmann (big cosmetics shop) and one more shop with fresh fruits and vegetables for good value. Hotel offers good breakfast as a buffet (salmon, mozarella, prosciutto, oatmeal, freshly baked warm bread-rolls, scrambled eggs, fresh and dried fruits, veggies, jams and jogurts). In the room you can find hair dryer, cattle, some teas and coffe. Free wifi

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Parking was a small hike away. Parking exit ticket didn't work.

    Location was great to walk to visit my family. Market and shops right outside.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wi-Fi was no working !

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Group

    Very small rooms.

    Very good location.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi is night god in Zimmer!

There are also 57 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Leipzig City Nord by Campanile traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: