Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Am Jägertor 4 stars

Hegelallee 11, 14467 Potsdam, Germany

#7 of 31 hotels in Potsdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 821 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 74

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wifi is horrible, they use a login system that kept switching to "Limited connection", so the wifi was connected, but internet didn't work. Frustrating, fix it!

    Other than that – an excellent hotel in every way, highly recommended!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good air condition, nice bathroom, and a nice lounge. I would thoroughly recommend this place for business travelers and couples. Not sure how child friendly the place is.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very poor internet, numerous attempts to log on always met with failure, in fact for the most part of my stay there was no interent

    very nice well located and managed hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Structure a little old, but central. Needless to have a breakfast at the Hotel, we spent 18euro per person and at 9 a.m. croissants and orange juice were gone! Breakfast really poor, it's better to have it in one of the thousand bars next to the hotel.

    Excellent location to visit Sanssouci Schloss and Potsdam also. 10 minutes by walk to the entrance park and many restaurants and bars just around the corner. Very kind staff and early check in.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is small and very bright at night. We ate breakfast in town because the breakfast buffet was priced too high.

    The room was comfortable and well appointed. The location was great; right between the city center and the park. It was easy to reach on the bus and a good value for the price. We were able to walk to dinner and to the park in the morning.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very bad quality of the WIFI. It was breaking every few minutes requiring to log-on again. This is true for both free and premium (which I received for free as well) connections This should be corrected ASAP to keep this hotel fully recommended for business trips

    Very pleasant hotel with great location. Suitable for business trips

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to fault.

    The location was perfect for us. A little far to walk from the train station however. All aspects of the property were excellent and Potsdam is beautiful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was just one young, male staff member who was really rude to my Mum and I whenever we would ask about things (such as whether we could have breakfast there on just one of the mornings). Other than him, the other staff members were really nice.

    Most of the staff were really nice, and it was a clean, comfortable place to stay. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Why do I have to fall on my knees for searching for plugs? The plugs have to be at the desk level Ideally a multi-USB plug so that I only need my cables to charge. When entering the room the first thing is to have to deal with recharging my laptop, my smartphone, my photo camera, etc. A minimum of 3 to 4 plugs should be available at the desk; these plugs should not switch off when I leave the room (who cares about 5 Watt consumption? until the end of the charge)

    high quality, without unnecessary bling bling; just cozy, nothing to criticise, but ...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The waif in my room wasn't that strong for my phone but my laptop worked fine and I could even stream video, so it might be that I need a new phone!

    Lovely hotel, tasty breakfast, very near park full of gardens and palaces, easy publish transport. Bikes for hire for reasonable price, helpful staff. Above all my room was clean and had everything you could need, plus lots in the way of toiletries etc. Will be recommeding to friends and family and would happily stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At supper: Had I known what passes as "Essence" of Pfifferlinge, I would not have ordered it. The minuscule portions of quark served with the bread basket were a disgrace to this otherwise exellent hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Silly parking - only brave drivers of very small vehicles will want to try out the lift arrangement. The other 98% of us will use the public car park 200m down the road.

    Tastefully decorated. Outside terrace for drink. Evening meal - the waitress was well-trained and very polite. Room comfortable. Bathroom a little small but perfectly serviceable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It felt 200 years old cobwebs everywhere on the curtains It was very loud wth no aircon hence we had to put up with the noise to have a cool room to sleep in The price was standard and I would pay the same in other places and get coffee ☕️, Sauna, gym facilities included.

    Location was perfect

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If anything at all it would be the breakfast area which seemed a bit too small for the crowd, especially when the terrace is closed for the season.

    A room to the back protects you from the street noise and you can keep the windows open. The room was perfect in every possible way. The proximity to all sights in town as well as to public transport is another huge plus.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is not well set up for independent travellers, lacking simple things like a kettle. Limited vegetarian menu.

    Good location, quiet rooms, great quality food.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basement garage has small spaces and limited turning space, but you are warned first!

    Wonderful property, great room and fantastic breakfast buffet. Location is smashing for small shops snd cafes.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning was weak and the comforters were too heavy. The parking garage tricky to find and to fit in your car in the spot. Not enough staff at check-in time. Lift doesn't start in the garage. One must drag bags up half a floor to reach lift.

    Breakfast had lots of choices. Staff in restaurant were very friendly. Lovely courtyard. Great location. Beautiful building. Maps were detailed of centrum shops and facilities. Quiet room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Checkin staff didn't understand basic English, I appreciate that I was in Germany but would expect basic understanding from reception staff. WiFi was also very inconvenient - needs a new code each day and a separate one for each device.

    Location is excellent for visiting the parks. Bar staff very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning was very noisy and didn't get that cold. Two different thickness single duvets on bed. Room doors don't automatically close behind you, we actually slept with ours open... Bar was very expensive.

    Good location.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were no enough parking place and we solved it differently, but costs more. It is only a little thing...yet counts.

    The breakfast was perfect, we loved the coffee :)

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenient to attractions and downtown area. Helpful staff and clean, comfortable room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff could be more friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect. Hotel is great situated. Staff helpful and friendly. I haven't problems with parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value and price differ zu mutch

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the property is easy walking to Dutch quarter, shops, cafes etc..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price for breakfast is extremely high.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Dinner was a bit pricey

    Comfy bed & friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast too expensive 16€ !!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very limited parking onsite

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable bed, luxurious bathroom, clean, attractive, extensive breakfast selection. Good location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very helpful staff, happy hour at bar, sparklingly classy rooms and hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Impecable standard and very helpful and friendly staff. I would highly recommend.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing to dislike.

    The very best hotel we stayed in while on our holiday.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall a good stay but nothing special...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walking distance to old town. Garage (but book in advance + cost extra). Nice deco.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All was perfect. Great loction. Nice and helpful staff. Good, varied breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The parking is not very conspicuous or easy to get into.

    Very nice bar and restaurant. Room, though a bit small, was comfortable and well appointed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff, nice room, good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice people but bad to non-existent A/C in 4 rooms I tried.

    Staff and cleanliness

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No swimming pool

    everything good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good location, friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very close to the center.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very smart, nice reception seating area

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit of a walk to public transport to Berlin.

    Proximity to interesting parts of Potsdam.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No coffee maker or hot water in rooms, Internet was just fair. No room service past 10pm.

    Location is great.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Extremely convenient. Reception very helpful

    Very comfortable indeed - the bed

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The person at the reception was unprofessional and unfriendly.

    Very beautiful bedroom

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Allow for easier connection of wireless devices

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room upgrade with no charge because our bed in the regular room was too soft.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was raining

    I love All there i feel like a home

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Week End under staffed Bedroom second day arrived after a long day visiting room not made up at 5pm in the evening and slow service i

    Breakfast very good

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No bell captain to help with luggage as any expected 4star hotel, breakfast does not have a lot of variety. Staff english language is fair and have not a lot of tourism information to give.

    Its a quite hotel near city center

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The only minor aspect was rather slow Internet connection.

    The room was very pleasant to stay. The location of the hotel is superb, surrounded by nice restaurants and local shops. We could start our bus tour from the hotel which was surprisingly good in historic, political and architectural ways.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing except a slightly slow checkout.

    Excellent breakfast, very comfortable quiet room. Lovely bathroom, though no bath. Great location walking distance to Dutch Quarter and Sansoussi. Easy bus from the station. Highly recommended.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The matresses were all covered in plastic under the cotton sheet and pillows and duvets were all syntetic, very uncomfortable to sleep in. Both the room and the bathroom wasn't clean - toothpaste on the bathroom door, stains on the mirror, and hair (from former guests) and pretty much dust on the floors etc. We arrived late and didn't discover it before we were undressed to go to bed. The reception didn't seem to be interested the next morning. In the breakfast room the table cloths with coffee stains etc. were not exchanged between guests, which I would expect at a rather expensive 4 star hotel.

    The room and bathroom had a good size, and several main attractions were in ok walking distance

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The single room I´ve booked is way too small and I definitely can´t recommend it unless you´re staying just a few hours to sleep. If I book this hotel again, it will have to be a double room. Breakfast buffet was also overpriced for what it had to offer.

    Good location, near major access roads and Old Town.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No parking was available at the hotel, had to drop off the car elsewhere. No balcony - advertised was 27 square meters, room was smaller (perhaps a good 20m).

    Location allowed an easy walk either to the parks and castles, to the lakes, or the citiy center.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower in our room 116 had fluctuations of warm and cold water, so eventually either too hot or too cold, not a constant temperature of the water, which made taking a shower a little tiresome and a little uncomfortable. We reported this to the front desk at our departure and we trust same is (hopefully) repaired. Further, as many travelers and the hotel staff wrote before, the hotel parking place under the hotel is rather small and may be (a bit) challenging and as mentioned by the hotel staff, is not suitable for big or high cars. For us no problem and we enjoyed to park our car in the hotel parking place.

    Clean and comfortable hotel in a romantic atmosphere in the city center of Potsdam and most palaces, places of interest, restaurants and the shopping area are all at walking distance. Very friendly, efficient and disciplined staff. A special compliment for the excellent service we got at breakfast every day !

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi was difficult to access, but that was due to my forgetfulness.

    Great location for escaping into Sansouci or pottering around Potsdam.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were there for our Honeymoon, would have been nice to have some kind of gesture for this ocasion.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Every thing was perfect

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Small room, but nicely furnished, so it was OK.

    Helpful staff, clean rooms, very good location.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The rome was mostly clean, with the exception off the toilet which was quite dirty.

    Beautifully decorated and excellent selection for breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower could have been better.

    Close to shopping and attractions!

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Extra charge of €18 for overnight parking!!!

    Excellent central location. Easy to get around.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was not much staff available most of the time.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location was very central

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    None.

    Almost everything.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Decorations and furnishings.. Very lovely and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking was mildly inconvenient

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some street noise.

    Old town location. Near restaurants and shopping. Near San Saoucci.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    location, wifi, balcony with view

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    For 4 **** hotel it should be free parking

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room size, wiFi quality, food, location

There are also 36 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 74

Guests also reviewed these properties: