Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Trabener Hof This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Bahnstr. 25, 56841 Traben-Trarbach, Germany

#13 of 35 hotels in Traben-Trarbach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 506 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    We stayed here for 3 nights with an infant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The one thing that was only a little "meh" is that the elevator is down a few steps. Not a big deal for us as we could ably lift the pram up and down, but others may find this info relevant.

    We stayed here for 3 nights with an infant. The hotel provided a baby cot and our room was quiet — both things much appreciated. Breakfast was also very nice!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent booking in new area on this hotel compared to competition in traben trabach: Got an extra room + balcony compared to normal hotels without extra payment very good indeed and crew very helpful and familiar to be recommended and very Close to good restaurants also.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent value for money. The most friendly and helpful staff, the fantastic breakfast, the very nice rooms and facilities, the perfect base to explore the area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    10
    Perfect Stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a hidden gem. I've been here several times, and it has gone through renovations. Rooms 61-64 are in the "new wing" and are actually small apartments. We stayed in room 62, and I would easily bypass the Bellevue to stay here again. Have a drink in the Art Deco bar at the Bellevue and walk two minutes to the Trabener Hof for a better room at half the price. Olaf, the owner, has a winery and will organize a wine tour if requested ahead of time. The front desk receptionist, Sophie, even remembered me and was very helpful. Best hotel in Traben!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful town on the Mosel what could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Hotel is is a great location. Walking distance to everything in Traben-Trarbach and only 300 meters from the train and tourist information. The hotel has a small balcony and offers drinks and you document what you took and pay at the end of your stay, very nice on a warm day.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel; more hospitality info would have helped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could have been more helpful with what was in the surrounding area. We only spoke English. We Asked about wineries but we were not offered maps or suggestions of where to go our first day. We Asked about restaurants and we were asked what we liked and given one choice and that restsurant was busy that night. We found another on our own. The next day we asked about ferry trips; were given some incomplete info and the ferry ride would have taken all day back and forth. We walked to what we thought were some wineries on our own and found out actual vintners in the hills do not have wineries but they are in the towns. Met a couple on a Country winery road and they told us there was a big wine festival in a town 3 km up the road. Why hadn't the hotel mentioned that? The festival had been going on all weekend. We went there and had a great time. We live in a wine region in the Us and our wineries put out info all the time to hotels, on the internet, etc. Other than that, this hotel was great for location, ambience and breakfast.

    We were given a room on the top floor; great view; was like a large studio apt. Had to walk 3 flights of stairs up so took what we needed and left the rest in the car. Very quiet; refrigerator was 3 floors down. Great bfast and beautiful bfast rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant hotel in a good location with great breakfast options.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's not that the staff are rude, just that throughout the hotel they don't exhibit much friendliness; it felt like staying at a hostel, where you take care of yourself. I checked in alone while my husband searched for an unspecified 'hotel parking space' a couple of streets over. Our room was a small trek from the front desk via the elevator, up a couple of steps, around, and then down 2 more flights of stone steps. That's fine if all you have is a backpack and one case, but alone with 3 suitcases and 2 heavy bags, and after a 6-hour drive there, it would have been nice to have been offered some help (it wasn't busy) - rather than to make 3 trips up and down. Otherwise, the only issue was the shower, which flooded the whole bathroom floor if left on for longer than 4 minutes.

    This is a nice boutique hotel in a good location - and the breakfasts are truly excellent. Most of the breakfast choices were fresh and homemade, and they varied from morning to morning. Our room was nice and spacious in the brand new wing, with a patio outside it. The hotel was quiet even though plenty of guests appeared for breakfast. The beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    9.2
    Excellent breakfast with an interesting selection of foods,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent breakfast with an interesting selection of foods, which changed each day. The owners were really helpful and provide a refrigerator from which the client can purchase cold drinks to consume in their rooms. Since this included local wines, it was very welcome on a rainy afternoon.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    I booked very last minut, we had 2 kids with us, the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything, staff, breakfast, location, the room etc..

    I booked very last minut, we had 2 kids with us, the staff asked us if we wanted to upgrade our room to the top floor, a fantastic room ( apartment ), very family / kids friendly!! I would Defo recommend this hotel to everybody would like to visit Traben.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.2
    We had a lovely room no.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are steps up to the door which was awkward for the buggy. There were also steps down into the lift so we stored the buggy in the lobby.

    We had a lovely room no.64 which was recently done up. It had a spotless bathroom with shower, no bath. There was a walk in wardrobe and an adjoining sitting room. This was great with the baby because when she was asleep we could chat and watch telly. The room had a balcony with decking and table and chairs. The hotel is in a quiet area of town

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.2
    a very nice small hotel in the centre of the village with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a very nice small hotel in the centre of the village with off road parking which was good for my motor cycle .very helpful and friendly staff ,and the hotel has a lift . the room was quiet which did not look onto the road and the bed was comfortable and the shower was hot . to finish the breakfast excellent also .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.6
    Great stay & very good valur for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our bedroom window was located on street side and due to the "Wine festival" there was a lot of noise all night due to people talking loud in the streets. But I guess it's not always that noisy.

    Location is great so you can go around the city walking. Our room was very clean and comfortable, with quite some space, comfortable bed and a nice bathroom. Breakfast is very good, above our expectations ! Overall this hotel is great value for money, so we recommend it :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    8.8
    Great value and a fantastic breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to mention here

    Probably the best breakfast after five weeks in Europe. The honour system for a cold drink, (including beer and wine), from the fridge in the communal lounge was appreciated and prices charged were more than reasonable. Large room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    10
    We were pleased to have a large room overlooking to the old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were pleased to have a large room overlooking to the old Townhall having a panorama of the Mosel too. We enjoyed the local wines cooled in the fridge and the rich breakfast exceeding our expectations.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    10
    A cozy place to stay in TT
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    The hotel is located just a few minutes from the TT train station. The hosts are very friendly, very impressed with their breakfast - as a vegetarian, I found their salad very delicious, with yogurt, cereals and coffee, it made my day. The hosts recommended hiking places which I had not read of before my trip and they let me keep the detailed map till I finished the hike. Very helpful and friendly. Lots of nice restaurants nearby though I did not try any. A local bar just 100m from the hotel. I would not come back to TT in the near future but would recommend this place without hesitation to anyone who is looking for a nice cozy place to stay during their visit to TT.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    9.2
    Lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    church bell very loud at 7am. i was up early anyway, so not a problem. bell doesn't sound on sunday morning.

    Lovely hotel and room. very friendly staff. beautiful place.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    6.3
    OK, but not more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We missed a refrigerator and A/C as we had very warm weather, No staff in the hotel after 8pm. Small bathroom. Room maid work was not satisfactory.

    Location was good. Breakfast was up to expectation.Friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.6
    Biking the Moselle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in the newly renovated part of the hotel - clean, modern, comfortable. GREAT BREAKFAST!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Nice and peaceful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice and peaceful location. Picturesque village. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    We stayed in the new part of the hotel which was modern and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only a lift to the second floor.

    We stayed in the new part of the hotel which was modern and spacious. Tea and kettle in the room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Lovely, comfortable hotel with friendly staff in a beautiful town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    Friendly staff, very comfortable lodgings, good breakfast and fantastic location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely hotel. Very central. Owners and all staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    8.3
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful staff...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning. Room stifling.

    Excellent location. Very clean . Great breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    8.3
    Nice personel and comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice personel and comfortable room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    8.8
    large room, comfortable bed,breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    large room, comfortable bed,breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    10
    Renovated and super clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows are uncomfortable

    Breakfast is excellent with grilled vegetables;

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    7.9
    Very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was bad

    Very nice hotel

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    10
    Super Nice Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very Nice Hotel and helpfull staff. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    7.5
    The staff are very friendly, we had a pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel's hotspot was not accessible in our room!

    The staff are very friendly, we had a pleasant stay.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    9.6
    Welcoming English speaking staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spotless rooms. Comfortable beds. Excellent breakfast. Great location. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    10
    Nice hotel in good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice hotel in good location. Rooms big , beds very comfy . Breakfast very good. Owners very friendly and everyone speaks english. We will come back to this great region.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    10
    we enjoyed our one night stay at the Trabener Hof.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi Fi in the room was marginal. It worked fine in the lobby.

    we enjoyed our one night stay at the Trabener Hof. The room was modern with all you need for a comfortable stay. The location is quiet, but near the town. The owner is very accommodating and helpful. It is an easy walk across the bridge to Trabach. In addition a very nice restaurant is very close.

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    8.8
    Very friendly owners who went out of their way to make sure...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very friendly owners who went out of their way to make sure we were happy during our stay at this pleasant, functional hotel. Off street parking was available at no charge for motorcycles. Elevator available within the hotel but access does require using about 6 steps. Good buffet breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    9.6
    Ideal for heading (west) to Trier or (east) to Koblenz.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Having based myself in this area on five or six occasions now, I get more than a little frustrated that the return taxi journey to Frankfurt Hahn airport is so expensive (over 40 euro on the way in and nearly 50 euro on the way back). There is no direct link to Traben-Trarbach.

    Ideal for heading (west) to Trier or (east) to Koblenz. Great wines (and beers) available and perfect for exploring the mittelmosel region. Bikes and boats available to assist you in your exploration.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Personal very friendly good qualtity breakfirst

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    8.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Poor wifi connection

    Great location. Friendly reception. Nice room. Good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    9.2
    Wonderful place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The breakfast buffet was not very good.

    Wonderful place to stay. Good facilities and an excellent staff. Would enjoy visiting here again.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    7.5
    very hot and no air-conditioning or fan in bedroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very hot and no air-conditioning or fan in bedroom. uncomfortable at times

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    8.8
    A great little hotel A1 breakfast and room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Car parking a bit tight but no problems

    A great little hotel A1 breakfast and room

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    8.8
    Very helpful staff and great breakfasts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very helpful staff and great breakfasts

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Guests also reviewed these properties: