Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Hotel Traube Tonbach This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Tonbachstraße 237, 72270 Baiersbronn, Germany

#1 of 25 hotels in Baiersbronn

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 251 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    10
    Fantastically relaxing and perfect stay in the Black Forest- Will return!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    More availability with spa services. They book up fast and I struggled to find the menu of services online to book in advance.

    The staff was extremely welcoming and accommodating with our pets as well as any food specific food preferences. Very warm and friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2018

    8.3
    Excellent breakfast, nice view, the warm outside swimming...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The wifi didn’t work well away from the reception ( restaurant, swimming pool..)

    Excellent breakfast, nice view, the warm outside swimming pool is great!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2017

    10
    This was a wonderful experience comperable to the best full-service resort destinations world-wide.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Comfort
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sauna is closed on Monday mornings until 1400 for cleaning, but they allowed us to stay on the premises longer than our checkout to compensate.

    This is a wonderful resort location, with serenity coupled with majestic views of the surrounding mist-covered hills. The spa/sauna was excellent, and the on-site restaurants are literally world-class.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2017

    9.6
    Brilliant and Beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We would have liked the pool areas to stay open later and more climate control in our suite, but understand that the week of 30c sunshine we had was probably not the norm.

    Service and facilities were amazing as was the breakfast. The hotel is very family friendly, but it wasn't overrun with children. If you don't like children go to an adult only holiday resort as they will be there! Breakfast and food was spectacular and we had a wonderful BBQ on our last night and the owner came around to chat to every table. The views are breath-taking and the forest walks and trails on the doorstep wonderful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2017

    9.6
    When ordering a room on a booking
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen
    • Stayed 4 nights

    When ordering a room on a booking book was booked room shown on the booth before arrival received another room very dull gray and dark in the hotel changed rooms at an additional cost of the room without air conditioning was hot rita

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2017

    10
    Top class hotel in a beautiful setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Grand Comfort
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Smoking is permitted in some areas of the bar/lounge !!! The smell carries and is unpleasant.

    Super friendly and welcoming staff! Extremely comfortable bedroom (even at basic level) and wonderful bathroom and amenities. The most extensive and delicious breakfast buffet I have ever encountered (and I travel a lot!)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2016

    9.2
    Great hotel, but plan Restaurants & Spa must be adanced booked
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    During a 3 night stay it was impossible to get a single spa treatment, which is dissapointing for a hotel of the class and size. You do pay for some convenience and flexibility and its annoying if something supposedly on offer isn't available at all to you.

    The service and restaurants are top! The hiking starts behind the house and great facilities for kids! There is also plenty of activities on offer, like wine tasting and guided walks.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2016

    9.6
    Very Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Comfort
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The village is quaint and very picturesque with a lot of outdoor walking, but also the hotel has a great spa. The food in two of the dining facilities were great and the staff always pleasant.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2016

    7.1
    Free Parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Way too many stairs to get from check in to our room, and a long walk. My wife has mobility issues and for that reason we would not return.

    Free Parking

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2016

    9.2
    Luxury stay in Schwarzwald for both adults and children
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I had asked certain questions on my Booking.com reservation about children's beds, restaurant availability and ordering flowers and champagne for my wife. The responses were a bit slow and not complete but everything was sorted out once we arrived.

    Beautiful suite, great breakfast spread, lovely pool area including kids' pool and an amazing kids' play room the size of a football pitch. The views and walks from the hotel were also lovely and we ate at the Köhlerstube restaurant and had the Chef's Menu which was one of the most enjoyable menus I have had in a long time.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2016

    9.6
    Stunning resort hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior
    • Stayed 1 night

    It does have a slight resort feel even if very upmarket.

    Astonishing breakfast selection!! Rooms were excellent and staff most attentive and friendly. We eat in the second tier restaurant as the Michelin 3 star was full but this was quite superb - at least a two star!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2016

    9.6
    Best hotel in Getmsny with amazing staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sometimes room service took long time to bring the food and sometimes the food was not exactly what you ordered

    Staff are friendly and helpful, owners of the hotel were getting in touch with residents, facilities are excellent and room was amazing

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2016

    10
    Gorgeous hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were upgraded to a beautiful suite because "we were first time visitors", the staff said. We had two bathrooms and a balcony! One of our two evenings there was a French singer in the lounge. We danced with two couples who were excellent dancers.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2016

    9.6
    Location was amazing - staff were so helpful and engaged in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location was amazing - staff were so helpful and engaged in making our stay very nice. Restaurants were excellent- fantastic food quality and amazing staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    10
    Can’t find fault with this hotel. We have an unforgettable experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very quiet and serene ambience with room facing the Black Forest, it’s just wonderful!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    10
    worth every cent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    nothing

    this is the top place in germany with the no 1 restaurant " The SCHWARZWALDSTUBE "

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    10
    We will definitely be coming back next year, price is high but definitely worth it! The spa is super
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We loved everything

    The hotel is impecable, the staff are super friendly and service is the best!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2018

    10
    A perfect getaway!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Had no idea that the lobby was on the upper floor of the main building. I realize I was going to the valet service stand to be checked in!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2017

    10
    Absolutely faboulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The best service, friendly, professional and ensuring all our needs were met.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2017

    9.6
    What a great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    What a great place to stay. Old grandeur mixed with modern comfort. Great staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2017

    10
    Best Way To See The Black Forest
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Allowing Pets not desirable

    Staff and available facilities

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2017

    9.2
    IT WAS HOT AND STUFFY IN SOME AREAS
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Grand Comfort
    • Stayed 1 night

    IT WAS HOT AND STUFFY IN SOME AREAS

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel and dinner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Comfort
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms need an AC even in the mountains!

    Excellent dinner and breakfast bed is very confortable nice balkony

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2017

    9.6
    Whenever in Europe (Germany) we try to mange at least one nights stay at the Traube.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No omelets for breakfast.

    All things considered our stay was very pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2017

    10
    Gourmand Treat in the Blackforest
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a luxury German family run hotel. And has been running for many years. Absolutely beautiful property in heart of Black Forest.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2017

    9.6
    Stunning Traube-Tonbach!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Best location! It was like a fairytale..! Very helpful staff and good knowledge of English language!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2016

    9.6
    Staff is very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff is very helpful Breakfast was amazing Lovely facilities Beautiful location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2016

    10
    5 stars in every thing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Every thing is good

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2016

    10
    Can't wait to visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved everything!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2016

    9.2
    Good choice for pampered vacation
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stuff is polite but not more then that. No a/c.

    Pool area, excellent food, free e- bike . Luxury hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2016

    10
    Pure relaxation in a hotel where everything is "just...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to dislike about this hotel - unless you are looking for disco's :-)

    Pure relaxation in a hotel where everything is "just completely right" and yet not pretentious. All the staff do an excellent job, they are tentative and friendly. The food is wonderful. The hotel's ever changing flower arrangements are creative and original - loved them. From the hotel there are many, easy and lovely walks in the Black Forest. A true family business hotel where passion and pride in their jobs is shown by all. All the bedrooms are being remodeled (2016) - we look forward to our return visit.

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful location and spa facilities, great resort for a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfortunately our room was located right above the construction site of the outdoor pool refurbishment and works started promptly at 8 am on Monday morning. The buffet room (for breakfast and half board, Restaurant Silberberg) is very large and has more of an airport feel rather than the intimate privacy of the other restaurant options on site.

    Beautiful location and spa facilities, great resort for a bit of relaxation and pampering. Outstanding on-site restaurants.

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2015

    9.2
    Check in was a breeze with the staff taking care of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No electric kettle, coffee and tea.

    Check in was a breeze with the staff taking care of the luggage and the car. Good introduction of the room and facilities post check in. Good sized room with a great breakfast buffet. The property is set in beautiful surroundings.

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2015

    10
    Impeccable style and service and cuisine.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    I believe my salad fork was slightly misplaced by approx. 3 mm at one breakfast sitting. (Joke)

    Impeccable style and service and cuisine. The best of Germany that every luxury traveler should experience at least once in their life.

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2015

    6.3
    Staff were friendly and helpful, a culture that clearly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Sound travel is awful; impossible to sleep in. No internet for 24 hours with no proper apology or explanation. Curtains are paper thin. Room decor is old fashioned. The music in the bar is ridiculously bad.

    Staff were friendly and helpful, a culture that clearly comes from the top. The views are nice. Schwarzwaldstube is a tremendous asset.

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2015

    9.2
    The location is breathtaking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The location is breathtaking. Hotel services and installations are great. Breakfast is superb and dinning at the Koehlerstube is wonderful. The pools are fantastic for all ages and the beverages/ food are very reasonably priced. A fantastic place to stay and enjoy the forest.

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2015

    9.6
    While the cooking classes are excellant, they are conducted...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    While the cooking classes are excellant, they are conducted in german and unless you speak German fluently, you will miss most of the class and the closeness with the other participants that is an essential part

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2015

    10
    the beautiful location, the amazing food, and phenomenal...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the beautiful location, the amazing food, and phenomenal service. the decor and design of the buildings was beautiful. the kids complex was brilliant!

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2015

    10
    Everyone on the staff was helpful, friendly, and went out of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I wish the spa was open until 8 PM (instead of 7 PM) this time of year (late May) when the days are long. Having the spa open in the morning is great, though.

    Everyone on the staff was helpful, friendly, and went out of their way to accommodate us during our stay. The spa is superb, and the breakfast buffet is one of the best ever seen. Great location for hiking the trails in the surrounding woods and hills. Free parking was easily accessible, although the hotel didn't appear to be very crowded.

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2016

    10
    Everything from the people who welcomed us to the food to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing. It could not have been more perfect.

    Everything from the people who welcomed us to the food to the staff, etc, etc.

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2015

    8.8
    Breakfast, wellness, room, staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    credit cards not accepted, lack of parking space, noise of children in swimming areas

    Breakfast, wellness, room, staff

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2015

    10
    Great German hotel with all the German hospitality one could...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great German hotel with all the German hospitality one could dream of

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2015

    10
    Children's activities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No air conditioning in the room

    Children's activities. Location View Swimming Pool Food Staff

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2015

    10
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    location View wonderful tasty breakfast

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2015

    10
    The spa is the gem of this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The spa is the gem of this hotel. It's the best b

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2015

    9.6
    Freely available and flexible kids club.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Freely available and flexible kids club.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Guests also reviewed these properties: