Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Torbräu This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Tal 41, Altstadt-Lehel, 80331 Munich, Germany

#12 of 349 hotels in Munich

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1528 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.6
    Great experience in Munich
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was fine

    This hotel is in a great location--several popular destinations are within walking distance and it is only a few meters away from an underground station. The staff was very welcoming and the breakfast was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location , few steps to marinplatz, easy to reach...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking very expensive 30 € per night .

    Great location , few steps to marinplatz, easy to reach restaurants and markets and luxury shops,helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Great hotel in a great city! Highly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Everything was really great! We don't have any complaints - wish we could have extended our stay!

    Room was fantastic! lots of space, very comfortable beds, bathroom was spacious as well. The breakfast was great and the balcony off the restaurant was really lovely to eat early in the morning. The best part was the location. It is within walking distance of the Marienplatz - no more than 3 -4 minutes to walk. There are several really good restaurants right around the hotel. We were there for 6 nights and loved our stay at the Hotel Torbrau - highly recommend this place to anyone going to Munich!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    This was the final destination in a three week holiday. By far the best hotel of the trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing we did not like. Everything was fantastic/

    Air conditioning very good - nice and cool after a day walking in the sun. Very nice size room and bathroom with excellent shower facilities. Also complimentary mini bar that got replenished free of charge daily.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Perfect Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was great.

    The hotel is in the perfect location to explore the Altstad (old city) by foot and within very easy reach of the central train station. The goodies in the minibar was included in the price which was most welcome after a long day out exploring the city!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    The staff were so nice, the location was amazing, and the room as well as breakfast were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. They were so nice and everything was awesome.

    Firstly the location is excellent being so close to the Isator S-Bahn stop and so close to the town center - Marienplatz and nearby market. The room was amazing and staff were excellent. They were so very friendly and genuinely cared about us as guests.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really Loved the hotel, staff were so friendly and helpful, bedroom was extremely comfortable and the hotel was is a fantastic location. Breakfast was amazing. When we visit Munich again we will hope to stay in same hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location in the heart of old Munich, in easy walking distance to Marienplatz and the Viktualienmarkt. The breakfast was delicious and the rooms were quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really enjoyed the location of this hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful and this made our stay even more enjoyable. The room was very nice and comfortable. It also had an amazing view! This was one of the best places we stayed in Europe!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    3.8
    I have been staying in Munich for more than 100 times during...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have been staying in Munich for more than 100 times during the years. In different hotels from Kempinsky to Mercure. This one was the worst hotel I’ve ever met. Totally gray and super thin towels. Same with linen. I wonder how they could possibly ask 300€ per night. I stayed in 3 star hotel long ago, which was totally clean, for 80€. Shame.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    Quaint hotel in the heart of munich.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    We loved this hotel. Perfect location. Helpful staff. The breakfast was fantastic. I have nothing negative to say. Thank you for making our time in Munich so special.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    Historic building
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Historic building Excellent location Friendly staff Exceptionally good breakfast choice - plenty of different fruits and yoghurt Free bottled water and other drinks refilled in fridge every day

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    No hesitation in recommending this hotel, no flaws!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Most expensive hotel on our European tour. However the fantastic location, overall quality, cleanliness, & outstanding staff lessened the sting of the exchange rate.

    Staff were outstanding, accepted my passable German & replying in English. They also remembered us upon return to the hotel & knew our room numbers.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Great Hotel in Munich
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a little expensive but well worth the cost.

    24 hour staffed front desk and the greatest location to the old city. Hotel staff greeting you with a smile and were very helpful with recommendations. The breakfast was top shelve and the beds were very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.6
    Genuine quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I wish I could have stayed longer.

    Might just be the best location in Munich. Transport and facilities on the doorstep. The hotel has a feel of genuine quality. Even the singing elevator has class.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.6
    An oasis of friendliness and quiet in the center of the city, close to everywhere.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was spacious and quiet, the breakfast room has a balcony, where one can sit outside, overlooking the street, and the breakfast selection is generous. Staff is exceedingly helpful and friendly. They accommodated with a smile every wish I had, from a rather early check-in to printing out texts. I had a room to the courtyard, which was very quiet, though the hotel is central and located at a busy street. The bathroom is spacious, too, with two windows and a both a bath and a shower. I slept with open windows and could hear birds singing in the morning. I assume that it might be more difficult to sleep with open windows in rooms to the street, which has a lot of traffic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Great hotel and location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    very minor - sometimes the shower water would suddenly go cold, but otherwise the room, bathroom and facilities were great.

    Very comfortable room and bed in a great location close to the Old City and accessible by S Bahn.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    World Class hotel in the heart of Munich.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel Torbraeu is a bit pricy, but competitive with other properties in the area. Certain areas of the hotel are undergoing remodeling so be sure to ask for a room away from any construction to avoid unpleasant noises during the day. The hotel uses an antiquated room lock and key system with large brass key fob turned into front desk whenever leaving the property. Although quaint and reminicent of the past, the feature should be updated with a modern keycard system.

    This is a world-class hotel in the heart of Munich! All the sights and sounds of the old city are literally at your doorstep. The entire staff at Hotel Torbraeu are impeccable. From the front desk, to housekeeping, and the restaurant, they are all true hospitality professionals who focus on the guests. The rooms are very comfortable and well appointed. Breakfast, included in the price of the room is hearty with a variety of fresh and heathy selections.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    Very nice! Would recommend to everyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee maker was unfamiliar to me so l don’t know if it was broke or I did something wrong.

    Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Location was close to all the attractions and subway.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    The front desk staff was very friendly, nice, and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk staff was very friendly, nice, and helpful. The breakfast was great- fish and great variety. Location was excellent-easy walk to the underground train and to the center of town, many great eateries just steps away.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    Ich liebe München und Hotel Torbräu.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That I couldn't stay longer

    I have stayed at Hotel Torbräu before and went back. I'll always go back when I stay in Munich. I love the location, they have plenty of parking given that this is in the Altstadt and I've never stayed any place where the staff is friendlier. They all speak perfect English making it easy on those of us that sprechen nur ein bisschen Deutsch.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    7.5
    Very good breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sound insulation could be better in the room I had. Woke up by my neighbour's wake up call and could almost hear what he said in his phone calls and watched on television.

    Very good breakfast Great location Friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.6
    Very nice hotel in the heart of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As usual, I wish that parking charges at the property were stated up front.

    The breakfast had a pletiful spread with custom made options available. My room faced another very close building, which would have been unsettling if it weren’t the weekend.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    10
    Excellent staff and service, delightful atmosphere,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent staff and service, delightful atmosphere, outstanding breakfast. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Location is very central. We come back every year. 10/10!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.5
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room is over-heated. Heavy doona is the only bed covering; a sheet and light blanket would be preferable.

    The staff were exceptionally helpful and easy to deal with.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location in the center of Munich with good amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathtub did not drain well.

    Great breakfast buffet, complimentary water and snacks in mini bar, parking on site, walking distance to the center of Munich.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    7.1
    If you want to stay in the centre of munich, this is definately the best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I would not reccomend the attic rooms for a long stay.The sloping ceilings kept getting in the way. I think the hotel could anticipate and place Vistors according to the length of stay. All the staff without exception were excellent.

    It is more central than all the indications it is directly opposite Istor sbahn.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    7.5
    Okay hotel at a super location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was not well isolated, I could hear my neighbor snoring. The radiators were also noisy. The single room was also quite small.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is really superb, 5 min walk from Viktualienmarkt and Marienplatz, 2 min from Isartor station. Breakfast was okay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    10
    Great location, great staff, great value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hot water fluctuated between very hot and cold without adjusting the faucet...not a great way to start the day. Staff was looking into it.

    This is the only place we will stay in Munich...great location, close to everything, while still being far enough away to get away from the hustle and bustle of the big city. Unrivaled staff, great rooms, top-notch breakfast. Don't spend a lot of time in the room, but they are clean and very comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    9.2
    Very enjoyable and would certainly recommend the hotel to friends. Well located for main sites.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Strange choice of drinks in mini bar. Eggs and bacon not replenished soon and fast enough - this is the staple food for hotel guests.

    Bright, warm hotel with friendly and helpful reception staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.2
    This hotel has exceptionally helpful staff. Location, cleanliness and breakfast were excellent..
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. However the bed was a little firm.

    The reception and breakfast staff. The range and quality of breakfast. The proximity to the city centre. The room was quiet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    Superb relaxation and ambience in a central city location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t fault anything

    The reception staff were extremely attentive, helpful and friendly The cafe schapeau part of the hotel provided outstanding service and quality as did the hotel restaurant The whole experience was relaxing Superb central location Would recommend and return here again

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    9.6
    Munich is a great city destination, and the hotel is in the middle of it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite expensive for a smallish room. You pay for the excellent location

    Fantastic location, 5 minutes walk from Marienplatz and the Hofbrauhaus. Around the corner from Isartor station. Comfortable room with free mini-bar (3 bottles of juice, 2 of water) and snacks. Staff very helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.5
    Very enjoyable but the rooms could do with brightening up
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    How basic the rooms were for a 4 star hotel. Also the rooms were quiet big but very basic and the bedding and room decoration was very dull

    How central the hotel is and how nice the bar and reception staff are

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    We loved Munich and the Torbrau Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom and shower were a little small, but we quickly got used to it.

    Ideal location. An easy walk to everything we wanted to see. The room was small but modern, clean and comfortable. The staff was very accommodating. We especially enjoyed the warm mulled wine and cookies in the afternoon, and the delicious breakfast in the mornings. The towel warmer in the bathroom added a touch of luxury to a small bathroom that was well-designed for optimum use of the space.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.6
    Better than expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy outside

    Excellent interior design, nice mixture out of "old" and modern style, very friendly and supportive staff, absolut outstanding breakfast, perfect location to explore the city center

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    5.8
    I would say the 4 star hotel requirements are not entirely fulfilled.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bedding facilities are dirty, towels are not clean. Heater control are not working well. Hot water heater are also not in normal working condition; switch to hot water but not hot.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    7.5
    250€ for the 4star property way too much!! Max 120 worth!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. requested a proper double bed which was guaranteed to me then, but ended up with the usual 2-mattress-German-madness like in a hostel. Hate that. 2 room I was being given was mayhem-construction site, the entire floor in fact was upside down and under renovation, it was so loud the floor was shaking - was moved immediately though 3 new room (thats where the bed issue was still there)... extremely noisy, I woke up from the neighbour checking in at midnight, doors, running water, talking, showering, pissing, farting ... thank you very much!! Could hear all of this in my bed as if the person was standing next to me!!!

    Very friendly staff. Location is superb. Walking distance from everything that mattered to me. Very clean. Staff tried to adjust and be helpful whenever I requested a thing. Big bathroom

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    More than we could have expected. Very impressed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location very helpful and efficient front desk. Included breakfast with a large variety of foods both hot and cold. After one visit the staff would bring me a coffee without having to ask. Very clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    6.3
    Great location but very uncomfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small and the slanted front wall made it very uncomfortable. Almost claustrophobic rooms with small beds. The hotel has done some renovation(we stayed here 2 years back as well). The breakfast is good but you can't say the same for some of the staff at the front desk. We believe they can add a bit more courtesy but the cleaning staff if very courteous.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    5.8
    Great location but uncomfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was tiny and the front wall slanted making it very uncomfortable. The hotel has done some renovation(we stayed here 2 years back as well) but I believe it's only good for it's location. Breakfast is good but you can't say the same for some of the people at the front desk.

    The location was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.8
    Well located hotel with friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit noisy and curtains thin and let the light in, so didn't sleep too well

    Amazingly convenient location. Check out time noon. Good size room and complementary mini-bar.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location. Very expensive mind you but during Octoberfest, everything was expensive. Staff very knowledgeable and friendly. Breakfast delicious. Would go back to Hotel Torbrau in a heartbeat.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    The stay was relaxing and comfortable with access to downtown Munich.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small. It was enough for me. I'm small.

    The breakfast was awesome and chill. The receptionists are all patient and well versed in the English language.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.6
    This hotel is consistently great, with wonderful staff and a superior location in Munich.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have been to this location three times before (for leisure and business). It is consistently great, with wonderful staff who are very helpful. The service in at breakfast is great, as is the service in the restaurant or patio at night. It's location makes it superior for access to the airport and downtown.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    8.8
    The staff was great and polite, the breakfast was above...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Even though it was it was very practical and well equipped, the room might have been a bit bigger for such a price range. The same applies for the parking width.

    The staff was great and polite, the breakfast was above average quality, location is perfect. Free parking.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.6
    The staff at the hotel were incredible - very helpful,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff at the hotel were incredible - very helpful, offered great tips, and helped us make the most of our trip. The breakfast was also lovely, and the rooms were exactly what we needed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    This was an ideal place that accented a beautiful city perfectly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing! Everything was wonderful - only regret was that we didn't stay longer ;)

    Every bit of our experience at this property was excellent. From the moment we walked in we were treated like VIP guests. They actually upgraded us to a bigger suite as well and that was just icing on the cake. The location was better then I expected, so close to train station and other major attractions. I can not think of one negative thing to say about this place.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Perfect hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom didn't have a lot of counter space.

    Can't say enough good things about this property. The staff was incredibly helpful. The room and bed was comfortable. The breakfast was amazing. The location is central and convenient. The bathroom was a little small, but still, I would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Exceptional experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints

    The hotel is very well run. The staff focused on making our interactions efficient and personalized. The hotel, our room and the infrastructure are all very well maintained. The location is fantastic and convenient to many great things to see. The photo was the view from our room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Great facility, great location and wonderful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The building is rather old so some conversation from my immediate neighbors was audible through the walls.

    The facility was in great shape. My room was well made up and had all the amenities I needed. I thought the location, right on Tal, was ideal for someone trying to visit the inner city of Munich. I was able to walk to pretty much everything I wanted to. Admittedly the Oktoberfest site was a thirty minute walk or a short cab but I was glad to have all those festivities further away. Easy walk to cafes, restaurants, night life, etc. The staff was very helpful and always greeted me with a smile. Great stay!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    5.4
    Despite the good location, I'd stay elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the price of this 4 star hotel, furnishings were old and worn. Bed comforters should have been down, not lumpy and worn out, sheets should have been better quality. Also, bath towels were small, thin, and worn, not worthy a 4 star hotel, but of a modest pension. Carpets were worn, furnishings out dated. In short, it was no comparison to other 4 star hotels on our trip, especially at the premium Octoberfest price.

    Good breakfast buffet, wide variety. Check in easy, friendly and helpful. Easy parking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.8
    For me the best possible hotel in Munich
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    6 steps to the lift but they can help you with the luggage.

    The location, a mere 100 meters from Marieplatz and 20 meters from the metro for the fairs and the airport. The breakfast spread and the attentive staff at breakfast and the helpful personnel in the front desk. You can buy transport tickets from the front desk. very helpful and unique.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.6
    A very welcoming hotel; would definitely stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because it is located in the historic city center, it can be noisy at times. But the rooms have air conditioning so you can keep the windows closed.

    Great location. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Extensive breakfast buffet with many healthy choices.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    I'd made a good choice, for a change.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I did not eat in the restaurant because I did not like the vibrations I received when I was near!

    The location is superb, within easy walking distance (for a well-aged man) from Marienplatz and even Stachus. The underground is only a minute away. The room was very well arranged and very well maintained. The staff were all helpful and courteous. And the price was within my means.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    10
    We highly recommend Hotel Torbrau & we will definitely stay here when we visit Munich in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Initially disappointed to not have view of the city. View was of a little courtyard-terrace. HOWEVER, we were able to sleep with the window open, as the street/traffic/city noise was greatly diminished. We might request this room in the future!

    Warm, welcoming & great location close to Marienplatz, Viktualienmarkt, Hofbrau House & easy access via train to anywhere in the city. Unbelievably EASY 30 minute train ride to/from airport: S8 train from airport directly to Isartor stop-when you get off at Isartor there are 4 exits...go out the exit with signs toward Viktualienmarkt & you'll find Hotel Torbrau across the street!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    10
    I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, I wish it could have been longer but I will most definitely return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were wonderful and extremely accommodating. The restaurant was fantastic as were the very attentive and friendly wait staff. They made you feel very welcome, food and wine was wonderful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.2
    Great location, tasty breakfast and fabulous staff/service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The single rooms really were very small. I think the description should be more specific about this. I would have gladly upgraded to a larger room if I had known this. Despite the size, the room was very efficient in its layout and was comfortable.

    The location is outstanding! It is one S-Bahn train from the Munich airport (S8) and was a 40-min journey door to door. It is short walk to Marienplatz and within the old city walls. Breakfast was magnificent and had a huge selection of goodies. The staff and service was fantastic! If I return to Munich, I will definitely stay here.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.6
    An historical hotel that has moved with the times.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Too much spilt beer and limited Bavarian cuisine.

    Staff were very helpful. A buzzing city that was ideal for walking and watching as well as casual eating. very good museums. great day trip options. Hotel history was fascinating.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location, great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two sets of stairs to get to the room.

    Excellent location close to museums, restaurants, shops,... Clean big room. Excellent breakfast. Airco. Restaurant Schapeau is really worthwhile400 years of history.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was surprised when I removed a beer from the fridge that it wasn't replaced - I explained I had left it downstairs and didn't think about returning it to garbage in my room.

    Just about everything from breakfast through the evening. Very nice breakfast set-up with a dining room terrace. Staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    7.5
    Very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - breakfast is the same every day, and the food menu was limited - one of the reception staff (with red beard) was rude because i had a 30 minutes late checkout (at 12:30), he kept repeating that i am late and i have to check out immediately as there is a customer waiting for me to leave the room! Although the check in time starts from 14:00!!

    - excellent location, 5 minutes walk to Marienplatz - Very friendly and cooperative staff (except for one!)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    9.6
    The hotel was a stylish addition to our pleasant stay in Munich
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Beatiful well renovated old building. All facilities working. Plenty of storage place, cabinets. Friendly, well trained and efficient staff. Excellent breakfast facility.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.5
    In general, we liked this hotel and had a good time there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Somebody in the hotel was very noisy from 6:15 am when we still wanted to have a sleep. This were either the kitchen personnel preparing for breakfast or our neighbors. People were laughing, talking very loudly, moving furniture.

    Excellent location - it is in the heart of the city centre and at the same time, a few steps away from its noisiest and busiest part, which gives you a privacy and quiteness. The breakfast is really good and the service is quick and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    10
    Your hotel was just the right size, in the perfect location and staff was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was s bit small.

    The bed was awesome, as were the starched duvets. The breakfast spread was incredible and the front desk staff couldn't have been friendlier, more helpful or more professional answering our many questions and providing good tips. We were truly sorry to be leaving. Too short! Perfect location, too.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    7.9
    Not so great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well I hate to nit pick but.... we had what I would call the suite which was huge by any standard BUT the carpet was extremely worn and should be replaced and our bathroom had a bath tub with separate shower compartment that did not have hot water. If you don't mind bathing it's not an issue. ALSO our car was parked on the property site and was vandalized. Long story with the police report etc...but the hotel was not bothered very much. Not really what I expected from them but what can you do but tell your story for all to read.

    The location is great actually and the breakfast is pretty good as well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.6
    Hotel Torbräu is an excellent hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.

    It's in a great location in the old city center. The Isartor S-Bahn stop is very close, making it easy to get to and from the airport and the train station. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Our room was large and comfortable. Many choices are on offer for breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.6
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was friendly and very helpful. The room and bathroomw were large by European standards and very clean. The breakfast was very expansive and tasty! Last but not least, the hotel is centrally located. We were very happy with Hotel Tobrau.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pricey compared to other accommodations in medium sized cities in Germany. Still we are in Munchen so everything more Expensive

    Great location! Nice hotel but room could have used an update ... very clean and comfortable beds! Breakfast fabulous!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    Don't miss the opportunity to stay in a great location, with fantastic service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The first night we had internet connection issues which was important due to maintaining work communication. The staff worked hard to resolve it for us and although at times it still was still a bit weak in the room, overall managed to work through it.

    What can I say, everything was fabulous. We had a double superior room so it was a great size with couch area. Overlooked the Isator Historic Gate but very quiet due to double glazing. Excellent window coverings so the room was dark and quiet for sleeping. Thank goodness it was airconditioned as the weather was very hot and our room was like an oasis. Breakfast served in the breakfast room on the first floor was excellent as is the restaurant connected to the hotel especially the coffee, cake, beer and wine. We had notified the hotel we would be arriving early and asked if we could leave our books, however, it was an added bonus when our room was ready for us.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.1
    Good location, great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is basic, the rooms on the smaller side and bathroom basic.

    The breakfast was amazing, great quality and plentiful. Staff were friendly and accommodating and location was perfect.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    The best city center location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom fan was kind of loud so we just stopped turning it on

    The best location everything within walking distance Very friendly and accormadating hotel personnel Good breakfast We really liked everything will definitely stay here again

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.6
    Best Location of An Excellent Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Best location - 2 min walk to s-Bahn which will take you to main train station. Walking distance to all the main sites, restaurants and shops. We took a taxi to the hotel from the airport and it took us a bit more than half an hour on a Sunday. Our comtempory double bedroom - homely, spacious, functional, comfy bed, good wardrobe space, shiny bathroom, quiet and very clean. Breakfast room is spacious, bright and comfortable with pleasing decor. Breakfast itself is excellent in quality and range of food. We enjoyed the fresh bread most. All staff members from the reception to all the ladies in the breakfast room and the housekeeping staff are all polite, friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    8.8
    Great location, a short walk from the Marienplatz.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room on the 5th floor meant small dormer windows, and sloping ceilings that proved to be "head-knockers". Would have preferred a room with full-height ceilings, and perhaps a bigger window or two. Curious if it's the result of booking through a 3rd party travel web-site, and the better rooms are reserved for those who book directly with the hotel?

    Great location, a short walk from the Marienplatz. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    Great Choice for Fun in Munich
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room decor is out of date. OK, this is not a true problem, but every time I walked in, I expected to see David Niven sitting there smoking a cigarette.

    Great location, right by the Isartor S-Bahn stop. Staff was very helpful and the breakfast room and food was terrific. A nice haven from a bustling tourist zone in the city.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: