Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Tryp Bochum Wattenscheid 3 stars

Josef-Haumann-Str. 1, 44866 Bochum, Germany

#30 of 39 hotels in Bochum

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 819 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    5.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to mention

    As expected, as booked. easy Access, clean room, hot water, reasonable breakfast. All in all, good value because of reasonable Price. I would stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we were confused that booking.com indicated address is Bochum, and there is a street with almost the same name in Bochum, and this street is also in an industry area, but the hotel is actually in Wattenscheid, it took us > 30 mins extra to reach the hotel therefore

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the location of the hotel is far way from the central Bochom station, around 25 minutes by bus after walking around 8 minutes from hotel location. no restaurants around ,the streets was completely empty ,i was afraid. I was a TOURIST & VERY DISPAPOINTED WITH GERMAN PEOPLE ATTITUDE,I SPEAKED IN ENGLISH & NOBODY WOULD HELP HELP ME AT ALL!. The second day i stayed in hotel in order not to be lost & nobody will help me till check out in 6 April. The Hotel is very good but farway even when i booked through internet they said 6 minutes to Bochum central station. I am sorry but this was my disappointed trip!! Thank you.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was convenient for motorway access between Dortmund and Essen but the area was not particularly nice - the Ruhr Valley conurbation isn't very pretty anywhere! Tea/coffee-making facilities in the room would have been a welcome bonus.

    Good sized room/bathroom. Good buffet breakfast. Staff very friendly and efficient. Good location for access to the motorway, specifically from Dortmund Airport and for visiting the Essen Exhibitions.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The elevator noise, but a room further away from the elevator is always better.

    Nice business hotel on a quite location and thus I enjoyed a very good sleep. It's close to some businesses I work with and I can really recommend this hotel. For diner we went to the centre of Bochum, which has many restaurants and bars and is only 15 min drive away.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bar was meagre and the restaurant even more basic. It was enough, barely.

    The staff is absolutely top notch and the rooms were very fine. Our request for adjoining rooms were easily met, and the handicapped room was excellent. FANTASTIC breakfast. Really great location, close to transit and good for driving access to both Bochum and Gelsenkirchen, and close to the Autobahn, with easy access.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a lot of kids running in the corridors during night hours, so a lot of noise Bedroom were cold upon check-in Bathroom items were not replaced after the first night

    The beds are very comfortable Bedroom was spacious

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some members of staff were a little rude, particularly when we first arrived which was not helpful.

    The hotel was very accessible, the rooms were clean and everything was prompt.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If the breakfast was not that expensive I would have had one.

    The staff was very polite and helpful. The room was clean and tidy, and also quiet. The coffee at the bar tasted good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wi Fi is dissapointing. Speed is to low. Sometimes can not connect. For more speed you have to pay extra. Only one device per room can connect, no matter if it's double room (unbelivable)!?

    Good breakfast! Parking, 15 minutes to Essen Messe by car. Good bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could have been slightly more spread,but it does not means it is bad

    The bed was comfortable The Front Office staff is consistently helpful and knowledgeable

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No charging facilities for electrical vehicles - Only one chair for each double room - Extremely limited free Internet connection with only one connection per room and per 24h with as low as 100 MB download limit, in other words with such limitations, no real free Internet included - It is possible to buy expensive additional Internet access - No fridge - No mains socket nearby the beds - Head touching light switches nearby the bed during the night - Simple food available but quite expensive - Breakfast is quite expensive and does cost €14 per person and can be taken until 10am, however at 9h30 there is already missing food.

    Quick and efficient staff - Nice big rooms, large bathroom - Clean, like new (we have been there in July 2016) - Lift reaching each floor, very useful for heavy piece of luggage - Wide range of food for breakfast (hot and cold) but expensive

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of aircon. Watermelon was off. Uncomfortable beds. Broken lamps. Breakfast items not topt often enough in the middle of the service.

    Size of the rooms. Large bathroom. Staff very friendly and happy to help.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Erratic WiFi policy and unreliable connection

    Clean, value for money

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and helpful staff Good breakfast Clean room Free parking

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to find

    Pleasant, friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillow

    Parking. Pets. Good coffe

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    super hotel if you need to look for anything easy close to Veltins Arena

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free wi-fi internet is just for couple of hours!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too expensive for the value

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 100mb free wifi only for one equipment and really slow; room was freezing

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Yes, the croissants were very flaky. Coffee fantastic....

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Classic no surprise hotel, rooms are large with a good desk for working, breakfast is OK, on site dinning options are acceptable

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You are allowed only one free device internet, if you want to add more devices you have to pay.

    Very close to a shopping centre and the motorway

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    double pricing because of fair

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location was a bit remote

    Staff and Shower, both great.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very poor internet connection; they ask extra charges for a better internet connection, but on the website they say it is free WiFi

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit hot and I couldn't sleep well but thanks to lina the manager she helped me find a fan that makes my day 🌹

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelled of stale cigarette smoke. Mattress was not comfortable.

    Breakfast on the terrace.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    We were leaving early morning on 19th of November. Lady receptionist couldn't issue a paper invoice for us - we gave her 2 e-mail addresses. She promised to send it by e-mail the same day. I have been waiting for this invoice till today(21st of Nov.) By the way, we paid for our stay on 2nd of April!!!

    Almost all.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Was disappointed that I had requested a queen bed and got a room with two singles. Next day both beds were pushed together as they do not do queen beds :( also no tea and coffee in rooms apparently only available in executive business rooms :(

    Shower was great and room was ckean, that's about it.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No tea or coffee making facility in the room, although this is common in Germany, we bought one from the local Hypermarket. The free WIFI is limited to 100M a day, if you require more you have to pay for additional blocks of 100M. The internet speed and service quality is also very poor and only available for one devise. Even though we requested the top floor and a double bed many months in advance, neither was provided. No air conditioning at all, we brought our own from home.

    Walk in shower with good water pressure, no more climbing in and out of a tub. Nice sauna and relaxation area. Which could be used privately. Good facility layout allowing easy access to rooms. Good sized wash room.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Given that it is summer and it was extremely hot, there was no provision of fans or air cons. We asked the staff and all they said was "no you can't have it". We asked for an extra bed for our 3 year old and they said "no you can't have it" however there were not many other children in the hotel!! For breakfast we asked for gluten free options for our 3year old and were told after 20 minutes that the kitchen were preparing "something". After waiting for 30 more minutes we didn't hear anything so asked 2 of the staff again. They kept shying away from us and didn't bother telling us anything. We finally gave up and left the table. On complaining we were told the staff needed advance notice for allergies which we thought was ridiculous given that we waited for 40-45 minutes! I would never recommend this hotel for leisure or business and like I said the reviews given previously are very misleading!! My husband and I are going to write to the head office as well since we weren't expecting the hotel to be so bad.

    The reviews I read before booking were very misleading. I thought the staff were going to be friendly but they were clearly not! The service was appalling, the room was ok nothing special, the bed was very uncomfortable.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel was very nice. My friend and I were so pleased with our room. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The hotel is a bit away from anything but the train/tram station isn't to far so it's easy to get to other places.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    worst wifi i have ever seen on a business hotel... worst management measure taken by the hotel administration. I will never, ever , book again on TRIP hotel

    kindness and sympathy, attention of the staff

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Short and narrow beds

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Dinner in the evening rather over-prized / very soft matress

    Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Limited internet..

    I like hotel. It was clean, stuff was friendly

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Friedly staff. Great breakfast buffet. Free parking, in buisiness room free WIFI included

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    free wifi????? 100mb that not free you pay for full wifi 5€. badroom was not clean day 2

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfortable, convenient

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wi-Fi is limitet. Password are to be renewed at least each 24 hours.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Bellende Hunden ab 6:00 Morgens

    Freundliche und hilfsbereite Mitarbeiter. Schnelle Verbindung zum Schalke Arena.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the bed, not conftable.

    location

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lack of tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Restrictive wi-fi limits.

    Friendly staff good restaurant steak was perfect!

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Blanket too thin for winter Buffet dinner was pretty bad

    Big car park Ease of internet Friendly staff

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Browse Tryp Bochum Wattenscheid traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: